DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites “the air-supply assembly according to claim 15”, but claim 15 is directed to a bladeless fan. The statutory class cannot be ascertained as a result.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gammack (US 8246317).
Regarding claim 1, Gammack discloses an air-supply assembly, comprising: an air-supply frame pillar, in which is provided with an air-supply frame pillar passage (base 100 of outer casing section 90 receives air through aperture 102 with the lower curved portion of the interior passage 94); and an air-supply frame (90, 92), in which is provided with an air-supply passage (94), wherein, the air-supply frame pillar is connected to the air-supply frame so that the air-supply frame pillar passage is in communication with the air-supply passage (see Figure 3), an air outlet is arranged on the air-supply frame (slot outlets 110 of mouth 26).
Regarding claim 5, Gammack discloses the air supply assembly according to claim 1 above. Gammack further discloses a plurality of air outlets which are provided on the air-supply frame are respectively in communication with the air-supply passage (Col. 8, Lines 7-13); an air guide rib (120) is provided at a position of the air outlets in the air-supply passage.
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Gammack discloses a bladeless fan comprising an air supply assembly according to claim 1, and further comprises a base or post assembly (Figure 3) with the air passage of the base assembly or post assembly is in communication with the air supply frame pillar passage (Col. 7, Lines 4-19; Figure 3).
Claims 1, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsen (US 8734121).
Regarding claim 1, Tsen discloses an air-supply assembly, comprising: an air-supply frame pillar, in which is provided with an air-supply frame pillar passage (first/second pivotal coupling portions 15/22); and an air-supply frame (2, 21), in which is provided with an air-supply passage (215), wherein, the air-supply frame pillar is connected to the air-supply frame so that the air-supply frame pillar passage is in communication with the air-supply passage (see Figures 2-4), an air outlet is arranged on the air-supply frame (air discharging portion 21 is annular and encircles an airflow passage 20 to allow air passing through axially with a discharging portion 21 has a front air outlet 213).
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Tsen discloses a bladeless fan comprising an air supply assembly according to claim 1, and further comprises a base or post assembly (Figure 2) with the air passage of the base assembly or post assembly is in communication with the air supply frame pillar passage (Col. 3, Line 61 to Col. 4, Line 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gammack (US 8246317) in view of Stacey (US 1825103).
Gammack discloses the air supply assembly and bladeless fan according to claims 1 and 8 above. Gammack further discloses at the junction where the pillar passage delivers air into the annular frame passage is divided into two air streams (Figure 14).
Gammack fails to teach the air-supply assembly further comprises a discrete air guide component a the flow divides against the casing walls, an air-passage flared opening is formed in the air-passage interface; the air guide component is arranged in the air-passage flared opening, so that the air-passage flared opening forms an air guide passage; the air guide passage is in communication with the air-supply passage of the air-supply frame, and an air guide surface is formed on each of the two sides of the air guide component, the air guide passage is formed between the air guide surface and the inner wall of the air-passage flared opening.
Stacey teaches an air distribution conduit with a main air duct (6) divided into two branch ducts (7, 8) through an enlarged junction (area between 7 and 8) fitted with a streamlined splitter (9). The air guide component (9) is arranged at the connection of the air-supply frame pillar passage and the air-supply passage, an air-passage interface is provided between the air-supply frame pillar and the air-supply frame, an air-passage flared opening (main duct 6 is slightly enlarged prior to the junction) is formed in the air-passage interface; the air guide component is arranged in the air-passage flared opening, so that the air-passage flared opening forms an air guide passage (divided streams pass through enlarged region with the splitter, directly into respective branches); the air guide passage is in communication with the air-supply passage of the air-supply frame, and an air guide surface is formed on each of the two sides of the air guide component (streamlined body’s flanks are convex), the air guide passage is formed between the air guide surface and the inner wall of the air-passage flared opening (each divided stream is bounded between one flank and the adjacent wall of the enlarged flared duct portion).
Because Gammack and Stacey are both directed to air flowing through ducts that divide into two branches; Gammack divides the primary flow into two streams at the nozzle entry, and Stacey teaches the fluid streams are divided and pertinent to flow division within ducts; and because Stacey teaches dividing the incoming stream smoothly into two branch passages formed between the convex guide surfaces of the splitter and duct walls, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air supply assembly and bladeless fan of Gammack such that the air-supply assembly further comprises a discrete air guide component a the flow divides against the casing walls, an air-passage flared opening is formed in the air-passage interface; the air guide component is arranged in the air-passage flared opening, so that the air-passage flared opening forms an air guide passage; the air guide passage is in communication with the air-supply passage of the air-supply frame, and an air guide surface is formed on each of the two sides of the air guide component, the air guide passage is formed between the air guide surface and the inner wall of the air-passage flared opening as taught by Stacey for the purposes of eliminating the eddies and noise generated where the air stream divides into the two branches of the nozzle passage and distributing the flow evenly between them. In a combination of Gammack and Stacey, the region where the base (Gammack, 100) joins the annular casing sections (Gammack, 90, 92), the air passage interface at entry aperture (102) is enlarged just prior to the junction, per the teaching of Stacey, forming the flared opening. Stacey utilizes a streamlined splitter at the tongue where the two arms of the passages (Gammack, 94) diverged, projecting into the enlargement. As a result, the two streamlined flanks bound the two branch streams against the inner wall of the flared region, forming one guide passage feeding each vertically extending arm of the annular air supply passage.
Claims 6, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gammack (US 8246317) in view of Kim (US 20210372413).
Gammack discloses the air-supply assembly according to claims 1 and 8 above. Gammack further discloses the flow dividing into two streams passing along the two vertically extending sections of interior passage (94) away from the entry aperture (102).
Gammack fails to teach the passage width gradually decreases toward the two sides from the connection, and at least two air-supply assemblies combined to form an annular air supply surface.
Kim teaches a blower whose discharge structure is built from two separately fed bodies mounted on a common connection seat with flow cross-sections that narrow away from the feed to equalize discharge. Kim teaches the two air supply assemblies (220, 230) and connection seat (connector 210). Additionally, the width of the air-supply passage gradually decreases toward two sides from the connection of the air-supply frame pillar passage and the air-supply passage, the fan comprises at least two air-supply assemblies, which are combined to form an annular air-supply surface of the fan, and a base assembly or a post assembly, wherein the air-supply assembly is arranged on the base assembly or the post assembly, an air passage of the base assembly or the post assembly is in communication with the air-supply frame pillar passage (Paragraphs 22, 26, 29, 125, 126).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air-supply assembly and bladeless fan of Gammack such that the width of the air-supply passage gradually decreases toward two sides from the connection of the air-supply frame pillar passage and the air-supply passage, the fan comprises at least two air-supply assemblies, which are combined to form an annular air-supply surface of the fan, and the base assembly or a post assembly, wherein the air-supply assembly is arranged on the base assembly or the post assembly, an air passage of the base assembly or the post assembly is in communication with the air-supply frame pillar passage as taught by Kim for the purposes of discharging the air evenly along the slot outlets and simplifying manufacture through the molded shorter-ducted segments.
Claims 7, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gammack (US 8246317) in view of Staniforth (US 10612565).
Gammack discloses the air-supply assembly according to claim 1. Gammack further discloses the air supply assembly is utilized with a bladeless fan, and a base assembly or a post assembly (12), wherein the air-supply assembly is arranged on the base assembly or the post assembly, an air passage of the base assembly or the post assembly is in communication with the air-supply frame pillar passage (Col. 6, line 44 to Col. 7, Line 12).
Gammack fails to teach an air-supply frame cover plate and an air guide cover plate, the air guide cover plate is arranged in the air-supply passage and forms a sealed air passage with the air-supply passage, the air-supply frame cover plate is arranged on the outside of the air guide cover plate, or the air-supply frame cover plate is integrally formed with the air guide cover plate.
Staniforth teaches a bladeless fan nozzle in which a detachable cover section closes and seals the annular air passage, the sealing structure is integral with the cover’s exterior wall. Staniforth teaches air guide cover plate (front casing section 50, sealing member 64, annular passage 68), and an air-supply frame cover plate (annular outer wall 50 of the section is integrally formed; Col. 10, lines 11-37, Col. 11, Lines 17-38, Col. 18, Lines 27-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air supply assembly of Gammack such that an air-supply frame cover plate and an air guide cover plate, the air guide cover plate is arranged in the air-supply passage and forms a sealed air passage with the air-supply passage, the air-supply frame cover plate is arranged on the outside of the air guide cover plate, or the air-supply frame cover plate is integrally formed with the air guide cover plate as taught by Staniforth for the purposes of sealing the air path during operating while allowing the user to detach the cover and clean the interior passage.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gammack (US 8246317) in view of Staniforth (US 10612565), and further in view of Kim (US 20210372413).
Gammack in view of Staniforth teaches the bladeless fan according to claim 15 above. Gammack as modified further teaches the annular emission surface defined by casing sections (Gammack, 90, 92), the interior passage is closed and sealed by Staniforth (see combination above).
Gammack fails to teach the fan comprises at least two air-supply assemblies, which are combined to form an annular air-supply surface of the fan.
Kim teaches a blower whose discharge structure is built from two separately fed bodies mounted on a common connection seat with flow cross-sections that narrow away from the feed to equalize discharge. Kim teaches the two air supply assemblies (220, 230) and connection seat (connector 210). Additionally, the width of the air-supply passage gradually decreases toward two sides from the connection of the air-supply frame pillar passage and the air-supply passage, the fan comprises at least two air-supply assemblies, which are combined to form an annular air-supply surface of the fan, and a base assembly or a post assembly, wherein the air-supply assembly is arranged on the base assembly or the post assembly, an air passage of the base assembly or the post assembly is in communication with the air-supply frame pillar passage (Paragraphs 22, 26, 29, 125, 126).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify bladeless fan of Gammack such that at least two air-supply assemblies, which are combined to form an annular air-supply surface of the fan as taught by Kim as none but expected result of segmenting the fed segment is achieved, thereby simplifying manufacture through separately-molded, shorter ducted segments and of distributing the air from the single fan evenly to the two segments.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gammack (US 8246317) in view of Staniforth (US 10612565), and further in view of Stacey (US 1825103).
Gammack in view of Staniforth teaches the air supply assembly and bladeless fan according to claim 15 above. Gammack further discloses at the junction where the pillar passage delivers air into the annular frame passage is divided into two air streams (Figure 14).
Gammack fails to teach the air-supply assembly further comprises a discrete air guide component a the flow divides against the casing walls, an air-passage flared opening is formed in the air-passage interface; the air guide component is arranged in the air-passage flared opening, so that the air-passage flared opening forms an air guide passage; the air guide passage is in communication with the air-supply passage of the air-supply frame, and an air guide surface is formed on each of the two sides of the air guide component, the air guide passage is formed between the air guide surface and the inner wall of the air-passage flared opening.
Stacey teaches an air distribution conduit with a main air duct (6) divided into two branch ducts (7, 8) through an enlarged junction (area between 7 and 8) fitted with a streamlined splitter (9). The air guide component (9) is arranged at the connection of the air-supply frame pillar passage and the air-supply passage, an air-passage interface is provided between the air-supply frame pillar and the air-supply frame, an air-passage flared opening (main duct 6 is slightly enlarged prior to the junction) is formed in the air-passage interface; the air guide component is arranged in the air-passage flared opening, so that the air-passage flared opening forms an air guide passage (divided streams pass through enlarged region with the splitter, directly into respective branches); the air guide passage is in communication with the air-supply passage of the air-supply frame, and an air guide surface is formed on each of the two sides of the air guide component (streamlined body’s flanks are convex), the air guide passage is formed between the air guide surface and the inner wall of the air-passage flared opening (each divided stream is bounded between one flank and the adjacent wall of the enlarged flared duct portion).
Because Gammack and Stacey are both directed to air flowing through ducts that divide into two branches; Gammack divides the primary flow into two streams at the nozzle entry, and Stacey teaches the fluid streams are divided and pertinent to flow division within ducts; and because Stacey teaches dividing the incoming stream smoothly into two branch passages formed between the convex guide surfaces of the splitter and duct walls, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air supply assembly and bladeless fan of Gammack such that the air-supply assembly further comprises a discrete air guide component a the flow divides against the casing walls, an air-passage flared opening is formed in the air-passage interface; the air guide component is arranged in the air-passage flared opening, so that the air-passage flared opening forms an air guide passage; the air guide passage is in communication with the air-supply passage of the air-supply frame, and an air guide surface is formed on each of the two sides of the air guide component, the air guide passage is formed between the air guide surface and the inner wall of the air-passage flared opening as taught by Stacey for the purposes of eliminating the eddies and noise generated where the air stream divides into the two branches of the nozzle passage and distributing the flow evenly between them. In a combination of Gammack and Stacey, the region where the base (Gammack, 100) joins the annular casing sections (Gammack, 90, 92), the air passage interface at entry aperture (102) is enlarged just prior to the junction, per the teaching of Stacey, forming the flared opening. Stacey utilizes a streamlined splitter at the tongue where the two arms of the passages (Gammack, 94) diverged, projecting into the enlargement. As a result, the two streamlined flanks bound the two branch streams against the inner wall of the flared region, forming one guide passage feeding each vertically extending arm of the annular air supply passage.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN D SEABE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745