Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park US PAT 11204147.
As for claim 1, Park discloses a beam splitter lens for production of a multi-beam emitter (see 56sub1, 56 sub2, 56sub3, col 6 ln 25-30), the beam splitter lens comprising at least two simple lenses (42sub1, 42 sub2, 42sub3 and 51sub1, 52sub2, 52sub3, Fig 3), each simple lens being able to project a collimated beam from light captured at a focal point defined by the configuration of the simple lens (teaches a collimated beam, see Fig 3, 5sub3, 58 sub LB1, which is a low-beam spot pattern, col 6 ln 25-30; further teaches other static, dynamic, or adaptive beams may be included or substituted therein, col 8 ln 56-60); wherein each simple lens is configured so that it possesses its own individual focal point (each lens has its own focal point, see lens arrangement in Fig 3 with 3 separate beam patterns) which is distinct from the individual focal point of another lens, in a sense that adjacent focal points are distant by a minimal distance (d) (there is a distance between each of the focal points of the lens arrangement in Fig 3). Regarding the limitations, each simple lens being able to project a collimated beam, Park teaches the middle beam in Fig 3, 58 sub LB1, as a collimated light beam and further teaches other static, dynamic, or adaptive beams may be included or substituted therein (col 8 ln 56-60), therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to include/substitute additional collimating beam patterns in with Park for applications where achieving a more collimated beam pattern is desired.
As for claim 2, Park discloses the beam splitter lens according to claim 1, wherein the minimal distance (di) between individual focal points is greater than or equal to 25% of one dimension (L) of the size of the emitting surface (see Fig 3, distance between focal points is a greater length than 25% of the length of the emission face of light unit 30).
As for claim 3, Park discloses the device as discussed above. Park further teaches that distances of each lens from its respective subset may be the same for each lens pair or may be slightly different for each subset/relay lens (col 7 ln 45-56), with respect to the determining the distance, dy = SeparationCoeficienty x Ly dz = SeparationCoeficientz x Lz where: dy, respectively dz, is the distance between the individual focal point and the source focal point in dimension Y, respectively Z, expressed in mm; SeparationCoeficienty, respectively SeparationCoeficientz is the scaling factor for dimensions Y, respectively Z, expressed in %, greater than or equal to 25% and smaller than 250%; Ly, respectively Lz, is the size of the light-emitting surface in dimension Y, respectively Z, expressed in mm, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to determine the distances according to the claimed expression since Park suggests varying distances may be used and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP 2144.05.
As for claim 7, Park discloses the beam splitter lens according to claim 1, wherein the beam splitter lens comprises at least two simple lenses (see at least two simple lenses in Fig 3), each having independently designed optical surfaces configured to generate a light beam with a distinct propagation direction from each other and a predetermined beam divergence (Fig 3, beams have distinct propagation direction and predetermined beam divergence, a collimated beam, see Fig 3, 5sub3, 58 sub LB1, which is a low-beam spot pattern, col 8 ln 24-55; further teaches other static, dynamic, or adaptive beams may be included or substituted therein, col 8 ln 56-60). The teachings of Park meet the limitations, independently designed optical surfaces, since the optical properties of the lenses have been designed/created to achieve a predetermined beam pattern. Additionally, these are product by process limitations. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966.
As for claim 8, Park discloses a multi-beam emitter (Fig 3), comprising a light source (micro-LED device 30, col 6 ln 9-12) made having a light emitting surface (emitting surface of 30) and the beam splitter lens according to claim 1 (see above regarding the limitations of the beam splitter lens according to claim 1).
As for claim 9, Park discloses a vehicle headlamp (col 1 ln 7-29 and col 5 ln 13-22) comprising the multi-beam emitter according to claim 8 (see above regarding the limitations of the multibeam emitter according to claim 8).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yatsuda US 2011/0063874.
As for claim 4, Park discloses the beam splitter lens according to claim 1, wherein the beam splitter lens comprises two or four simple lenses (see embodiments with two or 4 lenses, Fig 3, Fig 8, further teaches other static, dynamic, or adaptive beams may be included or substituted therein col 8 ln 56-60). Park further teaches that the subsets or arrays may have sizes and shapes that differ from one another (col 7 ln 9-14), and that the lenses may achieve collimated light (see Fig 3, 5sub3, 58 sub LB1, which is a low-beam spot pattern, col 6 ln 25-30), but fails to specifically recite the lenses having non-symmetrical properties. Yasuda teaches the use of non-symmetrical lenses to achieve collimated light (see paragraph 0044). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to look to Yatsuda and substitute the asymmetrical lenses in with Park to provide a suitable alternative means of achieving a collimated beam in the headlight of Park.
As for claim 5, see the discussion above regarding utilizing Yasuda for teaching asymmetrical lenses with the device of Park. Regarding having at least one of the simple lenses has a face of an aspherical shape having at least one vertex, with said vertex of the aspherical shape located on the face of the simple lens, It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to change the shape of the lens such that having at least one of the simple lenses has a face of an aspherical shape having at least one vertex, with said vertex of the aspherical shape located on the face of the simple lens, since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) see MPEP 2144.04. It appears that the disclosed device would perform equally well shaped as disclosed by Park in view of Yasuda.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Orisich US 2018/0073698.
As for claim 6, Park further teaches that adjacent beams may have beams that diverge by an angular spread (see Fig 3 and further teaches other static, dynamic, or adaptive beams may be included or substituted therein, col 8 ln 56-60), but is silent to specifically stating that adjacent beams diverge by an angular spread between ranges from 2-25 degrees. Orisich teaches adjacent beams diverge by an angular spread between ranges from 2-25 degrees (paragraph 0026). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to look to Orisich and utilize the adjacent beams that diverge by an angular spread between ranges from 2-25 degrees with Park where having a light emission pattern that achieves a desired luminous output with divergence within 8-12 degrees (see Orisich paragraph 0026).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WON US’967 discloses a light source configured to emit first light; and a beam splitter configured to form transmitted light by transmitting a part of the first light and form reflected light by reflecting another part of the first light, in which the transmitted light transmitted through the beam splitter and the reflected light reflected by the beam splitter form beam patterns outside. LI US’208 discloses a light source for projection displays that combines a plurality of beams into a smaller cross-sectional area, optionally co-axially combining beams of different colors, and angularly and spatially homogenizing the result for a collimated output with better etendue. Some embodiments use slotted mirror(s)s and/or wavelength-selective filter-reflectors for combining laser beams from two laser arrays, hexagonal light guide(s) and/or diffuser(s) to homogenize the beam. SUCKLING US’600 discloses a light source is illuminated by a plurality of laser emitters arranged to illuminate the light source in an array-like manner. Control of the output of one or more of the laser emitters results in a variation of the spatial emission distribution from the light source and hence a variation of the far-field beam spot distribution via non-mechanical means.
/EVAN P DZIERZYNSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875