CTNF 19/400,716 CTNF 87246 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichieda (US 2008/0074560 A1) in view of Ota (JP 2012191411 A, cited in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS), English machine translation filed by applicant on 11/25/2025 is used in the rejection) . As to claim 1, Ichieda teaches a control method for an information processing device ([0043]: information terminal) connected to an infrastructure network ([0043-0044]: network connection with a wireless LAN), the control method comprising: receiving an operation of requesting connection with a first display device that is not connected to the infrastructure network ([0074];[0076];[0080]: connection request command transmitted by the information terminal 80 to the projector 50 when user instructs the information terminal;[0095]); when the operation of requesting connection is received (step S105 in Fig. 3), notifying that connection with the infrastructure network is to be disconnected (step S109 in Fig. 3; [0085]: In step 109, transmitted disconnection request command received); receiving an operation of approving disconnection from the infrastructure network ([0084]: user instructs disconnection of the wireless LAN connection); and when the operation of approving is received, connecting the information processing device to the first display device as a display device to which image data is to be transmitted ([0084]: If the disconnection button is operated, the information terminal 80 transmits the disconnection request command to the projector 50;[0091]: projection of received image from the information terminal), but does not explicitly disclose connecting via an ad-hoc network. However, Ota teaches connecting via an ad-hoc network ([0002-0003]: ad-hoc network). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Ichieda by connecting via an ad-hoc network, the information processing device to the first display device as taught by Ota in order to easily and quickly connect the information processing device to the first display device. As to claim 3, Ichieda teaches the control method for the information processing device according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: acquiring identification information of the first display device from a signal transmitted by the first display device; acquiring identification information of a second display device connected to the infrastructure network via the infrastructure network; and displaying a list including identification information of the first display device and identification information of the second display device, wherein the operation of requesting connection is an operation of selecting the identification information of the first display device from the list. However, Ota teaches acquiring identification information of the first display device from a signal transmitted by the first display device ([0038]: projector transmits identification information, PC 200 receiving identification information transmitted; [0057]); acquiring identification information of a second display device connected to the infrastructure network via the infrastructure network ([0038]: network where multiple projectors and access point are connected, projector transmit identification information;[0040]); and displaying a list including identification information of the first display device and identification information of the second display device ([0026]: display a list showing a list of projectors;[0031]), wherein the operation of requesting connection is an operation of selecting the identification information of the first display device from the list ([0026]: display a list showing a list of projectors; [0033]: receives user’s selection of the connection target). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ichieda by acquiring identification information of the first display device from a signal transmitted by the first display device, acquiring identification information of a second display device connected to the infrastructure network via the infrastructure network, and selecting the identification information of the first display device from the list as taught by Ota in order to make it easier to identify and select a display device. As to claim 4, Ichieda teaches a display system ([0043[: image display system) comprising: a first display device that is not connected to an infrastructure network ([0074]: projector 50 waits for an input signal from the operation section 57 or the operation signal reception section 58;[0076]: instruction has not been made, step S101 is repeated); and an information processing device connected to the infrastructure network ([0044]: information terminal 80 is arranged to supply an image signal to the projector 50 in a condition in which the network connection with the wireless LAN is established), wherein the information processing device receives an operation for requesting connection with the first display device ([0080]: connection request command transmitted by the information terminal 80 to the projector 50 when user instructs the information terminal), notifies that connection with the infrastructure network is to be disconnected (step S109 in Fig. 3; [0085]: In step 109, transmitted disconnection request command received) when the operation of requesting connection is received (step S105 in Fig. 3), receives an operation of approving disconnection from the infrastructure network ([0084]: user instructs disconnection of the wireless LAN connection), and when the operation of approving is received, connects the information processing device to the first display device as a display device to which the image data is to be transmitted ([0084]: If the disconnection button is operated, the information terminal 80 transmits the disconnection request command to the projector 50;[0091]: projection of received image from the information terminal), but does not explicitly disclose connects via an ad-hoc network. However, Ota teaches connects via an ad-hoc network ([0002-0003]: ad-hoc network). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Ichieda by connecting via an ad-hoc network, the information processing device to the first display device as taught by Ota in order to easily and quickly connect the information processing device to the first display device. As to claim 5, Ichieda teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program ([0026]: recording program in a computer readable manner), the program causes a processor of an information processing device connected to an infrastructure network ([0026];[0044]: network connection established; [0065-0066]: information terminal 80 is provided with a CPU, operates in accordance with control program) to receive an operation for requesting connection with a first display device that is not connected to the infrastructure network ([0074];[0076];[0080]: connection request command transmitted by the information terminal 80 to the projector 50 when user instructs the information terminal;[0095]), notify that connection with the infrastructure network is to be disconnected (step S109 in Fig. 3; [0085]: In step 109, transmitted disconnection request command received) when the operation of requesting connection is received (step S105 in Fig. 3), receive an operation of approving disconnection from the infrastructure network([0084]: user instructs disconnection of the wireless LAN connection;[0105]: operation of disconnection button by user), and when the operation of approving is received, connect the information processing device to the first display device as a display device to which image data is to be transmitted ([0084]: If the disconnection button is operated, the information terminal 80 transmits the disconnection request command to the projector 50;[0091]: projection of received image from the information terminal), but does not explicitly disclose connect via an ad-hoc network. However, Ota teaches connect via an ad-hoc network ([0002-0003]: ad-hoc network). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Ichieda by connecting via an ad-hoc network, the information processing device to the first display device as taught by Ota in order to easily and quickly connect the information processing device to the first display device . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STACY KHOO whose telephone number is (571)270-3698. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:00 am-5:00 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Eason can be reached at 571-270-7230. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /STACY KHOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624 Application/Control Number: 19/400,716 Page 2 Art Unit: 2624 Application/Control Number: 19/400,716 Page 3 Art Unit: 2624 Application/Control Number: 19/400,716 Page 4 Art Unit: 2624 Application/Control Number: 19/400,716 Page 5 Art Unit: 2624 Application/Control Number: 19/400,716 Page 6 Art Unit: 2624 Application/Control Number: 19/400,716 Page 7 Art Unit: 2624