DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 includes a limitation “a plurality of reference voltage lines, wherein each of the plurality of reference voltage lines is disposed between two sub-pixels of the plurality of sub-pixels” it is not explicitly clear which two sub-pixels are being referred to, sub-pixels of first pixel or sub-pixels od the second pixel. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-19 are rejected for being directly or indirectly dependent on rejected claim 1.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 8 includes limitation “wherein for each sub-pixel of the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel of the first pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on one of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel, and wherein the driving circuit of the second sub-pixel of the first pixel is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the second sub-pixel of the first pixel”; the limitation renders the claim indefinite because the second part “wherein the driving circuit of the second sub-pixel of the first pixel is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the second sub-pixel of the first pixel” contradicts with the first part “wherein for each sub-pixel of the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel of the first pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on one of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9 recites the limitation " the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel " in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 12 recites the limitation " wherein for each sub-pixel of the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel of the first pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the sub-pixel," in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 18 recites the limitation " wherein for each sub-pixel of the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel of the second pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on one of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel, wherein for each sub-pixel of the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel of the second pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel" in lines 12-17. The claim is indefinite because the claim limitation contradicts itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHOI et al (US Pub 2022/0208124).
With respect to claim 22, CHOI discloses a display panel, (fig. 1; display panel 110) including: a first reference voltage line for supplying a reference voltage to at least one sub-pixel of a first pixel, (fig. 2; discloses a first reference voltage line B-VL for supplying a voltage to at least one sub-pixel of first pixel) a second reference voltage line for supplying a reference voltage to at least one sub-pixel of a second pixel disposed at a position adjacent to the first pixel, (fig. 2; discloses a second reference voltage line B-VL for supplying a voltage to at least one sub-pixel of second pixel) and a third reference voltage line disposed between the first pixel and the second pixel (fig. 2; discloses a third reference voltage line B-VL disposed between the first pixel and second pixel; par 0070; discloses three sub-pixels SP1, SP2, and SP3 sequentially arranged in one direction (left and right direction) may constitute one pixel P; see annotated fig. 1 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al (US Pub 2023/0169921) in view of Jang et al (US Pub 2008/0252624).
With respect to claim 1, KIM discloses a display panel (fig. 1; discloses display panel 110) comprising: a plurality of sub-pixels (fig. 5; discloses the display panel comprising plurality of sub-pixels in plurality of rows); a plurality of data lines disposed so that each of the plurality of data lines applies a data voltage (fig. 8; discloses plurality of data lines DL formed in the display panel; par 0049; discloses the data driver circuit 120 may output data signals (also referred to as data voltages) corresponding to image signals to the plurality of data lines DL); and a plurality of reference voltage lines, wherein each of the plurality of reference voltage lines is disposed between two sub-pixels of the plurality of sub-pixels and applies a reference voltage to the two sub-pixels, (fig. 8; RVL; par 0064; discloses the display panel includes plurality of reference voltage lines RVL disposed between the subpixels; par 0063; discloses reference voltage Vref is applied to the reference lines RVL) wherein the plurality of sub-pixels includes a first line-sub-pixel and a second line-sub-pixel adjacent to each other in the row direction, (fig. 5; discloses the plurality of sub-pixels include a first line-sub-pixel and a second line-sub-pixel adjacent to each other in the row direction) and wherein for each pixel of the first pixel and the second pixel, the first line-sub-pixel and the second line-sub-pixel of each of the first pixel and the second pixel have structures flipped in a column direction relative to each other (par 0094; discloses Referring to FIG. 5, the structure of first subpixels SP1 in a first subpixel row ROW #1 and the structure of second subpixels SP2 in a second subpixel row ROW #2 may be inverted with respect to each other (i.e., a flip shape). Here, the structure of each of the first subpixels SP1 may include, for example, positions and/or shapes of devices (e.g., DRT, SCT, SENT, and Cst) in the pixel driver circuit SPC in each of the first subpixels SP1. The structure of each of the second subpixels SP2 may include, for example, positions and/or shapes of devices (e.g., DRT, SCT, SENT, and Cst) in the pixel driver circuit SPC in each of the second subpixels SP2).
KIM doesn’t expressly disclose a first pixel including a plurality of sub-pixels; a second pixel disposed adjacent to the first pixel in a row direction and including a plurality of sub-pixels; a plurality of data lines disposed so that each of the plurality of data lines applies a data voltage to sub-pixels configured to emit light of a same color being disposed in the first pixel and the second pixel, respectively;
In the same field of endeavor, Jang discloses a display device comprising plurality of subpixels (see abstract); Jang discloses the display panel includes a first pixel including a plurality of sub-pixels (fig. 2; discloses a first pixel comprising plurality of sub-pixels R11, G11, B11; par 0071; discloses Adjacent pixel cells of the three colors (R, G and B), among a plurality of pixel cells formed on one horizontal line, constitute one unit pixel); a second pixel disposed adjacent to the first pixel in a row direction and including a plurality of sub-pixels (fig. 2; discloses a second pixel adjacent to first pixel and comprising plurality of subpixels R12, RG12, B12; par 0071; discloses Adjacent pixel cells of the three colors (R, G and B), among a plurality of pixel cells formed on one horizontal line, constitute one unit pixel); a plurality of data lines disposed so that each of the plurality of data lines applies a data voltage to sub-pixels configured to emit light of a same color being disposed in the first pixel and the second pixel, respectively (fig. 2; discloses plurality of data line DL where each data lines is connected to sub-pixels configured to emit light of a same color being disposed in the first pixel and the second pixel, respectively; par 0072; discloses In a pair of adjacent unit pixels on one horizontal line, pixel cells expressing the same colors, among pixel cells of the three colors (R, G and B) constituting the respective unit pixels, are connected in common to the same data lines DL.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KIM to incorporate the teachings of Jang to form the pixels using subpixels of different color i.e. RGB where same color sub-pixel of different pixels are connected to the same data lines in order to reduce the number of data lines being output form the data driver, hence reducing cost of the data driver.
With respect to claim 4, KIM as modified by Jang discloses wherein one of the plurality of data lines is divided into a first sub-data line for applying a data voltage to the first line-sub-pixel of the first pixel and a second sub-data line for applying a data voltage to a sub-pixel of the second pixel, and wherein the first line-sub-pixel of the first pixel and the sub-pixel of the second pixel are configured to emit light of a same color (Jang; fig. 2; discloses each data lines DL is divided in two a first part that connected to the sub-pixel line of the first pixel i.e R11 and a second part that connects to the sub-pixel of the second pixel R12; par 0181; discloses in a pair of adjacent unit pixels, pixel cells of the same colors connected to different gate lines GL, among pixel cells of the three colors (R, G and B) constituting the respective unit pixels, are connected in common to the same data lines DL. ).
With respect to claim 20, KIM discloses a display panel (fig. 1; discloses display panel 110) comprising: a plurality of sub-pixels (fig. 5; discloses the display panel comprising plurality of sub-pixels in plurality of rows); a plurality of data lines disposed so that each of the plurality of data lines applies a data voltage the plurality of sub-pixels (fig. 8; discloses plurality of data lines DL formed in the display panel; par 0049; discloses the data driver circuit 120 may output data signals (also referred to as data voltages) corresponding to image signals to the plurality of data lines DL); and a plurality of reference voltage lines, wherein each of the plurality of reference voltage lines is disposed between two sub-pixels of the plurality of sub-pixels in the firs pixel and the plurality of sub-pixels in the second pixel and applies a reference voltage to the two sub-pixels, (fig. 8; RVL; par 0064; discloses the display panel includes plurality of reference voltage lines RVL disposed between the subpixels; par 0063; discloses reference voltage Vref is applied to the reference lines RVL) wherein the plurality of sub-pixels includes a first line-sub-pixel and a second line-sub-pixel adjacent to each other in the row direction, (fig. 5; discloses the plurality of sub-pixels include a first line-sub-pixel and a second line-sub-pixel adjacent to each other in the row direction) and wherein for each pixel of the first pixel and the second pixel, the first line-sub-pixel and the second line-sub-pixel of each of the first pixel and the second pixel have structures flipped in a column direction relative to each other (par 0094; discloses Referring to FIG. 5, the structure of first subpixels SP1 in a first subpixel row ROW #1 and the structure of second subpixels SP2 in a second subpixel row ROW #2 may be inverted with respect to each other (i.e., a flip shape). Here, the structure of each of the first subpixels SP1 may include, for example, positions and/or shapes of devices (e.g., DRT, SCT, SENT, and Cst) in the pixel driver circuit SPC in each of the first subpixels SP1. The structure of each of the second subpixels SP2 may include, for example, positions and/or shapes of devices (e.g., DRT, SCT, SENT, and Cst) in the pixel driver circuit SPC in each of the second subpixels SP2).
KIM doesn’t expressly disclose a first pixel including a plurality of sub-pixels; a second pixel disposed adjacent to the first pixel in a row direction and including a plurality of sub-pixels; a plurality of data lines disposed such that each of the plurality of data lines applies a data voltage to a sub-pixel in the first pixel and a sub-pixel in the second pixel emitting light of the same color as the sub-pixel in the first pixel;
In the same field of endeavor, Jang discloses a display device comprising plurality of subpixels (see abstract); Jang discloses the display panel includes a first pixel including a plurality of sub-pixels (fig. 2; discloses a first pixel comprising plurality of sub-pixels R11, G11, B11; par 0071; discloses Adjacent pixel cells of the three colors (R, G and B), among a plurality of pixel cells formed on one horizontal line, constitute one unit pixel); a second pixel disposed adjacent to the first pixel in a row direction and including a plurality of sub-pixels (fig. 2; discloses a second pixel adjacent to first pixel and comprising plurality of subpixels R12, RG12, B12; par 0071; discloses Adjacent pixel cells of the three colors (R, G and B), among a plurality of pixel cells formed on one horizontal line, constitute one unit pixel); a plurality of data lines disposed such that each of the plurality of data lines applies a data voltage to a sub-pixel in the first pixel and a sub-pixel in the second pixel emitting light of the same color as the sub-pixel in the first pixel; (fig. 2; discloses plurality of data line DL where each data lines is connected to sub-pixels configured to emit light of a same color being disposed in the first pixel and the second pixel, respectively; par 0072; discloses In a pair of adjacent unit pixels on one horizontal line, pixel cells expressing the same colors, among pixel cells of the three colors (R, G and B) constituting the respective unit pixels, are connected in common to the same data lines DL.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KIM to incorporate the teachings of Jang to form the pixels using subpixels of different color i.e. RGB where same color sub-pixel of different pixels are connected to the same data lines in order to reduce the number of data lines being output form the data driver, hence reducing cost of the data driver.
With respect to claim 21, KIM as modified by Jang discloses wherein the sub-pixels of the first pixel and the sub-pixels of the second pixel have structures flipped in a column direction relative to each other (KIM; fig. 5; discloses the plurality of sub-pixels in the display panel have flipped structure in the column direction).
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al (US Pub 2023/0169921) in view of Jang et al (US Pub 2008/0252624) and KIM et al (US Pub 2015/0062192) referred to as KIM192.
With respect to claim 2, KIM as modified by Jang discloses wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes three sub-pixels (Jang; fig. 2; discloses each pixel comprising three sub-pixels, i.e. R, G, B);
KIM as modified by Jang don’t expressly disclose each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes four sub-pixels;
In the same field of endeavor, KIM192 discloses a display device and driving method (see abstract); KIM192 discloses each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes four sub-pixels (par 0062; discloses that is, the timing controller 120 converts red, green, and blue data RGB (which are input from the outside) into four-color data RGBW of red, green, blue, and white so as to correspond to a pixel arrangement structure of the display panel 110.);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KIM as modified by Jang to form pixel using four sub-pixels of different colors as disclosed by KIM192 in order to improve the contrast ratio of the display device.
With respect to claim 3, KIM as modified by Jang disclose wherein when each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes three sub-pixels, (Jang; fig. 2; discloses each pixel comprising three sub-pixels, i.e. R, G, B);
KIM as modified by Jang discloses the display panel includes the plurality of reference voltage lines (KIM; par 0064; discloses display panel includes a plurality of reference voltage lines RVL) ;
KIM as modified by Jang don’t expressly disclose the plurality of reference voltage lines include three reference voltage lines disposed in a corresponding manner to a combination of the first pixel and the second pixel, or wherein when each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes four sub-pixels, the plurality of reference voltage lines includes four reference voltage lines disposed in a corresponding manner to a combination of the first pixel and the second pixel;
In the same field of endeavor, KIM192 discloses a display device and driving method (see abstract); KIM192 discloses the plurality of reference voltage lines include three reference voltage lines disposed in a corresponding manner to a combination of the first pixel and the second pixel, (fig. 9; discloses a reference voltage line is disposed between two adjacent sub-pixels in row direction) or each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes four sub-pixels (par 0062; discloses that is, the timing controller 120 converts red, green, and blue data RGB (which are input from the outside) into four-color data RGBW of red, green, blue, and white so as to correspond to a pixel arrangement structure of the display panel 110.); the plurality of reference voltage lines include four reference voltage lines disposed in a corresponding manner to a combination of the first pixel and the second pixel (fig. 9; discloses the plurality of reference lines include four reference lines disposed between the sub-pixels of the first pixel and second pixel in a row);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KIM as modified by Jang to form pixel using four sub-pixels of different colors as disclosed by KIM192 in order to improve the contrast ratio of the display device.
With respect to claim 5, KIM as modified by Jang and KIM192 discloses wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes the three sub-pixels including a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel and a third sub-pixel sequentially arranged in the row direction, (Jang; fig. 2; discloses each pixel includes three sub-pixels, i.e. R, G, B arranged in the row direction) wherein the three reference voltage lines include a first reference voltage line, a second reference voltage line and a third reference voltage line arranged in the row direction, (KIM192; fig. 9; discloses reference volage lines include a first reference lines R1, second reference line R4, third reference line R2) wherein the first reference voltage line is disposed between the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel of the first pixel so as to supply a reference voltage to each of the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel of the first pixel, (fig. 9; discloses first reference line R1 is disposed between the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel of the first pixel);
KIM as modified by Jang and KIM192 don’t expressly disclose wherein the second reference voltage line is disposed between the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel of the second pixel so as to supply a reference voltage to each of the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel of the second pixel, and wherein the third reference voltage line is disposed between the third sub-pixel of the first pixel and the first sub-pixel of the second pixel so as to supply a reference voltage to each of the third sub-pixel of the first pixel and the first sub-pixel of the second pixel;
However, KIM192 discloses a reference voltage line is disposed between adjacent sub-pixels arranged in the row direction (fig. 9; discloses reference voltage line R1 is disposed between subpixels R and G, reference voltage line R2 is disposed between subpixels B and W, reference voltage line R3 is disposed between subpixels R and G);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KIM as modified by Jang and KIM192 to dispose a reference voltage lines between adjacent sub-pixels arranged in the row direction as disclosed by KIM192 in order to supply reference voltage to the sub-pixels that are adjacent sub-pixels using a single refence voltage line disposed between them.
With respect to claim 6, KIM as modified by Jang and KIM192 discloses wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes the four sub-pixels including a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel, a third sub-pixel and a fourth sub-pixel sequentially arranged in the row direction, (KIM192; fig. 9; discloses each of the first pixel and second pixel in the row direction includes a first sub-pixel R, second sub-pixel G, third sub-pixel B and fourth sub-pixel W) wherein the four reference voltage lines include a first reference voltage line, a second reference voltage line, a third reference voltage line and a fourth reference voltage line arranged in the row direction, (KIM192; fig. 9; discloses the four reference voltage lines includes a first reference voltage line R1, a second reference voltage line R2, a third reference voltage line R3, and a fourth reference voltage line R4) wherein the first reference voltage line is disposed between the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel of the first pixel so as to supply a reference voltage to each of the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel of the first pixel, (KIM192; fig. 9; discloses the first reference voltage line R1 is disposed between the first sub-pixel and second sub-pixel of the first pixel) wherein the second reference voltage line is disposed between the third sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel of the first pixel so as to supply a reference voltage to each of the third sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel of the first pixel, (KIM192; fig. 9; discloses the second reference voltage line R2 is disposed between the third sub-pixel and fourth sub-pixel of the first pixel) wherein the third reference voltage line is disposed between the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel of the second pixel so as to supply a reference voltage to each of the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel of the second pixel, (KIM192; fig. 9; discloses the third reference voltage line R3 is disposed between the first sub-pixel and second sub-pixel of the second pixel ) and wherein the fourth reference voltage line is disposed between the third sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel of the second pixel so as to supply a reference voltage to each of the third sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel of the second pixel (KIM192; fig. 9; discloses the fourth reference voltage line R4 is disposed between the third sub-pixel and fourth sub-pixel of the second pixel).
Claim(s) 7-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al (US Pub 2023/0169921) in view of Jang et al (US Pub 2008/0252624) and LEE et al (US Pub 2015/0194116).
With respect to claim 7, KIM as modified by Jang discloses wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels of each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes a light-emitting area and a driving circuit, (KIM; fig. 2; discloses each sub-pixel includes a light emitting element ED and pixel driving circuit SPC);
KIM as modified by Jang don’t expressly disclose wherein the driving circuit of the first line-sub-pixel of each of the first pixel and the second pixels is disposed on one of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the first line-sub-pixel, and wherein the driving circuit of the second line-sub-pixel of each of the first pixel and the second pixel is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the second line-sub-pixel;
In the same field of endeavor, LEE discloses a display device and control method (see abstract); LEE discloses wherein the driving circuit of the first line-sub-pixel of each of the first pixel and the second pixels is disposed on one of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the first line-sub-pixel, (fig. 1; discloses the driving circuit of the red sub-pixel in first pixel and second pixel is disposed on one side of opposite sides in the column direction of the red sub-pixel) and wherein the driving circuit of the second line-sub-pixel of each of the first pixel and the second pixel is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the second line-sub-pixel (fig. 1; discloses the driving circuit of the green sub-pixel in first pixel and second pixel is disposed on the other side of opposite sides in the column direction of the red sub-pixel);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KIM as modified by Jang to incorporate the teachings of LEE to dispose the driving circuit on opposite sides of the light emitting element such that the processes of manufacturing the reverse-direction display panel and the processes of manufacturing the forward-direction display panel may be simplified, and cost of manufacturing the reverse-direction display panel and the forward-direction display panel may be decreased.
With respect to claim 8, KIM as modified by Jang discloses wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel and a third sub-pixel sequentially arranged in the row direction, (Jang; fig. 2; discloses each pixel includes three sub-pixels, i.e. R, G, B arranged in the row direction) wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels of each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes a light-emitting area and a driving circuit, (KIM; fig. 2; discloses each sub-pixel includes a light emitting element ED and pixel driving circuit SPC);
KIM as modified by Jang don’t expressly disclose wherein for each sub-pixel of the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel of the first pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on one of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel, and wherein the driving circuit of the second sub-pixel of the first pixel is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the second sub-pixel of the first pixel;
In the same field of endeavor, LEE discloses a display device and control method (see abstract); LEE discloses wherein for each sub-pixel of the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel of the first pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on one of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel, and wherein the driving circuit of the second sub-pixel of the first pixel is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the second sub-pixel of the first pixel (fig. 1; discloses for each RED sub-pixels, the driving circuit is disposed on one of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel, where for each green sub-pixel, the driving circuit is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KIM as modified by Jang to incorporate the teachings of LEE to dispose the driving circuit on opposite sides of the light emitting element such that the processes of manufacturing the reverse-direction display panel and the processes of manufacturing the forward-direction display panel may be simplified, and cost of manufacturing the reverse-direction display panel and the forward-direction display panel may be decreased.
With respect to claim 9, KIM as modified by Jang discloses wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes three sub-pixels including a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel and a third sub-pixel sequentially arranged in the row direction, (Jang; fig. 2; discloses each pixel includes three sub-pixels, i.e. R, G, B arranged in the row direction) wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels of each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes a light-emitting area and a driving circuit, (KIM; fig. 2; discloses each sub-pixel includes a light emitting element ED and pixel driving circuit SPC);
KIM as modified by Jang don’t expressly disclose wherein for each sub-pixel of the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel of the second pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel, and wherein the driving circuit of the second sub-pixel of the second pixel is disposed on one of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the second sub-pixel of the second pixel;
In the same field of endeavor, LEE discloses a display device and control method (see abstract); LEE discloses wherein for each sub-pixel of the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel of the second pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel, (fig. 1; discloses the driving circuit for pixels R sub-pixel and B sub-pixel is disposed on one side of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel) and wherein the driving circuit of the second sub-pixel of the second pixel is disposed on one of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the second sub-pixel of the second pixel (fig. 1; discloses the driving circuit for pixels G sub-pixel is disposed on the second side of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KIM as modified by Jang to incorporate the teachings of LEE to dispose the driving circuit on opposite sides of the light emitting element such that the processes of manufacturing the reverse-direction display panel and the processes of manufacturing the forward-direction display panel may be simplified, and cost of manufacturing the reverse-direction display panel and the forward-direction display panel may be decreased.
With respect to claim 10, KIM as modified by Jang discloses wherein the display panel further comprises a plurality of gate lines configured to supply a gate signal to the first pixel and the second pixel, (KIM; fig 1; gate driver 130; par 0046; discloses the display panel 110 may include a plurality of signal lines disposed on or over the substrate SUB to drive the plurality of subpixels SP. For example, the plurality of signal lines may include data lines DL, gate lines GL; par 0049; discloses the gate driver circuit 130 may generate gate signals and output the gate signals to the plurality of gate lines GL; see par 0059 as well); wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes three sub-pixels including a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel and a third sub-pixel sequentially arranged in the row direction, (Jang; fig. 2; discloses each pixel includes three sub-pixels, i.e. R, G, B arranged in the row direction) wherein the plurality of gate lines include a first gate line and a second gate line arranged in the column direction and extending in the row direction, (fig. 1; discloses plurality of gate lines GL extending in the row direction from the gate driver 130);
KIM as modified by Jang don’t expressly disclose wherein the gate signal is applied to a driving circuit of each of the first sub-pixel of the first pixel, the third sub-pixel of the first pixel, and the second sub-pixel of the second pixel via the first gate line so that each of the first sub-pixel of the first pixel, the third sub-pixel of the first pixel, and the second sub-pixel of the second pixel operates;
In the same field of endeavor, LEE discloses a display device and control method (see abstract); LEE discloses wherein the gate signal is applied to a driving circuit of each of the first sub-pixel of the first pixel, the third sub-pixel of the first pixel, and the second sub-pixel of the second pixel via the first gate line so that each of the first sub-pixel of the first pixel, the third sub-pixel of the first pixel, and the second sub-pixel of the second pixel operates (fig. 1; discloses one of the gate lines GL2 is connected to subpixels G and B of the first pixel and a sub-pixel G of the second pixel to provide scan signals);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KIM as modified by Jang to incorporate the teachings of LEE to connect different sub-pixels, connected to same data line, to different gate lines such that data signal are accurately supplied to the corresponding sub-pixels.
With respect to claim 11, KIM as modified by Jang and LEE further discloses wherein the gate signal is applied to a driving circuit of each of the second sub-pixel of the first pixel, the first sub-pixel of the second pixel, and the third sub-pixel of the second pixel via the second gate line so that each of the second sub-pixel of the first pixel, the first sub-pixel of the second pixel, and the third sub-pixel of the second pixel operates (LEE; fig. 1; discloses the gate lines GL1 is connected to subpixels R of the first pixel and a sub-pixel R and B of the second pixel to provide scan signals).
With respect to claim 12, KIM as modified by Jang discloses wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes three sub-pixels including a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel and a third sub-pixel sequentially arranged in the row direction, (Jang; fig. 2; discloses each pixel includes three sub-pixels, i.e. R, G, B arranged in the row direction) wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels of each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes a light-emitting area and a driving circuit, (KIM; fig. 2; discloses each sub-pixel includes a light emitting element ED and pixel driving circuit SPC);
KIM as modified by Jang don’t expressly disclose wherein for each sub-pixel of the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel of the first pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the sub-pixel, and wherein the driving circuit of the second sub-pixel of the first pixel is disposed on one of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the second sub-pixel of the first pixel;
In the same field of endeavor, LEE discloses a display device and control method (see abstract); LEE discloses wherein for each sub-pixel of the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel of the first pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the sub-pixel, and wherein the driving circuit of the second sub-pixel of the first pixel is disposed on one of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the second sub-pixel of the first pixel (fig. 1; discloses the driving circuit for G and B sub-pixels of the first pixel are disposed on one side in the column direction of the light emitting element where the driving sub-pixel of the R sub-pixels is disposed on the other side in the column direction);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KIM as modified by Jang to incorporate the teachings of LEE to dispose the driving circuit on opposite sides of the light emitting element such that the processes of manufacturing the reverse-direction display panel and the processes of manufacturing the forward-direction display panel may be simplified, and cost of manufacturing the reverse-direction display panel and the forward-direction display panel may be decreased.
With respect to claim 13, KIM as modified by Jang discloses wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes three sub-pixels including a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel and a third sub-pixel sequentially arranged in the row direction, (Jang; fig. 2; discloses each pixel includes three sub-pixels, i.e. R, G, B arranged in the row direction) wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels of each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes a light-emitting area and a driving circuit, (KIM; fig. 2; discloses each sub-pixel includes a light emitting element ED and pixel driving circuit SPC);
KIM as modified by Jang don’t expressly disclose wherein for each sub-pixel of the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel of the second pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on one of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel, and wherein the driving circuit of the second sub-pixel of the second pixel is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the second sub-pixel of the second pixel;
In the same field of endeavor, LEE discloses a display device and control method (see abstract); LEE discloses wherein for each sub-pixel of the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel of the second pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on one of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel, and wherein the driving circuit of the second sub-pixel of the second pixel is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the second sub-pixel of the second pixel (fig. 1; discloses the driving circuit for R and B sub-pixels of the second pixel are disposed on one side in the column direction of the light emitting element where the driving sub-pixel of the G sub-pixels is disposed on the other side in the column direction);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KIM as modified by Jang to incorporate the teachings of LEE to dispose the driving circuit on opposite sides of the light emitting element such that the processes of manufacturing the reverse-direction display panel and the processes of manufacturing the forward-direction display panel may be simplified, and cost of manufacturing the reverse-direction display panel and the forward-direction display panel may be decreased.
With respect to claim 14, KIM as modified by Jang discloses wherein the display panel further comprises a plurality of gate lines configured to supply a gate signal to the first pixel and the second pixel, (KIM; fig 1; gate driver 130; par 0046; discloses the display panel 110 may include a plurality of signal lines disposed on or over the substrate SUB to drive the plurality of subpixels SP. For example, the plurality of signal lines may include data lines DL, gate lines GL; par 0049; discloses the gate driver circuit 130 may generate gate signals and output the gate signals to the plurality of gate lines GL; see par 0059 as well); wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixels includes three sub-pixels including a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel and a third sub-pixel sequentially arranged in the row direction, (Jang; fig. 2; discloses each pixel includes three sub-pixels, i.e. R, G, B arranged in the row direction) wherein the plurality of gate lines include a first gate line and a second gate line arranged in the column direction and extending in the row direction, , (fig. 1; discloses plurality of gate lines GL extending in the row direction from the gate driver 130);
KIM as modified by Jang don’t expressly disclose wherein the gate signal is applied to a driving circuit of each of the second sub-pixel of the first pixel, the first sub-pixel of the second pixel, and the third sub-pixel of the second pixel via the first gate line so that each of the second sub-pixel of the first pixel, the first sub-pixel of the second pixel, and the third sub-pixel of the second pixel operate;
In the same field of endeavor, LEE discloses a display device and control method (see abstract); LEE discloses wherein the gate signal is applied to a driving circuit of each of the second sub-pixel of the first pixel, the first sub-pixel of the second pixel, and the third sub-pixel of the second pixel via the first gate line so that each of the second sub-pixel of the first pixel, the first sub-pixel of the second pixel, and the third sub-pixel of the second pixel operate (fig. 1; discloses one of the gate lines GL1 is connected to subpixels R and B of the second pixel and a sub-pixel R of the first pixel to provide scan signals);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KIM as modified by Jang to incorporate the teachings of LEE to connect different sub-pixels, connected to same data line, to different gate lines such that data signal are accurately supplied to the corresponding sub-pixels.
With respect to claim 15, KIM as modified by Jang and LEE discloses wherein the gate signal is applied to a driving circuit of each of the first sub-pixel of the first pixel, the third sub-pixel of the first pixel, and the second sub-pixel of the second pixel via the second gate line so that each of the first sub-pixel of the first pixel, the third sub-pixel of the first pixel, and the second sub-pixel of the second pixel operates (LEE; fig. 1; discloses the gate line GL2 is connected to subpixels G and B of the first pixel and a sub-pixel G of the second pixel to provide scan signals such that they selectively turned on).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al (US Pub 2023/0169921) in view of Jang et al (US Pub 2008/0252624) and UENO et al (US Pub 2022/0173200).
With respect to claim 16, KIM as modified by Jang discloses wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes three sub-pixels including a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel and a third sub-pixel sequentially arranged in the row direction, (Jang; fig. 2; discloses each pixel includes three sub-pixels, i.e. R, G, B arranged in the row direction); wherein the display panel further comprises a high potential voltage line configured to apply a high potential voltage to a driving circuit of each of the plurality of sub-pixels of the first pixel and a driving circuit of each of the plurality of sub-pixels of the second pixel (KIM; fig. 2; discloses each sub-pixel in the display panel are connected to high power line EVDD);
KIM as modified by Jang don’t expressly disclose wherein the high potential voltage line is divided into three sub-high potential voltage lines including a first sub-high potential voltage line, a second sub-high potential voltage line and a third sub-high potential voltage line extending in the column direction and arranged in the row direction, wherein the first sub-high potential voltage line is disposed on one side in the row direction of the first sub-pixel of the first pixel, wherein the second sub-high potential voltage line is disposed between the second sub-pixel of the first pixel and the third sub-pixel of the first pixel, and wherein the third sub-high potential voltage line is disposed between the first sub-pixel of the second pixel and the second sub-pixel of the second pixel;
In the same field of endeavor, UENO discloses a display device and driving method (see abstract); UENO discloses wherein the high potential voltage line is divided into three sub-high potential voltage lines including a first sub-high potential voltage line, a second sub-high potential voltage line and a third sub-high potential voltage line extending in the column direction and arranged in the row direction, (par 0045; discloses As illustrated in FIG. 1, the high-level power supply line ELVDD includes one main wiring line ELV0 extending in the row direction, M trunk wiring lines ELV1 to ELVM branching off from the main wiring line ELV0 and extending in the column direction (extending direction of the data signal lines),) wherein the first sub-high potential voltage line is disposed on one side in the row direction of the first sub-pixel of the first pixel, (fig. 1; discloses first wiring ELV1 disposed on one side of first column of sub-pixels) wherein the second sub-high potential voltage line is disposed between the second sub-pixel of the first pixel and the third sub-pixel of the first pixel, (fig. 1; discloses second wiring ELV2) and wherein the third sub-high potential voltage line is disposed between the first sub-pixel of the second pixel and the second sub-pixel of the second pixel (fig. 1; discloses third wiring ELV3);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KIM as modified by Jang to incorporate the teachings of UENO to dispose plurality of power line wiring between pixels columns and extending in the column direction and connected to a main wiring lines such that high power is supplied to all the pixels in the display panel via a single main power line.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al (US Pub 2023/0169921) in view of Jang et al (US Pub 2008/0252624) and KIM et al (US Pub 2015/0062192) referred to as KIM192 and UENO et al (US Pub 2022/0173200).
With respect to claim 17, KIM as modified by Jang discloses wherein the display panel further comprises a high potential voltage line configured to apply a high potential voltage to a driving circuit of each of the sub-pixels of the first pixel and a driving circuit of each of the four sub-pixels of the second pixel (KIM; fig. 2; discloses each sub-pixel in the display panel are connected to high power line EVDD);
KIM as modified by Jang don’t expressly disclose wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes four sub-pixels including a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel, a third sub-pixel and a fourth sub-pixel sequentially arranged in the row direction;
In the same field of endeavor, KIM192 discloses a display device and driving method (see abstract); KIM192 discloses each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes four sub-pixels including a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel, a third sub-pixel and a fourth sub-pixel sequentially arranged in the row direction; (par 0062; discloses that is, the timing controller 120 converts red, green, and blue data RGB (which are input from the outside) into four-color data RGBW of red, green, blue, and white so as to correspond to a pixel arrangement structure of the display panel 110.);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KIM as modified by Jang to form pixel using four sub-pixels of different colors as disclosed by KIM192 in order to improve the contrast ratio of the display device;
KIM as modified by Jang and KIM192 don’t expressly disclose wherein the high potential voltage line is divided into three sub-high potential voltage lines including a first sub-high potential voltage line, a second sub-high potential voltage line and a third sub-high potential voltage line extending in the column direction and arranged in the row direction, wherein the first sub-high potential voltage line is disposed on one side in the row direction of the first sub-pixel of the first pixel, wherein the second sub-high potential voltage line is disposed between the first pixel and the second pixel, and wherein the third sub-high potential voltage line is disposed on another side in the row direction of the second pixel;
In the same field of endeavor, UENO discloses a display device and driving method (see abstract); UENO discloses wherein the high potential voltage line is divided into three sub-high potential voltage lines including a first sub-high potential voltage line, a second sub-high potential voltage line and a third sub-high potential voltage line extending in the column direction and arranged in the row direction, (par 0045; discloses As illustrated in FIG. 1, the high-level power supply line ELVDD includes one main wiring line ELV0 extending in the row direction, M trunk wiring lines ELV1 to ELVM branching off from the main wiring line ELV0 and extending in the column direction (extending direction of the data signal lines),) wherein the first sub-high potential voltage line is disposed on one side in the row direction of the first sub-pixel of the first pixel, (fig. 1; discloses first wiring ELV1 disposed on one side of first column of sub-pixels) wherein the second sub-high potential voltage line is disposed between the first pixel and the second pixel, and, (fig. 1; discloses second wiring ELV5; given each pixel includes four sub-pixels) wherein the third sub-high potential voltage line is disposed on another side in the row direction of the second pixel; (fig. 1; discloses third wiring ELV9; given each pixel includes four sub-pixels);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KIM as modified by Jang to incorporate the teachings of UENO to dispose plurality of power line wiring between pixels columns and extending in the column direction and connected to a main wiring lines such that high power is supplied to all the pixels in the display panel via a single main power line.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al (US Pub 2023/0169921) in view of Jang et al (US Pub 2008/0252624) and KIM et al (US Pub 2017/0352843) referred to as KIM843.
With respect to claim 18, KIM as modified by Jang fails to disclose wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes four sub-pixels including a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel, a third sub-pixel and a fourth sub-pixel sequentially arranged in the row direction, wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels of each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes a light-emitting area and a driving circuit, wherein for each sub-pixel of the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel of the first pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on one of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel, wherein for each sub-pixel of the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel of the first pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel, wherein for each sub-pixel of the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel of the second pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on one of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel, wherein for each sub-pixel of the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel of the second pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel, and wherein the sub-pixels of the first pixel and the second pixel are alternately arranged with each other in the row direction in a manner flipped relative to each other in the column direction;
In the same field of endeavor, KIM843 discloses a display device and control method (see abstract); KIM843 discloses wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes four sub-pixels including a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel, a third sub-pixel and a fourth sub-pixel sequentially arranged in the row direction, (fig. 5; discloses first pixel group 30 and second pixel group 40 each comprising four sub-pixels) wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels of each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes a light-emitting area and a driving circuit, (fig. 5; discloses each sub-pixel includes a light emitting area and a driving circuit) wherein for each sub-pixel of the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel of the first pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on one of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel, (fig. 5; discloses sub-pixels 31 and 33 of the first pixel group has driving circuit disposed on one side of the light emitting area in the columns direction) wherein for each sub-pixel of the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel of the first pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel, (fig. 5; discloses sub-pixels 32 and 34 of the first pixel group has driving circuit disposed on the other side of the light emitting area in the columns direction) wherein for each sub-pixel of the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel of the second pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on one of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel, wherein for each sub-pixel of the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel of the second pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel, (fig. 5; discloses sub-pixels 41 and 43 of the second pixel group has driving circuit disposed on one side of the light emitting area in the columns direction, where sub-pixels 42 and 44 of the second pixel group has driving circuit disposed on the other side of the light emitting area in the columns direction) and wherein the sub-pixels of the first pixel and the second pixel are alternately arranged with each other in the row direction in a manner flipped relative to each other in the column direction (par 0105; discloses The first pixel group 30 and the second pixel group 40 may be arranged in a matrix form. Accordingly, the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth pixels 31, 32, 33, 34, 41, 42, 43 and 44 may be arranged in an alternating manner along the first direction X, the first pixel 31 and the fifth pixel 41 may be arranged in an alternating manner along the second direction Y, the second pixel 32 and the sixth pixel 42 may be arranged in an alternating manner along the second direction Y, the third pixel 33 and the seventh pixel 43 may be arranged in an alternating manner along the second direction Y, and the fourth pixel 34 and the eighth pixel 44 may be arranged in an alternating manner along the second direction Y);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by KIM as modified by Jang to incorporate the teachings of KIM843 to include four sub-pixels in each pixel that are alternately arranged in order to achieve a display device which is capable of substantially minimizing an area occupied by its gate driver, so as to realize a narrow bezel and substantially prevent horizontal line defects to improve display quality.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and when 112 rejections are overcome.
With respect to claim 19, The prior art of record fails to disclose wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixels includes four sub-pixels including a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel, a third sub-pixel and a fourth sub-pixel sequentially arranged in the row direction, wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels of each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes a light-emitting area and a driving circuit, wherein for each sub-pixel of the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixels of the first pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on one of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel, wherein for each sub-pixel of the third sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixels of the first pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel, wherein for each sub-pixel of the third sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixels of the second pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on one of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel, wherein for each sub-pixel of the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixels of the second pixel, the driving circuit of the sub-pixel is disposed on the other of opposing sides in the column direction of the light-emitting area of the sub-pixel, and wherein the sub-pixels of the first pixel and the second pixel are alternately arranged with each other in the row direction in a manner flipped relative to each other in the column direction, Hence claim 19 comprises allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/SUJIT SHAH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2624