DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0066724 A1 to Moon et al.
As to claim 1, Moon discloses an electronic device comprising:
a foldable housing including a first housing and a second housing coupled to be foldable or unfoldable with respect to each other (Fig. 2A, paragraph 0052, first and second housing (210, 220));
memory, comprising one or more storage media, storing instructions (Fig. 1, paragraph 0029, memory (130));
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory (Fig. 1, paragraph 0029, processor (120));
at least one sensor (Fig. 1, paragraph 0029, sensor module (176));
a flexible display disposed on at least a portion of a first surface of the foldable housing to be foldable or unfoldable (Fig. 2A, paragraph 0051, display (230)); and
a cover display disposed on at least a portion of a second surface of the first housing (Fig. 2A, paragraph 0051, cover (265)),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
determine a bending angle of the foldable housing by using the at least one sensor (Fig. 15, paragraph 0201, where in step (1520) the bending angle is determined),
determine a stand state of the foldable housing by using the at least one sensor (Fig. 14A-D, paragraphs 0187-0198, where the angle detected determines the stand state),
based on the bending angle and the stand state, identify a display on which visual information is to be displayed (Fig. 15, paragraph 0202, where in step (1530) at least one area for displaying is determined), and
control the display, based on the visual information (Fig. 15, paragraph 0203, where in step (1540), the visual information on the area for displaying is determined).
As to claim 2, Moon discloses the electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
in case that the bending angle is determined to be within a specific angle range, determine that the foldable housing is in a flex state (Fig. 9 and 10, paragraphs 0150-0171, where if the angle is not 180o, it is determined the housing structure (610) is in a flex state);
in case that a rear surface of the first housing or a rear surface of the second housing is determined to face a ground in the flex state, determine that the electronic device is in a first stand state (Fig. 9 and 10, paragraphs 0150-0171, where if the angle is 180o, it is determined the housing structure (610) is facing the ground); and
determine information about a distance between the electronic device and an object by using the at least one sensor (Fig. 1, paragraph 0038, where sensor module (176) includes a proximity sensor).
As to claim 3, Moon discloses the electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to:
in case that the electronic device is in the first stand state and the bending angle is within a first angle range, control the visual information to be displayed on the flexible display and the cover display; and
in case that the electronic device is in the first stand state and the bending angle is within a second angle range, control the visual information to be displayed on the flexible display (Fig. 14A-14D, paragraphs 0187-0198, where the message moves based on the angle of housing (610)).
As to claim 4, Moon discloses the electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to, in case that the electronic device and the object are within a predetermined distance, control an intensity of the visual information to be increased (Fig. 12, paragraphs 0178-0179, where based on the angle change of the housing structure (610, 611, 613), the user interface (1210, 1220, 1230) changes color).
As to claim 5, Moon discloses the electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to:
in case that the electronic device is in a second stand state and the bending angle is within a first angle range, control the visual information to be displayed on the cover display; and
in case that the electronic device is in the second stand state and the bending angle is within a second angle range, control the visual information to be displayed on the flexible display and the cover display (Fig. 14A-14D, paragraphs 0187-0198, where the message moves based on the angle of housing (610)).
As to claim 6, Moon discloses the electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to, in case that the electronic device and the object are within a predetermined distance, control an intensity of visual information to be increased (Fig. 12, paragraphs 0178-0179, where based on the angle change of the housing structure (610, 611, 613), the user interface (1210, 1220, 1230) changes color).
As to claim 7, Moon discloses the electronic device, wherein the visual information comprises a visual effect and/or an object, and is produced using a color code or a color of a currently executing application (Fig. 12, paragraphs 0178-0179, where based on the angle change of the housing structure (610, 611, 613), the user interface (1210, 1220, 1230) changes color).
As to claim 8, Moon discloses limitations similar to claim 1.
As to claim 9, Moon discloses limitations similar to claim 2. In addition, Moon discloses in case that a first edge of the first housing and/or a second edge of the second housing is determined to face the ground in the flex state, determining that the electronic device is in a second stand state (Fig. 5 and 10, paragraphs 0119-0121 and 0163-0171, where if edge areas (522, 524, 526) face the ground, it is determined the housing (610) is folded).
As to claims 10 and 18, Moon discloses limitations similar to claim 3.
As to claims 11-14, Moon discloses limitations similar to claims 4-7, respectively.
As to claim 15, Moon discloses the method, wherein the object includes a wall or the ground (Fig. 12, paragraphs 0178-0179, where the electronic device (400) lays on a surface, such as the ground).
As to claim 16, Moon discloses the method, wherein the object comprises the ground (Fig. 12, paragraphs 0178-0179, where the electronic device (400) lays on a surface, such as the ground), and
wherein the method further comprises, when the electronic device is in a second stand state and the bending angle is withing a third angle range, controlling the visual information to be displayed on a cover display (Fig. 12, paragraphs 0178-0179, where based on the angle change of the housing structure (610, 611, 613), the user interface (1210, 1220, 1230) changes color).
As to claim 17, Moon discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform operations (Fig. 1, paragraph 0230, where the non-transitory computer-readable storage media are internal and external memories (136, 138), processor (120)). In addition, Moon discloses limitations similar to claim 1.
Conclusion
ANEETA YODICHKAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2627
/ANEETA YODICHKAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627