DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in France on 11/25/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the FR2412888 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“a regulating module of claim 1” should read “the regulating module of claim 1”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the vehicle" in line 10. Claim 2 recites the limitation “the free end of the control unit” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. For the purposes of examination, claim 1 is being interpreted such that the preamble of the claim recites “A module for regulating the flow rate of air supplied to an internal combustion engine of a vehicle, the module comprising:” and claim 3 is being interpreted such that “the free end of the control unit” reads “an end of the control unit.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gamberini (US Patent Application Publication 2010/0049399).
Regarding claim 1, Gamberini discloses a module for regulating the flowrate of air supplied to an internal combustion engine, the module comprising:
a throttle valve (21) including a throttle-valve disk (25), the throttle valve mounted to rotate in a duct passing through the throttle valve [0059];
an electric motor (23) configured to pivot the throttle valve disk in the duct [0059];
a first sensor (10 or 11) of linear displacement of a throttle cable (8) connected to a gas handgrip (2) of the vehicle [0020, 0022, 0026, as shown in Figures 1 and 12];
a mobile element (17) comprising a metallic target (13), the mobile element configured to move linearly past the first sensor, the mobile element attached to one end of the throttle cable [0055-0056];
a microcontroller (16) configured to control the electric motor as a function of the displacement of the throttle cable, the measurement is determined by the first sensor [0031, 0058];
a support (3) fixed in relation to the throttle valve and positioned facing the first sensor, the mobile element comprising a guideway projecting out from the support, the throttle cable configured to be inserted into the guideway so that one end of the throttle cable is attached to the mobile element [the guideway shown in Figures 5-8]; and
a control unit (22 and/or 32) in which the microcontroller and the first sensor are mounted, the mobile element has a shape complementary to that of the support, the mobile element positioned between the support and the control unit [0051, as shown in Figure 12].
Regarding claim 2, Gamberini further discloses wherein the support has a flat and rectangular shape and extends parallel to the control unit [the flat, rectangular shape shown in Figures 5-9; the position relative to the control unit shown in Figure 12].
Regarding claim 3, Gamberini further discloses wherein the support comprises a first portion extending facing the first sensor and a second portion extending in the direction perpendicular to the first portion and against the free end of the control unit [as shown in Figures 5-9 and 12, the support includes a seat 18 that holds the spring 9 at a free end of the control unit, where portions of the seat lie perpendicular to the longest lengthwise direction of the support that extends toward the sensor 10, 11].
Regarding claim 4, Gamberini further discloses the module further comprising a return spring (9) connected between the guideway and the mobile element [0055, as shown in Figure 9].
Regarding claims 5-7, Gamberini further discloses the module further comprising a second sensor (28) of angular position of the throttle-valve disk [0060],
wherein the microcontroller is configured to control the electric motor as a function of a measurement of displacement of the throttle cable, which measurement is determined by the first sensor, and as a function of at least one other parameter [0055, 0058, 0060];
wherein the at least one parameter is a measurement of angular position of the throttle-valve disk which measurement is determined by the second sensor [0060].
Regarding claim 9, Gamberini further discloses a vehicle equipped with an internal combustion engine [Title, 0058] the vehicle comprising:
the regulating module of claim 1 that regulates the flow rate of air supplied to the internal combustion engine [0058]; and
the throttle cable secured, at a first end, toa gas handgrip of the vehicle and, at a second end, to the regulating module that regulates the flowrate of air supplied to the internal combustion engine [0022, as shown in Figures 1, 5-9 or 12].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gamberini (US Patent Application Publication 2010/0049399) in view of Grajkowski (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0361853).
Regarding claim 8, Gamberini discloses the module of claim 1 as discussed above but does not disclose wherein the microcontroller is configured to implement at least one vehicle-control mode from among the following vehicle-control modes: a speed regulating mode, a sport mode, a power-weather/rain mode, an energy-saving mode, a comfort driving/riding mode, and according to the vehicle-control mode selected, modify the input applied by a driver/rider at the handgrip and demand that this modified input be applied to the throttle-valve disk.
Grajkowski discloses a microcontroller (12) configured to implement at least one vehicle-control mode from among the following vehicle-control modes: a speed regulating mode, a sport mode, a power-weather/rain mode, an energy-saving mode, a comfort driving/riding mode, and according to the vehicle-control mode selected, modify the input applied by a driver/rider at a handgrip (16) and demand that this modified input be applied to the throttle-valve disk (36) [0042, 0069-0073].
Grajkowski teaches that a speed regulating mode may be used to maintain vehicle speed while pulling implements or while driving for extended periods on roads or trails [0067]. Grajkowski teaches that other modes, such as a sport mode, has variable acceleration rates or torque outputs across the displacement range of throttle control [0070].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the microcontroller disclosed by Gamberini to implement one of the vehicle-control modes disclosed by Grajkowski to allow the vehicle to maintain a speed while driving for extended periods or to change the acceleration rates, for example, for racing.
Conclusion
should be directed to JOSHUA CAMPBELL whose telephone number is (571) 272-8215. The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM.
Lindsay M. Low can be reached on (571) 272-1196. The fax phone number for the organization where
this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-
direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR
CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA CAMPBELL/
Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LOGAN M KRAFT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747