DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0384560 (hereinafter Seo) in view of Kwon et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0307016 (hereinafter Kwon) and further in view of Arnold et al. U. S. Patent Publication No. 10,705,629 (hereinafter Arnold).
Consider claim 1, Seo teaches a display apparatus comprising: memory storing instructions [0141]; a plurality of display modules (Figure 1c, modules included in 100, 100-1…100-3); a timing controller configured to control one or more operations of the plurality of display modules [0140]; and a processor operatively coupled to the memory ([0140-0141], [0073] and Figure 2, 160).
Seo does not appear to specifically disclose a grid frame comprising a plurality of lines forming grids in the grid frame, each grid in the grid frame having a grid size that corresponds to a size of each display module of the plurality of display modules such that the plurality of lines correspond to boundary lines between the plurality of display modules.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Kwon teaches a display apparatus including a plurality of display modules (abstract) and further teaches a grid frame comprising a plurality of lines forming grids in the grid frame (Figure 1, 20-22), each grid in the grid frame having a grid size that corresponds to a size of each display module of the plurality of display modules such that the plurality of lines correspond to boundary lines between the plurality of display modules (Figure 1, 20-22 and 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a grid frame as taught by Kwon’s figure 1 with the benefit that the display modules 10 are detachably mounted on the frame 20 so that the display modules 10 are attached or detached to adjust the number of the display modules 10 installed on the frame. Thereby, the screen size of the display apparatus is easily enlarged or reduced as suggested in [0034].
Seo does not appear to specifically disclose a sensor configured to sense attachment or detachment of an add-on module, wherein the add-on module is configured to attach to a surface of the display apparatus at a position corresponding to the grid frame, when executed by the processor, cause the display apparatus to: identify an attachment event or a detachment event of the add-on module, and perform a predetermined operation based on identification of the attachment event or the detachment event.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Arnold teaches a device 12 place on the display 14 as shown in figure 1 and further teaches a sensor configured to sense attachment or detachment of an add-on module (Figure 2, device 48; column 8, lines 55-56, device 48 senses to determine the location of knob 12 on device 48), wherein the add-on module is configured to attach to a surface of the display apparatus at a position corresponding to the grid frame (column 3, lines 1-4, magnets or other attachment mechanisms (sticky surfaces, suction cups, interlocking engagement features, vacuum suction, etc.) may be used in temporarily mounting knob 12 in a desired position on display 14), wherein the instructions when executed by the processor, cause the display apparatus to: identify an attachment event or a detachment event of the add-on module (Figure 4 and column 8, lines 55-56), and perform a predetermined operation based on identification of the attachment event or the detachment event (Figure 10, column 9, lines 60-67 and column 10, lines 1-6 (see also figure 3)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an add-on module or knob in order to provide sliding controls, toggling controls, pushbutton controls, touch controls, rotary controls, controls with combinations of sliding movement, rotational movement, toggling movement, and/or other types of movement, and/or other suitable devices that serve to gather input and/or provide output to a user as suggested in column 2, lines 43-48.
Consider claim 2, Seo and Arnold teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Seo teaches wherein a plurality of display groups is formed from the plurality of display modules ([0085] and figure 3, groups), wherein the plurality of display groups divide a screen of the display apparatus into a plurality of regions (Figure 3, 100 to 100-3), and wherein at least one of the plurality of display modules is included in each of the plurality of display groups [0082].
Consider claim 3, Seo and Arnold teach all the limitations of claim 2. In addition, Arnold teaches wherein a plurality of add-on modules are configured to attach to the surface of the display apparatus (Figure 4, 12-2 and 14), wherein each of the plurality of add-on modules corresponds to each of the plurality of display groups and generates an attachment event or a detachment event with respect to each of the plurality of display groups (Figure 10, elements 12 and Q1-Q4, see motivation to combine in claim 1).
Consider claim 4, Seo, Kwon and Arnold teach all the limitations of claim 3. In addition, Seo teaches a plurality of timing controllers, wherein each of the plurality of timing controllers corresponds to each of the plurality of display groups ([0073], the processor 160 (e.g., at least one processor) may be included in each display apparatuses 100, 100-1, 100-2, 100-3, and so on. The processor 160 may include one or more of a central processing unit (CPU), an application processor (AP), or a communication processor (CP)), and wherein each of the plurality of timing controllers is configured to control one or more operations of at least one display module included in the plurality of display groups [0073].
Consider claim 6, Seo, Kwon and Arnold teach all the limitations of claim 3. In addition, Seo teaches a partial image from each of the plurality of display groups so that a single image is displayed on an entire screen of the display apparatus ([0050-0051], large-size display apparatus and 100-1 to 100-4). In addition, Arnold teaches wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to: output, based on an add-on module from the plurality of add-on modules being respectively attached to the plurality of display groups (Figure 10, display 14 and knob 12 (see also figures 5-7), see motivation to combine in claim 1).
Consider claim 7, Seo, Kwon and Arnold teach all the limitations of claim 3. In addition, Arnold teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to: output, based on an add-on module from the plurality of add-on modules being respectively attached to the plurality of display groups (Figure 10, knobs 12 and Q1-Q4), independent images respectively from the plurality of display groups (Column 9, lines 63-67 and column 10, lines 1-6: upon determining the locations and orientations of knobs 12, system 10 can gather input from each of knobs 12 and can take appropriate action. For example, knobs 12 in region Q1 may be used to make volume adjustments (e.g., for different speakers in an audio system), knobs 12 in region Q2 may be used to make temperature adjustments to different climate zones, knobs 12 in region Q3 may be used to select between media sources, media tracks, and other media playback options, and knobs 12 in region Q4 may be used to adjust the intensities of lights associated with ambient lighting in system 10 (see also figure 3, elements 70-72)), see motivation to combine in claim 1.
Consider claim 8, Seo, Kwon and Arnold teach all the limitations of claim 3. In addition, Arnold teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to: sense a detachment of an add-on module from the plurality of add-on modules corresponding to one of the plurality of display groups (column 3, lines 7-11 and figure 1, the location at which knob 12 is attached to display 14 may be adjusted by a user. The user may, for example, detach knob 12 from its current position on display 14 and may replace knob 12 on display 14 in a different location such as location 12′), and output a predetermined image on the one of the plurality of display groups from which the add-on module is detached (Figure 1, figure 3 and column 3, lines 7-11), see motivation to combine in claim 1.
Consider claim 9, it includes the limitations of clam 1 and thus it is rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 10, Seo, Kwon and Arnold teach all the limitations of claim 9. In addition, Seo teaches wherein the outputting of the image comprises: outputting a first image on a first display group including at least one first display module of the display apparatus and outputting a second image on a second display group including at least one second display module of the display apparatus ([0050-0051], large-size display apparatus and 100-1 to 100-4).
Consider claim 11, it includes the limitations of clam 3 and thus it is rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 12, Seo, Kwon and Arnold teach all the limitations of claim 11. In addition, Arnold teaches wherein the identifying of the attachment event or the detachment event further comprises: identifying that each of the first add-on module and the second add-on module is attached to the surface of the display apparatus (Figure 10, knobs 12 and Q1-Q4), and wherein the outputting of the image further comprises: outputting a predetermined image based on attachment of each of the first add-on module and the second add-on module to the surface of the display apparatus (Column 9, lines 63-67 and column 10, lines 1-6: upon determining the locations and orientations of knobs 12, system 10 can gather input from each of knobs 12 and can take appropriate action. For example, knobs 12 in region Q1 may be used to make volume adjustments (e.g., for different speakers in an audio system), knobs 12 in region Q2 may be used to make temperature adjustments to different climate zones, knobs 12 in region Q3 may be used to select between media sources, media tracks, and other media playback options, and knobs 12 in region Q4 may be used to adjust the intensities of lights associated with ambient lighting in system 10 (see also figure 3, elements 70-72)).
Consider claim 13, it includes the limitations of clam 6 and thus it is rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 14, it includes the limitations of clam 7 and thus it is rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 15, it includes the limitations of clam 8 and thus it is rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 16, it includes the limitations of clam 9 and thus it is rejected by the same reasoning. In addition, Seo teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored therein [0140-0141].
Consider claim 17, it includes the limitations of clam 10 and thus it is rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 18, it includes the limitations of clam 11 and thus it is rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 19, it includes the limitations of clam 12 and thus it is rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 20, it includes the limitations of clam 13 and thus it is rejected by the same reasoning.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument (see new reference Kwon).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTO W FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621