DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities: “a entire screen” should be “an entire screen” because “entire” starts with a vowel sound. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
ling date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8, 10-12, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by [Chesnokov; Viacheslav, US 20180174526 A1].
Regarding claim 1:
Chesnokov discloses:
1. A display device (100) [Chesnokov: Fig.1: display system 1], comprising:
a display panel (210) [Chesnokov: Figs.1-2: panel of display device 3; ¶ 0027: “display device 3 panel”];
a backlight (250) [Chesnokov: Figs.1-2: backlight of display device 3; ¶ 0024: “The display device 3 of FIGS. 1 and 2 includes a backlight”] including a plurality of light sources (252) [Chesnokov: Fig.2: LEDs 14; ¶ 0025: “the backlight comprises an array of light emitting diodes (LEDs)”] that provide light to the display panel (210) [Chesnokov: Figs.1-2: panel of display device 3; ¶ 0028: “the backlight illuminates the pixels and contributes to a display luminance of the display device 3”];
and a controller (170) [Chesnokov: Fig.1: display controller 2] configured to:
obtain a illuminance [Chesnokov: ¶ 0075: “an ambient light sensor 11 that measures the ambient light level near the display device 3”; ¶ 0074: “an input 9 for an ambient light signal 10”] and image information of an input image [Chesnokov: Fig.3: steps 23-24; ¶ 0046: “ the image content of the image is analyzed to determine the intensity of pixels of the image 23”; ¶ 0046: “ the display controller 2 may include a content analyzer … based on an analysis of the image content of the image”],
increase a tone intensity of a low gray-level area of the input image based on the image information [Chesnokov: ¶ 0050: “the spatially-variant tone mapping operation can be applied to increase contrast in these dark areas, to enhance, intensify or increase the visibility of detail in these image regions”; ¶ 0054: “the gain G may be set to equal this factor x so that the output dynamic range is increased by the factor x”; Examiner: Increasing the contrast/visibility and output dynamic range of the dark (low gray-level) area reads on increasing its tone intensity.] when the illuminance is less than a reference value [Chesnokov: ¶ 0076: “if the ambient light level is low … the display luminance may be reduced by a larger amount than if the display device was subject to a high ambient light level”; ¶ 0076: “the strength of the spatially-variant tone mapping may be larger in dark conditions than in light conditions”; Examiner: “Low ambient light level,” reads on illuminance less than a reference value under BRI.] , and
control the backlight (250) [Chesnokov: Figs.1-2: backlight of display device 3; ¶ 0024: “The display device 3 of FIGS. 1 and 2 includes a backlight”] so that a current flowing in light sources (252) [Chesnokov: Fig.2: LEDs 14] corresponding to the low gray-level area is reduced [Chesnokov: ¶ 0048: “the display luminance is reduced and the spatially-variant tone mapping operation is applied to the image data”; ¶ 0049: “By reducing the display luminance, light leakage from a light source supplying light to pixels of the display device may be reduced”; ¶ 0049: “making dark areas of the image appear darker”; Examiner: Reducing the backlight luminance of the LED-array backlight necessarily reduces the drive current of the light sources illuminating the dark image region, i.e., the light sources corresponding to the low gray-level area.].
Regarding claim 2:
Chesnokov discloses:
2. The display device (100) [Chesnokov: Fig.1: display system 1] of claim 1,
wherein the controller (170) [Chesnokov: Fig.1: display controller 2] is further configured to: when the illuminance is more than or equal to the reference value, increase the tone intensity of the low gray-level area by a first intensity [Chesnokov: ¶ 0076: “the strength of the spatially-variant tone mapping may be larger in dark conditions than in light conditions”; Examiner: The smaller tone-mapping strength applied in light conditions – i.e., high ambient, illuminance is more than or equal the reference - is the claimed first intensity.], and
wherein the controller (170) [Chesnokov: Fig.1: display controller 2] is configured to: when the illuminance is less than the reference value, increase the tone intensity of the low gray-level area to a second intensity greater than the first intensity [Chesnokov: ¶ 0076: “the strength of the spatially-variant tone mapping may be larger in dark conditions than in light conditions”; ¶ 0076: “if the ambient light level is low … the display luminance may be reduced by a larger amount than if the display device was subject to a high ambient light level”; Examiner: The larger tone-mapping strength in dark conditions – low ambient, illuminance less than the reference – is the claimed second intensity greater than the first.].
Regarding claim 6:
Chesnokov discloses:
6. The display device (100) [Chesnokov: Fig.1: display system 1] of claim 1,
wherein the image information includes at least one of a maximum luminance (or peak luminance), a minimum luminance, an average picture level (APL), histogram information, information about the low gray-level area, information about the middle gray-level area, information about the high gray-level area [Chesnokov: ¶ 0046: “the image content of the image is analyzed to determine the intensity of pixels of the image 23”; ¶ 0048: “If the image is determined to be an HDR image and to include dark patches”; Examiner: Chesnokov’s analysis of the image content to identify its dark patches is “information about the low gray-level area”], or tone mapping curve information of the input image.
Regarding claim 8:
Chesnokov discloses:
8. The display device (100) [Chesnokov: Fig.1: display system 1] of claim 1,
wherein the controller (170) [Chesnokov: Fig.1: display controller 2] is further configured to: perform a global dimming operation that controls a brightness of a entire screen at once [Chesnokov: ¶ 0033: “The display controller 2 includes a luminance adjustment unit 8 for controlling the luminance of the display device 3”; ¶ 0048: “the display luminance is reduced”; ¶ 0069: “the intensity of the backlight may be substantially spatially uniformly adjusted”].
Regarding claim 10:
Chesnokov discloses:
10. The display device (100) [Chesnokov: Fig.1: display system 1] of claim 1,
wherein the input image is a HDR(High Dynamic Range) image [Chesnokov: ¶ 0032: “The image data 4 may, for example, be in an HDR (high dynamic range) format”; ¶ 0046: “ In the example of FIG. 3, if the image is an HDR image”].
Regarding claim 11:
Chesnokov discloses:
11. A method of operating a display device (100) [Chesnokov: Fig.1: display system 1], comprising:
obtaining a illuminance [Chesnokov: ¶ 0075: “an ambient light sensor 11 that measures the ambient light level near the display device 3”; ¶ 0074: “an input 9 for an ambient light signal 10”] and image information of an input image [Chesnokov: Fig.3: steps 23-24; ¶ 0046: “ the image content of the image is analyzed to determine the intensity of pixels of the image 23”; ¶ 0046: “ the display controller 2 may include a content analyzer … based on an analysis of the image content of the image”];
increasing a tone intensity of a low gray-level area of the input image based on the image information [Chesnokov: ¶ 0050: “the spatially-variant tone mapping operation can be applied to increase contrast in these dark areas, to enhance, intensify or increase the visibility of detail in these image regions”; ¶ 0054: “the gain G may be set to equal this factor x so that the output dynamic range is increased by the factor x”; Examiner: Increasing the contrast/visibility and output dynamic range of the dark (low gray-level) area reads on increasing its tone intensity.] when the illuminance is less than a reference value [Chesnokov: ¶ 0076: “if the ambient light level is low … the display luminance may be reduced by a larger amount than if the display device was subject to a high ambient light level”; ¶ 0076: “the strength of the spatially-variant tone mapping may be larger in dark conditions than in light conditions”; Examiner: “Low ambient light level,” reads on illuminance less than a reference value under BRI.];
and controlling the backlight (250) [Chesnokov: Figs.1-2: backlight of display device 3; ¶ 0024: “The display device 3 of FIGS. 1 and 2 includes a backlight”] so that a current flowing in light sources (252) [Chesnokov: Fig.2: LEDs 14; ¶ 0025: “the backlight comprises an array of light emitting diodes (LEDs)”] corresponding to the low gray-level area is reduced [Chesnokov: ¶ 0048: “the display luminance is reduced and the spatially-variant tone mapping operation is applied to the image data”; ¶ 0049: “By reducing the display luminance, light leakage from a light source supplying light to pixels of the display device may be reduced”; ¶ 0049: “making dark areas of the image appear darker”; Examiner: Reducing the backlight luminance of the LED-array backlight necessarily reduces the drive current of the light sources illuminating the dark image region, i.e., the light sources corresponding to the low gray-level area.].
Regarding claim 12:
Chesnokov discloses:
12. The method of claim 11, further comprising:
when the illuminance is more than or equal to the reference value, increasing the tone intensity of the low gray-level area by a first intensity [Chesnokov: ¶ 0076: “the strength of the spatially-variant tone mapping may be larger in dark conditions than in light conditions”; Examiner: The smaller tone-mapping strength applied in light conditions – i.e., high ambient, illuminance is more than or equal the reference - is the claimed first intensity.], and
wherein the increasing a tone intensity of a low gray-level area of the input image based on the image information when the illuminance is less than a reference value [Chesnokov: ¶ 0050: “ increase contrast in these dark areas, to enhance, intensify or increase the visibility of detail”; ¶ 0053: “The tone mapping strength may be or correspond with a particular, e.g. a pre-determined, gain G”] comprises:
when the illuminance is less than the reference value, increasing the tone intensity of the low gray-level area to a second intensity greater than the first intensity [Chesnokov: ¶ 0076: “the strength of the spatially-variant tone mapping may be larger in dark conditions than in light conditions”; ¶ 0076: “if the ambient light level is low … the display luminance may be reduced by a larger amount than if the display device was subject to a high ambient light level”; Examiner: The larger tone-mapping strength in dark conditions – low ambient, illuminance less than the reference – is the claimed second intensity greater than the first.].
Regarding claim 16
The limitations of claim 16 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 18
The limitations of claim 18 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 8 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 7, 9, 13, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Chesnokov; Viacheslav, US 20180174526 A1] in view of [Seo; Woongjin et al., US 20140320552 A1].
Regarding claim 3:
Chesnokov discloses.
3. The display device (100) [Chesnokov: Fig.1: display system 1] of claim 1.
However, Chesnokov does not expressly disclose:
wherein when the illuminance is more than or equal to the reference value, a slope of a tone mapping curve for tone mapping of the low gray-level area is a first slope, and when the illuminance is less than the reference value, the slope of the tone mapping curve for tone mapping of the low gray-level area is a second slope greater than the first slope.
Seo discloses:
wherein when the illuminance is more than or equal to the reference value [Seo: Fig.1: S2: “Low illuminance” (NO branch); Examiner: When illuminance is not low, Seo applies the standard 2.2 gamma curve referenced at ¶ 0046], a slope of a tone mapping curve for tone mapping of the low gray-level area is a first slope [Seo: Fig.3: gamma curve; ¶ 0046: “The S gamma curve has a slope greater than the 2.2 gamma curve at the low gray level”; Examiner: The low-gray slope of the second gamma curve, applied when illuminance is greater than the predetermined illuminance, is the claimed first slope.], and when the illuminance is less than the reference value [Seo: Fig.1: S2: “Low illuminance?”; Abstract: “modulating gray levels of input data of the display device based on a first gamma curve when the sensed level of external illuminance is equal to or lower than the predetermined illuminance”], the slope of the tone mapping curve for tone mapping of the low gray-level area is a second slope greater than the first slope [Seo: Abstract: “he first gamma curve includes a concave curve set in a low gray level area and a convex curve set in a high gray level area, and the concave curve and the convex curve are connected via an inflection point”; ¶ 0045: “`a (alpha)` is an emphasis variable of the low gray level”; Examiner: The concave, low-gray-emphasized first gamma curve applied at/below the predetermined illuminance has a greater low-gray slope than the second gamma curve, reading on the second slope greater than the first.].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Chesnokov to apply the illuminance-dependent gamma curve of Seo, such that the illuminance is at or below the reference value, in order to improve low gray-level (shadow) visibility and reduce user eye fatigue in low-illuminance environments, as taught by Seo [Seo: Abstract; ¶ 0045].
Regarding claim 7:
Chesnokov discloses.
7. The display device (100) [Chesnokov: Fig.1: display system 1] of claim 1.
However, Chesnokov does not expressly disclose:
wherein when the illuminance is changed from a first viewing situation in which the illuminance is more than or equal to the reference value to a second situation in which the illuminance is less than the reference value, the luminance measured for the low gray-level area is increased.
Seo discloses:
wherein when the illuminance is changed from a first viewing situation in which the illuminance is more than or equal to the reference value [Seo: ¶ 0037: “ modulates gray levels of input data based on an existing 2.2 gamma curve when the external illuminance is a high illuminance”] to a second situation in which the illuminance is less than the reference value [Seo: Fig.1: S2 “Low illuminance?” [Wingdings font/0xE0] S3 “Reduce luminance and apply S gamma curve”; ¶ 0040: “When the external illuminance is the low illuminance, the gamma compensation method … applies the S-curve gamma compensation method in steps S2 and S3”] , the luminance measured for the low gray-level area is increased [Seo: ¶ 0040: “The S gamma curve has a luminance value greater than the 2.2 gamma curve at the low gray level”; ¶ 0047: “The embodiment of the invention increases a luminance of the low gray levels using the S gamma curve”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Chesnokov to increase the luminance of the low gray-level area upon the transition to low illuminance as taught by Seo, in order to improve the visibility of the low gray levels and prevent reduction in grayscale representation when the ambient illuminance is low [Sep: ¶ 0047].
Regarding claim 9:
Chesnokov discloses.
9. The display device (100) [Chesnokov: Fig.1: display system 1] of claim 8,
wherein the controller (170) [Chesnokov: Fig.1: display controller 2] is configured to: perform the global dimming operation [Chesnokov: ¶ 0069: “the intensity of the backlight may be substantially spatially uniformly adjusted”] based on the illuminance [Chesnokov: ¶ 0076: “ if the ambient light level is low … the display luminance may be reduced by a larger amount than if the display device was subject to a high ambient light level”].
However, Chesnokov does not expressly disclose:
and an average picture level (APL) of the input image.
Seo discloses:
and an average picture level (APL) of the input image [Seo: ¶ 0041: “ the recognition optimum luminance is scarcely affected by the brightness of an image, of which an average picture level (APL) is equal to or greater than 30”; ¶ 0051: “The luminance of the display panel may be calculated using a luminance of the backlight unit or the Average Picture Level (APL).”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the global dimming of Chesnokov to be performed based on the average picture level (APL) of the input images as taught by Seo, in order to set the display-panel luminance to a level appropriate to the image content and thereby preserve grayscale representation while reducing power consumption [Seo: ¶ 0041 and 0052].
Regarding claim 13
The limitations of claim 13 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 17
The limitations of claim 17 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 19
The limitations of claim 19 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 9 above.
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Chesnokov; Viacheslav, US 20180174526 A1] in view of [Yeo; Dong-Min et al., US 20090189543 A1].
Regarding claim 4:
Chesnokov discloses:
4. The display device (100) [Chesnokov: Fig.1: display system 1] of claim 1,
wherein the controller (170) [Chesnokov: Fig.1: display controller 2] is further configured to: maintain the tone for a high gray-level area of the input image [Chesnokov; ¶ 0050: “increase contrast in these dark areas, to enhance, intensify or increase the visibility of detail”; Examiner: The spatially-variant tone mapping is directed to the dark (low gray-level) area, so the tone of the high gray-level area is not altered, i.e., maintained.].
However, Chesnokov does not expressly disclose:
and control the backlight (250) to increase the current flowing through light sources (252) corresponding to the high gray-level area.
Yeo discloses:
and control the backlight (250) to increase the current flowing through light sources (252) corresponding to the high gray-level area [Yeo: ¶ 0051: “The driving dimming duty cycle corresponds to a representative grayscale value (RGV) of each of a plurality of dimming unit areas”; ¶ 0052: “each of a plurality of light-emitting unit blocks included in a light source is driven based on the driving dimming duty cycle (step S200). The light-emitting unit blocks correspond to the dimming unit areas”; Examiner: A high gray-level area has a high representative grayscale value, so its corresponding light-emitting unit block is driven at a higher duty cycle, thereby increasing the current to the light sources corresponding to the high gray-level area.].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Chesnokov to drive the light sources corresponding to the high gray-level area at an increased duty cycle as taught by Yeo, in order to increase the contrast ratio of the display image [Yeo: ¶ 0015].
Regarding claim 14
The limitations of claim 14 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 4 above.
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Chesnokov; Viacheslav, US 20180174526 A1] in view of [Fujine; Toshiyuki et al., US 20150070376 A1].
Regarding claim 5:
Chesnokov discloses:
5. The display device (100) [Chesnokov: Fig.1: display system 1] of claim 1.
However, Chesnokov does not expressly disclose:
wherein the low gray-level area includes a plurality of local areas, and
wherein the controller (170) is further configured to: determine the tone intensity for each local area based on histogram information and peak luminance of each local area.
Fujine discloses:
wherein the low gray-level area includes a plurality of local areas [Fujine: ¶ 0056: “The area-active-control/luminance-stretching portion 14 divides a video into a predetermined plurality of areas, and controls light emission luminance of the LED corresponding to the divided areas for each area”; Examiner: The low gray-level (dark) regions spans a plurality of these divided area.], and
wherein the controller (170) is further configured to: determine the tone intensity for each local area [Fujine: ¶ 0047: “The lighting rate is defined for each area of the backlight portion 16 corresponding to a divided area of a video”; ¶ 0056: “controls light emission luminance of the LED corresponding to the divided areas for each area”] based on histogram information [Fujine: ¶ 0075: “The light emission detecting portion 12 of the signal processing portion 11 detects a part that emits light from a video signal. FIG. 6 shows an example of a Y histogram generated from a luminance signal Y. The light emission detecting portion 12 integrates the number of pixels for each luminance tone to generate a Y histogram for each frame of an input video signal”; ¶ 0077: “A second threshold Th2 is for defining a light emitting boundary, and in the Y histogram, processing is performed for pixels not less than the threshold Th2 which are regarded as a light emitting par”] and peak luminance of each local area [Fujine: ¶ 0057: “the maximum tone value of the video signal for each area is extracted”; Examiner: The maximum tone value extracted for each divided area is the peak luminance of each local area.].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Chesnokov to subdivide the low gray-level area into a plurality of local areas and to determine the tone intensity for each area from that area’s maximum (peak) tone value and the luminance histogram, as taught by Fujine, in order to adapt the luminance/tone enhancement to the local content of each area and improve local contrast and the sense of brightness of the image [Fujine: ¶ 0050 and 0056].
Regarding claim 15
The limitations of claim 15 have been addressed in the discussion of claim 5 above.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Chesnokov; Viacheslav, US 20180174526 A1] in view of [Farrell; Suzanne et al., US 20180366070 A1].
Regarding claim 20:
Chesnokov discloses:
20. [Chesnokov: Fig.1: display system 1] is recorded,
wherein the method comprises:
obtaining a illuminance [Chesnokov: ¶ 0075: “an ambient light sensor 11 that measures the ambient light level near the display device 3”; ¶ 0074: “an input 9 for an ambient light signal 10”] and image information of an input image [Chesnokov: Fig.3: steps 23-24; ¶ 0046: “ the image content of the image is analyzed to determine the intensity of pixels of the image 23”; ¶ 0046: “ the display controller 2 may include a content analyzer … based on an analysis of the image content of the image”];
increasing a tone intensity of a low gray-level area of the input image based on the image information [Chesnokov: ¶ 0050: “the spatially-variant tone mapping operation can be applied to increase contrast in these dark areas, to enhance, intensify or increase the visibility of detail in these image regions”; ¶ 0054: “the gain G may be set to equal this factor x so that the output dynamic range is increased by the factor x”; Examiner: Increasing the contrast/visibility and output dynamic range of the dark (low gray-level) area reads on increasing its tone intensity.] when the illuminance is less than a reference value [Chesnokov: ¶ 0076: “if the ambient light level is low … the display luminance may be reduced by a larger amount than if the display device was subject to a high ambient light level”; ¶ 0076: “the strength of the spatially-variant tone mapping may be larger in dark conditions than in light conditions”; Examiner: “Low ambient light level,” reads on illuminance less than a reference value under BRI.];
and controlling the backlight (250) [Chesnokov: Figs.1-2: backlight of display device 3; ¶ 0024: “The display device 3 of FIGS. 1 and 2 includes a backlight”] so that a current flowing in light sources (252) [Chesnokov: Fig.2: LEDs 14; ¶ 0025: “the backlight comprises an array of light emitting diodes (LEDs)”] corresponding to the low gray-level area is reduced [Chesnokov: ¶ 0048: “the display luminance is reduced and the spatially-variant tone mapping operation is applied to the image data”; ¶ 0049: “By reducing the display luminance, light leakage from a light source supplying light to pixels of the display device may be reduced”; ¶ 0049: “making dark areas of the image appear darker”; Examiner: Reducing the backlight luminance of the LED-array backlight necessarily reduces the drive current of the light sources illuminating the dark image region, i.e., the light sources corresponding to the low gray-level area.].
However, Chesnokov does not expressly disclose:
A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium on which a program for performing the method is recorded.
Farrell discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium on which a program for performing the method is recorded [Farrell: ¶ 0068: “one or more processors in a display … may implement methods related to backlight control and display mapping processes as described above by executing software instructions in a program memory accessible to the processors”; ¶ 0068: “The program product may comprise any non-transitory medium which carries a set of computer-readable signals comprising instructions which, when executed by a data processor, cause the data processor to execute a method of the invention”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to embody Chesnokov’s ambient-adaptive ton-mapping and backlight-control method as a program recorded on a non-transitory computer-readable medium, as taught by Farrell. The references are analogues art in the same field of backlight control and tone mapping for LCD/HDR displays. A person of ordinary skill the art would have been motivated to store Chesnokov’s method as such a program to enable its execution, distribution, and updating on the display’s processor, yielding the predictable result of an executable stored program.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
[Pytlarz; Jaclyn Anne, US 20230169930 A1] discloses:
“Methods and systems to adjust differently brightness and contrast for dark and bright pictures on a display are provided. Given a tone-mapping curve mapping an input dynamic range to a display comprising a minimum and maximum display luminance value, the maximum display luminance value is lowered to an adjusted luminance value according to user defined parameters. The input dynamic range is tone-mapped to the display dynamic range using the adjusted luminance value. For brightness control, the tone mapped image is stretched linearly back to the maximum display luminance value. For contrast control, a gamma or power EOTF of the display is adjusted according to the adjusted luminance. For displays with global backlight control, the global backlight is adjusted only when contrast is adjusted,” as recited in the abstract.
Inquiry
/KOOSHA SHARIFI-TAFRESHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628