DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schone (US 2022/0226080 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Schone discloses an implant structure (see Fig. 1) comprising: an upper structure (3 and 2) comprising a gingival portion (2) and a prosthesis support (3); and a lower structure (1) provided integrally with the upper structure (see [0034]), wherein the lower structure has a greater surface roughness than the upper structure (see [0011]-[0013]).
Schone further discloses wherein the prosthesis support has a greater surface roughness than the gingival portion (see [0011]-[0013], per claim 2); wherein the surface roughness increases in the order of the gingival portion, the prosthesis support, and the lower structure (see [0011]-[0013], per claim 3); wherein the surface roughness of the lower structure ranges from 1.5 to 2.5 μm (see [0011], per claim 4); and wherein the surface roughness of the prosthesis support ranges from 0.3 to 0.6 μm (see [0013], per claim 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schone in view of Kazuyoshi et al (JP2021083752, cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 6, Schone discloses all the features of the claimed invention, including wherein the roughness of the gingival portion is 0.04 microns (see [0012]), but does not explicitly teach wherein the roughness of the gingival portion ranges from 0.01 to 0.03 microns as required.
Kazuyoshi et al, however, teaches a similar ceramic dental implant with a gingival tissue contacting neck (13b) having a surface roughness that ranges from 0.01 to 0.03 microns (see page 19, Machine Translation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the device of Schone to include Kazuyoshi’s surface roughness for the gingival portion, as such modification would provide enhanced anchorage to the gums, thereby reducing the risk of bacterial infection, peri implantitis and mucositis (see Kazuyoshi, citations above). Further, the Examiner notes that where a prior art range overlaps or lies inside a claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(I)). Still further, the Examiner notes that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close such that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect them to have the same properties (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 7, the Examiner notes the term “wherein the gingival portion is treated with acid” is a product by process limitation. That is, the specific roughness achieved is formed by an acid treatment. The Examiner notes that product by process limitations are not limited by the specific steps of the process (e.g. acid treatment), but only by the structure imparted thereby (e.g. the specific surface roughness). In the instant case Schone/Kazuyoshi, as combined above, discloses all required structural limitations required by the process (e.g. roughness of the gingival portion, see above), thereby meeting the limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2113.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schone in view of Harada et al (US 2022/0047364 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Schone discloses all the features of the claimed invention, including wherein the implant may be formed of a ceramic including zirconium oxide, yttrium oxide and cerium oxide and combinations thereof (see [0034]). Schone however, does not teach the inclusion of Niobium oxide or Erbium oxide, and the specific percentages of each oxide as required.
Harada et al, however, teaches a similar zirconia based ceramic material for a dental implant which contains stabilizers including one or more of yttrium oxide, niobium oxide, cerium oxide, and erbium oxide (see [0049]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the device of Schone to include Harada’s teaching of stabilizing the zirconia ceramic with a combination of yttrium, cerium, erbium and niobium oxides, as such modification would improve stabilization of the zirconia, improve or optimize desired mechanical properties of the material and allow for optimization of desired pigmentation of the material.
Schone/Harada, as combined above, does not explicitly teach 82-84% zirconium oxide, 7.25-7.75% yttrium oxide, 6.75-7.25% niobium oxide, 0.75-1.25% Erbium oxide, and 0.75-1.25% cerium oxide as required. However, the Examiner notes that the specific weight percents of each of the materials are result effective variables dependent on the desired mechanical and aesthetic properties of the implant and its material. Additionally the instant specification does not provide any criticality for the specific weight percentages and additionally describes such values as merely preferable (see pages 3 and 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the weight percents of the different oxides in the ceramic material of Schone/Harada, as combined above, to include 82-84% zirconium oxide, 7.25-7.75% yttrium oxide, 6.75-7.25% niobium oxide, 0.75-1.25% Erbium oxide, and 0.75-1.25% cerium oxide, as required, as such modification would merely involve the optimization of a result effective variable, which has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached PTO892 form describing several dental implants with variable surface roughness.
/EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772