DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hontz (US 10202196).
Regarding claim 1, Hontz discloses a partition device for a seat to be arranged on an upper part of a seatback, the partition device comprising: a shade member (1220A, 1220B, 1305A, 1305B, 1405A, 1405B, 1910) that covers at least the upper part of the seatback (1400A-D); and a mounting member (1415) arranged on an inside of the shade member (1220A, 1220B, 1305A, 1305B, 1405A, 1405B, 1910), the mounting member (1415) being provided with a mounting portion (1435, 1440) for a functional component (1410A, 1410B).
Regarding claim 2, Hontz discloses wherein the shade member (1220A, 1220B, 1305A, 1305B, 1405A, 1405B, 1910) and the mounting member (1415) are coupled to each other to be integrated (Figs. 14A-D).
Regarding claim 3, Hontz discloses wherein a sectional shape (left, center and right sections of element 1415) of the mounting member (1415) is a substantially C-shape element 1415 has a C-shaped curvature, Figs. 14A-D) or substantially U-shape curved toward an inside of the shade member (1220A, 1220B, 1305A, 1305B, 1405A, 1405B, 1910).
Regarding claim 4, Hontz discloses wherein the shade member (1220A, 1220B, 1305A, 1305B, 1405A, 1405B, 1910) is capable of covering (Figs. 14C-D), in addition to a back side of the upper part of the seatback (Figs. 14A-D), one side (left side, Fig. 14D) and another side (right side, Fig. 14D), in a seat-width direction (from left to right of the seat (Fig. 14D), of the upper part of the seatback (Figs. 3, 12A, 12E) as well, and wherein, when the functional component (1905A, 1905B) is an electrical functional component (audio transducer, sound system), the mounting member (1415) includes, on a side thereof where the shade member (1220A, 1220B, 1305A, 1305B, 1405A, 1405B, 1910) is located, an attachment portion to which a control board of the functional component is to be attached (Column 11, lines 45-53, headrest may include a Bluetooth receiver and an audio amplifier. Using the Bluetooth receiver, the passenger may advantageously pair (connect wirelessly) a personal device with the articulating passenger headrest, to listen to personal music for example. In some examples, the articulating passenger headrest may provide a charging output, such as a USB port to allow a passenger to charge a personal electronic device).
Regarding claim 5, Hontz discloses wherein a vibration suppression material (Column 1, lines 55-58 and Column 8, lines 31-32, cushion material with flexible fabric overlay) to suppress vibration of the shade member (1405A, 1405B) and the mounting member (1415) is arranged in at least part of a space (Figs. 14A-D) formed between the shade member (1220A, 1220B, 1305A, 1305B, 1405A, 1405B, 1910) and the mounting member (1415).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Examiner lists referenced documents on PTO-892 because the references present other/alternative or conceptual designs similar in scope that illustrate relevant features, which may demonstrate the level of novelty in comparison to Applicant’s inventive submission. The record relates to Applicant’s identified material and Examiner’s discovered references concerning Applicant’s subject matter relevant for a patentability determination.
/AARON M RODZIWICZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642