DETAILED ACTION
The present application is being examined under the AIA first to file provisions. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Application Status
This office action is in response to the claims filed 11/25/2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and being examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 11/25/2025 has been considered. See the attached PTO 1449 forms.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“electrical and/or electronic component configured to monitor a treatment module in the treatment chamber” in claim 1, which is being interpreted to encompass lights, cameras and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 7, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 6 and 15:
Claims 6 and 15 recite “the transparent delimitation is sealed with respect to the housing part by means of a first elastic element and/or a second elastic element that receive between them a flange region of the transparent delimitation” which is indefinite because while the “and/or” permits a single elastic element to satisfy the claim, the “between them” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how a single element can receive a flange region “between them”.
Claim 7 is indefinite for depending from indefinite claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Soncini et al. US 2023/0322539.
Regarding claim 1:
Soncini teaches a container treatment apparatus (1) for treating containers, comprising: a housing part (19) delimiting a treatment chamber (5/6); and an electrical and/or electronic component (31) configured to monitor a treatment module in the treatment chamber (e.g., [0077]), wherein the electrical and/or electronic component is arranged in a component receptacle (29) that projects through the housing part into the treatment chamber and seals the treatment chamber (e.g., [0064], [0093]).
Regarding claim 2:
Soncini teaches the container treatment apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the component receptacle comprises a transparent delimitation (39) which defines a receiving volume (32) configured to receive the electrical and/or electronic component ([0076]) and which projects into the treatment chamber to such an extent that a line of sight is formed between the electrical and/or electronic component and the treatment module (see FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 3:
Soncini teaches the container treatment apparatus of claim 2, as discussed above, wherein the transparent delimitation is in the form of a cylinder (see FIG. 3).
Regarding claims 4 and 5:
Soncini teaches the container treatment apparatus of claim 2, as discussed above, wherein the transparent delimitation comprises a transparent, alkali-resistant, acid-resistant, and temperature-resistant material comprising glass ([0075], glass is well-known to be relatively resistant to alkalines, acids, and fluctuating temperatures).
Regarding claims 6 and 7:
Soncini teaches the container treatment apparatus of claim 2, as discussed above, wherein the transparent delimitation is sealed with respect to the housing part by means of a first elastic element comprising a sealing ring (51, [0093]).
Regarding claims 8 and 9:
Soncini teaches the container treatment apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the treatment chamber comprises an isolator chamber and the housing part comprises a wall (36/19) of a housing delimiting the isolator chamber ([0074]), wherein the wall comprises a top plate (56) of the housing delimiting the isolator chamber (see FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 10:
Soncini teaches the container treatment apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the electrical and/or electronic component comprises a camera (31).
Regarding claim 11:
Soncini teaches the container treatment apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the component receptacle comprises a preassembled assembly (e.g., at least 61 appears pre-assembled; the entire receptacle is capable of being pre-assembled).
Regarding claim 12:
Soncini teaches an apparatus (1) for filling containers with a filling product or for closing containers filled with a filling product with a container closure ([0032]), comprising: a housing part (19) delimiting a treatment chamber (5/6); and an electrical and/or electronic component (31) configured to monitor a treatment module in the treatment chamber (e.g., [0077]), wherein: the electrical and/or electronic component is arranged in a component receptacle (29) that projects through the housing part into the treatment chamber and seals the treatment chamber (e.g., [0064], [0093]), and the component receptacle comprises (1) a transparent delimitation (39) that projects into the treatment chamber and provides a receiving volume (32) configured to receive the electrical and/or electronic component ([0076]) and (2) a pivotable holding apparatus (55) configured to hold the electrical and/or electronic component ([0095]).
Regarding claim 13:
Soncini teaches the apparatus of claim 12, as discussed above, wherein the transparent delimitation is in the form of a cylinder (see FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 14:
Soncini teaches the apparatus of claim 12, as discussed above, wherein the transparent delimitation comprises glass ([0075]).
Regarding claims 15 and 16:
Soncini teaches the container treatment apparatus of claim 12, as discussed above, wherein the transparent delimitation is sealed with respect to the housing part by means of a first elastic element comprising a sealing ring (51, [0093]).
Regarding claims 17 and 18:
Soncini teaches the apparatus of claim 12, as discussed above, wherein the treatment chamber comprises an isolator chamber and the housing part comprises a wall (36/19) of a housing delimiting the isolator chamber ([0074]), wherein the wall comprises a top plate (56) of the housing delimiting the isolator chamber (see FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 19:
Soncini teaches the apparatus of claim 12, as discussed above, wherein the electrical and/or electronic component comprises a camera (31).
Regarding claim 20:
Soncini teaches the apparatus of claim 12, as discussed above, wherein the component receptacle comprises a preassembled assembly (e.g., at least 61 appears pre-assembled; the entire receptacle is capable of being pre-assembled).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: for example, see Lin US 6,106,136; Shimansky et al. US 4,245,566; Canty US 4,809,862; and others provided in the PTO-892.
/DARIUSH SEIF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731