DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 attempts to claim a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process, which raises an issue of indefiniteness. See MPEP 2173.05(q).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Linde et al. (US 2019/0047684), hereinafter Linde.
In re. claim 14, Linde teaches a method of using a coating comprising magnetically active particles (22) (para [0032]) configured to induce a change in physical properties of the coating when exposed to a magnetic field (40’, 40”) (figs. 2a-2b) in structural integrity monitoring in an aircraft fuselage or fuselage section (para [0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linde in view of Retz et al. (US 2013/0005208), hereinafter Retz.
In re. claim 1, Linde teaches an outer skin of an aircraft fuselage or aircraft fuselage section (34) (fig. 4) (para [0039]); and a coating (28) (fig. 1b) consisting of or comprising magnetically active particles (22) (para [0032]) configured to induce a change in physical properties of the coating when exposed to a magnetic field (para [0036]).
Linde fails to disclose the section is formed from a carbon fiber reinforced plastics in a layered configuration, comprising: at least two layers having electrically conductive carbon fibers, placed with alternating fiber orientations within the layers and embedded in a polymer matrix material.
Retz teaches the skin section (body skin) (para [0025]) is formed from a carbon fiber reinforced plastics in a layered configuration (carbon fibers impregnated in resin) (para [0033]), comprising: at least two layers (fig. 1) having electrically conductive carbon fibers (para [0025]), placed with alternating fiber orientations within the layers and embedded in a polymer matrix material (fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Linde to incorporate the teachings of Retz to have the section formed from a carbon fiber reinforced plastics in a layered configuration, comprising: at least two layers having electrically conductive carbon fibers, placed with alternating fiber orientations within the layers and embedded in a polymer matrix material, for the purpose of preventing concentration of electrical current during a lightning event which may otherwise cause localized damage to the area or areas of the structure in which the current is concentrated.
In re. claim 2, Linde as modified by Retz (see Linde) teach the outer skin according to claim 1, wherein the change in physical properties comprises a change in color, texture and/or reflective properties of the coating (the magnetic particles 22 orient themselves locally in such a way that they only reflect a smaller part or a greater part of light. In this way, the riblet film 10 looks locally darker or brighter and there are brightness variations that are characteristic of the respective magnetic situation 40′, 40″ and can be inferred from the outer appearance of the riblet film 10) (para [0036]).
In re. claim 3, Linde as modified by Retz (see Retz) teach the outer skin according to claim 1, wherein each layer comprises unidirectionally orientated fibers and wherein the fiber orientation in the layers alternates in an angular range of between 45° to 90° (fig. 1).
In re. claim 4, Linde as modified by Retz (see Linde) teach the outer skin according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic particles are configured as magnetic nanoparticles consisting of nickel (para [0013]).
In re. claim 5, Linde as modified by Retz (see Retz) teach the outer skin according to claim 1, wherein the fibers comprise an electrically insulating coating (resin) (para [0020]).
In re. claim 6, Linde as modified by Retz (see Retz) teach the outer skin according to claim 1, wherein the fibers are configured for connection with an electric power source (lightning or other electrical discharge to the aircraft) (para [0025]).
In re. claim 7, Linde as modified by Retz (see Linde) teach the outer skin according to claim 1, wherein the coating is configured to react to a magnetic field generated by applying electric current to the fibers with changing the physical properties of the coating, or by changing the color or light reflection of a surface or surface area of the coating (para [0036]).
In re. claim 8, Linde as modified by Retz (see Retz) teach the method for monitoring structural integrity of the outer skin of an aircraft fuselage or fuselage section according to claim 1, comprising: activating an electric power source (lightning or other electrical discharge to the aircraft) (para [0025]) connected to the electrically conductive carbon fibers, in the layers of carbon fiber reinforced plastics (fig. 1); applying an electric current to the fibers (current created) (para [0025]) to generate at least one magnetic field (inherent to current traveling in a conductive element).
Linde as modified by Retz (see Linde) teach inducing a change in physical properties of the magnetically active particles in the coating by a generated magnetic field; monitoring the change of the physical properties of the coating (para [0036]); and identifying regions or sections of the outer skin with altered physical properties in the coating (para [0036]).
In re. claim 9, Linde as modified by Retz (see Retz) teach the method according to claim 8, wherein each layer comprises unidirectionally orientated fibers with a fiber orientation alternating in an angular range of between 45° to 90° (fig. 1), wherein electric current is applied simultaneously to the fibers within each layer (para [0025]).
Linde as modified by Retz (see Linde) teach the wherein monitoring the change of the physical properties of the coating comprises simultaneously or alternatingly monitoring the change in the layers and identifying regions or sections with overlaying changes (para [0036]).
In re. claim 10, Linde as modified by Retz (see Linde) teach the method according to claim 8, wherein the change of physical properties comprises at least one of a change in color, texture, and reflective properties of the coating (para [0036]).
In re. claim 11, Linde as modified by Retz (see Linde) teach the method according to claim 8, wherein the magnetic field (40’, 40”) extends over an entire outer skin or sections thereof (figs. 2a-2b).
In re. claim 12, Linde as modified by Retz (see Linde) teach the method according to claim 8, wherein monitoring the change in physical properties of the coating comprises visual inspection (para [0036]).
In re. claim 14, Linde as modified by Retz (see Linde) teach the method according to claim 8, wherein identifying regions or sections of the outer skin with altered physical properties of the coating comprises an evaluation of structural integrity of the outer skin or sections thereof (presence of irregularities (38)) (para [0037]).
In re. claim 15, Linde as modified by Retz (see Linde) teach an aircraft (50) comprising a fuselage or fuselage section (36) comprising the outer skin according to claim 1 (fig. 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/C.D.H./
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3647
/Christopher D Hutchens/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647