DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 1, in the second to last line, the limitation “execute control of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus using….” is recited. However, claim 1 is directed to an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus which is set forth as comprising a processor configured to receive information, perform coordinate conversion and execute control. It is unclear as to which component/element (i.e. processor or a specific step performed by the processor or an unclaimed part of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus, such as a probe) of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus is controlled via the step of “execute control of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus…”, thereby rendering the claim indefinite. For examination purposes, it is assumed that it can be the processor that is controlled to perform some step of an ultrasound procedure, such as controlling an ultrasound probe to perform scanning based on the coordinates in the scanning coordinate system of an ultrasound beam (i.e. the coordinates of the designated point that have undergone the coordinate conversion).
With regards to claim 2, in line 3, it is unclear as to what is meant by “in the control”. For examination purposes, Examiner assumes that Applicant meant that executing the control of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus comprises setting a range of a position, etc..
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus" in the second to last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus" in the second to last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 15 is directed to “A computer data signal…”, wherein a “computer data signal” does not fall with at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dickie (US Pub No. 2024/0122573).
With regards to claims 1 and 13-15, Dickie discloses a method, a non-transitory computer readable medium, a computer data signal and an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus comprising:
a processor (116) (paragraphs [0059]-[0060], referring to the processor 116; Figure 1) configured to:
receive information on a point designated on an ultrasound image displayed on a screen (paragraphs [0060], [0066], referring to receiving a tap gesture input at a location directly on the ultrasound image feed on the touchscreen display, such location indicating on the post scan converted ultrasound image frame a desired focal adjustment point; paragraph [0067], referring to the user interface (401) of an ultrasound system that receives input via a single tap gesture “directly on the ultrasound image” in order to activate an automatic focal point adjustment; paragraph [0077], referring to the tap gesture inputs; Figures 4, 10);
perform coordinate conversion of coordinates (i.e. cartesian coordinates) of the designated point (i.e. tap gesture point/location) in a display coordinate system of the ultrasound image that are indicated by the information into coordinates (i.e. polar coordinates) in a scanning coordinate system of an ultrasound beam (paragraph [0066], referring to “reverting the post scan converted ultrasound image frame comprising the location of the desired focal adjustment point, by way of the cartesian co-ordinates, to its corresponding pre-scan raw ultrasound data frame, and then calculating on the pre-scan raw ultrasound data frame, the location of the desired focal adjustment point, by way of polar co-ordinates of the desired focal adjustment point…meaning that any point on the entire curvilinear image may be tapped and an accurate refocusing on that desired anatomical feature is attained”; paragraphs [0079], [0080]; Figure 10); and
execute control of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus using the coordinates of the designated point that have undergone the coordinate conversion (paragraph [0066], referring to “Thereafter, at least one beamformer parameter of ultrasound signals being used to transmit and receive the ultrasound image may be appropriately adjusted to focus on the desired focal adjustment point, based upon the polar coordinates. These steps of reverting to raw data format and using polar coordinates to adjust the beamformer parameters obviates any issues with the location of the tap gesture or touch point, meaning that any point on the entire curvilinear image may be tapped and an accurate refocusing on that desired anatomical feature is attained”; paragraph [0081], referring to “FIG. 10, act 1060 provides for the subsequent adjustment of at least one beamformer parameter of ultrasound signals to focus the new desired focal point, based upon the polar coordinates. More specifically, the at least one beamformer parameter relates to transmit beamforming. Transmit beamforming, at a selectable focal distance is achieved by specific timing delays among the active transducer elements, each with a known concave excitation profile”; Figure 10).
With regards to claim 2, Dickie discloses that the processor is configured to: in the control, set a range or a position (i.e. “New Desired Focal Point”) that is used to generate the ultrasound image based on the coordinates of the designated point that have undergone the coordinate conversion (paragraph [0083]; paragraph [0084], referring to the transmit beamformer parameters that can be adjusted include “Field of view (FOV): the sizes of the areas represented by the obtained images”, wherein the FOV represents a set range used to generate the ultrasound image; Figure 10, referring to step 1060, “Adjust at least one Beamformer Parameter of Ultrasound Signals to Focus at the New Desired Focal Point, Based upon Polar Co-ordinates”, wherein the new desired focal point corresponds to a set position to generate the ultrasound image).
With regards to claim 3, Dickie discloses that the range or the position that is used to generate the ultrasound image and that is a target of the setting defines a transmission range or a transmission position of the ultrasound beam for a specific display mode (i.e. anatomical image mode/B-mode) of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus (paragraph [0077], referring to the anatomical features in the image depicted in Figure 4, wherein, as is well known in the art, B-mode is the standard anatomical imaging mode for ultrasound; Figures 4, 10).
With regards to claim 4, Dickie discloses that the range that is used to generate the ultrasound image and that is a target of the setting defines a range of reception signals subjected to calculation for generating an image of a specific display mode (i.e. anatomical image mode/B-mode) of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus (paragraph [0084], referring to the transmit beamformer parameters that can be adjusted include “Field of view (FOV): the sizes of the areas represented by the obtained images”, wherein the FOV represents a set range used to generate the ultrasound image; paragraph [0077], referring to the anatomical features in the image depicted in Figure 4, wherein, as is well known in the art, B-mode is the standard anatomical imaging mode for ultrasound; Figures 4, 10).
With regards to claims 9 and 10, Dickie discloses that the range that is used to generate the ultrasound image and that is the target of the setting is a scanning range with the ultrasound beam for B-mode tomographic image display (paragraph [0084], referring to the transmit beamformer parameters that can be adjusted include “Field of view (FOV): the sizes of the areas represented by the obtained images”, wherein the FOV represents a set range used to generate the ultrasound image; paragraph [0077], referring to the anatomical features in the image depicted in Figure 4, wherein, as is well known in the art, B-mode is the standard anatomical imaging mode for ultrasound; Figures 4, 10).
With regards to claim 11, Dickie discloses that the processor is configured to set the range that is used to generate the ultrasound image based on the designated point (i.e. mark 410 where user taps) on the ultrasound image displayed on the screen (paragraph [0067], referring to referring to the mark 410 which corresponds to a new desired focal point tapped by a user directly on the ultrasound image feed 402; paragraph [0084], referring to field of view (FOV) being a parameter that can be adjusted and manipulated; Figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickie as applied to claims 3 and 4 above, and further in view of Weber et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0330076).
With regards to claims 5-6 and 7-8, as discussed above, Dickie meets the limitations of claims 3 and 4. With regards to claims 5-6, Dickie further discloses that the range that is used to generate the ultrasound image and that is the target of the setting a sample volume for an ultrasound image mode display (paragraph [0038], referring to the ultrasound data being in any format, including a three-dimensional grid, and thus can provide a sample volume; paragraph [0084], referring to the transmit beamformer parameters that can be adjusted include “Field of view (FOV): the sizes of the areas represented by the obtained images”, wherein the FOV represents a set range used to generate the ultrasound image; Figures 4 and 10). With regards to claims 7-8, Dickie discloses that the range that is used to generate the ultrasound image and that is the target of the setting is an ROI that is a range for an ultrasound image mode display (paragraph [0084], referring to the transmit beamformer parameters that can be adjusted include “Field of view (FOV): the sizes of the areas represented by the obtained images”, wherein the FOV represents an area/ROI that is a range for an ultrasound image mode display).
However, Dickie does not specifically disclose that the ultrasound image mode display is a pulsed or color Doppler display.
Weber et al. disclose an ultrasound imaging system comprising a display for displaying a received ultrasound image and a user interface is provided for receiving user commands for controlling the ultrasound imaging process, and it receives a user input which identifies a point or region of the displayed ultrasound image (Abstract; paragraphs [0085], [0087]; Figures 1-2). Processed signals are coupled to a B-mode processor and a Doppler processor, wherein the Doppler processor processes temporally distinct signals from tissue movement and blood flow for the detection of the motion of substances, such as the flow of blood cells in the image field (paragraphs [0126]-[0127]). The scan converter can overlay a B-mode structural image with colors corresponding to motion at points in the image field with their Doppler-estimated velocities to produce a color Doppler image which depicts the motion of tissue and blood flow in the image field (paragraph [0130]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the ultrasound image mode display further comprise a pulsed or color Doppler display, as taught by Weber et al., in order to provide tissue movement and blood flow information for the detection of the motion of substances, such as the flow of blood cells in the image field, which increases the diagnostic value of the system (paragraphs [0126]-[0127]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickie as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hansen et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0337678).
With regards to claim 12, as discussed above, Dickie meets the limitations of claim 2. However, Dickie does not disclose that the processor is configured to receive information on two points designated on the ultrasound image displayed on the screen; and enlarge or reduce the range in a case in which a distance between the two designated points is increased or decreased over time.
Hansen et al. disclose systems and methods for controlling visualization of ultrasound image data, wherein a sequence of user interface interactions can occur for receiving input to increase the sector angle (i.e. range) of a sector image during ultrasound imaging (Abstract; paragraph [0106]; Figures 8A-8C). Two touch points for a pinch gesture input may be initiated at touchpoints (812a), wherein the pinch-out gesture is initiated from touch points (812a) in Figure 8A and extended to touchpoints (812b) in Figure 8B (paragraphs [0108]-[0109]; Figures 8A-C). In response, the touchscreen may display a transitional view during the continuous contact that provides previews 820 of the desired sector angle for the sector image, wherein, as depicted in Figure 8B, the live ultrasound image feed (805a) is continuously updated to provide an outline of the increased sector angle (shown in dotted outline in fig. 8B), and the outline may increase with the length of the pinch-out gesture (paragraph [0110]; Figures 8A-C). Figure 8C depicts an example view of the ultrasound image feed that has been updated after the sector angle imaging parameter has been modified based on preview shown in Figure 8B, wherein the wider sector angle allows additional structures previously not viewable in the narrower sector angle of Figures 8A,B to become viewable (paragraph [0113]; Figures 8A-C, note that two points (812a,812b) are designed on the ultrasound image and the range is enlarged/reduced in which a distance between the two points is increased or decreased over time).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the processor of Dickie be configured to receive information on two points designated on the ultrasound image displayed on the screen; and enlarge or reduce the range in a case in which a distance between the two designated points is increased or decreased over time, as taught by Hansen et al., in order to increase the sector angle (i.e. range) of a sector image during ultrasound imaging, thereby controlling what structures are viewable or not viewable (paragraphs [0106], [0113]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 13-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 19/380,997 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 13-15 of the instant application is generic to all that is recited in claims 1-2 of the reference application. That is, claims 1-2 of the reference application falls entirely within the scope of instant claims 1 and 13-15, or in other words, instant claims 1 and 13-15 are anticipated by claims 1-2 of the reference application. Specifically, because claims 1-2 of the reference application claims the same steps and structure (i.e. receiving information on a position (inherently corresponding to a “point”) on an ultrasound image displayed on a screen, determine, for the position of intersection/point designated on the ultrasound image, a depth in a scanning coordinate system of an ultrasound beam, which comprises, performing coordinate conversion of the coordinates of the position/point in the display coordinate system into coordinates in the scanning coordinate system [see claim 2 of the reference application], execute control using the determined depth [which, as set forth in claim 2 of the reference application, is determined using the coordinates of the designated point that have undergone the coordinate conversion], etc.), as claimed in instant claims 1 and 13-15, the invention of instant claims 1 and 13-15 are anticipated by claims 1-2 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koch et al. (US Pub No. 2014/0098049) disclose systems and methods for receiving touch-based input from an operator of an imaging device, wherein based on the received input, the imaging device can update the display of the image (Abstract; paragraph [0045]; Figure 4).
/KATHERINE L FERNANDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798