DETAILED ACTION
This application is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Drawings
The drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: The Office recommend inserting the word “to” after the word “connected” (Line 14).
Claim 3: The Office recommends amending the “thickness direction… perpendicular to the lengthwise direction” to recite, e.g., a “radial direction.”
Claim 5: The Office recommends amendments similar to the following, in order to improve clarity: The arm body according to according to claim 1, wherein either:
at least one of the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion comprise an annular flange portion integrally formed with the first tubular body by injection molding and which protrudes first and second tubular portions, respectively, to partially block the first and second axial openings, respectively, an axial end surface of the annular flange portion forming the first and/or second mounting surfaces; or
a plurality of connecting posts integrally formed with the first tubular body by injection molding are arranged around, and extend parallel with, at least one of the first and second axial openings first and/or second mounting surfaces
.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1: The metes and bounds of the limitation “substantially closed” (Line 8) are unclear.
Claim 2: It is unclear which “mounting surface” is referred to by the limitation “respective mounting surface” (Line 4). It is similarly unclear which “connecting portion” is referred to by the limitation “the at least one connecting portion” (Line 4). The Office recommends an amendment similar to, e.g., “the first and second mounting surfaces extend coaxially to the first and second axial openings, respectively.”
Claim 3: It is unclear which “connecting portion” is referred to by the limitation “at least one connecting portion” (Lines 1-2). It is similarly unclear which “connecting portion” is referred to by the limitation “at least one connecting portion” (Line 3).
Claim 4: It is unclear which “connecting portion” is referred to by the limitation “at least one connecting portion” (Lines 1-2).
Claim 7: Because Claim 6, from which Claim 7 depends, specifies that the “annular flange portion or the plurality of connecting posts is made of metal,” the limitation of Claim 7 in which “the annular flange portion or the plurality of connecting posts is made of the plastic material” (Lines 1-2) is unclear. The Office recommends amending Claim 7 to depend from Claim 5, and amendments which clearly target the embodiment described at, e.g., Paragraph [0056] of Applicant’s disclosure.
Claim 7: The “second mounting hole” (Line 3) is a double inclusion. It is unclear whether this is the same element introduced in Claim 6, or a different element.
Claim 8: The clarity issues described above with regards to Claim 7 apply similarly to Claim 8.
Claim 11: The “first tubular body” (Line 5) is a double inclusion. It’s unclear whether the “first tubular body” recited at Line 5 is the same “first tubular body” introduced in Claim 1, or some other “first tubular body.” The “first connecting portion” (Lines 6-7) and the “second connecting portion” (Line 7) are also double inclusions.
Claim 12: The metes and bounds of the limitation “substantially closed” (Line 5) are unclear.
Claim 15: The “third tubular body” (Line 5), the “third arm body” (Lines 6-7), the “fifth mounting surface” (Line 8), and the “sixth mounting surface” (Line 8) lack clear antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-11, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0146555 A1 to Nakayama, which discloses:
Claim 1: An arm body for a robotic arm, comprising:
a first tubular body 2 made of plastic material (see Paragraph [0028] “the casing 1A, 1B, 1C, 1D according to this embodiment includes a tubular resin body portion 2”), comprising:
a first tubular portion (see annotated FIG. 11) comprising:
a first axial opening (see annotated FIG. 11) communicating with an inner chamber of the first tubular body 2; and
a second tubular portion (see annotated FIG. 11) comprising:
a second axial opening (see annotated FIG. 11) communicating with the inner chamber,
the first tubular body 2 being substantially closed except the first axial opening and the second axial opening (see FIG. 11);
a first connecting portion 3 provided at the first tubular portion and comprising:
a first mounting surface 3a configured to be connected to a first component 150, 120 constituting a robot; and
a second connecting portion 3 provided at the second tubular portion and comprising a second mounting surface 3a configured to be connected [to] a second component 150, 110 constituting the robot.
Claim 2, as best understood: The arm body according to claim 1, wherein at least one connecting portion of the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion is made of metal (see Paragraph [0029]); and
the respective mounting surface of the at least one connecting portion extends in a lengthwise direction in which the respective axial opening extends (as shown in FIG. 11, there’s a lengthwise dimension to the connecting portions that is coaxial with the respective axial openings).
Claim 4, as best understood: The arm body according to claim 2, wherein the at least one connecting portion 3 is integrally formed with the first tubular body 2 by insert molding or adhesive (see Paragraph [0029]).
Claim 5: The arm body according to according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the first connecting portion 3 and the second connecting portion 3 comprises an annular flange portion protruding from an inner surface of the respective tubular portion to partially block the respective axial opening, or a plurality of connecting posts [are] arranged around the respective axial opening and [extend] in an axial direction in which the respective axial opening extends, an axial end surface of the annular flange portion or an axial plane defined by axial end surfaces of the plurality of connecting posts forming the respective mounting surface, and
the annular flange portion or the plurality of connecting posts is integrally formed with the first tubular body by injection molding (see Paragraph [0029]).
Claim 6: The arm body according to claim 5, wherein the annular flange portion or the plurality of connecting posts is made of metal and comprises a second mounting hole for screw connection; and
the second mounting hole is configured to receive screw fasteners from a side of the axial opening opposite to the inner chamber.
Claim 7: The arm body according to claim 6, wherein the annular flange portion or the plurality of connecting posts is made of the plastic material;
a second mounting hole (184) is provided in the annular flange portion or the plurality of connecting posts, the second mounting hole is provided with a metal insert therein; and
the metal insert is configured to receive a screw fastener from a side of the axial opening opposite to the inner chamber.
Claim 8: The arm body according to claim 6, wherein the annular flange portion (18) or the plurality of connecting posts is made of the plastic material; a metal insert is arranged within the annular flange portion (18) or the connecting post; and the metal insert comprises a second mounting hole for screw connection and configured to receive a screw fastener from a side of the axial opening opposite to the inner chamber.
Claim 9: Nakayama discloses the arm body according to claim 5. The embodiments of Nakayama disclosed in, e.g., FIGS. 12 and 17, illustrate an annular flange portion which is provided within an inner chamber at a distance from a terminal end of a tubular portion. Thus, Nakayama anticipates Claim 9.
Claim 10: The arm body according to according to claim 5, wherein the annular flange portion or the plurality of connecting posts is provided at a terminal end of the respective tubular portion.
Claim 11: A robotic arm comprising:
the arm body according to claim 1; and
a first actuator comprising a fixed part and a movable part,
the fixed part being received within an inner chamber of a first tubular body of the arm body and being fixed to the arm body via one of a first connecting portion and a second connecting portion of the arm body.
Claim 16: An industrial robot 100[,] comprising[:]
a base 110, and
a robotic arm comprising the arm body according to claim 1 (see FIG. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0146555 A1 to Nakayama, as applied to Claim 5 above.
Claim 9: Nakayama discloses the arm body according to claim 5. The embodiments of Nakayama disclosed in, e.g., FIGS. 12 and 17, illustrate an annular flange portion which is provided within an inner chamber at a distance from a terminal end of a tubular portion.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0146555 A1 to Nakayama, as applied to Claim 2 above, further in view of Chinese Patent Publication No. 109676596 A to Pang et al.
Claim 3, as best understood: Nakayama discloses the arm body according to claim 2, wherein the at least one connecting portion is a ring-shaped member; and
the at least one connecting portion comprises:
a plurality of first mounting holes 12 circumferentially distributed along the respective mounting surface.
Nakayama does not disclose wherein the mounting holes extend in a radial direction of the first tubular portion (which is how the Office interprets Applicant’s claim to mean).
Pang teaches a similar arm body in which a connecting portion 2-3 is a ring-shaped member comprising a plurality of mounting holes circumferentially distributed and which extend in a radial direction of a tubular portion.
In view of the Pang teaching, the Office finds that it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of filing to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the arm body disclosed by Nakayama, such that the plurality of first mounting holes extend in a thickness direction of the at least one connecting portion perpendicular to the lengthwise direction and configured to receive a screw fastener, because such a configuration is taught by the prior art and is a simple rearrangement in one direction (i.e. an axial direction) to a second direction perpendicular to the one direction (i.e. a radial direction).
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0146555 A1 to Nakayama (“Nakayama_1”), as applied to Claims 1 and 11 above, respectively, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0030964 A1 to Nakayama et al. (“Nakayama_2”)
Claim 12: Nakayama_1 discloses the robotic arm according to claim 11, further comprising a second arm body 130 comprising:
a second tubular body [having] a third axial opening and a fourth axial opening at opposite ends of the second tubular body, the second tubular body being substantially closed except [at] the third axial opening and [at] the fourth axial opening;
a third connecting portion provided at the third axial opening and comprising a third mounting surface; and
a fourth connecting portion provided at the fourth axial opening and comprising a fourth mounting surface.
Nakayama_1 discloses wherein the second tubular body is fixed to the first tubular body 2 via [actuator 150].
That is, Nakayama_1 does not disclose wherein the second tubular body is fixed to the first tubular body 2 via engagement of one of the third mounting surface and the fourth mounting surface with one of the first mounting surface and the second mounting surface. Nakayama_1 also does not disclose wherein the second tubular body is made of plastic material.
Nakayama_2 teaches an elbow 3 (i.e., a first tubular body) which is directly connected to a second tubular body 2. Both tubular bodies are made of resin (see Paragraphs [0048]-[0049]). Paragraphs [0089]-[0091] of Nakayama_2 discloses several mechanical ways in which the two tubular bodies may be connected to each other.
In view of Nakayama_2, the Office finds that it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of filing to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the robotic arm disclosed by Nakayama_1 such that the first tubular body is directly connected to a second tubular body (similar to the second tubular body 130 of Nakayama_1) via engagement of one of the third mounting surface and the fourth mounting surface with one of the first mounting surface and the second mounting surface, and such that the second tubular body is made of plastic material, in order to provide a robotic arm with necessary degrees of freedom to perform specific tasks.
Claim 13: The first tubular body 2 disclosed by Nakayama_1 is curved in an L-shape, and/or the second tubular body 130 of Nakayama_1 is in a straight arm shape. Thus, the robotic arm of Claim 13 is rendered obvious over the combination of Nakayama_1 and Nakayama_2 as presented above in the rejection of Claim 12.
Claim 14: Nakayama_1 discloses the robotic arm according to claim 11, further comprising:
a third arm body 130 comprising:
a third tubular body [having] a fifth axial opening and a sixth axial opening at opposite ends of the third tubular body;
a fifth connecting portion (see the connection shown in FIG. 10, which is illustrative of a connection method that would be used for the third arm body 130) provided at the fifth axial opening and comprising a fifth mounting surface; and
a sixth connecting portion provided at the sixth axial opening and comprising a sixth mounting surface; and
wherein at least part of the movable part 151 of the first actuator 150 comprises a plurality of third mounting holes and extends beyond a terminal end of the first tubular body 2, and the third arm body 130 is fixed to the first arm body 2 via engagement of the at least part of the movable part 151 and one of the fifth mounting surface and the sixth mounting surface.
Nakayama_1 does not disclose wherein the third tubular body is made of plastic material, as recited in Claim 14.
Nakayama_2 teaches an elbow 3 (i.e., a first tubular body) which is connected to a second tubular body 2. Both tubular bodies are made of resin (see Paragraphs [0048]-[0049]).
In view of Nakayama_2, the Office finds that it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of filing to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the robotic arm disclosed by Nakayama_1, such that the third tubular body is made of plastic material, in order to reduce the weight of the robotic arm.
Claim 15: Nakayama_1 discloses various second actuators 150 (see FIG. 1). Because several of the elements recited in Claim 15 lack clear antecedent basis, the Office submits that Claim 15 is rendered obvious over the combination of Nakayama_1 and Nakayama_2, but the Office is not able to properly claim-map elements of prior art to Claim 15.
Conclusion
/RANDELL J KRUG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618