DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments of claims 1-14 are acknowledged by the Examiner.
Applicant’s amendments of claims 1-14 has overcome the previous claim objections. Therefore the previous claim objections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments of claim 1 has overcome the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Therefore, the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn.
Claims 1-14 are pending in the current Application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the teaching reference of Ingram fails to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the saliva ducts being a channel) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Examiner argues that the gap between the user’s teeth and the splint of Ingram does form a saliva duct in a region of a plurality of chewing surfaces of a plurality of teeth of a wearer which ensures saliva can flow freely between the dental splint and the user’s teeth as claimed.
In response to applicant's argument that the combination of Ona in view of Ingram fails to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the splint being contoured to the user’s teeth to form a guide channel that directs saliva and permits a constant flow) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s arguments against the remaining dependent claims depend on the non-persuasive arguments above, and are not persuasive for the same reasons.
It is for at least these reasons that the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 made in the non-final rejection are maintained and updated below in view of the amendments.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the chewing surfaces” in line 10. This limitation should be amended to recite “the plurality of chewing surfaces” to maintain consistency in the claims.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the user’s teeth” in line 12. This limitation should be amended to recite “the plurality of teeth of the wearer” to maintain consistency in the claims.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the saliva ducts” in line 2. This limitation should be amended to recite “the at least one/plurality of saliva duct(s)” to maintain consistency in the claims.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the chewing surfaces” in line 3. This limitation should be amended to recite “the plurality of chewing surfaces” to maintain consistency in the claims.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the teeth” in line 4. This limitation should be amended to recite “the plurality of teeth of the wearer” to maintain consistency in the claims.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the saliva ducts” in line 2. This limitation should be amended to recite “the at least one/plurality of saliva duct(s)” to maintain consistency in the claims.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the chewing surfaces” in line 3. This limitation should be amended to recite “the plurality of chewing surfaces” to maintain consistency in the claims.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the teeth” in line 3. This limitation should be amended to recite “the plurality of teeth of the wearer” to maintain consistency in the claims.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the interdental openings” in line 2. This limitation should be amended to recite “the plurality interdental openings” to maintain consistency in the claims.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the teeth” in line 3. This limitation should be amended to recite “the plurality of teeth of the wearer” to maintain consistency in the claims.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the interdental openings” in line 2. This limitation should be amended to recite “the plurality interdental openings” to maintain consistency in the claims.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the saliva ducts” in line 2. This limitation should be amended to recite “the at least one/plurality of saliva duct(s)” to maintain consistency in the claims.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the chewing surfaces” in line 3. This limitation should be amended to recite “the plurality of chewing surfaces” to maintain consistency in the claims.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the teeth of the user” in line 3. This limitation should be amended to recite “the plurality of teeth of the wearer” to maintain consistency in the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “to ensure saliva can freely flow between the dental splint and the user’s teeth”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the functionality of allowing saliva to freely flow will always be ensured (i.e. will free flowing saliva always occur during use of the invention, or dependent on the user can this functionality not be ensured). For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret this limitation as best understood.
Claims 2-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being dependent on a rejected claim and thus, contain the same offending limitations.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “wherein the dental splint is configured to lock the lower jaw in a predefined protrusion relationship of the lower jaw and upper jaw”. This limitation fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 1 which recites “A dental splint for locking (i.e. configured to lock) the lower jaw in a predefined protrusion relationship of an upper jaw and the lower jaw”.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ona et al. (US 2014/0076333 A1) (hereinafter Ona) in view of Ingram (US 2019/0125496 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Ona discloses A dental splint (dental appliance; see [0017]; see figure 1) for locking a lower jaw in a predefined protrusion relationship of an upper and the lower jaw (see [0017]), comprising: an upper jaw shell (1; see [0017]; see figure 1); a lower jaw shell (2; see [0017]; see figure 1); and a connecting bar (8 and 9; see [0017]; see figures 1 and 4-6) that connects the upper jaw shell to the lower jaw shell (see figures 1 and 4-6).
Ona does not disclose wherein the dental splint is configured so that, when the dental splint is worn during sleep, at least one/a plurality of saliva duct(s) are formed, in a region of a plurality of chewing surfaces of a plurality of teeth of a wearer, between the dental splint and the chewing surfaces so as to ensure saliva can freely flow between the dental splint and the user’s teeth while the dental splint is being worn during sleep.
However, Ingram teaches an analogous dental splint (12; see [0021]; see figure 1) that is similarly utilized during a user’s sleep to treat sleep apnea (see [0020]) and is used to position and hold the user’s jaw in a desired position (see [0030]); wherein the dental splint (12) is configured so that, when the dental splint is worn during sleep, at least one/a plurality of saliva duct(s) (spaces between 16 of 12 and user’s teeth; see [0021]) are formed, in a region of a plurality of chewing surfaces of a plurality of teeth of a wearer, between the dental splint and the chewing surfaces (spaces are formed between the guard and the user’s teeth surfaces (specifically the occlusal or “chewing” surfaces) which are resting on the guard; see [0021]) so as to ensure saliva can freely flow between the dental splint while the dental splint is being worn during sleep (spaces allow a fluid (saliva and air) to easy flow in the space between the user's teeth and the guard; see [0021]) for the purpose of allowing a fluid (saliva and air) to flow in the space between the user's teeth and the guard which can prevent bacteria building up in pools or pockets formed a dental trench for accommodating teeth of the upper/lower jaws (see [0021]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dental splint, specifically the top and bottom surfaces of the upper and lower jaw shells which are configured to engage a user’s teeth as disclosed by Ona and to have formed the top of bottom surfaces as substantially flat so as to form saliva ducts (i.e. spaces) between the dental splint and the user’s teeth as taught by Ingram in order to have provided an improved dental splint that would add the benefit of providing spaces which allow a fluid (saliva and air) to flow in the space between the user's teeth and the guard which can prevent bacteria building up in pools or pockets formed a dental trench for accommodating teeth of the upper/lower jaws (see [0021]).
In regards to claim 2, Ona as now modified by Ingram discloses the invention as discussed above.
Ona further discloses wherein the dental splint (dental appliance) is configured to lock the lower jaw in a predefined protrusion relationship of the lower jaw and upper jaw (see [0017]).
In regards to claim 3, Ona as now modified by Ingram discloses the invention as discussed above.
Ona as now modified by Ingram further discloses further comprising a saliva duct edge (top and bottom surfaces 16 as taught by Ingram; see [0021]), wherein the saliva ducts (spaces as taught by Ingram) are formed between the saliva duct edge and the chewing surfaces of the teeth (see Ingram [0021]).
In regards to claim 4, Ona as now modified by Ingram discloses the invention as discussed above.
Ona as now modified by Ingram further discloses wherein the saliva ducts (spaces as taught by Ingram) are arranged to run along a plurality of fissures in the chewing surfaces of the teeth (the spaces as taught by Ingram are between the appliance of Ona and the user’s teeth, and thus, run along the plurality of fissures of the occlusal surfaces of the user’s teeth).
In regards to claim 5, Ona as now modified by Ingram discloses the invention as discussed above.
Ona further discloses wherein the upper jaw shell (1), the lower jaw shell (2) and the connecting bar (8 and 9) form a single part (1 and 2 are each fused to structures 8 and 9 (see [0018] and [0020]) and thus, form a single part).
In regards to claim 6, Ona as now modified by Ingram discloses the invention as discussed above.
Ona as now modified by Ingram further discloses comprising a plurality of interdental openings, the interdental openings positioned so as to be between the teeth (the upper and lower surfaces of 1 and 2 of Ona as now modified by Ingram create a space between the dental splint and the user’s teeth so as to form the saliva ducts; similarly, the substantially flat surfaces of 1 and 2 of Ona as now modified by Ingram also form interdental spaces or openings at the regions between the user’s teeth; see annotated figure below for further explanation).
In regards to claim 7, Ona as now modified by Ingram discloses the invention as discussed above.
Ona as now modified by Ingram does not disclose wherein the interdental openings and the saliva ducts arranged in the region of the chewing surfaces are connected to one another by a plurality of interdental passages in the dental splint.
However, Ingram further teaches wherein the interdental openings (openings formed between the substantially flat 16 and the regions between the user’s teeth) and the saliva ducts arranged in the region of the chewing surfaces (openings formed between the substantially flat 16 and the occlusal surfaces the user’s teeth) are connected to one another by interdental passages in the dental splint (valleys in 16; see [0021]) for the purpose of allowing a fluid to flow from between the user’s teeth and guard and aid in the removal of pools and pockets of saliva and bacteria (see [0021]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dental appliance as disclosed by Ona as now modified by Ingram and to have included the interdental passages which connect the interdental openings and saliva ducts as further taught by Ingram in order to have provided an improved dental appliance that would add the benefit of providing an additional structure for allowing a fluid to flow from between the user’s teeth and guard and aid in the removal of pools and pockets of saliva and bacteria (see [0021]).
In regards to claim 10, Ona as now modified by Ingram discloses the invention as discussed above.
Ona further discloses wherein an end of the dental splint is configured so that a plurality of tooth necks of the teeth of the user are exposed (1 is trimmed from 1-2mm from the maxillary teeth on the areas corresponding to the gingival and palatal region (see [0034]) which exposes the necks of the user’s teeth located in the gingival and palatal region).
In regards to claim 11, Ona as now modified by Ingram discloses the invention as discussed above.
Ona further discloses wherein a breathing opening is arranged in a labial region between the upper jaw shell and the lower jaw shell (see figure 1).
Claim(s) 8, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ona in view of Ingram as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dembro (US 2008/0066768 A1).
In regards to claim 8, Ona as now modified by Ingram discloses the invention as discussed above.
Ona as now modified by Ingram does not disclose further comprising buccally arranged openings in the upper jaw shell and the lower jaw shell.
However, Dembro teaches an analogous dental appliance (dental appliance; see [0021]; see figure 1) which is utilized for treating a user’s sleep disorders (see [0021]) comprising an analogous upper jaw shell (85; see [0021]; see figure 1); further comprising buccally arranged openings (99; see [0026]; see figure 1) for the purpose of enhancing retention of the dental appliance (see [0026]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the upper jaw shell and the lower jaw shell of the dental appliance as disclosed by Ona as now modified by Ingram and to have included the buccally arranged openings as taught by Dembro in order to have provided improved upper and lower jaw shells of the dental appliance that would add the benefit of enhancing retention of the dental appliance (see [0026]).
In regards to claim 13, Ona as now modified by Ingram discloses the invention as discussed above.
Ona further discloses the material utilized in forming the dental appliance may be EVA or a variety of other polymers and copolymers utilized in the construction of dental appliances (see [0023]). Ona as now modified by Ingram does not explicitly disclose wherein the dental splint is made of a nylon material.
However, Dembro teaches an analogous dental appliance (dental appliance; see [0021]; see figure 1) which is utilized for treating a user’s sleep disorders (see [0021]) comprising an analogous upper jaw shell (85; see [0021]; see figure 1); wherein the dental splint is made of a nylon material (see [0030]) for the purpose of providing a material that is strong, elastic, abrasion resistant, lustrous, resilient, washable, resistant to damage from oil and chemicals, light weight, and will not wear the user's teeth (See [0030]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dental appliance as disclosed by Ona as now modified by Ingram and to have formed the dental splint from a nylon material as taught by Dembro in order to have provided an improved dental appliance that would add the benefit of being made of a material that is strong, elastic, abrasion resistant, lustrous, resilient, washable, resistant to damage from oil and chemicals, light weight, and will not wear the user's teeth (See [0030]).
In regards to claim 14, Ona as now modified by Ingram discloses the invention as discussed above.
Ona as now modified by Dembro further discloses wherein the nylon material is a medically certified biocompatible nylon material (see [0030]; Flexite Plus is a medically certified, biocompatible nylon material).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ona in view of Ingram as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shih (US 2025/0241783 A1).
In regards to claim 9, Ona as now modified by Ingram discloses the invention as discussed above.
Ona as now modified by Ingram does not disclose further comprising labially arranged openings in the upper jaw shell and the lower jaw shell.
However, Shih teaches an analogous dental splint (100; see [0030]; see figure 1) for the analogous treatment of a user’s snoring by positioning a lower jaw shell (102; see [0030]; see figure 1) with respect to an upper jaw shell (101; see [0030]; see figure 1; see [0035]); further comprising labially arranged openings (120 b and d; see [0042]; see figure 1g; see [0043] that the holes may transfer saliva to the lips and thus, are labially arranged openings) in the upper jaw shell (101) and the lower jaw shell (102; see figure 1g) for the purpose of providing holes on the mouth piece through which air may flow, and which may direct saliva to the user’s lips to help moisturize the lips (see [0041] and [0043]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the upper and lower jaw shells of the dental splint as disclosed by Ona as now modified by Ingram and to have included the labially arranged openings in the upper and lower jaw shells as taught by Shih in order to have provided improved upper and lower jaw shells of the dental splint that would add the benefit of providing holes on the mouth piece through which air may flow, and which may direct saliva to the user’s lips to help moisturize the lips (see [0041] and [0043]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ona in view of Ingram as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Turek (US 2017/0266033 A1).
In regards to claim 12, Ona as now modified by Ingram discloses the invention as discussed above.
In regards to the limitation(s) of wherein the dental splint is a 3D printed part as recited in claim 12, these limitations are drawn to an article of manufacture, and therefore the limitation(s) is/are considered to be a product-by-process limitation that is given patentable weight only for the structural limitations imparted to the final product by the process, since it has been held that “(e)ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP 2113). In the instant case, the device of Ona as now modified by Ingram is the same as the product produced by the process recited in claim 12, and thus, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.
Nonetheless, Turek teaches an analogous dental splint (10; see [0037]; see figure 1) for the analogous purpose of treating a user’s snoring, OSA and related disorders (see [abstract]); wherein the dental splint is a 3D printed part (see [0035]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of manufacturing the dental splint as disclosed by Ona as now modified by Ingram and to have 3d printed the dental splint as taught by Turek in order to have provided an improved method of manufacturing the dental splint that would add the known benefits of CAD assisted 3d printing including enabling precise design, rapid prototyping, customization, and optimized production.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL A MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786