Detail Office Action
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Status: Please all the replies and correspondence should be addressed to Examiner’s art unit 2629. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted on 11-26-2025 under new application; being continuation of parent Application 18/251,169 04/28/2023 matured to US Patent #1249392 which is a 371 of PCT/GB2021/052854 11/04/2021
which have been placed of record in the file. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. with a specific reference to the prior-filed application in compliance with 37 CFR 1.78(a) is included in the first sentence(s) of the specification following the title or in an application data sheet. Applicant has also included claiming under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121 or 365(c), the relationship (i.e., continuation, divisional, or continuation-in-part or provisional) of the applications.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11-26-2025, 06-04-2026, 07-06-2026, 09-30-2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price Steven et al. (US 20170236244 A1 IDS) hereinafter referenced as Price et al. in view of Nakayama .Kelichi et al. ( US 20120313952 A1) hereinafter referenced as Nakayama et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Price et al. disclosing a data processing system (para. 35), comprising: a plurality of processing units (para. 35), wherein one or more of the processing units are operable in combination with at least one other processing unit of the plurality of processing units (para. 39 such that respective sets of one or more processing units of the plurality of processing units can generate respective data processing outputs paras. 48-49); and, a plurality of functional units configured to perform the same type of processing operation, each functional unit operable in combination with a set of one or more of the processing units when generating a data processing output (para. 32-33, 77). Further, the processing capacity of at least one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is greater than the processing capacity of at least one other functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is implicit as different GPUs can have different processing capacity.
However, Price et al. fails to disclose wherein the processing capacity of at least one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is greater than the processing capacity of at least one other functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation.
However, Nakayama et al. discloses wherein the processing capacity of at least one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is greater than the processing capacity of at least one other functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation (para. 8 disclosing first and second GPU, however, each GPU are a functional module with different processing power or higher and lower capacity).
Price et al. teaches a data processing system, comprising: a plurality of processing units, wherein one or more of the processing units are operable in combination with at least one other processing unit of the plurality of processing units such that respective sets of one or more processing units of the plurality of processing units can generate respective data processing outputs
Price et al. teaches a plurality of functional units configured to perform the same type of processing operation, each functional unit operable in combination with a set of one or more of the processing units when generating a data processing output.
Nakayama et al. teaches the processing capacity of at least one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is greater than the processing capacity of at least one other functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation.
Price et al. does not teach the processing capacity of at least one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is greater than the processing capacity of at least one other functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation.
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
In combination, Price et al.. performs the same function as it does separately of managing process operating, of a plurality of processing units, wherein one or more of the processing units are operable in combination with at least one other processing unit of the plurality of processing units.
Nakayama et al. performs the same function as it does separately o0 managing process operating a plurality of processing units, operating combination as functional unit with different capacity.
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
The results of the combination would have been predictable and resulted in modifying the invention of Price et al. to include the processing capacity of at least one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is greater than the processing capacity of at least one other functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation, as disclosed by Nakayama et al. thereby the saving of power dissipation of information processing apparatuses and/or efficient drawing processing can be realize as Nakayama et al. discusses at para.11.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding Claim 2, Price et al. discloses each functional unit of the plurality of functional units is a fixed-function unit or accelerator (para. 168).
Regarding Claim 3, Price et al. discloses the data processing system is a tile-based graphics processing system (para. 160), and the processing operation comprises generating information indicating primitives to render for respective regions of a render output (please see para. 160 disclosing the graphics processing system is a tile-based (tiling) graphics processing system para 155, disclosing the graphics processing units include a primitive setup stage, a rasterizer and a renderer in the form of a programmable fragment shader, para. 161, discloses graphics processing platform that generates and outputs the rendered fragment data).
Regarding Claim 4, Nakayama et al. a control circuit configured to partition the plurality of processing units into one or more sets of one or more processing units, wherein each set of one or more processing units is operable to generate a data processing output independently of any other set of one or more processing units of the one or more sets of one or more processing units, and such that each set of one or more processing units operates in combination with a functional unit of the plurality of functional units that has a processing capacity for performing the processing operation that is sufficient to match a processing capacity of the set of one or more processing units for generating a data processing output (paras. 9-11, further para. 2, discloses GPU are divide or partitioned into plurality of internal GPU to Share workloads internal GPU Are with different capacity, peer para. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Nakayama et al. discloses the processing capacity of each functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is either a first processing capacity or a second, lower processing capacity (paras. 6-9).
Regarding claim 7, Nakayama et al. discloses each functional unit of the plurality of functional units is included in a respective processing unit of the plurality of processing units; and wherein each processing unit that is operable in combination with at least one other processing unit of the plurality of processing units under the control of the respective processing unit includes a functional unit whose processing capacity for performing the processing operation is based on a combined processing capacity for generating a data processing output of the respective processing unit and of each of the at least one other processing unit of the plurality of processing units that the respective processing unit can operate in combination with (paras. 6-11).
Regarding claim 8, Nakayama et al. discloses a control circuit operable to select a functional unit of the plurality of functional units to operate in combination with a set of one or more processing units when generating a data processing output based on a processing capacity of the set of one or more processing units for generating a data processing output (paras. 6-9).
Regarding claim 9, Nakayama et al. discloses a control circuit configured to partition the plurality of processing units in accordance with a mode of operation of a selected set of plural different modes of operation wherein the processing capacity of each functional unit of the plurality of functional units is selected based on the selected set of plural different modes of operation (paras. 51-54).
Regarding claim 10, Nakayama et al. discloses each processing unit of the plurality of processing units is configured to perform graphics processing operations, and the functional units of the plurality of functional units are all tiling units, or all graphics processing unit task management circuits, (paras. 32-33, 77), or all memory management units (MMUs) (paras. 184, 213).
Regarding Claim 11, Price et al. disclosing a method of operating a data processing system (para. 131) a data processing system (para. 35), comprising: a plurality of processing units (para. 35), wherein one or more of the processing units are operable in combination with at least one other processing unit of the plurality of processing units (para. 39) such that respective sets of one or more processing units of the plurality of processing units can generate respective data processing outputs (paras. 48-49); and, a plurality of functional units configured to perform the same type of processing operation, each functional unit operable in combination with a set of one or more of the processing units when generating a data processing output (para. 32-33, 77); the method comprising: configuring a set of one or more processing units of the plurality of processing units to generate a data processing output (paras. 39, 48-49), and the functional unit performing the processing operation when operating in combination with the set of one or more processing units when generating the data processing output (para. 32-33, 77). Further, the processing capacity of at least one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is greater than the processing capacity of at least one other functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is implicit as different GPUs can have different processing capacity.
However, Price et al. fails to disclose wherein the processing capacity of at least one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is greater than the processing capacity of at least one other functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation.
However, Nakayama et al. discloses wherein the processing capacity of at least one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is greater than the processing capacity of at least one other functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation (para. 8 disclosing first and second GPU, however, each GPU are a functional module with different processing power or higher and lower capacity); configuring a functional unit of the plurality of functional units that has a processing capacity for performing the processing operation that is sufficient to match a processing capacity of the set of one or more processing units for generating a data processing output to operate in combination with the set of one or more processing units when generating the data processing output; and, the functional unit performing the processing operation when operating in combination with the set of one or more processing units when generating the data processing output (paras. 8-11 discloses the first drawing processing block generates a video signal by executing predetermined signal processing on entered image data. The second drawing processing block has a higher drawing processing power than that of the first drawing processing block and generates a video signal by executing predetermined signal processing on entered image data. Then, if the application is an application that requires the drawing processing by the first drawing processing block or the second drawing processing block, one of the first drawing processing block and the second drawing processing block is selected as the drawing processing block in which the application is executed, on the basis of the information about the measured workload in the first drawing processing block and/or the measured workload in the second drawing processing block).
Price et al. teaches a data processing system, comprising: a plurality of processing units, wherein one or more of the processing units are operable in combination with at least one other processing unit of the plurality of processing units such that respective sets of one or more processing units of the plurality of processing units can generate respective data processing outputs
Price et al. teaches a plurality of functional units configured to perform the same type of processing operation, each functional unit operable in combination with a set of one or more of the processing units when generating a data processing output.
Nakayama et al. teaches the processing capacity of at least one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is greater than the processing capacity of at least one other functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation.
Price et al. does not teach the processing capacity of at least one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is greater than the processing capacity of at least one other functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation.
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
In combination, Price et al.. performs the same function as it does separately of managing process operating, of a plurality of processing units, wherein one or more of the processing units are operable in combination with at least one other processing unit of the plurality of processing units.
Nakayama et al. performs the same function as it does separately o0 managing process operating a plurality of processing units, operating combination as functional unit with different capacity.
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
The results of the combination would have been predictable and resulted in modifying the invention of Price et al. to include the processing capacity of at least one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is greater than the processing capacity of at least one other functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation, as disclosed by Nakayama et al. thereby the saving of power dissipation of information processing apparatuses and/or efficient drawing processing can be realize as Nakayama et al. discusses at para.11.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding Claim 12, Price et al. discloses each functional unit of the plurality of functional units is a fixed-function unit or accelerator (para. 168).
Regarding Claim 13, Price et al. discloses the data processing system is a tile-based graphics processing system (para. 160), and the processing operation comprises generating information indicating primitives to render for respective regions of a render output (please see para. 160 disclosing the graphics processing system is a tile-based (tiling) graphics processing system para 155, disclosing the graphics processing units include a primitive setup stage, a rasterizer and a renderer in the form of a programmable fragment shader, para. 161, discloses graphics processing platform that generates and outputs the rendered fragment data).
Regarding claim 15, Nakayama et al. discloses the processing capacity of each functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is either a first processing capacity or a second, lower processing capacity (paras. 6-9).
Regarding claim 16, Nakayama et al. discloses each functional unit of the plurality of functional units is included in a respective processing unit of the plurality of processing units. (paras. 6-11).
Regarding claim 17, Nakayama et al. discloses selecting a functional unit of the plurality of functional units to operate in combination with a set of one or more processing units when generating a data processing output based on a processing capacity of the set of one or more processing units for generating a data processing output; the selected functional unit operating in combination with the set of one or more processing units when generating a data processing output. (paras. 6-11).
Regarding claim 18, Nakayama et al. each processing unit of the plurality of processing units is configured to perform graphics processing operations, and the functional units of the plurality of functional units are all tiling units, or all graphics processing unit task management circuits, (paras. 32-33, 77), or all memory management units (MMUs) (paras. 184, 213).
Regarding Claim 19, Price et al. discloses A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing software code which when executing on a data processor (paras.170, 171).
Regarding Claim 20, Price et al. disclosing a method of providing a data processing system (para. 131) that comprises a plurality of processing units and a plurality of functional units configured to perform the same type of processing operation (paras, 32-33, 35, 77), the method comprising: method comprising providing the plurality of data processing units (para. 35), wherein one or more of the processing units are operable in combination with at least one other processing unit of the plurality of processing units (para. 39) such that respective sets of one or more processing units of the plurality of processing units can generate respective data processing outputs (paras. 48-49); and, a plurality of functional units configured to perform the same type of processing operation, each functional unit operable in combination with a set of one or more of the processing units when generating a data processing output (para. 32-33, 77); the method comprising: configuring a set of one or more processing units of the plurality of processing units to generate a data processing output (paras. 39, 48-49), and the functional unit performing the processing operation when operating in combination with the set of one or more processing units when generating the data processing output (para. 32-33, 77). Further, the processing capacity of at least one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is greater than the processing capacity of at least one other functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is implicit as different GPUs can have different processing capacity.
However, Price et al. fails to disclose wherein the processing capacity of at least one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is greater than the processing capacity of at least one other functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation.
However, Nakayama et al. discloses wherein the processing capacity of at least one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is greater than the processing capacity of at least one other functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation (para. 8 disclosing first and second GPU, however, each GPU are a functional module with different processing power or higher and lower capacity); wherein providing the plurality of functional units comprises selecting the processing capacities of the functional units for performing the processing operation based on the selected set of plural different modes of operation (paras. 8-11 discloses the first drawing processing block generates a video signal by executing predetermined signal processing on entered image data. The second drawing processing block has a higher drawing processing power than that of the first drawing processing block and generates a video signal by executing predetermined signal processing on entered image data. Then, if the application is an application that requires the drawing processing by the first drawing processing block or the second drawing processing block, one of the first drawing processing block and the second drawing processing block is selected as the drawing processing block in which the application is executed, on the basis of the information about the measured workload in the first drawing processing block and/or the measured workload in the second drawing processing block).
Price et al. teaches a data processing system, comprising: a plurality of processing units, wherein one or more of the processing units are operable in combination with at least one other processing unit of the plurality of processing units such that respective sets of one or more processing units of the plurality of processing units can generate respective data processing outputs
Price et al. teaches a plurality of functional units configured to perform the same type of processing operation, each functional unit operable in combination with a set of one or more of the processing units when generating a data processing output.
Nakayama et al. teaches the processing capacity of at least one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is greater than the processing capacity of at least one other functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation.
Price et al. does not teach the processing capacity of at least one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is greater than the processing capacity of at least one other functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation.
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
In combination, Price et al.. performs the same function as it does separately of managing process operating, of a plurality of processing units, wherein one or more of the processing units are operable in combination with at least one other processing unit of the plurality of processing units.
Nakayama et al. performs the same function as it does separately o0 managing process operating a plurality of processing units, operating combination as functional unit with different capacity.
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
The results of the combination would have been predictable and resulted in modifying the invention of Price et al. to include the processing capacity of at least one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is greater than the processing capacity of at least one other functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation, as disclosed by Nakayama et al. thereby the saving of power dissipation of information processing apparatuses and/or efficient drawing processing can be realize as Nakayama et al. discusses at para.11.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-24 of US patent No. 12,516,576 B2, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent. The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: Comparison of claims 1-20 of Instant application to claims 1-24 of US patent No. 12,516,576 B2 patented parent applications.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-19 of US patent No. 12,493,921 B2, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent. The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: Comparison of claims 1-20 of Instant application to claims 1-24 of US patent No. 12,493,921 B2 patented parent applications.
Instant Application Number
19413606
US Patent Number 12,493,921 B2
1. A data processing system, comprising: a plurality of processing units, wherein one or more of the processing units are operable in combination with at least one other processing unit of the plurality of processing units; and a plurality of functional units configured to perform the same type of processing operation, each functional unit operable in combination with a set of one or more of the processing units when generating a data processing output; wherein the processing capacity of at least one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is greater than the processing capacity of at least one other functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation.
1. A data processing system, comprising: a plurality of processing units, wherein one or more of the processing units are operable in combination with at least one other processing unit of the plurality of processing units such that respective sets of one or more processing units of the plurality of processing units can generate respective data processing outputs; and, a plurality of functional units configured to perform the same type of processing operation, each functional unit operable in combination with a set of one or more of the processing units when generating a data processing output; wherein the processing capacity of at least one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation is greater than the processing capacity of at least one other functional unit of the plurality of functional units for performing the processing operation; and wherein the processing capacity of the at least one functional unit for performing the processing operation is sufficient to match a processing capacity of a maximum possible number of the processing units operating in combination to generate a data processing output, and the processing capacity of the at least one other functional unit for performing the processing operation is not sufficient to match the processing capacity of the maximum possible number of the processing units operating in combination to generate a data processing output.
Note the comparison of independent claim 1 of instant application, to patented parent application claim 1 of US patent No. 12,493,921 B2, to avoid 101 statutory double patenting rejections the claims limitation by curtailing the details and language has been changed. However, instant application independent claim limitations are described in independent claims of the parent applications. They both are claiming “Various implementations disclosed herein include devices, systems, and methods that determine a gaze behavior state to identify gaze shifting events, gaze holding events, and loss events of a user based on physiological data. For example, an example process may include obtaining eye data associated with a gaze during a first period of time (e.g., eye position and velocity, interpupillary distance, pupil diameters, etc.). The process may further include obtaining head data associated with the gaze during the first period of time (e.g., head position and velocity). The process may further include determining a first gaze behavior state during the first period of time to identify gaze shifting events, gaze holding events, and loss events (e.g., one or more gaze and head pose characteristics may be determined, aggregated, and used to classify the user's eye movement state using machine learning techniques).”.
Further other Claims 1-20 of instant application claims same or similar limitation of claims 1-19 of US patent No. 12,493,921 B2.
1, 4-11 and 14-20 of instant application maps to Claims1-19 of US patent No. 12,493,921 B2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant is requested review cited prior art cited on USPTO 892.
Prior art of Koduri Rajabali M et al. (US 20070257935 A1) disclosure; paras. 29-96, discloses, performing multisampling-based antialiasing in a system that includes a first GPU and a second GPU. The method includes rendering a first version of a frame in the first GPU using a first multisampling pattern and rendering a second version of the frame in the second GPU using a second multisampling pattern. Edge pixels are then identified in the second version of the frame. Pixels in the first version of the frame are then combined with only those pixels in the second version of the frame that have been identified as edge pixels to generate a combined frame. A first GPU configured to render a first version of a frame using a first multisampling pattern, a second GPU configured to render a second version of the frame using a second multisampling pattern, and a bus connecting the first GPU and the second GPU. The second GPU is further configured to identify edge pixels in the second version of the frame and to transfer only those pixels in the second version of the frame that have been identified as edge pixels over the bus to the first GPU. The first GPU is further configured to combine the pixels in the first version of the frame with the pixels transferred from the second GPU to generate a combined frame. A method in identifying edge pixels in a rendered image that consists of a plurality of tiles, each of the plurality of tiles consisting of a plurality of pixels. The method includes accessing data to determine whether a selected tile in the plurality of tiles is fully compressed, identifying the selected tile as including only non-edge pixels responsive to a determination that the selected tile is fully compressed, and identifying the selected tile as including one or more edge pixels responsive to a determination that the selected tile is not fully compressed. A method in accordance with a particular performing multisampling-based antialiasing in a system that includes a first GPU and a second GPU. The method includes rendering a first version of a frame in the first GPU using a first multisampling pattern and rendering edge pixels associated with a second version of a frame in the second GPU using a second multisampling pattern. The edge pixels are then transferred from the second GPU to the first GPU. The edge pixels transferred from the second GPU are then combined with pixels in the first version of the frame to generate a combined frame.
The prior art of Vaidyanathan Karthik et al. (US 20170243395 A1) disclosure; paras. 16-65, disclosing, a given frame or picture may have different shading rates. In one embodiment in some areas of the frame or picture the shading rate may be less than once per pixel and in other places it may be once per pixel. Examples where the shading rate may be reduced include areas where there is motion and camera defocus, areas of peripheral blur, and in general, any case where the visibility is reduced anyway. The shading rate may be changed in a region, such as a shading quad, by changing the size of the region. A screen-quad is a group of 2×2 screen pixels that is the output of the rasterizer. A shading pixel is a group of A×B screen pixels. A shading quad is a group of 2×2 shading pixels. With decoupled pixel shading, the concept of MSAA is generalized in one of a variety of different ways. One way it can be generalized is to compute the shading at a rate lower than once a pixel, for example, once every 1×2 pixels, 2×1 pixels, 2×2 pixels, 4×2 pixels, 2×4 pixels, or 4×4 pixels, to mention some examples. It is also feasible to have a fully continuous distribution with two floating point numbers, A and B, by giving one shading sample per A×B pixels. Another variant is to split the shading into two parts so that one part is done per pixel or per sample and the other part is done at a slower rate and then the results are combined. In modern real time graphics pipelines, pixel/fragment shading is performed at a rate of once per geometric primitive per pixel. However, there are many opportunities for reducing pixel shading rates. Such reductions can result in power consumption savings and in other performance benefits. For example, in cases where motion blur and camera defocus exists, there is an opportunity to have different shading rates in different parts of a frame. When a scene is rendered with motion and camera defocus, regions of the screen may appear blurred, so the pixel shading rate can be lower in those regions since they mostly display low frequency content. In cases of peripheral blur, shading rates can be lowered at the periphery of the screen where high frequency details are harder to perceive by the user, at least assuming the user is focusing attention at the center of the screen. Also, in higher density displays, the shading rate can be lowered without significant loss of detail. While the shading rate can be flexibly lowered, visibility is also sampled at the full rate to preserve sharp features like edges, The visibility sample rate may be reduced as well, with the possibility of an adverse effect on aliasing at object edges.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria VA 22313-1450
/Prabodh M Dharia/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2629
10-21-2026