DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-11, 15-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong et al. (US 2025/0140292 A1 – hereinafter Truong), Koch et al. (US 2026/0105660 A1 – hereinafter Koch), and Hodges et al. (US 9,146,942 B1 – hereinafter Hodges).
Regarding claim 1, Truong discloses an automated video editing system (Fig. 18; [0176]; [0178]-[0179] – system 1800), comprising: a) a memory storing instructions (Fig. 18 – memory 1812); and b) a processor configured to execute the instructions (Fig. 18; [0178]-[0179] – processor 1814) to: i) ingest a plurality of digital media assets, the digital media assets comprising at least one of video, audio, image, and text (Fig. 1A; [0088]-[0089] – ingesting a plurality of video files 131) i); ii) generate proxy media files from the ingested digital media assets by extracting media features including at least one of speech transcriptions, shot boundaries, face detections, optical character recognition (OCR) data, and shot type categorizations (Fig. 1A; [0088] – generating proxy media files from the ingested video files 131 by extracting various features including at least speech transcriptions); iii) receive a user prompt defining an objective for a video session ([0042]; [0047]; [0053]-[0054]; [0107]-[0108]; Fig. 2 – receiving a prompt through a query from a user designating a topic and desired length for a video session and/or designating transcript of the video session); iv) generate a summary based on the user prompt and extracted media features using a language model ([0047]-[0053] – generating a summary of augmented transcript based on the user prompt and the extracted transcripts using a language model as further described at least in [0007]); v) retrieve relevant media segments from the ingested media based on the summary ([0048]; [0054] – retrieving media segments from the ingested media that match the summary); vi) render an edited video timeline comprising the retrieved media segments (Fig. 7C; [0147] – rendering an edited video timeline, e.g. approximately 2 minutes and 2 seconds in length for the edited video 710C comprising the retrieved media segments); and vii) apply at least one automated editing effect including animated chapter cards, caption generation, color selection, audio effects, or visual transitions, wherein the editing effect is selected based on content context or learned user preferences ([0148]-[0163]; Figs. 7D-7L; [0055] – at least visual transitions between video segments, wherein the editing effect is selected based on at least content context, e.g. a transition as zooming in on a detected face at a segment boundary).
However, Truong does not disclose the summary is an edit decision list (EDL) further generated based on the user history.
Koch discloses a processor configured to execute the instructions (Fig. 2; [0044]-[0045] – processor 205 executing instructions stored in memory 210) to generate a summary as an edit decision list (EDL) ([0060]; [0099]; [0106]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Koch into the system taught by Truong to implement the summary as an edit decision list because such an implementation would have been advantageous in facilitating post-production process by allowing for easy collaboration between editors or members of the post-production team.
However, Truong and Koch do not disclose the edit decision list is further generated based on the user history.
Hodges discloses an edit decision list is generated based on a user history (column 1, lines 54-62; column 7, lines 39-41 – an edit decision list is generated based on user editing history).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Hodges into the system taught by Truong and Koch to smartly apply editing effects and/or tools preferred by the user.
Regarding claim 2, Truong in view of Koch and Hodges also discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the edit decision list is formatted according to a pre-defined JSON schema comprising fields for scene descriptions, suggested visual shots, and captions (Truong: [0067]-[0068]; [0075]; [0126]-[0127]; [0135]. Koch: [0099]; Fig. 14).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Koch into the system has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Truong in view of Koch and Hodges also discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to receive iterative prompts from the user to update one or more specific scenes of the rendered video timeline ([0097]; [0142]; [0145]; Figs. 7A-7L – receiving prompts from the user to update any segment).
Regarding claim 5, Truong in view of Koch and Hodges also discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the applied animated chapter cards comprise AI-generated text, AI-selected fonts, and AI-selected background music ([0148]-[0163]; Figs. 7D-7L; [0055] – because Truong discloses applying at least one automated editing effect including at least visual transitions between video segments as discussed in claim 1 above, at least the editing effect including “animated chapter cards, wherein the applied animated chapter cards comprise AI-generated text, AI-selected fonts, and AI-selected background music” is not required).
Regarding claim 6, Truong in view of Koch and Hodges also discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the caption generation is responsive to speech-to-text transcription and includes automatic font selection and color styling based on the emotional tone or visual content of the scene ([0148]-[0163]; Figs. 7D-7L; [0055] – because Truong discloses applying at least one automated editing effect including at least visual transitions between video segments as discussed in claim 1 above, at least the editing effect including “caption generation, wherein the caption generation is responsive to speech-to-text transcription and includes automatic font selection and color styling based on the emotional tone or visual content of the scene” is not required).
Regarding claim 8, Truong in view of Koch and Hodges also discloses the system of claim 1, wherein user preferences are inferred from past editing sessions and are used to personalize subsequent video generation tasks (Hodges: column 1, lines 54-62; column 7, lines 39-41 – an edit decision list is generated based on user editing history).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Hodges into the system has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, Truong in view of Koch and Hodges also discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to classify and label entities detected in the ingested media, including people, places, objects, and actions ([0044]-[0046]; [0059]; Fig. 3 – detecting and labeling people, e.g. faces, speaker 1, speaker 2, etc., places, e.g. a desert, a stage etc., objects, e.g. camera, and actions, e.g. standing on top of a stage, walking across a desert).
Regarding claim 10, Truong in view of Koch and Hodges also discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the classified entities are interactively editable by the user through a graphical interface (Figs. 7C-7L – the classified entities are interactively editable by the user via the graphical interfaces shown in Figs. 7C-7L).
Regarding claim 11, Truong, Koch, and Hodges also discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the applied audio effects include sound files selected from a curated library based on scene transition type or user instruction ([0148]-[0163]; Figs. 7D-7L; [0055] – because Truong discloses applying at least one automated editing effect including at least visual transitions between video segments as discussed in claim 1 above, at least the editing effect including “the audio effects, the applied audio effects include sound files selected from a curated library based on scene transition type or user instruction” is not required).
Regarding claim 15, Truong in view of Koch and Hodges also discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to export the edit decision list in a format compatible with third-party professional editing software (Truong: [0037]; [0099] – exporting the edit decision list as a JSON object).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Truong has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 16, Truong in view of Koch and Hodges also discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the user prompt includes specifications for media orientation, target video length, or mandatory content inclusion ([0042]; [0047]; [0053]-[0054]; [0107]-[0108]; Fig. 2 – the user prompt includes at least target video length, i.e. desired length for a video).
Regarding claim 17, Truong in view of Koch and Hodges also discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to generate AI-created visuals to supplement existing audio content, based on topic recognition via automatic speech recognition (ASR) ([0045]; [0056]; [0117]-[0118]; [0140]).
Regarding claim 19, Truong in view of Koch and Hodges also discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to modify background color, font, and layout of captions based on a scene-specific style engine (Figs. 7F-7K).
Regarding claim 20, Truong in view of Koch and Hodges also discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the system enables rendering and playback of the edited video timeline within a user interface that allows granular prompt-based revisions (Fig. 7B).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong, Koch, and Hodges as applied to claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-11, 15-17, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Seong (US 2024/0364779 A1 – hereinafter Seong).
Regarding claim 3, see the teachings of Truong, Koch, and Hodges as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Truong, Koch, and Hodges do not disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the proxy media files are generated by transcoding the original digital media into lower resolution representations with associated metadata.
Seong discloses proxy media files are generated by transcoding original digital media into lower resolution representations with associated metadata ([0046]-[0047]; Fig. 6A – proxy media files are generated by transcoding original digital media, i.e. files with names “Video_01” and “Video_02” into lower resolution representations with associated metadata, i.e. “Proxy_Video_01”, “Proxy_Video_02”).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Seong into the system taught by Truong, Koch, and Hodges to reduce transfer and loading times during editing.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong, Koch, and Hodges as applied to claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-11, 15-17, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Margulis (US 2013/0124996 A1 – hereinafter Margulis).
Regarding claim 7, see the teachings of Truong, Koch, and Hodges as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Truong, Koch, and Hodges do not disclose the system is configured to generate a multi-level hierarchical timeline view including scene-level and track-level visualizations.
Margulis discloses a system is configured to generate a multi-level hierarchical timeline view including scene-level and track-level visualizations (Fig. 1; [0019]; [0023]-[0024] – a system shown in Fig. 5 generates a timeline view shown in Fig. 1, the timeline view is multi-level hierarchical timeline view including scene-level indicating scenes 118a-118f and track-level visualizations indicating a video track, an audio track, a narrative track, and a soundtrack).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Margulis into the system taught by Truong, Koch, and Hodges to help the user in visualizing the scenes, and the tracks during editing, thus enhancing the user interface of the system.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong, Koch, and Hodges as applied to claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-11, 15-17, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Moon et al. (US 2017/0201562 A1 – hereinafter Moon).
Regarding claim 12, see the teachings of Truong, Koch, and Hodges as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Truong, Koch, and Hodges do not disclose the system is configured to integrate with social media accounts to import existing media or post generated videos.
Moon discloses a system is configured to integrate with social media accounts to import existing media or post generated videos (Fig. 1A; [0040]; [0045]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Moon into the system taught by Truong, Koch, and Hodges to diversify the sources of the media.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong, Koch, and Hodges as applied to claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-11, 15-17, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Walker et al. (US 2022/0075513 A1 – hereinafter Walker).
Regarding claim 13, see the teachings of Truong, Koch, and Hodges as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Truong, Koch, and Hodges do not disclose the system includes a media visualization interface configured to display metadata, feature extractions, and tagging information for each media asset.
Walker discloses a system includes a media visualization interface configured to display metadata, feature extractions, and tagging information for each media asset ([0069] – an interface to display metadata, e.g. audio transcript, keywords from an audio transcript, feature extractions, e.g. visually extracted content, and tagging information, e.g. action tags at corresponding locations on a video timeline).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Walker into the system taught by Truong, Koch, and Hodges makes selecting and browsing media assets easier (Walker: [0069]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong, Koch, and Hodges as applied to claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-11, 15-17, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Rav-Acha et al. (US 2013/0343729 A1 – hereinafter Rav-Acha) and Kim et al. (KR 10-2024-0097181 – hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 14, see the teachings of Truong, Koch, and Hodges as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Truong, Koch, and Hodges do not disclose the processor is further configured to detect and suggest new editing sessions based on a user's past projects, trending topics, and metadata analysis.
Rav-Acha discloses a processor is further configured to detect and suggest new editing sessions based on a user's past projects ([0285]; [0287] – triggering video editing sessions based on video sessions that the user did in the past).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Rav-Acha into the system taught by Truong, Koch, and Hodges to enhance the editing interface of the system by helping the user with new editing sessions.
Truong, Koch, Hodges, and Rav-Acha do not disclose detecting and suggesting new editing sessions based on trending topics, and metadata analysis.
Kim discloses suggesting new editing sessions based on trending topics, and metadata analysis (page 4, page 11 – detecting trending topics and performing metadata analysis of contents to suggest for video production).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the system taught by Truong, Koch, Hodges, and Rav-Acha to further enhance the editing interface of the system by helping the user easily find topics and data for the editing sessions.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong, Koch, and Hodges as applied to claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-11, 15-17, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Fitzmaurice et al. (US 2025/0117542 A1 – hereinafter Fitzmaurice) and Argawal et al. (US 2025/0045872 A1 – hereinafter Argawal).
Regarding claim 18, see the teachings of Truong, Koch, and Hodges as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Truong, Koch, and Hodges do not disclose the system provides feedback-driven learning by capturing user prompt history and subsequent edits.
Fitzmaurice discloses a system provides feedback-driven learning by capturing user prompt history ([0048] – capturing user prompt history as training data to further train the one or more ML models).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Fitzmaurice into the system taught by Truong, Koch, and Hodges to improve the behavior of the model.
Truong, Koch, Hodges, and Fitzmaurice do not disclose the system provides feedback-driven learning by capturing subsequent edits.
Argawal discloses a system provides feedback-driven learning by capturing subsequent edits ([0024] – a system providing artificial intelligence system learning by capturing editing actions performed by the user on displayed media content).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Fitzmaurice into the system taught by Truong, Koch, and Hodges to further improve the behavior of the model according to learned user preference.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484