DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 7, 8, 17 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The above claims recites “fourth region and fifth region” however applicant specification fails to clearly recite/show claimed fourth region and fifth region in the specification as well as the drawing.
For examining purpose the fourth region is interpreted as a region of second opening without touch sensor and fifth region as being region around the second opening on touch sensor panel circumscribing the fourth region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, 11, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al (PG Pub NO 2020/0110298).
As in claim 1, Li et al discloses a touch sensor panel (Fig 2, 14 and Par 0020) comprising:
a first region corresponding to a region of the touch sensor panel without touch electrodes; (Fig 1-2 item K)
a second region corresponding to a region of the touch sensor panel with a first conductive material in a first conductive layer, the second region circumscribing the first region; (Fig 1-2 item Z) discloses second region (i.e. traveling line area Z) of the touch screen with a first conductive material (11) wherein traveling line area Z surrounding the opening area K
and a plurality of touch electrodes including: a first column touch electrode and a second column touch electrode; (Fig 1, 2 item 11,12) discloses plurality of column electrodes disposed on touch panel
wherein: the first column touch electrode is routed using the first conductive material in the first conductive layer from a first side of the first region to a second side of the first region along a first portion of a perimeter of the first region; the second column touch electrode is routed using the first conductive material in the first conductive layer from the first side of the first region to the second side of the first region along a second portion of the perimeter of the first region; (Fig 2, 4-8 and Par 0020-0021) discloses plurality of (i.e. first and second) column touch electrode (10) disposed in the Y direction routed using the first conductive material in the first conductive layer from a first side of the first region (i.e. top area of touch screen) to a second side of the first region (i.e. bottom area of touch screen) in Y-direction.
and the first column touch electrode and the second column touch electrode directly circumscribe the perimeter of the first region. (Fig 2, 4-8) discloses first column touch electrode and the second column touch electrode circumscribe the perimeter of the first region (K).
As in claim 10, Li et al discloses the touch sensor panel (Fig 1,2 and Abstract) of claim 1, wherein in the second region: a portion of the first column touch electrode horizontally extends a second threshold distance beyond a vertical boundary between the first column touch electrode and a third column touch electrode defined in a third region that circumscribes the second region. Li et al (Fig 2) discloses in the second region (i.e. around opening peripheral region K) a portion of the first column touch electrode (i.e. column electrode 12) horizontally extends (X direction) a second threshold distance beyond a vertical boundary between the first column touch electrode and a third column touch electrode defined in a third region that circumscribes the second region (traveling line area Z).
As in claim 11, Li et al discloses an electronic device (Fig 1, 2) comprising a touch screen (Fig 2, 14 and Par 0020), the touch screen including:
a first region corresponding to a region of the touch screen without touch electrodes; (Fig 1-2 item K)
a second region corresponding to a region of the touch screen with a first conductive material in a first conductive layer, the second region circumscribing the first region; (Fig 1-2 item Z) discloses second region (i.e. traveling line area Z) of the touch screen with a first conductive material (11) wherein traveling line area Z surrounding the opening area K
and a plurality of touch electrodes including: a first column touch electrode and a second column touch electrode; (Fig 1, 2 item 11,12) discloses plurality of column electrodes disposed on touch panel
wherein: the first column touch electrode is routed using the first conductive material in the first conductive layer from a first side of the first region to a second side of the first region along a first portion of a perimeter of the first region; the second column touch electrode is routed using the first conductive material in the first conductive layer from the first side of the first region to the second side of the first region along a second portion of the perimeter of the first region; (Fig 2, 4-8 and Par 0020-0021) discloses plurality of (i.e. first and second) column touch electrode (10) disposed in the Y direction routed using the first conductive material in the first conductive layer from a first side of the first region (i.e. top area of touch screen) to a second side of the first region (i.e. bottom area of touch screen) in Y-direction.
and the first column touch electrode and the second column touch electrode directly circumscribe the perimeter of the first region. (Fig 2, 4-8) discloses first column touch electrode and the second column touch electrode circumscribe the perimeter of the first region (K).
As in claim 20, Li et al discloses the electronic device (Fig 1, 2) of claim 11, wherein in the second region: a portion of the first column touch electrode horizontally extends a second threshold distance beyond a vertical boundary between the first column touch electrode and a third column touch electrode defined in a third region that circumscribes the second region. Li et al (Fig 2) discloses in the second region (i.e. around opening peripheral region K) a portion of the first column touch electrode (i.e. column electrode 12) horizontally extends (X direction) a second threshold distance beyond a vertical boundary between the first column touch electrode and a third column touch electrode defined in a third region that circumscribes the second region (traveling line area Z).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 and 9 and 12-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (PG Pub NO 2020/0110298) in view of Wang et al (PG Pub NO 2023/0049317).
As in claim 2, Li et al discloses the touch sensor panel (Fig 2, 14 and Par 0020) of claim 1, the plurality of touch electrodes (Fig 2 item 12); but fails to disclose a first row touch electrode including the first conductive material in the second region, the first row touch electrode routed using the first conductive material in the first conductive layer from a third side of the first region to a fourth side of the first region. However Wang et al (Fig 3, 5, 6 and Par 0113) discloses first row touch electrode (200) including first conductive material (electrode around the hole 12 (Fig 5,6)) in the second region (area around hole 12/ opening peripheral region 14) wherein the first row touch electrode (200) routed using the first conductive material in the first conductive layer from a third side of the first region to a fourth side of the first region (i.e. from left side to right side of touch region). Therefore, it would have been obvious and well-known to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify the teaching of Li et al touch screen with the teaching of Wang et al touch screen having row and column touch electrode wherein the touch input can be detected via different configuration of touch electrode (i.e. column and row electrodes to yield same predictable result and improve accuracy of touch input.
As in claim 3, Li et al in view of Wang et al discloses the touch sensor panel (Fig 1,2 and Abstract) of claim 2, wherein the first row touch electrode is separated from the first region by at least a portion of the first column touch electrode and at least a portion of the second column touch electrode. Wang et al (Fig 3, 5, 6) discloses first row touch electrode (200) is separated from the first region by at least a portion of the first column touch electrode (100) and at least a portion of the second column touch electrode
As in claim 4, Li et al in view of Wang et al discloses the touch sensor panel (Fig 1,2 and Abstract) of claim 2, the plurality of touch electrodes further including a second row touch electrode routed from the third side of the first region to the fourth side of the first region. Wang et al (Fig 3, 5, 6) discloses second row touch electrode routed from the third side of the first region to the fourth side of the first region (i.e. from left side to right side of touch region).
As in claim 5, Li et al in view of Wang et al discloses the touch sensor panel (Fig 1,2 and Abstract) of claim 4, wherein the first row touch electrode and the second row touch electrode are separated from the first region by at least a portion of the first column touch electrode and at least a portion of the second column touch electrode. (Fig 3-5) discloses the row touch electrodes are separated from the first region by column touch electrodes. (i.e. plurality of touch column electrodes 100)
As in claim 6, Li et al in view of Wang et al discloses the touch sensor panel (Fig 1,2 and Abstract) of claim 4, wherein the first row touch electrode includes a first plurality of row touch electrode segments and the second row touch electrode includes a second plurality of row touch electrode segments [Wang et al (Fig 3) discloses first plurality of row touch electrode segments (i.e. sub-electrode) and second plurality of row touch electrode segments (i.e. sub-electrode)], wherein the first plurality of row touch electrode segments are routed from the third side of the first region to the fourth side of the first region and the second plurality of row touch electrode segments are routed from the third side of the first region to the fourth side of the first region. (Fig 3) discloses row touch electrode segments (i.e. sub-electrode) routed from the third side (i.e. left side) of the first region to the fourth side (i.e. right side) of the first region
As in claim 9, Li et al in view of Wang et al discloses the touch sensor panel (Fig 1,2 and Abstract) of claim 2, wherein in the second region: a portion of the first row touch electrode vertically extends a first threshold distance beyond a horizontal boundary of the first row touch electrode defined in a third region that circumscribes the second region. Wang et al (Fig 3, 5) discloses in the second region (i.e. around opening peripheral region 14) a portion of the first row touch electrode (200) vertically extends (R2 direction) a first threshold distance beyond a horizontal boundary of the first row touch electrode (i.e. beyond the height of sub-electrode 210) defined in a third region (i.e. functional region 11) that circumscribes the second region (12).
As in claim 12, Li et al discloses the electronic device (Fig 1, 2) of claim 11, the plurality of touch electrodes (Fig 2 item 12); but fails to disclose a first row touch electrode including the first conductive material in the second region, the first row touch electrode routed using the first conductive material in the first conductive layer from a third side of the first region to a fourth side of the first region. However Wang et al (Fig 3, 5, 6 and Par 0113) discloses first row touch electrode (200) including first conductive material (electrode around the hole 12 (Fig 5,6)) in the second region (area around hole 12/ opening peripheral region 14) wherein the first row touch electrode (200) routed using the first conductive material in the first conductive layer from a third side of the first region to a fourth side of the first region (i.e. from left side to right side of touch region). Therefore, it would have been obvious and well-known to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify the teaching of Li et al touch screen with the teaching of Wang et al touch screen having row and column touch electrode wherein the touch input can be detected via different configuration of touch electrode (i.e. column and row electrodes to yield same predictable result and improve accuracy of touch input.
As in claim 13, Li et al discloses the electronic device (Fig 1, 2) of claim 12, wherein the first row touch electrode is separated from the first region by at least a portion of the first column touch electrode and at least a portion of the second column touch electrode. Wang et al (Fig 3, 5, 6) discloses first row touch electrode (200) is separated from the first region by at least a portion of the first column touch electrode (100) and at least a portion of the second column touch electrode
As in claim 14, Li et al discloses the electronic device (Fig 1, 2) of claim 12, the plurality of touch electrodes further including a second row touch electrode routed from the third side of the first region to the fourth side of the first region. Wang et al (Fig 3, 5, 6) discloses second row touch electrode routed from the third side of the first region to the fourth side of the first region (i.e. from left side to right side of touch region).
As in claim 15, Li et al discloses the electronic device (Fig 1, 2) of claim 14, wherein the first row touch electrode and the second row touch electrode are separated from the first region by at least a portion of the first column touch electrode and at least a portion of the second column touch electrode. (Fig 3-5) discloses the row touch electrodes are separated from the first region by column touch electrodes. (i.e. plurality of touch column electrodes 100)
As in claim 16, Li et al discloses the electronic device (Fig 1, 2) of claim 14, wherein the first row touch electrode includes a first plurality of row touch electrode segments and the second row touch electrode includes a second plurality of row touch electrode segments, [Wang et al (Fig 3) discloses first plurality of row touch electrode segments (i.e. sub-electrode) and second plurality of row touch electrode segments (i.e. sub-electrode)], wherein the first plurality of row touch electrode segments are routed from the third side of the first region to the fourth side of the first region and the second plurality of row touch electrode segments are routed from the third side of the first region to the fourth side of the first region. (Fig 3) discloses row touch electrode segments (i.e. sub-electrode) routed from the third side (i.e. left side) of the first region to the fourth side (i.e. right side) of the first region.
As in claim 19, Li et al discloses the electronic device (Fig 1, 2) of claim 12, wherein in the second region: a portion of the first row touch electrode vertically extends a first threshold distance beyond a horizontal boundary of the first row touch electrode defined in a third region that circumscribes the second region. Wang et al (Fig 3, 5) discloses in the second region (i.e. around opening peripheral region 14) a portion of the first row touch electrode (200) vertically extends (R2 direction) a first threshold distance beyond a horizontal boundary of the first row touch electrode (i.e. beyond the height of sub-electrode 210) defined in a third region (i.e. functional region 11) that circumscribes the second region (12).
Claim(s) 2-6 and 9 and 12-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (PG Pub NO 2020/0110298) in view of Wang et al (PG Pub NO 2023/0049317) in further view of Jeong et al (PG Pub NO 2020/0381486).
As in claim 7, Li et al in view of Wang et al discloses the touch sensor panel (Fig 1,2 and Abstract) of claim 2, further comprising: a fourth region corresponding to another region of the touch sensor panel without touch electrodes; and a fifth region corresponding to a region of the touch sensor panel with the first conductive material in the first conductive layer, the fifth region circumscribing the fourth region; wherein: the first row touch electrode including the first conductive material in the fifth region, the first row touch electrode routed using the first conductive material in the first conductive layer from a first side of the fourth region to a second side of the fourth region; and the first row touch electrode is at least partially directly adjacent to a perimeter of the fourth region and at least partially separated from the perimeter of the fourth region by a third column touch electrode. (Li et al; Fig 1-2 and Wang et al; Fig 3 and 5) discloses region corresponding to region of the touch sensor panel without touch electrodes; and another region corresponding to a region of the touch sensor panel with the first conductive material in the first conductive layer, the other region circumscribing the open region; (Wang et al; Fig 3 and 5) discloses first row touch electrode (200) wherein the first row touch electrode (200) routed using the first conductive material in the first conductive layer from left side to right side of touch region. Thus prior art Wang et al discloses how first row touch electrode (200) is disposed on touch sensor panel and around an opening on said panel in row direction. But fails to disclose second opening disposed on touch sensor panel and position of row electrode as claimed. However Jeong et al (Fig 20) discloses said row electrode (420) disposed around second opening (OA2) as claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious and well-known to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify the teaching of Li et al in view of Wang et al touch screen with the teaching of Jeong et al touch screen having secondary opening (OA2) which would provide fourth region corresponding to another region of the touch sensor panel without touch electrodes; and a fifth region circumscribing the fourth region wherein touch electrodes would be positioned around the opening (i.e. fourth region) similar to Wang et al to yield same predictable result (i.e. allow second sensor be disposed without interference from sensing electrode).
As in claim 8, Li et al in view of Wang et al in further view of Jeong et al discloses the touch sensor panel (Fig 1,2 and Abstract) of claim 7, the plurality of touch electrode further including: a second row touch electrode including the first conductive material in the fifth region; wherein: the second row touch electrode is routed using the first conductive material in the first conductive layer from the first side of the fourth region to the second side of the fourth region; and the second row touch electrode is at least partially directly adjacent to a perimeter of the fourth region and at least partially separated from the perimeter of the fourth region by the third column touch electrode. Jeong et al (Fig 20) discloses plurality of touch electrode (420) further including: a second row touch electrode including the first conductive material in the fifth region; wherein: the second row touch electrode is routed using the first conductive material in the first conductive layer from the first side of the fourth region (left/right side of OA2) to the second side of the fourth region (right/left side of OA2); and the second row touch electrode (420) is at least partially directly adjacent to a perimeter of the fourth region and at least partially separated from the perimeter of the fourth region by the third column touch electrode (410).
As in claim 17 and claim 18 are reject similarly as claims 7 and 8 rejection respectively.
Conclusion
/BENYAM KETEMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626