DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 141 in Figure 1, 663 in Figure 6A, 664 in Figure 6B, and 771 in Figure 7.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0013]: hath should be hatch
Paragraph [0040], last sentence: out should be outer
Paragraph [0047], second to last sentence: in “top casing 540” the reference element 540 should be 550
Paragraph [0050]: “that” after reference element 826 should be removed
Paragraph [0052]: “within” should come after reference numbers 1027a, 1027b rather than before
Paragraph [0066]: remove “a” from “an combinations thereof a.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites a lid and a base both “operably connected to one of one or more jars” containing a cosmetic. However, the jars are functionally claimed and not positively recited. This applies to all claims dependent on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “wherein one or more of the jars may be a similar color to the cosmetic contained within.” The inclusion of “may be” makes the limitation indefinite, because it is unclear if one of the jars must be a similar color to the contained cosmetic to fall within the scope of the claim, or if jars of any color would fall within the scope of the claim. For examination purposes examiner has interpreted “one or more of the jars may be a similar color” to be “one or more of the jars is a similar color”.
Claims 18-23 recite the limitations “the device” and "two of more jars". There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. The claims are dependent on Claim 13, which recites a beauty system. It is unclear if the beauty system is the same as the device or if the device might be another structure. Additionally, Claim 13, through its dependency on Claim 1, only claims one or more jars in a functional relationship with the lid and base, while claims 13-23 recite two or more jars. For examination purposes examiner has interpreted “the device” to be “the beauty system” of Claim 13. The jars are functionally recited in the claims as written, therefore the number of jars will not impact the examination.
Claim 18 recites “The device of claim 13, further comprising a base, a lid, or combination thereof”, however Claim 13 already has a base and a lid through its dependence on Claim 1. Therefore it is unclear if the base and lid in Claim 18 are a new base and lid or the same base and lid as in Claim 1. For examination purposes the examiner has interpreted them to be the same base and lid as recited in Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention through the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign (https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/subtlbeauty/subtl-beauty-the-ultimate-makeup-brand-for-women-o, last updated December 12, 2018; a copy of the website accessed 10/25/2023 is provided in parent application 17/545,638; included on IDS submitted 12/22/2025).
Regarding Claim 1, the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign discloses a beauty system (annotated Image 1 below) comprising,
a lid (A) operably connected (connected by screwing the lid onto the topmost jar) to one of one or more jars containing a cosmetic (5 jars containing shine controlling powder, highlighter, bronzer, lip and cheek color, and concealer) and
a base (B) operably connected to one of the one or more jars (connected by screwing the base into the bottom jar).
Image 1: Annotated screen shot from Subtl Beauty Kickstarter Campaign
Regarding Claim 4, the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign discloses the beauty system of claim 1 (as described above), wherein at least one of the one or more jars contains a skin care composition (the lip and cheek color is infused with jojoba oil for skin care purposes).
The examiner notes that the jars are not positively recited, but rather functionally recited. Thus the lid and the base of the beauty system must have the capability of operably connecting to a jar containing a skin care composition. If an examiner concludes that a functional limitation is an inherent characteristic of the prior art, then to establish a prima case of anticipation or obviousness, the examiner should explain that the prior art structure inherently possesses the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432. See also Bettcher Industries, Inc. v. Bunzl USA, Inc., 661 F.3d 629, 639-40,100 USPQ2d 1433, 1440 (Fed. Cir. 2011). The burden then shifts to applicant to establish that the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432; In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 213, 169 USPQ 226, 228 (CCPA 1971). The examiner takes the position that since the lid and base of the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign are capable of operably connecting to jars holding cosmetics they are capable of connecting to jars holding skin care compositions. See MPEP §2114.
Regarding Claim 6, the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign discloses the beauty system of claim 1 (as described above), wherein each of the one or more jars, lids, or bases are a different color (all of the jars and the lid and the base in the above Image 1 from the Kickstarter campaign are different colors).
Regarding Claim 7, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign discloses the beauty system of claim 1 (as described above), wherein one or more of the jars is a similar color to the cosmetic contained within (the “LIP CHEEK” jar is a similar color to the cosmetic in the jar in the image, labeled “Our creamy lip and cheek is infused with jojoba oil” in the annotated image above).
Regarding Claim 12, the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign discloses the beauty system of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the one or more jars have a geometric shape selected from the group consisting of a cylinder, cube, prism, and combinations thereof (the jars in Image 2 below are cylinders).
Image 2: Screen shot from Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign.
Claims 1, 3, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention. “The Stack” was for sale by make-up company Trinny London in packaging from Quadpack (https://www.packworld.com/design/materials-containers/article/13375424/plastic-makeup-jar-is-stackable-portable, published July 1, 2018; a copy of the website is provided in parent application 17/545,638; included on IDS submitted 12/22/2025).
Regarding Claim 1, “The Stack” discloses a beauty system (stack, indicated in annotated Image 3 below) comprising, a lid (lid in annotated Image 3 below) operably connected to one of one or more jars containing a cosmetic (jar in annotated Image 3 below) and a base (base in annotated Image 3 below) operably connected to one of the one or more jars. Jars are connected into a stack through click-fit functionality (third paragraph of packworld.com article).
Image 3: Annotated screen shot from packworld.com write up about “The Stack”
Regarding Claim 3, “The Stack” discloses the beauty system of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the base contains a cosmetic, skin care composition, or hair care composition (base B3 contains a face, eye, cheek or lip color; first paragraph of packworld.com article and Image 3 above).
Regarding Claim 8, “The Stack” discloses the beauty system of claim 1 (as described above), wherein each of the one or more jars hold about 0.1 ounces to about 10 ounces of a cosmetic, skin care composition, or hair care composition (the jars of “The Stack” each hold 5 ml of make-up, which is 0.169 ounces; first paragraph of packworld.com article).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 10, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign (https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/subtlbeauty/subtl-beauty-the-ultimate-makeup-brand-for-women-o, last updated December 12, 2018).
Regarding Claim 5, the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign discloses the beauty system of claim 1 (as described above), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein each of the one or more jars, lids, or bases are the same color.
However, the lids, bases and jars being the same color is an aesthetic design change and thus relates to ornamentation which has no mechanical function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign wherein each of the one or more jars, lids, or bases are the same color as a matter of design choice. The courts have held ornamentation which has no mechanical function cannot patentably distinguish from the prior art. In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947).See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claims 10 and 11, the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign discloses the beauty system of claim 1 (as described above), but fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein each of the one or more jars and bases has an outer diameter of about 35 millimeters (mm) to about 50 mm (Claim 10) or
wherein each of the one or more jars has a height of about 1 centimeter (cm) to 5 cm (Claim 11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beauty system of the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign to have an outer diameter of about 35 mm to about 50 mm or a height of about 1 cm to 5 cm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). See MPEP 2144.01(IV)(A). In the instant case, the beauty system of the Kickstarter campaign would not operate differently with the claimed diameter or claimed height. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating the outer diameter or height “may” be within the claimed ranges (specification paragraph [0065]).
Regarding Claim 17, the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign discloses a storage device (annotated Image 1 above) comprising two or more operably connected jars (5 jars screw together to form the device) but fails to explicitly disclose:
each jar having an outer diameter of about 35 millimeters (mm) to about 50 mm, and
a height of about 1 centimeter (cm) to 10 cm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage device of the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign to have an outer diameter of about 35 mm to about 50 mm or a height of about 1 cm to 5 cm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). See MPEP 2144.01(IV)(A). In the instant case, the device of the Kickstarter campaign would not operate differently with the claimed diameter or claimed height. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating the outer diameter and height “may” be within the claimed ranges (specification paragraph [0065]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter in view of Sheffler et al. (US Patent 5,669,400).
Regarding Claim 2, the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign discloses the beauty system of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the base (Image 1 above, base B) comprises an applicator (mini applicator contained in the base), but fails to explicitly teach the applicator selected from the group consisting of a brush, a sponge, and combinations thereof.
However, Sheffler, in the same field of endeavor of cosmetic jars (Abstract, Figure 2), teaches an applicator selected from the group consisting of a brush, a sponge, and combinations thereof (applicator 22 held within slide cover means 20 which covers bottom recess 16 of cosmetic jar and applicator storage device 10, Col 4 lines 55-65; Figure 8 shows applicator 22 to be a brush).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beauty system of the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign with the brush applicator of Sheffler. One would have been motivated to make this change as it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain a predictable result. The Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign discloses the base of the beauty system could contain an applicator, but it does not define the type of applicator. Sheffler teaches that a brush applicator for cosmetics can be made to fit into a cylindrical base of a cosmetic jar. Therefore all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have substituted the unknown applicator type of the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter base with the brush applicator of Sheffler with predictable results of having a brush applicator contained in the beauty system. KSR Int’l Co v. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). See MPEP 2143.
Claims 9, 13-15, and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter in view of Banik (US Patent 7,604,142).
Regarding Claim 9, the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign discloses the beauty system of claim 1 (as described above), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the lid comprises a mirror.
However, Banik, in the same field of endeavor of cosmetic containers that conveniently fit into purses, pockets, and similar (Col 3 line 62 – Col 4 line 2), teaches the lid comprises a mirror (Col 4 line 60-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beauty system of the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign with the mirror in the lid of Banik. One would have been motivated to make this modification to make the application of cosmetics easier when out of a home or bathroom. In the video on the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign, users are seen applying the make-up contained in the beauty system using a phone to observe their actions (0:11 and 1:06 in video). By adding the mirror of Banik to the beauty system of the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign, no additional tool beyond the system would be needed. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding Claim 13, the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign discloses the beauty system of claim 1 (as described above), but fails to explicitly disclose the system further comprising an insert or pan sized to be removably contained within one of the one or more jars and hold a cosmetic, skin care composition, or hair care composition.
However, Banik, in the same field of endeavor of cosmetic containers (Col 3 line 62 – Col 4 line 2, Figure 3), teaches an insert or pan (Figure 3, deck 318) sized to be removably contained (Col 6 lines 7-12) within one of the one or more jars (base 300 of container 100 (not labeled in Figure 3)) and hold a cosmetic, skin care composition, or hair care composition (Col 5 line 62 to Col 6 line 2). Banik teaches the detachably coupled deck to allow a user to selectively refill or replace the deck when desired (Col 6 lines 9-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beauty system of the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign with the removable pan of Banik for the purpose of enabling users to selectively replace or refill pans (Banik: Col 6 lines 9-12).
Regarding Claim 14, the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter and Banik teach the beauty system of claim 13 (as described above). Banik further teaches wherein the insert or pan is connected to the jar with screw threads, clasps, clips, pressure fittings, and combinations thereof (press-fit is among the list of suitable techniques for installing deck 318 in aperture 316, Col 6 line 2-4).
Regarding Claim 15, the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter and Banik teach the beauty system of claim 13 (as described above). Banik further teaches wherein the insert or pan has a flanged edge (Figure 3, top surface 320 around cavity 322 in deck 318).
Regarding Claim 18, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter and Banik teach the beauty system of claim 13 (as described above). The Subtl Beauty Kickstarter further teaches each of the base and lid having an outer diameter substantially equal to the outer diameter of the two or more jars (see Image 2 above, all jars and the lid and base have the same outer diameter).
Regarding Claim 19, the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter and Banik teach the beauty system of claim 13 (as described above). The Subtl Beauty Kickstarter further teaches wherein at least one of the two or more jars contains a skin care composition (the lip and cheek color is infused with jojoba oil for skin care purposes).
Regarding Claim 20, the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter and Banik teach the beauty system of claim 13 (as described above). They do not explicitly teach wherein each of the two or more jars, lids, or bases are the same color;
However, the lids, bases and jars being the same color is an aesthetic design change and thus relates to ornamentation which has no mechanical function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign wherein each of the one or more jars, lids, or bases are the same color as a matter of design choice. The courts have held ornamentation which has no mechanical function cannot patentably distinguish from the prior art. In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947).See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 21, the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter and Banik teach the beauty system of claim 13 (as described above). The Subtl Beauty Kickstarter further teaches wherein each of the two or more jars, lids, or bases are a different color (the lid, base, and jars in the above Images 1 and 2 from the Kickstarter campaign are different colors).
Regarding Claim 22, the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter and Banik teach the beauty system of claim 13 (as described above). Banik further teaches wherein each of the jars hold 0.55 ounces to 4.43 ounces (volume of aperture 316 in which deck 318 sits is ideally 1 to 8 cubic inches or 0.55 to 4.43 ounces, Col 5 lines 48-54), which is within the claimed range (0.5 to 10 ounces) and thus anticipates the claimed limitation.
Regarding Claim 23, the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter and Banik teach the beauty system of claim 13 (as described above). The Subtl Beauty Kickstarter further teaches wherein each of the two or more jars have a geometric shape selected from the group consisting of a cylinder, cube, cone, prism, and combinations thereof (each jar in Images 1 and 2 above are cylinders).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter and Banik (US Patent 7,604,142) as applied to Claim 13 above, and further in view of Dunton et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0305577).
Regarding Claim 16, the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter and Banik teach the beauty system of claim 13 (as described above). But they do not explicitly teach wherein the insert or pan is plastic, metal, acrylic, nylon, or combinations thereof. They do not teach any material for the insert or pan.
However, Dunton, in the same field of endeavor of cosmetic compacts (abstract), teaches cosmetic products are often contained in shallow plastic or metal pans inside a base structure (paragraph [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beauty system of the Subtl Beauty Kickstarter campaign containing the pan of Banik to make the pan out of metal or plastic as in Dunton. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER P CONNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 3772 /EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772