Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims 1-6:
Recording determination unit (Fig 1, 12);
Clarity determination unit (Fig 1, 13);
Storage control unit (Fig 1, 14);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONO, US 20230015364; Koseki, US 10,102,392 and KUMAGAMI, US 20110043341.
In considering claim 1,
The claimed recording condition…is met where based upon vehicle position (Fig 4, 8 10) and when the vehicle is recording (S102) is the vehicle position with a recording restriction areas including privacy processing (masking, mosaicking) license plates of other vehicles (para 38, 74, 75, 78-86). Also, as shown in Fig 3a/b, the privacy processing can be turned off based upon the distance from an areas, and turn on the closer it gets to the restricted ara (para 42,46, 58 peripheral area).
c). the claimed storage control unit…is met by control unit 20 (Fig 2) which determines to store the images in a nonvolatile memory (S105) or buffer memory (S107) (Fig 4) (s204/206, Fig 8) (para 31-34, 36-37, 43-45, 48, 53, 55, 57, 59, 63-72, 74, 81 and 85-86).
The examiner further evidences, Koseki, US 10,102,392 regarding conditional recording, where a vehicle recorder (Fig 7) can start automatically recording based upon vehicle condition/sensors as shown in order to document the vehicle operation which can be used in the event of a collision.
Regarding b-d); The examiner incorporates US 20110043341, KUMAGAMI which discloses a system which displays images which are sufficiently remote (S5, Fig 7) and when the distance is not sufficiently remote the images are masked (S6).
The motivation to modify the SONO/Koseki combination with KUMAGAMI provides the additional benefit of ensuring privacy protection by using the known distance of a cameras ability/capability which may view remote areas without seeing privacy protected data (license plates) and while masking or not storing such data when close to such objects/data for the advantages of ensuring proper privacy protection, thus being an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
In considering claim 2,
As noted by the incorporation of KUMAGI, where KUMAJI disclose based upon the camera resolution a distance coefficient is used to (para 46, 59, 63, 64, 71, 72, 76-79) is used to either mask information (protect privacy) or not based upon the distance.
The motivation to modify the SONO/Koseki combination with KUMAGAMI provides the additional benefit of ensuring privacy protection by using the known distance of a cameras ability/capability which may view remote areas without seeing privacy protected data (license plates) and while masking or not storing such data when close to such objects/data for the advantages of ensuring proper privacy protection, thus being an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
In considering claim 3,
KUMAGAMI discloses (para 46) that the resolution (number of pixels in the at least one of vertical and horizontal directions) of the camera is used for the distance coefficient to determine if an object is sufficiently remote to display the image or requires masking.
The motivation to modify the SONO/Koseki combination with KUMAGAMI provides the system the ability to ensure privacy protection by using the cameras capability/characteristics which can change how clear/focused images are based upon the number of pixels/resolution of the camera in capturing an image, thus being an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
In considering claim 4,
As noted by the combination:
SONO discloses storing data that does not require privacy processing (abstract, para 6-7, 43) including a nonvolatile memory (privacy protected) or buffer memory (privacy protection not required).
KOSEKI discloses a system which stores information (Fig 6) but depending upon the incident allows access to such information, where some information may require an administrator for personal information protection information (see full text para 19, 23 and 121).
KUMAGAMI discloses determining whether an object is remote (distance) enough to not require privacy protection (Fig 7) .
Thus the above combination, can stop storing in a particular memory or not whether such information is protected (masked) or not based upon the distance, thus being an obvious combination which provides expected results as noted above.
In considering claim 5,
SONO discloses the license plate and face (para 38, 74-86).
KUMAGAMI also discloses a persons face or number plate (para 5, 8-10, 27, 32-37, 41, 45, 47 and 87).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONO, US 20230015364; Koseki, US 10,102,392; KUMAGAMI, US 20110043341 and TERUUCHI et al., US 20190222797
In considering claim 6,
As noted in claim 1,
Koseki discloses a vehicle recorder (Fig 7) can start automatically recording based upon vehicle condition/sensors as shown in order to document the vehicle operation which can be used in the event of a collision.
Although Koseki does not explicitly recite speed or steering in the disclosure, the examiner notes in vehicle operation, the speed, direction (steering) are notable factors to determine vehicle status/operation.
KUMAGAMI disclose the velocity sensor or gyro sensor to detect the velocity, an acceleration or slant of the vehicle (para 29).
The examiner incorporates TERUUCHI et al., US 20190222797, which disclose recording, ordinary or event (141, 142; Fig 1), including steering (para 38, 39, 127-128) and velocity (para 34, 67-68, 73-81, 83, 92, 106-107, 110-116, 127), which starts recording based upon an event.
The motivation to modify the above combination provide the user/vehicle the ability to store/detect relevant data when operating the vehicle to either prevent an event from happening and/or documenting such events, thus being an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure—see newly cited references on attached form PTO-892.
US 20240223885 discloses a vehicle camera which adjust the focus based upon the changes in distance
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
Washington, D.C. 20231
or faxed to:
(571)-273-8300
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Technology Center 2600 Customer Service Office whose telephone number is
(703)305-HELP.
General information about patents, trademarks, products and services offered by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), and other related information is available by contacting the USPTO’s General Information Services Division at:
800-PTO-9199 or 703-308-HELP
(FAX) 703-305-7786
(TDD) 703-305-7785
An automated message system is available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day providing informational responses to frequently asked questions and the ability to order certain documents. Customer service representatives are available to answer questions, send materials or connect customers with other offices of the USPTO from 8:30 a.m. - 8:00p.m. EST/EDT, Monday-Friday excluding federal holidays.
For other technical patent information needs, the Patent Assistance Center can be reached through customer service representatives at the above numbers, Monday through Friday (except federal holidays) from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. EST/EDT.
The Patent Electronic Business Center (EBC) allows USPTO customers to retrieve data, check the status of pending actions, and submit information and applications. The tools currently available in the Patent EBC are Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) and the Electronic Filing System (EFS). PAIR (http://pair.uspto.gov) provides customers direct secure access to their own patent application status information, as well as to general patent information publicly available. EFS allows customers to electronically file patent application documents securely via the Internet. EFS is a system for submitting new utility patent applications and pre-grant publication submissions in electronic publication-ready form. EFS includes software to help customers prepare submissions in extensible Markup Language (XML) format and to assemble the various parts of the application as an electronic submission package. EFS also allows the submission of Computer Readable Format (CRF) sequence listings for pending biotechnology patent applications, which were filed in paper form.
/BRIAN P YENKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422