DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (CN 117204888, Dec. 12, 2023) (hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 1: Yang discloses an interventional ultrasound imaging device, comprising: an ultrasound probe comprising a first connector (fig. 1: probe assembly 10, fig. 3: first connection piece 301), an inner sheath and a housing sequentially sleeved from inside to outside (first docking piece 305 comprising first docking sleeve 3051 as shown in fig. 3; fig. 3: first connecting sleeve 3014), wherein the housing is provided with a sliding member (fig. 3: first positioning block 3071); and a drive assembly comprising a second connector (fig. 1: driving component 20, fig. 2: second connection piece 302), a fixing member (fig. 2: second connecting piece 302) and a guide member (fig. 2: second docking part 306) sequentially sleeved from inside to outside (figs. 2-3), wherein the guide member is provided with a guide slot (fig. 3: first positioning groove 3072); wherein the device has a separated state where the first connector is separated from the second connector, and a locked state where the first connector is electrically connected to the second connector and the inner sheath extends into the fixing member partially and is connected to the fixing member (figs. 2-3; pg. 2, paragraph 5); and wherein the sliding member is configured to slide along the guide slot to switch the device between the separated state and the locked state (figs. 2-3, first positioning block 3071 and first positioning groove 3072).
Regarding claim 2: Yang discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein a through hole is disposed on the fixing member, a movable member is movably disposed in the through hole (fig. 4: second connecting piece 302 having a plunger hole with movable block 3031 seated inside; pg. 4, paragraphs 5-6), and a limiting groove is disposed on the inner sheath (fig. 3: locking hole 3011); and wherein when the device is in the locked state, the movable member is partially located in the through hole and partially located in the limiting groove to connect the fixing member and the inner sheath (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3: Yang discloses The device according to claim 2, wherein the drive assembly comprises a crimping member, the crimping member is disposed between the guide member and the fixing member, and the crimping member is configured to restrict the movable member from being disengaged from the through hole (fig. 4: plunger seat 3032).
Regarding claim 18: Yang discloses the device according to claim 2, wherein the movable member is a spherical movable member (movable block 3031; pg. 4, paragraph 4).
Claim(s) 1 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (CN 221285774, Jul. 9, 2024) (hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 1: Yang discloses an interventional ultrasound imaging device, comprising: an ultrasound probe comprising a first connector (fig. 1: probe assembly 10, fig. 2: first connection member 31), an inner sheath and a housing sequentially sleeved from inside to outside (fig. 2: first docking member 41, first connecting sleeve 312), wherein the housing is provided with a sliding member (fig. 4: insert block 4111); and a drive assembly comprising a second connector (fig. 1: drive assembly 20, fig. 2: second connection member 32), a fixing member and a guide member sequentially sleeved from inside to outside (fig. 3: second joint 622, second docking member 42), wherein the guide member is provided with a guide slot (fig. 4: slot 421); wherein the device has a separated state where the first connector is separated from the second connector, and a locked state where the first connector is electrically connected to the second connector and the inner sheath extends into the fixing member partially and is connected to the fixing member (figs. 1-4 show locked and separated states); and wherein the sliding member is configured to slide along the guide slot to switch the device between the separated state and the locked state (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14: Yang discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the ultrasound probe further comprises a first rotating shaft extending through the inner sheath (fig. 3: transmission tube 12), the first connector is mounted on the first rotating shaft (fig. 3), and a first transmission member is mounted on the first rotating shaft (pg. 1, paragraphs 8-10; the first docking member 41 which cooperates with the second docking member 42 to form the docking structure); wherein the drive assembly further comprises a second rotating shaft extending through the fixing member, the second connector is mounted on the second rotating shaft (fig. 3, output shaft 22), and a second transmission member is mounted on the second rotating shaft (pg. 1, paragraphs 8-10; the second docking member 42 which cooperates with the first docking member 41 to form the docking structure); and when the device is in the locked state, the second transmission member is configured to contact the first transmission member, so that the drive assembly drives the ultrasound probe to rotate (pg. 1, paragraphs 8-10; the first docking member 41 which cooperates with the second docking member 42 to form the docking structure).
Regarding claim 15: Yang discloses the device according to claim 14, wherein the first transmission member comprises a first abutment plane, the second transmission member comprises a second abutment plane, and the first abutment plane is configured to be attached onto the second abutment plane (fig. 4 - any surface of the docking members 41 and 42 can be considered “a first abutment plane” or “a second abutment plane”).
Regarding claim 16: Yang discloses the device according to claim 14, wherein the ultrasound probe further comprises a bearing, and the first rotating shaft is rotatably connected to the inner sheath through the bearing (bearing 50).
Claim(s) 1 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (CN 116919456 A, Oct. 23, 2013) (hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 1: Yang discloses an interventional ultrasound imaging device, comprising: an ultrasound probe comprising a first connector, an inner sheath and a housing sequentially sleeved from inside to outside, wherein the housing is provided with a sliding member (probe assembly 10, first connection piece 301, first joint 313, first connecting sleeve 3013, block 3104); and a drive assembly comprising a second connector, a fixing member and a guide member sequentially sleeved from inside to outside, wherein the guide member is provided with a guide slot (driving assembly 20, second connection member 302, second joint 314, second docking part 311 with slot 3111); wherein the device has a separated state where the first connector is separated from the second connector, and a locked state where the first connector is electrically connected to the second connector and the inner sheath extends into the fixing member partially and is connected to the fixing member (figs. 2 and 3); and wherein the sliding member is configured to slide along the guide slot to switch the device between the separated state and the locked state (pg. 8, paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 17: Yang discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein an inwardly recessed mounting cavity is disposed on an end surface of the housing close to the drive assembly, the mounting cavity comprises a first cavity wall, an axial direction of the first cavity wall is parallel to an axial direction of the housing, the sliding member is disposed on the first cavity wall and of a columnar structure, and an axial direction of the sliding member is perpendicular to the first cavity wall (fig. 4: limiting groove 3011, limiting member 303; figs. 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 221285774, Jul. 9, 2024) (hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 20: Yang discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the housing is provided with at one sliding member, the guide member is provided with one guide slot, and the guide slot is disposed in one-to-one correspondence with the sliding member.
Yang does not disclose providing at least two sliding members and at least two guide slots.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide two sliding members and two guide slots since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-13 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CAROLYN A PEHLKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799