DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,502,327. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of the features of claims 1-3 are found in claims 1-15. See claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,502,327 which comprises four pairs of corner straps and connecting straps extending along the periphery of the mattress. The stretching band of current claim 2 is found in dependent claim 3 of US Patent No. 12,502,327. The claimed angles of the straps of claim 3 are found in dependent claim 7 of US Patent No. 12,502,327.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guy et al. (US PG Pub. No 2020/0015597 – hereinafter Guy).
Regarding Claim 1: Guy discloses a bed stretching system (placement band 100 of Guy) configured to be fitted to a mattress (Fig. 2 of Guy), the bed stretching system comprising:
four pairs of corner straps (straps 102 of Guy) each configured to secure around a respective corner of a mattress when fitted to a mattress (Fig. 2 of Guy); and
connecting straps (see annotated copy of Fig. 1a of Guy) configured to extend along peripheral sides of the mattress (Fig. 1a of Guy) and connect the pairs of corner straps (pair of strips 102 of Guy – paragraph [0025] of Guy) when fitted to the mattress (Fig. 2 of Guy), wherein each pair of corner straps couples to an end of a first connecting strap and an end of a second connecting strap to secure therebetween (Figs. 1a-2 of Guy) and comprises a top corner strap and a bottom corner strap that together define an opening (see annotated copy of Fig. 1b of Guy), and wherein, when fitted to the mattress, the first connecting strap is configured to extend along a first peripheral side of the mattress (Fig. 2 of Guy) and the second connecting strap is configured to extend along a second peripheral side of the mattress that meets the first peripheral side at a corner of the mattress (Fig. 2 of Guy), the top and bottom corner straps are configured to extend from the ends of the first and second connecting straps (see the Examiner’s Note below) over respective top and bottom sides of the mattress between the first and second peripheral sides (Figs. 1-2 of Guy), and the opening is configured to receive the corner of the mattress such that the corner and a least a portion of the top surface and first and second peripheral sides adjacent to the corner extend from the opening (see Fig. 2 of Guy).
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner considers the top and bottom corner straps as extending from the ends of the first and second connecting straps since Guy teaches “ “The fitted skirt, once sewn together along the corner seams, is shaped for fitting closely around the periphery of the mattress, but preferably without tucking beneath the mattress” (Paragraph [0032] of Guy) meaning each horizontal panel includes ends sewn together. The limitation “the top and bottom corner straps as extending from the ends of the first and second connecting straps” is given its broadest reasonable interpretation to mean an end portion. Alternatively, the Examiner notes that forming the side panel of Guy’s fitted skirt out of more than one piece of material sewn together may be considered obvious in view of additional teachings in order to promote different stretching properties.
Regarding Claim 2: Guy discloses the bed stretching system of Claim 1, further comprising a stretching band configured to be detachably couplable to one of the top corner straps or between two or more of the top corner straps (tensioning element 402 of Fig. 4 of Guy which is indirectly coupled to the corner top straps via connection to the band with the complementary hook and loop fasteners).
Regarding Claim 3: Guy discloses the bed stretching system of Claim 1, wherein the top corner strap and bottom corner strap of at least one of the pairs of corner straps connect to the ends of the respective first and second connecting straps at an angle of 40 - 50 degrees (see paragraph [0025] of Guy which discloses “the spacing of the attachment points of strips 102 from the corners is preferably at least about 15 cm, and most preferably between about 10cm and 40 cm in order to ensure secure fastening to the corners of a mattress.”).
Examiner’s Note: Guy is teaching the same distance for attaching each end of the strips 102 meaning an angle of about 45 degrees would be formed.
Conclusion
Note to the Applicant: The Examiner identifies that a difference between the invention of the current application and that of Guy is that when fitted to the mattress, no portion of the bed stretching system overlaps a vertical edge of the corner of the mattress.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent No. 2,284,778 to Treiber is cited for teaching a sheet holder for a bed comprising straps with an opening receiving a corner of a mattress.
US PG Pub. No. 2014/0075672 to Marcik is cited for teaching a mattress sheet with corner straps.
US Patent No. 5,833,292 to Lyons Jr. is cited for teaching mattress carrying straps for surrounding corners of a mattress.
US Patent No. 5,160,306 to Lui is cited for teaching corner stretching straps for a mattress.
US PG Pub. No. 2022/0079357 to Alletto Jr is cited for teaching a bed sheet with corner straps.
US PG Pub. No. 2013/0074270 to Caruso is cited for teaching a mattress stretching system.
US Patent No. 7,883,453 to Cooper is cited for teaching a mattress stretching exercise strap.
US Patent No. 6,834,651 to Murdock et al. is cited for teaching a strap system for a mattress.
US PG Pub. No. 2020/0375542 to Haggis et al. is cited for teaching a strap system for attaching a sensor to a mattress.
US Patent No. 4,611,804 to Addair is cited for teaching a mattress exercise apparatus.
US Patent No. 9,545,164 to Tulloch is cited for teaching a mattress cover with peripheral strap.
US Patent No. 5,479,664 to Hollander is cited for teaching a mattress cover with corner straps.
US Patent No. 8,505,992 to Aresculeratne et al. is cited for teaching a mattress lifting strap.
US Patent No. 6,085,370 to Lobascio is cited for teaching a mattress carrying device which includes straps.
US Patent No. 5,102,178 to Staats is cited for teaching a mattress carrying device.
US Patent No. 0,799,793 to Kinsella is cited for teaching a package holder with straps positioned around corners.
/AMANDA L BAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3673