DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Following a review of the claims in view of the specification herein, the Office has found that Applicant has provided lexicographic definitions, either expressly or implicitly, for any claim terms or phrases with any reasonable clarity, deliberateness and precision. Accordingly, the Office concludes that Applicant has acted as his/her own lexicographer.
The term “on-center control” is defined by applicant as “controlling a reverse parking path by adding the steering wheel on-center condition of the own vehicle 110 to the vehicle state information. In other words, it means controlling the reverse parking path so that the steering wheel of the own vehicle 110 is positioned on-center (i.e., target steering angle = 0°) at the time the reverse path driving is completed” (Specification, para. [0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 8, 11, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8 and 19 recite the limitation “the executing of parking.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation because “executing of parking” or an equivalent step is not recited in any preceding claim from which claim 8 depends.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “S-motion lateral control,” which is indefinite. The limitation lacks measurable criteria or objective boundaries in both claim and the specification. Examiner interpreted the term as “any motion control in alternating lateral directions” for examining purposes.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being dependent on rejected claim(s) and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-8, 13, 14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US 2021/0039633 A1, hereinafter “Seo”) in view of Shimazaki et al. (US 2004/0153243 A1, hereinafter “Shimazaki”).
Regarding claim 1, Seo discloses an apparatus for simultaneously controlling vehicle heading and tire alignment, the apparatus comprising:
at least one memory configured to store instructions; and
at least one processor configured, by executing the instructions, to:
(Seo at para. [0047]: “The parking control device 100 may include a communicator 110, a storage 120, a display 130, and a processor 140”)
park a vehicle at a target parking position within a target parking zone, based on vehicle state information and parking environment information, by generating at least one parking path for parking the vehicle (Seo at para. [0058]: “the present position of the vehicle may be estimated to generate a parking path using the wheel speed sensor, the steering angle sensor, and the ultrasonic sensor. In addition, information on the position of the target parking space and the size of the target parking space may be obtained through the sensing device 200”);
determine whether to perform on-center control on the vehicle (Seo at para. [0066]: “the parking control device 100 performs steering center alignment control when the steering angle is equal to or greater than a threshold angle after the vehicle arrives in the target parking space”),
perform the on-center control according to a reverse path for on-center alignment (Seo at para. [0066]: “the parking control device 100 performs steering center alignment control when the steering angle is equal to or greater than a threshold angle after the vehicle arrives in the target parking space”; para. [0067]: “the parking control device 100 moves the vehicle to the threshold distance or more by moving the vehicle forward and rearward within the target parking space”),
However, Seo does not explicitly state:
determine whether to perform on-center control on the vehicle, based on whether the vehicle is capable of reaching the target parking position via a final reverse path among the at least one parking path;
obtain an on-center alignment time of a steering wheel based on whether the vehicle is capable of reaching the target parking position;
calculate a target heading that represents a difference between an exit direction from the target parking zone and a longitudinal direction of the vehicle;
calculate a heading change amount of the vehicle until an on-center alignment time of the steering wheel, based on a current yaw rate of the vehicle; and
perform the on-center control according to a reverse path for on-center alignment, based on the heading change amount and the target heading.
In the same field of endeavor, Shimazaki teaches:
determine whether to perform on-center control on the vehicle, based on whether the vehicle is capable of reaching the target parking position via a final reverse path among the at least one parking path (Shimazaki at para. [0081]: “When the vehicle 1 stops at the vehicle position G1 parallel with the parking space T, the steering wheel 7 is returned to the straight position, and the vehicle backs up further to park appropriately inside the parking space T”; When the vehicle reaches the position G1, the vehicle is capable of reaching the target parking position via the final reverse path);
obtain an on-center alignment time of a steering wheel based on whether the vehicle is capable of reaching the target parking position (Shimazaki at para. [0081]: “When the vehicle 1 stops at the vehicle position G1 parallel with the parking space T, the steering wheel 7 is returned to the straight position, and the vehicle backs up further to park appropriately inside the parking space T”; para. [0091]: “immediately before the vehicle 1 arrives at the vehicle position G1, the controller 8 calculates and displays a predicted straight path, based on the above mentioned path Pb”; The time to return the steering wheel to the straight position (i.e., “on-center alignment time”) is obtained based on the timing when the vehicle reaches the vehicle position G1 where the vehicle is capable of reaching the parking space);
calculate a target heading that represents a difference between an exit direction from the target parking zone and a longitudinal direction of the vehicle (Shimazaki at para. [0071]: “A Y-axis is established at a perpendicular angle to the road, extending in the rearward direction from the vehicle 1 in the parking space T. An X-axis is established as extending parallel to the road, i.e., perpendicular to the Y-axis”);
calculate a heading change amount of the vehicle until an on-center alignment time of the steering wheel, based on a current yaw rate of the vehicle (Shimazaki at para. [0081]: “the vehicle 1 at the vehicle position El turns around the turning center Cl on the turning radius Re at the steering angle of the steering wheel 7 turned to the maximum rightward, as the vehicle 1 advances to the turning angle. When the vehicle 1 reaches the vehicle position Fl, the vehicle 1 stops and the turning angle of the steering wheel 7 is turned to the maximum leftward, and the vehicle turns around the turning center C2 on the turning radius Re, as it retreats to the turning angle”; para. [0088]: “The controller 8 calculates the yaw angle of the vehicle 1 based on the angular speed of the vehicle 1, which is inputted form the yaw rate sensor 9, and then compares this yaw rate with the turning angle”; The turning radius is calculated as shown in para. [0075]-[0080] until the vehicle reaches the vehicle position G1); and
perform the on-center control according to a reverse path for on-center alignment, based on the heading change amount and the target heading (Shimazaki at para. [0073]: “When the vehicle 1 reaches the vehicle position Gl parallel to the parking space T, the steering wheel 7 is returned to the straight position, and the vehicle backs up Hl further to park appropriately in the vehicle position inside the parking space T”; The steering wheel is straightened according to the time when the vehicle reaches the vehicle position G1 based on the established angles of the parking space and the vehicle and the turning angles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seo by adding the target heading and heading change amount of Shimazaki with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the apparatus of Seo in view of Shimazaki is to improve parking maneuver accuracy.
Examiner note:
The term “on-center alignment time” is interpreted as “any time point or duration associated with on-center alignment.”
The term “exit direction from the target parking zone” is interpreted as “any direction associated with exiting the target parking zone.”
Regarding claim 2, Seo in view of Shimazaki teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Seo further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
determine whether the vehicle is capable of reaching a lateral position within a preset lateral error range from the target parking position in the target parking zone (Seo at para. [0055]: “The processor 140 may determine that the vehicle arrives at the target parking space when the vehicle is positioned within a range obtained by subtracting an allowable position error from a target parking position”).
Regarding claim 6, Seo in view of Shimazaki teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Seo further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
include an on-center condition of the steering wheel in the vehicle state information (Seo at para. [0066]: “the parking control device 100 performs steering center alignment control when the steering angle is equal to or greater than a threshold angle after the vehicle arrives in the target parking space”; The steering center alignment control is part of the automatic parking control of the parking control device); and
generate the reverse path for on-center alignment based on the vehicle state information and the parking environment information (Seo at para. [0067]: “the parking control device 100 moves the vehicle to the threshold distance or more by moving the vehicle forward and rearward within the target parking space”).
Regarding claim 7, Seo in view of Shimazaki teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Shimazaki further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
perform the on-center control when the heading change amount is greater than or equal to the target heading (Shimazaki at para. [0073]: “When the vehicle 1 reaches the vehicle position Gl parallel to the parking space T, the steering wheel 7 is returned to the straight position, and the vehicle backs up Hl further to park appropriately in the vehicle position inside the parking space T”; When the vehicle position is parallel to the parking space, the heading change amount is equal to the target heading).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seo in view of Shimazaki by adding the heading change amount of Shimazaki with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the apparatus of Seo in view of Shimazaki is to improve parking maneuver accuracy.
Regarding claim 8, Seo in view of Shimazaki teaches the apparatus of claim 7.
Shimazaki further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
stop the executing of parking of the vehicle (Shimazaki at para. [0081]: “When the vehicle 1 stops at the vehicle position Gl parallel with the parking space T”); and
perform the on-center control when the heading change amount is greater than or equal to the target heading (Shimazaki at para. [0081]: “When the vehicle 1 stops at the vehicle position Gl parallel with the parking space T, the steering wheel 7 is returned to the straight position, and the vehicle backs up further to park appropriately inside the parking space T”; When the vehicle position is parallel to the parking space, the heading change amount is equal to the target heading).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seo in view of Shimazaki by adding the stop the executing of parking of Shimazaki with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the apparatus of Seo in view of Shimazaki is to improve parking maneuver accuracy.
Regarding claim 13, Seo discloses a method for simultaneously controlling vehicle heading and tire alignment, the method comprising:
parking a vehicle at a target parking position within a target parking zone, based on vehicle state information and parking environment information, by generating at least one parking path for parking the vehicle (Seo at para. [0058]: “the present position of the vehicle may be estimated to generate a parking path using the wheel speed sensor, the steering angle sensor, and the ultrasonic sensor. In addition, information on the position of the target parking space and the size of the target parking space may be obtained through the sensing device 200”);
determining whether to perform on-center control on the vehicle (Seo at para. [0066]: “the parking control device 100 performs steering center alignment control when the steering angle is equal to or greater than a threshold angle after the vehicle arrives in the target parking space”),
performing the on-center control according to a reverse path for on-center alignment (Seo at para. [0066]: “the parking control device 100 performs steering center alignment control when the steering angle is equal to or greater than a threshold angle after the vehicle arrives in the target parking space”; para. [0067]: “the parking control device 100 moves the vehicle to the threshold distance or more by moving the vehicle forward and rearward within the target parking space”),
However, Seo does not explicitly state:
determining whether to perform on-center control on the vehicle, based on whether the vehicle is capable of reaching the target parking position via a final reverse path among the at least one parking path;
obtaining an on-center alignment time of a steering wheel based on whether the vehicle is capable of reaching the target parking position;
calculating a target heading that represents a difference between an exit direction from the target parking zone and a longitudinal direction of the vehicle;
calculating a heading change amount of the vehicle until an on-center alignment time of the steering wheel, based on a current yaw rate of the vehicle; and
performing the on-center control according to a reverse path for on-center alignment, based on the heading change amount and the target heading.
In the same field of endeavor, Shimazaki teaches:
determining whether to perform on-center control on the vehicle, based on whether the vehicle is capable of reaching the target parking position via a final reverse path among the at least one parking path (Shimazaki at para. [0081]: “When the vehicle 1 stops at the vehicle position G1 parallel with the parking space T, the steering wheel 7 is returned to the straight position, and the vehicle backs up further to park appropriately inside the parking space T”; When the vehicle reaches the position G1, the vehicle is capable of reaching the target parking position via the final reverse path);
obtaining an on-center alignment time of a steering wheel based on whether the vehicle is capable of reaching the target parking position (Shimazaki at para. [0081]: “When the vehicle 1 stops at the vehicle position G1 parallel with the parking space T, the steering wheel 7 is returned to the straight position, and the vehicle backs up further to park appropriately inside the parking space T”; para. [0091]: “immediately before the vehicle 1 arrives at the vehicle position G1, the controller 8 calculates and displays a predicted straight path, based on the above mentioned path Pb”; The time to return the steering wheel to the straight position (i.e., “on-center alignment time”) is obtained based on the timing when the vehicle reaches the vehicle position G1 where the vehicle is capable of reaching the parking space);
calculating a target heading that represents a difference between an exit direction from the target parking zone and a longitudinal direction of the vehicle (Shimazaki at para. [0071]: “A Y-axis is established at a perpendicular angle to the road, extending in the rearward direction from the vehicle 1 in the parking space T. An X-axis is established as extending parallel to the road, i.e., perpendicular to the Y-axis”);
calculating a heading change amount of the vehicle until an on-center alignment time of the steering wheel, based on a current yaw rate of the vehicle (Shimazaki at para. [0081]: “the vehicle 1 at the vehicle position El turns around the turning center Cl on the turning radius Re at the steering angle of the steering wheel 7 turned to the maximum rightward, as the vehicle 1 advances to the turning angle. When the vehicle 1 reaches the vehicle position Fl, the vehicle 1 stops and the turning angle of the steering wheel 7 is turned to the maximum leftward, and the vehicle turns around the turning center C2 on the turning radius Re, as it retreats to the turning angle”; para. [0088]: “The controller 8 calculates the yaw angle of the vehicle 1 based on the angular speed of the vehicle 1, which is inputted form the yaw rate sensor 9, and then compares this yaw rate with the turning angle”; The turning radius is calculated as shown in para. [0075]-[0080] until the vehicle reaches the vehicle position G1); and
performing the on-center control according to a reverse path for on-center alignment, based on the heading change amount and the target heading (Shimazaki at para. [0073]: “When the vehicle 1 reaches the vehicle position Gl parallel to the parking space T, the steering wheel 7 is returned to the straight position, and the vehicle backs up Hl further to park appropriately in the vehicle position inside the parking space T”; The steering wheel is straightened according to the time when the vehicle reaches the vehicle position G1 based on the established angles of the parking space and the vehicle and the turning angles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Seo by adding the target heading and heading change amount of Shimazaki with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Seo in view of Shimazaki is to improve parking maneuver accuracy.
Regarding claim 14, Seo in view of Shimazaki teaches the method of claim 13.
Seo further discloses wherein determining whether to perform the on-center control comprises:
determining whether the vehicle is capable of reaching a lateral position within a preset lateral error range from the target parking position in the target parking zone (Seo at para. [0055]: “The processor 140 may determine that the vehicle arrives at the target parking space when the vehicle is positioned within a range obtained by subtracting an allowable position error from a target parking position”).
Regarding claim 17, Seo in view of Shimazaki teaches the method of claim 13.
Seo further discloses wherein performing the on-center control comprises:
including an on-center condition of the steering wheel in the vehicle state information (Seo at para. [0066]: “the parking control device 100 performs steering center alignment control when the steering angle is equal to or greater than a threshold angle after the vehicle arrives in the target parking space”; The steering center alignment control is part of the automatic parking control of the parking control device); and
generating the reverse path for on-center alignment based on the vehicle state information and the parking environment information (Seo at para. [0067]: “the parking control device 100 moves the vehicle to the threshold distance or more by moving the vehicle forward and rearward within the target parking space”).
Regarding claim 18, Seo in view of Shimazaki teaches the method of claim 13.
Shimazaki further teaches wherein performing the on-center control comprises:
performing the on-center control based on a determination that the heading change amount is greater than or equal to the target heading (Shimazaki at para. [0073]: “When the vehicle 1 reaches the vehicle position Gl parallel to the parking space T, the steering wheel 7 is returned to the straight position, and the vehicle backs up Hl further to park appropriately in the vehicle position inside the parking space T”; When the vehicle position is parallel to the parking space, the heading change amount is equal to the target heading).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Seo in view of Shimazaki by adding the heading change amount of Shimazaki with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Seo in view of Shimazaki is to improve parking maneuver accuracy.
Regarding claim 19, Seo in view of Shimazaki teaches the method of claim 18.
Shimazaki further teaches wherein performing the on-center control comprises:
stopping the executing of parking of the vehicle (Shimazaki at para. [0081]: “When the vehicle 1 stops at the vehicle position Gl parallel with the parking space T”); and
performing the on-center control based on a determination that the heading change amount is greater than or equal to the target heading (Shimazaki at para. [0081]: “When the vehicle 1 stops at the vehicle position Gl parallel with the parking space T, the steering wheel 7 is returned to the straight position, and the vehicle backs up further to park appropriately inside the parking space T”; When the vehicle position is parallel to the parking space, the heading change amount is equal to the target heading).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Seo in view of Shimazaki by adding the stop the executing of parking of Shimazaki with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Seo in view of Shimazaki is to improve parking maneuver accuracy.
Claims 3, 4, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Kusayanagi et al. (JP 6969685 B2, hereinafter “Kusayanagi”). The rejections below are based on the machine translation of Kusayanagi, a copy of which is attached to this Office Action as also indicated in the 892 form.
Regarding claim 3, Seo in view of Shimazaki teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Seo in view of Shimazaki does not explicitly state:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
obtain the on-center alignment time based on a first steering speed until the steering wheel reaches on-center alignment.
In the same field of endeavor, Kusayanagi teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
obtain the on-center alignment time based on a first steering speed until the steering wheel reaches on-center alignment (Kusayanagi at para. [0090]: “when the steering neutral return position Ps is set, the return steering speed at the time of returning the steering angle to the neutral position near the curve exit toward the steering neutral return position Ps is set to the curve entrance”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seo in view of Shimazaki by adding the first steering speed of Kusayanagi with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the apparatus of Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Kusayanagi is to reduce the delay in steering turning.
Regarding claim 4, Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Kusayanagi teaches the apparatus of claim 3.
Kusayanagi further teaches wherein the first steering speed is an average steering speed from a current time point to a time point at which the steering wheel reaches on-center alignment (Kusayanagi at para. [0067]: “The "clothoid curve" is a curve known as a locus drawn by a vehicle when the vehicle speed is constant and the steering wheel is turned at a constant angular velocity”; The steering wheel speed is set to be constant, and thus the set steering speed is the average steering speed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Kurayanagi by adding the average steering speed of Kusayanagi with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the apparatus of Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Kusayanagi is to reduce the delay in steering.
Regarding claim 15, Seo in view of Shimazaki teaches the method of claim 13.
However, Seo in view of Shimazaki does not explicitly state:
wherein obtaining the on-center alignment time comprises:
obtaining the on-center alignment time based on a first steering speed until the steering wheel reaches on-center alignment.
In the same field of endeavor, Kusayanagi teaches:
wherein obtaining the on-center alignment time comprises:
obtaining the on-center alignment time based on a first steering speed until the steering wheel reaches on-center alignment (Kusayanagi at para. [0090]: “when the steering neutral return position Ps is set, the return steering speed at the time of returning the steering angle to the neutral position near the curve exit toward the steering neutral return position Ps is set to the curve entrance”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Seo in view of Shimazaki by adding the first steering speed of Kusayanagi with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Kusayanagi is to reduce the delay in steering turning.
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Seong et al. (US 2020/0130529 A1, hereinafter “Seong”).
Regarding claim 5, Seo in view of Shimazaki teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Seo in view of Shimazaki does not explicitly state:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
calculate the heading change amount by multiplying the current yaw rate by the on-center alignment time.
In the same field of endeavor, Seong teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
calculate the heading change amount by multiplying the current yaw rate by the on-center alignment time (Seong at para. [0140]: “The yaw rate may be multiplied by one sampling time to get a heading degree of the vehicle for the one sampling time”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seo in view of Shimazaki by adding the heading change of Seong with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the apparatus of Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Seong is to accurately measure or estimate vehicle position.
Regarding claim 16, Seo in view of Shimazaki teaches the method of claim 13.
However, Seo in view of Shimazaki does not explicitly state:
wherein calculating the heading change amount comprises:
calculating the heading change amount by multiplying the current yaw rate by the on-center alignment time.
In the same field of endeavor, Seong teaches:
wherein calculating the heading change amount comprises:
calculating the heading change amount by multiplying the current yaw rate by the on-center alignment time (Seong at para. [0140]: “The yaw rate may be multiplied by one sampling time to get a heading degree of the vehicle for the one sampling time”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Seo in view of Shimazaki by adding the heading change of Seong with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Seong is to accurately measure or estimate vehicle position.
Claims 9-11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Coester et al. (US 2017/0210421 A1, hereinafter “Coester”).
Regarding claim 9, Seo in view of Shimazaki teaches the apparatus of claim 2.
However, Seo in view of Shimazaki does not explicitly state:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
perform a second lateral control based on a remaining distance to a parking end point within the target parking zone, when it is determined that the vehicle is not capable of reaching a lateral position range via the final reverse path.
In the same field of endeavor, Coester teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
perform a second lateral control based on a remaining distance to a parking end point within the target parking zone, when it is determined that the vehicle is not capable of reaching a lateral position range via the final reverse path (Coester at para. [0049]: “If the criteria for an admissible end position are not satisfied and hence an admissible end position cannot be reached with the next parking move in a reverse direction (see "no" alternative in FIG. 2), then one or more corrective moves in a forward direction are necessary in order to finally reach an admissible parking end position” “FIG. 1 depicts an exemplary parking trajectory 5 for a multimove parking maneuver”; The trajectory 5 involves lateral motion control).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seo in view of Shimazaki by adding the second lateral control of Coester with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the apparatus of Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Coester is to prevent premature termination of parking.
Regarding claim 10, Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Coester teaches the apparatus of claim 9.
Coester further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured, when performing the second lateral control, to:
include a current lateral error of the vehicle and the remaining distance in the vehicle state information when the remaining distance is greater than or equal to a preset distance (Coester at para. [0047]: “A check is performed to determine whether the lateral distances and the rotation of the orientation of the ego vehicle satisfy the criteria for an admissible end position, and hence an admissible end position can be reached with the planned parking move in a reverse direction”; para. [0049]: “If the criteria for an admissible end position are not satisfied and hence an admissible end position cannot be reached with the next parking move in a reverse direction (see "no" alternative in FIG. 2), then one or more corrective moves in a forward direction are necessary in order to finally reach an admissible parking end position”); and
perform the second lateral control by generating a second reverse path based on the vehicle state information and the parking environment information (Coester at para. [0049]: “FIG. 1 depicts an exemplary parking trajectory 5 for a multimove parking maneuver”; The trajectory 5 involves lateral motion control).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Coester by adding the second reverse path of Coester with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the apparatus of Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Coester is to prevent premature termination of parking.
Regarding claim 11, Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Coester teaches the apparatus of claim 9.
Coester further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured, when performing the second lateral control, to:
perform a S-motion lateral control to park the vehicle when the remaining distance is less than or equal to a preset distance (Coester at para. [0049]: “FIG. 1 depicts an exemplary parking trajectory 5 for a multimove parking maneuver”; The trajectory 5 involves motion control in alternating lateral directions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Coester by adding the S-motion lateral control of Coester with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the apparatus of Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Coester is to prevent premature termination of parking.
Regarding claim 20, Seo in view of Shimazaki teaches the method of claim 14.
However, Seo in view of Shimazaki does not explicitly state:
further comprising:
performing a second lateral control based on a remaining distance to a parking end point within the target parking zone, based on a determination that the vehicle is not capable of reaching the lateral position range via the final reverse path.
In the same field of endeavor, Coester teaches:
further comprising:
performing a second lateral control based on a remaining distance to a parking end point within the target parking zone, based on a determination that the vehicle is not capable of reaching the lateral position range via the final reverse path (Coester at para. [0049]: “If the criteria for an admissible end position are not satisfied and hence an admissible end position cannot be reached with the next parking move in a reverse direction (see "no" alternative in FIG. 2), then one or more corrective moves in a forward direction are necessary in order to finally reach an admissible parking end position” “FIG. 1 depicts an exemplary parking trajectory 5 for a multimove parking maneuver”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Seo in view of Shimazaki by adding the second lateral control of Coester with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Coester is to prevent premature termination of parking.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Coester and Pan et al. (US 2021/0354686 A1, hereinafter “Pan”).
Regarding claim 12, Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Coester teaches the apparatus of claim 11.
However, Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Coester does not explicitly state:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured, by performing the second lateral control, to:
determine a maximum steering angle for the S-motion lateral control based on a distance to a left or right vehicle within the target parking zone.
In the same field of endeavor, Pan teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured, by performing the second lateral control, to:
determine a maximum steering angle for the S-motion lateral control based on a distance to a left or right vehicle within the target parking zone (Pan at para. [0076]: “the distance between the current vehicle and obstacles around is calculated in real time according to the distance-measurement information of the ultrasonic sensors Rdl-Rd12, and the parking path is adjusted in real time according to the distance-measurement information”; para. [0077]: “Each parking sub-path has the corresponding length of parking path that it needs to execute and the corresponding steering wheel angle”; The steering wheel angle changes based on the real-time distance measurement and must include a range of angles including at least the smallest angle and the largest angle (i.e., “maximum steering angle”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Coester by adding the maximum steering angle of Pan with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the apparatus of Seo in view of Shimazaki further in view of Coester and Pan is to avoid collision.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found in the attached PTO-892 form.
Wang et al. (CN 113276840 A, hereinafter “Wang”): Wang discloses concept of reversing a steering wheel of a vehicle while the vehicle is in motion, avoiding turning the steering wheel when the vehicle is stopped.
/JISUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666