DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2024-229375, filed on 12/25/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/28/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 filed on 11/28/2025 are presently examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claims 1-5 are directed to a device comprising a processor, (i.e. a machine). Therefore, claims 1-5 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Claim 1 is recited below and limitations that recite an abstract idea are emphasized in bolding below:
A warning device comprising a processor configured to:
set a warning target region on a rear-lateral side of a vehicle; and
notify an occupant of the vehicle of a warning when a moving object located in the warning target region is expected to come into contact with a door of the vehicle, wherein
the processor is configured to set a predetermined area in a vehicle coordinate system based on the vehicle to the warning target region, and
correct the predetermined area when the vehicle is obliquely stopped with respect to a white line of a road.
The examiner submits that the above bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. The bolded limitations in the context of this claim encompasses a person mentally or with pen and paper performing the above bolded steps. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
A warning device comprising a processor configured to:
set a warning target region on a rear-lateral side of a vehicle; and
notify an occupant of the vehicle of a warning when a moving object located in the warning target region is expected to come into contact with a door of the vehicle, wherein
the processor is configured to set a predetermined area in a vehicle coordinate system based on the vehicle to the warning target region, and
correct the predetermined area when the vehicle is obliquely stopped with respect to a white line of a road.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above underlined additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
The examiner submits that these additional limitations merely use a computer (processor, generic computer components) to perform otherwise mental judgements is not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using a processor or generic computer components to gather data and perform the otherwise mental judgements amounts to nothing more than applying the exception using generic computer components. Generally applying an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Further the additional limitations are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, merely use generic computer components in their ordinary capacity to perform an otherwise mental process or judgement, and do not amount to significantly more. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network).
Dependent claims 2-5 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, merely use generic computer components in their ordinary capacity to perform an otherwise mental process or judgement or data gathering, and do not amount to significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tang et al. (CN 116767085 A), hereinafter referred to as Tang.
Regarding claim 1, Tang discloses A warning device comprising a processor ([0123-0125] processor implementation of method) configured to:
set a warning target region on a rear-lateral side of a vehicle ([0062-0069] rear-lateral rectangles defined relative to the vehicle); and
notify an occupant of the vehicle of a warning when a moving object located in the warning target region is expected to come into contact with a door of the vehicle ([0070] [0075] [0094] [0096] [0101] parked occupant ego vehicle, monitoring the door opening risk taking into account door contact lateral limits and approaching object time-to-collision conditions. A warning is provided to occupant if conditions are met.), wherein
the processor is configured to set a predetermined area in a vehicle coordinate system based on the vehicle to the warning target region, and correct the predetermined area when the vehicle is obliquely stopped with respect to a white line of a road ([0062-0069] [0076] [0080-0082] [0088] [0102] [0111] parked ego vehicle is angled away from the lane marker, there is white/yellow lane recognition, there is a vehicle-relative baseline region and angular correction of the region based on the angle of the vehicle form the lane market while parked. [FIG. 4]).
Regarding claim 2, Tang The warning device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to enlarge the predetermined area when the vehicle is obliquely stopped with respect to the white line ([0082] [0101-0102] [claim 6] a triangle is added to the region when the parking angle is greater than zero, enlarging the area. [FIG. 4]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, further in view of Son et al. (KR 20170087368 A), hereinafter referred to as Son.
Regarding claim 3, Tang discloses The warning device according to claim 2, wherein the predetermined area is defined by a vehicle side boundary line forming a predetermined angle with respect to an imaginary line parallel to a side surface of the vehicle ([0064-0064] [0068-0069] boundaries C/D are on the vehicle-body edges and are parallel to the vehicle’s longitudinal direction. For the rectangle, the vehicle-side boundary therefore forms an initial predetermined angle of zero with the line parallel to the vehicle side.). Tang discloses the processor is configured to enlarge the predetermined area ([0076] [0080-0082] adds a triangle when the vehicle’s angle is above zero, enlarging the area. [FIG. 4])
Tang fails to explicitly disclose enlarge the predetermined area so that the vehicle side boundary line forms a correction angle larger than the predetermined angle with respect to the imaginary line when the vehicle is obliquely stopped with respect to the white line, and the correction angle is a sum of an increment angle equal to or less than an angle that the vehicle forms with respect to the white line, and the predetermined angle.
However, Son teaches enlarge the predetermined area so that the vehicle side boundary line forms a correction angle larger than the predetermined angle with respect to the imaginary line when the vehicle is obliquely stopped with respect to the white line ([0069-0070] [0078] [0088-0089] [FIG. 6] translates and rotates basic area 550 to establish first area 562, second area 560 with greater width. First area covers nearer adjacent lane. Second area includes first area plus farther lane width. This includes the rotated near boundary while adding width on the far side.), and the correction angle is a sum of an increment angle equal to or less than an angle that the vehicle forms with respect to the white line, and the predetermined angle ([0059-0060] [0087] theta is the vehicle heading/orientation relative to the lane angle. Son corrects the rotation.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shimizu with Son. One would be motivated, with reasonable expectation of success, to modify Tang with Son’s adjustment of an oblique monitoring area in order to improve collision avoidance (Son [0098]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, further in view of Kang et al. (US 20210319700 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kang.
Regarding claim 4, Tang discloses The warning device according to claim 2, wherein the predetermined area is defined by an intersection determination line extending away from the vehicle in a width direction of the vehicle, and a vehicle side boundary line extending from an end point on the vehicle side of the intersection determination line to a rear of the vehicle ([0062] [0064-0069] [0072-0075] [0096] transverse A bounds the warning area and anchors its longitudinal TTC distance. The inner end joins C/D which extends rearward to F. A is thus the transverse warning-determination boundary.).
Tang adds an outward triangle for a nonzero parking angle ([0080-0082]) which is the same as obliquely stopping with respect to the white line, but fails to explicitly disclose the processor is configured to extend the intersection determination line toward the vehicle side so that an end point on an opposite side to the vehicle of the vehicle side boundary line approaches a corresponding end point of the warning target region when it is assumed that the vehicle is stopped parallel to the white line.
However, Kang teaches the processor is configured to extend the intersection determination line toward the vehicle side so that an end point on an opposite side to the vehicle of the vehicle side boundary line approaches a corresponding end point of the warning target region when it is assumed that the vehicle is stopped parallel to the white line ([0047] [0055-0056] [0079-0083] [claim 18] upon target entry, warning maintenance range widens inward and outward. The inner boundary is changed from 1.64m to 1.44m and the outer boundary from 5.36m to 5.56m. This retains the warning with the small lateral target movement.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang with Kang. One would be motivated, with reasonable expectation of success, to adjust the area as described by Kang in order to prevent cancelling the warning due to small movement of the target object (Kang [0083]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, further in view of Shimizu et al. (US 20220371584 A1), hereinafter referred to as Shimizu.
Regarding claim 5, Tang discloses The warning device according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle is obliquely stopped with respect to the white line (the vehicle being parked at a nonzero angle to the white line by adding an outward triangular region [0076] [0080-0082]) but fails to explicitly disclose the processor is configured to rotationally move the predetermined area by a predetermined rotation angle so that the predetermined area overlaps with the warning target region when it is assumed that the vehicle is stopped parallel to the white line, and the rotation angle is equal to or less than an angle that the vehicle forms with respect to the white line.
However, Shimizu teaches the processor is configured to rotationally move the predetermined area by a predetermined rotation angle so that the predetermined area overlaps with the warning target region when it is assumed that the vehicle is stopped parallel to the white line, and the rotation angle is equal to or less than an angle that the vehicle forms with respect to the white line ([FIG. 8] [claim 4] predetermined rear-right region 62C is set along the vehicle side and is rotated by the full road-relative inclination degree to obtain new region 63C. Tang teaches the angle being the non-zero angle that the vehicle is obliquely parked relative to the white line. This combination would satisfy the rotation angle being equal to the angle relative to the white line.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang with Shimizu. One would be motivated, with reasonable expectation of success, to add Shimizu’s monitoring region rotation according to inclination angle to improve Tang’s angle-induced coverage loss and delayed warnings caused by the determined parking angle against the white line (Tang [0099-0100]) by utilizing Shimizu’s additional usable monitoring coverage from recognizing inclination without a travel trajectory (Shimizu Other embodiments 2 a-2 [0076-0079]) which addresses occupant alighting hazards (Shimizu [0037] [FIG. 2]).
Conclusion
/M.R.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668