Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the securing means (see, for example, claim 4) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lauderdale et al. (US 7392849).
CLAIM 1: Lauderdale discloses a safety valve assembly for a production tubing. The safety valve assembly comprising: a flow tube (225) configured to move between an open position, in which fluid flow into the production tubing is allowed, and a closed position, in which fluid flow into the production tubing is restricted; a piston (205A) installed along the production tubing uphole from the flow tube (Fig. 2A), wherein the piston is operable to move the flow tube from the closed position to the open position and to retain the flow tube in the open position; and a piston actuator (chamber 245A) operatively connected to the piston, wherein the piston actuator is configured to operate the piston.
CLAIM 2: The piston actuator comprises a piston hydraulic control line (145A) which uses hydraulic fluid to actuate the piston.
CLAIM 3: The piston comprises a communication path configured to establish fluid communication between the piston hydraulic control line and a retrievable safety device installed within the safety valve assembly (balance line 145B), enabling the transfer of the hydraulic fluid to the retrievable safety device (col. 3, lines 18-32 discussing retrievable valves).
CLAIMS 7-9: These methods are inherent to the above structures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lauderdale in view of Miller et al. (US 20190376368).
Lauderdale discloses the elements of claims 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, and 9 as discussed above.
Lauderdale fails to disclose the piston comprises securing means on an outer surface of the piston for attachment to an inner surface of a housing of the safety valve assembly, thereby preventing the piston and the flow tube from shifting uphole.
Miller discloses a safety valve with a piston.
Miller discloses a piston with a securing means on the outer surface to attach to an inner surface of the housing to stop the piston from moving (see Fig. 5, pins securing).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the piston of Lauderdale to have the securing means of Miller with a reasonable expectation of success as Miller teaches that the pins allow the system to lock the valve in the desired position (see paragraphs 0021-22).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art shows similar known piston actuated valves in the art.
/PATRICK F LAMBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676