DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 6-13 each recite the limitation “the system.” Each of the claims 6-13 ultimately depend from independent claim 1, which recites “an engine starting control system.” Claims 6-9 introduce “a system” different from the engine starting control system of claim 1. Thus it is unclear if “the system” in claims 6-13 refer to the engine starting control system of claim 1 or “the system” of claims 6-9. For the purposes of examination, the claims are being interpreted such “the system” of claims 6-13 further defines said system introduced in claims 6-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chiang (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0195972).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Chiang discloses a method for starting a motorcycle engine, performed through an engine starting control system, wherein the engine starting control system comprises a controller (124, 128), a power supply apparatus (122) coupled to the controller, and an integrated starter and generator (2) separately coupled to the controller and the power supply apparatus and the motorcycle engine [0025, as shown in Figure 2, the drive unit 124 is coupled to the PWM unit 122 and the starter generator 2], the integrated starter and generator in the engine starting control system is coupled to a motorcycle engine (3), and the system is configured to perform the method for starting the motorcycle engine, the method comprises the following steps:
driving, through the controller, the integrated starter and generator to perform reverse operation at a reverse operation constant torque value within a reverse operation time until the reverse operation time ends, wherein a reverse operation torque of the integrated starter and generator driven by the reverse operation constant torque value is greater than a frictional resistance value and less than a maximum resistance value of a valve spring resistance [0030, the first control command Cc1 drives the starter generator 2 to reversely rotate until its rotor has reversed to the proper position for starting; 0041, the drive current, and therefore the torque, is constant during the reverse operation; it is understood that in order for the ISG to perform the reverse operation in which the crankshaft is rotated to charge the generator, the torque supplied must overcome the mechanical friction losses of the engine due to, for example, sliding friction from the piston rings, friction from rotation of the crankshaft in its bearings, etc., therefore the reverse operation torque is necessarily greater than a friction resistance value; additionally it is understood that torque is lower than a value of the valve spring resistance that would cause damage to the spring itself resulting in an inoperable engine; where a reference relied on expressly anticipates or makes obvious all elements of the claimed invention, the reference is presumed to be operable. See MPEP 2121];
controlling, through the controller, the power supply apparatus to output a forward operation constant current to the integrated starter and generator after the integrated starter and generator stops the reverse operation, to drive the integrated starter and generator to perform forward operation, wherein a forward operation torque of the integrated starter and generator driven by an amount of the forward operation constant current is greater than a sum of the frictional resistance value and a current resistance value of the valve spring resistance [0031, a second drive current is supplied to the starter generator 2 for forward operation after the reverse operation; as with the reverse operation, in order to provide forward rotation the torque is necessarily greater than the frictional resistance of engine components and the valve spring resistance combined]; and
starting the motorcycle engine through the integrated starter and generator when a forward operation angular velocity value of the motorcycle engine driven by the integrated starter and generator is greater than or equal to an expected value during the forward operation of the integrated starter and generator [0045].
Regarding claim 5, Chiang further discloses wherein the engine starting control system does not comprise a crankshaft positioning sensor [0004, 0007, 0029].
Regarding claim 10, Chiang further discloses wherein the system does not comprise a crankshaft positioning sensor [0004, 0007, 0029].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0195972) in view of Wakitani (US Patent Application Publication 2004/0000281).
Regarding claim 2, Chiang discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the reverse operation is performed at a reverse operation constant torque value and a forward operation constant current is output by the power supply apparatus at the end of the reverse operation, i.e. where the force balance state is reached.
Chiang does not disclose driving, through the controller, the integrated starter and generator again to perform the reverse operation when the forward operation angular velocity of the motorcycle engine driven by the integrated starter and generator is less than the expected value during the forward operation of the integrated starter and generator and controlling, through the controller, the power supply apparatus again to output the forward operation constant current to the integrated starter and generator when a force balance static state is reached between an exhaust valve spring resistance and a reverse operation driving force of the integrated starter and generator during a period in which the integrated starter and generator performs the reverse operation again, to drive the integrated starter and generator again to perform the forward operation.
Wakitani discloses an engine starting device including a controller that drives an integrated starter and generator (1) a second time to perform reverse operation when a forward operation angular velocity of a motorcycle engine driven by the integrated starter and generator is less than an expected value during a forward operation of the integrated starter and generator and controlling, through the controller, the integrated starter and generator to perform the forward operation when a force balance static state is reached between an exhaust valve spring resistance and a reverse operation driving force of the integrated starter and generator during a period in which the integrated starter and generator performs the reverse operation again [0039, as shown in Figure 6].
Wakitani teaches that where the angular velocity does not reach the expected value, the engine may be in a high load region [0039]. By performing the reverse rotation to move the engine position to a position advantageous for starting allows the engine to overcome the high load region and start the engine [0004].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the reverse operation followed by the forward operation after the force balance static state is reached at the end of the reverse operation in the method disclosed by Chiang as taught by Wakitani when the angular velocity in the forward operation is less than an expected value to ensure engine starting in a high load region in which the engine position makes starting difficult.
Regarding claims 7 and 11, Chiang, as modified by Wakitani, discloses a system configured to perform the method for starting a motorcycle engine according to claim 2, to start the motorcycle engine, as discussed in reference to claims 1 and 2 above.
Chiang further discloses a system for starting a motorcycle engine, wherein the system is coupled to the motorcycle engine, the system comprises:
a controller (124, 128);
a power supply apparatus (122), coupled to the controller; and
an integrated starter and generator (2), separately coupled to the controller, the power supply apparatus, and the motorcycle engine [0025, as shown in Figure 2, the drive unit 124 is coupled to the PWM unit 122 and the starter generator 2];
wherein the system does not comprise a crankshaft positioning sensor [0004, 0007, 0029].
Claim(s) 3-4, 8-9 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0195972) in view of Pan (VN 1-0037498 B).
Regarding claim 3, Chiang discloses the method of claim 1 as discussed above but does not disclose the method comprising the steps of receiving, through the controller, a rotation angle value of the integrated starter and generator, determining, through the controller, whether the rotation angle value of the integrated starter and generator is greater than an engine worn angle preset value when the integrated starter and generator stops the reverse operation as the reverse operation time ends and determining, through the controller, that the motorcycle engine is in an engine worn state when the rotation angle value of the integrated starter and generator is greater than the engine worn angle preset value.
Pan discloses a method for starting a motorcycle engine, wherein the method comprises the following steps:
receiving, through a controller, a rotation angle value of an integrated starter and generator [“Additionally, ISG 23, actuator controller 21, angle sensor 22, and timer 24 are electrically connected to battery 10, starter button 11, butterfly valve actuator 12, and engine control unit 33. The actuator controller 21 may obtain information such as the angular phase sequence of the ISG 23 and the angular position of the crankshaft 31 of the engine 30 through the detection of the angle sensor 22”];
determining, through the controller, whether the rotation angle value of the integrated starter and generator is greater than an engine worn angle preset value when the integrated starter and generator stops the reverse operation as the reverse operation time ends [“In addition, according to the invention, the method of controlling engine operation [includes], if in step (F), the crankshaft is driven to rotate backward for the first time and does not reach a specific angle, may also include step (FI) is to determine whether the crankshaft stops rotating backwards or not after the first reverse rotation of the crankshaft for a specific period of time…Therefore, according to the present invention, during the engine starting process, a mechanism to identify the reverse rotation jam phenomenon and prevent this jam phenomenon can be implemented”]; and
determining, through the controller, that the motorcycle engine is in an engine worn state when the rotation angle value of the integrated starter and generator is greater than the engine worn angle preset value [“In addition, according to the invention, the method of controlling engine operation [includes], if in step (F), the crankshaft is driven to rotate backward for the first time and does not reach a specific angle, may also include step (FI) is to determine whether the crankshaft stops rotating backwards or not after the first reverse rotation of the crankshaft for a specific period of time…Therefore, according to the present invention, during the engine starting process, a mechanism to identify the reverse rotation jam phenomenon and prevent this jam phenomenon can be implemented”].
Pan teaches that if engine worn state occurs, there is likely mechanical damage to the structure of the engine [“Under normal conditions, reverse rotation will not encounter compression pressure, so reverse rotation at a specific angle to activate the one-way pressure relief should be performed smoothly. However, this is not the case if the mechanical structure fails, or if the crankshaft is jammed by an external force, then reverse rotation will be stuck. According to the invention, in the event of stuck reverse motion, the reverse motion drive will be stopped immediately, and motor starting will only be possible if a restart signal is received”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the engine worn state as disclosed by Pan in the method disclosed by Chiang to identify structural damage to the engine so that, for example, the engine can be serviced.
Regarding claim 4, Chiang discloses the method of claim 1 as discussed above but does not disclose the method comprising the steps of receiving, through the controller, a rotation angle value of the integrated starter and generator, determining, through the controller, whether the rotation angle value of the integrated starter and generator within a determination time is less than an engine stuck angle preset value when the integrated starter and generator performs the forward operation and determining, through the controller, that the motorcycle engine is in an engine stuck state when the rotation angle value of the integrated starter and generator within the determination time is less than the engine stuck angle preset value.
Pan discloses a method for starting a motorcycle engine, wherein the method comprises the following steps:
receiving, through a controller, a rotation angle value of an integrated starter and generator [“Additionally, ISG 23, actuator controller 21, angle sensor 22, and timer 24 are electrically connected to battery 10, starter button 11, butterfly valve actuator 12, and engine control unit 33. The actuator controller 21 may obtain information such as the angular phase sequence of the ISG 23 and the angular position of the crankshaft 31 of the engine 30 through the detection of the angle sensor 22”];
determining, through the controller, whether the rotation angle value of the integrated starter and generator within a determination time is less than an engine stuck angle preset value when the integrated starter and generator performs a forward operation [“According to the invention, the specific time can be equal to 0.045 seconds, which is the time period to determine whether jamming occurs while driving the crankshaft to rotate forward or backward. In case the forward rotation or reverse rotation exceeds this time period, the jam phenomenon will be identified and the drive will be stopped immediately’]; and
determining, through the controller, that the motorcycle engine is in an engine stuck state when the rotation angle value of the integrated starter and generator within the determination time is less than the engine stuck angle present value [“Additionally, according to the first embodiment, the engine controller 33 may control the engine 30 to perform the idle ignition function. The specific time may be equal to 0.045 seconds, which is the time to determine whether jamming occurs while driving the crankshaft 31 to rotate forward. In the unlikely event that the crankshaft 31 rotates forward beyond this time period and then stops rotating, the jam phenomenon will be identified and the drive will be stopped immediately. Additionally, the specific angle is between 40 degrees and 140 degrees, to ensure that when starting the engine 30, the one-way pressure reducer 32 can be successfully activated. Furthermore, in step (E), the mechanism is established to determine whether jamming occurs during forward rotation or not. When the ISG 23 directly drives the crankshaft 31 to rotate forward in an attempt to start the engine 30, however, after the specified period of time, the crankshaft 31 no longer rotates forward, indicating that the engine 30 was not started successfully, and this is identified as jamming. In case the ISG 23 continues to drive the forward rotation when a jam occurs, the ISG 23 will likely burn, so the forward rotation drive should be stopped”].
Pan teaches that if engine stuck state occurs, the integrated starter and generator will likely burn [“In case the ISG 23 continues to drive the forward rotation when a jam occurs, the ISG 23 will likely burn, so the forward rotation drive should be stopped”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the engine stuck state as disclosed by Pan in the method disclosed by Chiang to allow the controller to intervene and stop operation of the ISG to prevent damage when the engine stuck state occurs.
Regarding claims 8-9 and 12-13, Chiang, as modified by Pan, discloses a system configured to perform the method for starting a motorcycle engine according to claims 3 and 4, to start the motorcycle engine, as discussed in reference to claims 1 and 3-4 above.
Chiang further discloses a system for starting a motorcycle engine, wherein the system is coupled to the motorcycle engine, the system comprises:
a controller (124, 128);
a power supply apparatus (122), coupled to the controller; and
an integrated starter and generator (2), separately coupled to the controller, the power supply apparatus, and the motorcycle engine [0025, as shown in Figure 2, the drive unit 124 is coupled to the PWM unit 122 and the starter generator 2];
wherein the system does not comprise a crankshaft positioning sensor [0004, 0007, 0029].
Conclusion
should be directed to JOSHUA CAMPBELL whose telephone number is (571) 272-8215. The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM.
Lindsay M. Low can be reached on (571) 272-1196. The fax phone number for the organization where
this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-
direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR
CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA CAMPBELL/
Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LOGAN M KRAFT/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747