DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2019/03446943).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a display device comprising: an active area in which an image is displayed and a touch input is detected (see fig. 1);
a first outmost sensor portion (NSP1 in fig. 8B) and a second outmost sensor portion (NSP2, fig. 8B) located at an edge of the active area (TA, fig. 8B), a size of first outmost sensor portion being different from a size of the second outmost sensor portion (see fig. 8A, 9B)
a first sensor portion (SNP directly below NSP2 in fig. 3) connected to the first outmost sensor portion by a first connecting portion (BSL in fig. 4);
a second sensor portion (SNP directly below BSP1 in fig. 3) connected to the second outmost sensor portion by a second connecting portion (BSP1 in fig. 3); and
a first touch line (ESL in fig. 8B and in fig. 3) connected to both the first outmost sensor portion and the second outmost sensor portion (see fig. 8B and fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses wherein a shape of the first outmost sensor portion is different from a shape of the second outmost sensor portion in plan view (see fig. 8B, 9A).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses wherein a shape of the first sensor portion is substantially equal to a shape of the second sensor portion (see fig. 3; wherein all SNP have the same shape), and a size of the first sensor portion is substantially equal to a size of the second sensor portion in plan view (see fig. 3; wherein all SNP have the same shape).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses wherein the first outmost sensor portion and the first sensor portion are arranged in a first direction (e.g. vertical in fig. 8 and in fig. 3), and wherein the second outmost sensor portion and the second sensor portion are arranged Page 2 of 9 in the first direction (e.g. vertical in fig. 8 and in fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses further comprising:
a first touch insulating layer between the first outmost sensor portion and the first connecting portion (para. 114) and between the first sensor portion and the second connecting portion (para. 114).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses wherein the first connecting portion is connected to the first outmost sensor portion via a first contact hole extending through a first touch insulating layer (para. 114), and
wherein the second connecting portion is connected to the second via a second contact hole extending through the first touch insulating layer (para. 114).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses further comprising:
a third outmost sensor portion (see right NSP1 in fig. 3) and a fourth outmost sensor portion (see right NSP2 in fig. 3) located at an edge of the active area, and
wherein a size of third outmost sensor portion is different from a size of the fourth outmost sensor portion (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses wherein a shape of the third outmost sensor portion is different from a shape of the fourth outmost sensor portion in plan view (see fig. 3 and para. 77, 89, 158, wherein the sensor portions may be any shape)).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses wherein the size of the third outmost sensor portion is different from the size of the first outmost sensor portion and the size of the second outmost sensor portion (see fig. 3 and fig. 8B), and the shape of the third outmost sensor portion is different from the shape of the first outmost sensor portion and the shape of the second outmost sensor portion in plan view (see fig. 3 and fig. 8B and para. 77, 89, 158, wherein the sensor portions may be any shape).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses wherein the size of the fourth outmost sensor portion is different from the size of the first outmost sensor portion and the size of the second outmost sensor portion (see fig. 3 and fig. 8B), and the shape of the fourth outmost sensor portion is different from the shape of the first outmost sensor portion and the shape of the second outmost sensor portion in plan view (see fig. 3 and fig. 8B and para. 77, 89, 158; wherein the sensor portions may be any shape).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses further comprising:
a third sensor portion (see multiple SNP in fig. 3) connected to the third outmost sensor portion by a third connecting portion (see multiple BSP1 in fig. 3);
a fourth second sensor portion (see multiple SNP in fig. 3) connected to the second fourth outmost sensor portion by a fourth connecting portion (see multiple BSP1 in fig. 3); and
a second touch line (ESL in fig. 3; wherein e.g. fig. 3 has more than one ESL) connected to both the third outmost sensor portion and the fourth outmost sensor portion (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses further comprising:
a fifth outmost sensor portion (see left NSP1, fig. 3) and a sixth outmost sensor portion (see left NSP2, fig. 3) located at an edge of the active area, and
wherein a size of fifth outmost sensor portion is different from a size of the sixth outmost sensor portion (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses wherein a shape of the fifth outmost sensor portion is different from a shape of the sixth outmost sensor portion in plan view (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses wherein the size of the fifth outmost sensor portion is different from the size of the first outmost sensor portion and the size of the second outmost sensor portion (see fig. 3 and fig. 8B), and the shape of the fifth outmost sensor portion is different from the shape of the first outmost sensor portion and the shape of the second outmost sensor portion in plan view (see fig. 3 and 8B and para. 77, 89, 158, wherein the sensor portions may be any shape).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses wherein the size of the sixth outmost sensor portion is different from the size of the first outmost sensor portion and the size of the second outmost sensor portion (see fig. 3 and fig. 8B), and the shape of the sixth outmost sensor portion is different Page 5 of 9 from the shape of the first outmost sensor portion and the shape of the second outmost sensor portion in plan view (see fig. 3 and 8B and para. 77, 89, 158, wherein the sensor portions may be any shape).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses further comprising:
a fifth connecting portion (BSL in fig. 4B) between the fifth outmost sensor portion and the sixth outmost sensor portion (see fig. 4B);
a fifth sensor portion (see multiple left SNP in fig. 3) connected to the fifth outmost sensor portion by a sixth connecting portion (see multiple left BSP1, fig. 3); and
a third touch line (left ESL in fig. 3) connected to both the fifth outmost sensor portion and the sixth outmost sensor portion (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses further comprising: a non-active area (NTA, fig. 8B) around the active area; and
wherein the first sensor portion and the second sensor portion are located at the active area, and the first touch line is located at the non-active area (see fig. 8B).
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons stated as claim 1. See above rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of An (US 2011/0227858).
Regarding claim 12, Kim fails to disclose wherein the third and fourth sensor portions are arranged in a second, horizontal direction.
An discloses wherein the third outmost sensor portion (bottom edge electrodes of 311, fig. 7A) and the third sensor portion (bottom 311, fig. 7A) are arranged in a second direction (e.g. horizontal) perpendicular to the first direction, and
wherein the fourth outmost sensor portion (top edge electrodes 311 in fig. 7A) and the fourth sensor portion (top 311 in fig. 7A) are arranged in the second direction (e.g. horizontal).
When the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of an in the device of Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve touch sensitivity of the device by having greater variations in detected capacitance (An; para. 79-81).
Regarding claim 13, An discloses wherein the third outmost sensor portion, the third sensor portion and the third connecting portion include a same conductive layer (see 311 in fig. 7A).
Wherein the same motivation to combine as in claim 12 applies.
Conclusion
/ROBIN J MISHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628