DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 16
Lines 12-13 recite the limitation "the plurality of heat exchanger modules". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claims 17-19
Claims 17-19 are rejected insofar as they are dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Karni et al., US 2020/0095984.
Regarding Claim 11
Karni discloses a solar power generation system comprising:
a thermal energy storage system comprising a thermal energy storage vessel (108) defining an internal cavity containing a thermal mass composition [heat storage material] operable to store thermal energy (Karni, [0062], Figure 1B);
a solar energy collection system comprising:
a plurality of heliostats (102) configured to reflect solar energy (Karni, [0054], Figure 1A);
a tower that is separate and distinct from the thermal energy storage system [it is inherent to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a tower to adjust the height of the system] (Karni, [0064], Figures 1A and 1C);
a first closed flow loop (122) including a solar collector (106) comprising at least one thermal receiver (106) mounted on the tower (Karni, Figures 1A-1C), the at least one thermal receiver (106) configured to absorb solar energy and heat a first working fluid, the first closed flow loop (122) configured to circulate the heated first working fluid between the solar collector (106) and the thermal energy storage vessel (108) to transfer the thermal energy to the thermal mass composition in the thermal energy storage vessel (108); and the plurality of heliostats configured to reflect solar energy directly onto the at least one thermal receiver (106) (Karni, [0054], Figures 1A-1B);
a power generation system (110, power conversion unit (PCU)) comprising a second closed flow loop (124) including a turbine (Karni, [0058], Figures 1A and 1B), the second closed flow loop (124) configured to circulate a second working fluid [air] through the thermal energy storage vessel (108) of the thermal energy storage system to absorb the thermal energy from the thermal mass composition for introduction to the turbine (Karni, [0054] and [0058], Figures 1A-1C); and
an electric generator operably coupled to the turbine to produce electricity (Karni, [0054] and [0058], Figures 1A-1C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karni et al., US 2020/0095984, in view of Muren et al., US 2014/0251310.
Regarding Claim 1
Karni discloses a solar power generation system comprising:
a thermal energy storage system (108, 108A) comprising:
a thermal energy storage vessel (108, thermal energy storage (TES) unit) defining an internal cavity containing a thermal mass composition [heat storage material] operable to store thermal energy (Karni, [0062], Figure 1B), wherein the thermal mass composition comprises a phase change material (Karni, [0062], Figure 1B); and
a plurality of heat exchanger modules (108A, tubular storage modules) located within the internal cavity of the thermal energy storage vessel (108), the plurality of heat exchanger modules (108A) configured to absorb the thermal energy from the thermal mass composition (Karni, [0063], Figures 1A-1B);
a solar energy collection system comprising:
a plurality of heliostats (102) configured to reflect solar energy (Karni, [0054], Figure 1A);
a tower that is separate and distinct from the thermal energy storage system (108, 108A) [it is inherent to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a tower to adjust the height of the system] (Karni, [0064], Figures 1A and 1C);
a first closed flow loop (122) including a solar collector (106) comprising at least one thermal receiver (106) mounted on the tower (Karni, Figures 1A-1C), the at least one thermal receiver (106) configured to absorb solar energy and heat a first working fluid [working fluid], the first closed flow loop (122) configured to circulate the heated first working fluid [working fluid] between the solar collector (106) and the thermal energy storage vessel (108) to transfer the thermal energy to the thermal mass composition in the thermal energy storage vessel (108) (Karni, [0054], Figures 1A-1B); and
the plurality of heliostats (102) configured to reflect solar energy directly onto the at least one thermal receiver (106) (Karni, [0054], Figure 1A);
a power generation system (110, power conversion unit (PCU)) comprising a second closed flow loop (124, heat discharging loop) including a turbine (Karni, [0058], Figures 1A and 1B), the second closed flow loop (124) configured to circulate a second working fluid [air] through the plurality of heat exchanger modules (108A) of the thermal energy storage vessel (108) to absorb the thermal energy from the thermal mass composition for introduction to the turbine (Karni, [0054] and [0058], Figures 1A-1C); and
an electric generator operably coupled to the turbine to produce electricity (Karni, [0054] and [0058], Figures 1A-1C).
However, Karni does not disclose that the thermal mass composition comprises a mixture of metallic granular particles and phase change material.
Muren teaches an internal cavity of a thermal energy storage vessel (105) containing a thermal mass composition (106, 401) operable to store thermal energy, wherein the thermal mass composition (106, 401) comprises a mixture of metallic granular particles (401, filler shapes, e.g. scrap aluminum briquettes, machining scrap, chips, etc.) and phase change material (106, solar salt) (Muren, [0024] and [0036]-[0038]).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the thermal mass composition of Karni to comprise a mixture of metallic granular particles and phase change material as is taught by Muren to supplement the thermal conductivity of the phase change material and thereby improve the performance of the solar power generation system (Muren, [0025] and [0032]).
Regarding Claim 2
Karni and Muren teach the solar power generation system according to claim 1. Karni further discloses that the first closed flow loop (122) is fluidly isolated from the second closed flow loop (124) (Karni, Figures 1A-1B).
Regarding Claim 3
Karni and Muren teach the solar power generation system according to claim 2. Muren further teaches that the thermal energy storage vessel (105) comprises an outer housing (201) defining the internal cavity, the outer housing comprising a top, a bottom opposite the top, and a plurality of vertical sidewalls extending between the top and the bottom, the plurality of heat exchanger modules (202, heat exchange plates) located within the outer housing (201) (Muren, [0027], Figures 2-3).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the thermal energy storage vessel of Karni/Muren to include an outer housing defining the internal cavity, the outer housing comprising a top, a bottom opposite the top, and a plurality of vertical sidewalls extending between the top and the bottom as is taught by Muren in order to contain the heat exchanger modules and thermal energy storage medium in order to enhance thermal energy storage and thereby improve electric power generation.
Regarding Claim 4
Karni and Muren teach the solar power generation system according to claim 3. Karni further discloses that the first closed flow loop (122) comprises a plurality of first heat exchange tubes (122) embedded in the thermal mass composition in the thermal energy storage vessel (108), the plurality of heat exchanger modules (108A) are a part of the second closed flow loop (124), and each of the plurality of heat exchanger modules (108A) comprises a plurality of second heat exchanger tubes (124) embedded in the thermal mass composition (Karni, [0021] and [0082]).
Regarding Claim 5
Karni and Muren teach the solar power generation system according to claim 4. Karni further discloses that each of the plurality of first heat exchange tubes (122) are spaced apart from each of the plurality second heat exchanger tubes (124) in the internal cavity of the thermal energy storage vessel (108) (Karni, Figures 1A and 1B).
Regarding Claim 6
Karni and Muren teach the solar power generation system according to claim 4. Muren further teaches that each of the plurality of heat exchanger modules (202) comprises a bottom header (206) and a top header (205) fluidly coupled to the bottom header (206) by the plurality of second heat exchanger tubes (203) (Muren, [0027], Figure 2), the bottom header (206) configured to collect the second working fluid in a cooled state and the top header (205) configured to collect the second working fluid in a heated state and the second working fluid flows through the plurality of second heat exchanger tubes (203) (Muren, [0027], Figure 2).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plurality of heat exchanger modules of Karni/Muren to include a bottom header to collect the second working fluid in a cooled state and a top header to collect the second working fluid in a heated state as taught by Muren as well known in the art to improve thermal energy transfer (Muren, [0026]-[0027], Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 10
Karni and Muren teach the solar power generation system according to claim 1. Muren further teaches that the metallic granular particles (401) have a first melting temperature and the phase change material (106) has a second melting temperature, the first melting temperature being greater than the second melting temperature (Muren, [0024] and [0038]).
Regarding Claim 16
Karni discloses a solar power generation system comprising:
a thermal energy storage system comprising a thermal energy storage vessel (108) defining an internal space containing a thermal mass composition [heat storage material] operable to store thermal energy (Karni, [0062], Figure 1B), wherein the thermal mass composition comprises a phase change material (Karni, [0062], Figure 1B);
a solar energy collection system comprising a first closed flow loop (122) including a solar collector (106) configured to absorb solar energy and heat a first working fluid [working fluid], the first closed flow loop (122) configured to circulate the heated first working fluid between the solar collector (106) and the thermal energy storage vessel (108) to transfer the thermal energy to the thermal mass composition in the thermal energy storage vessel (108) (Karni, [0054], Figures 1A-1B);
a power generation system (110, power conversion unit (PCU)) comprising a second closed flow loop (124) including a turbine (Karni, [0058], Figures 1A and 1B), the second closed flow loop (124) configured to circulate a second working fluid [air] through the plurality of heat exchanger modules (108A) to absorb the thermal energy from the thermal mass composition for introduction to the turbine (Karni, [0054] and [0058], Figures 1A-1C);
and an electric generator operably coupled to the turbine to produce electricity (Karni, [0054] and [0058], Figures 1A-1C).
However, Karni does not disclose that the thermal mass composition comprises a mixture of metallic granular particles and phase change material.
Muren teaches an internal cavity of a thermal energy storage vessel (105) containing a thermal mass composition (106, 401) operable to store thermal energy, wherein the thermal mass composition (106, 401) comprises a mixture of metallic granular particles (401, filler shapes, e.g. scrap aluminum briquettes, machining scrap, chips, etc.) and phase change material (106, solar salt) (Muren, [0024] and [0036]-[0038]).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the thermal mass composition of Karni to comprise a mixture of metallic granular particles and phase change material as is taught by Muren to supplement the thermal conductivity of the phase change material and thereby improve the performance of the solar power generation system (Muren, [0025] and [0032]).
Regarding Claim 17
Karni and Muren teach the solar power generation system according to claim 16. Muren further teaches that the metallic granular particles (401) have a first melting temperature, and the phase change material (106) has a second melting temperature, the first melting temperature being greater than the second melting temperature (Muren, [0024] and [0038]).
Regarding Claim 18
Karni and Muren teach the solar power generation system according to claim 17. It is inherent to one of ordinary skill in the art that that since the melting temperature of the metallic granular particles is greater than the melting temperature of the phase change material, when the temperature is heated to a third temperature (between the first melting temperature and the second melting temperature) the phase change material melts while the metallic granular particles remain in a solid state (Muren, [0024] and [0038]).
Regarding Claim 19
Karni and Muren teach the solar power generation system according to claim 18. Muren further teaches that the thermal mass composition is further configured such that the phase change material (106), when melted, flows and fills interstitial spaces between the metallic granular particles (401) (Muren, [0033]).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karni et al., US 2020/0095984, in view of De Risi et al., US 2014/0130791.
Regarding Claim 12
Karni discloses the solar power generation system according to claim 11. Karni further discloses that each of the plurality of heliostats (102) of the solar energy collection system comprises a reflector operable to reflect solar energy directly onto the at least one thermal receiver (106) (Karni, [0054], Figure 1A)
However, Karni does not explicitly disclose that each of the plurality of heliostats comprises a reflector formed by a concave mirror. De Risi teaches a solar power generation system in which heliostats comprise concave reflectors (14) arranged around a tower (15) to reflect solar energy directly onto at least one thermal receiver (16) (De Risi, [0022], Figure 7).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plurality of heliostats of Karni so that each of the plurality of heliostats comprises a reflector formed by a concave mirror as taught by De Risi as well known in the art to effectively direct the solar radiation to the thermal receiver (De Risi, [0022]).
Regarding Claim 13
Karni and De Risi teach the solar power generation system according to claim 12. Karni further discloses that the plurality of heliostats (102) are arranged to form a heliostat field and the tower is centrally-located within the heliostat field (Karni, Figures 1A and 1C).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karni et al., US 2020/0095984, in view of De Risi et al., US 2014/0130791, and further in view of Elsaket, EP 2963290 A1.
Regarding Claim 14
Karni and De Risi teach the solar power generation system according to claim 12. However, Karni and De Risi do not explicitly disclose that the tower includes an expansion tank fluidly coupled to the at least one thermal receiver.
Elsaket teaches a solar tower comprising an expansion tank (18, expansion vessel) fluidly coupled to at least one thermal receiver (13, tower receiver) (Elsaket, [0018], Figure 2).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the tower of Karni and De Risi to include an expansion tank fluidly coupled to the at least one thermal receiver as is taught by Elsaket as well known in the art to allow for thermal expansion of the heat transfer fluid to provide an improved solar power generation system (Elsaket, [0018] and [0007]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karni et al., US 2020/0095984, in view of Muren et al., US 2014/0251310, and further in view of France et al., 2020/0363132.
Regarding Claim 7
Karni and Muren teach the solar power generation system according to claim 1. However, Karni and Muren do not explicitly disclose that the first working fluid is molten salt or heat transfer oil, and the second working fluid is water which enters the thermal energy storage vessel in a liquid state and leaves the thermal energy storage vessel as steam.
France teaches a solar power generation system in which the first working fluid (12) is molten salt (France, [0044]), and the second working fluid (18) is water (France, [0045]) which enters the thermal energy storage vessel (16) in a liquid state and leaves the thermal energy storage vessel (16) as steam (France, [0004] and [0045]).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first and second working fluids of Karni/Muren such that the first working fluid is molten salt and the second working fluid is water as is taught by France as it would have been obvious to substitute a known (and equivalent) working fluid for another to obtain predictable results (generating power).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karni et al., US 2020/0095984, in view of Muren et al., US 2014/0251310, and further in view of De Risi et al., US 2014/0130791.
Regarding Claim 8
Karni and Muren teach the solar power generation system according to claim 1. Karni further discloses that each of the plurality of heliostats (102) of the solar energy collection system comprises a reflector operable to reflect solar energy directly onto the at least one thermal receiver (106) (Karni, [0054], Figure 1A)
However, Karni and Muren do not explicitly disclose that each of the plurality of heliostats comprises a reflector formed by a concave mirror. De Risi teaches a solar power generation system in which heliostats comprise concave reflectors (14) arranged around a tower (15) to reflect solar energy directly onto at least one thermal receiver (16) (De Risi, [0022], Figure 7).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plurality of heliostats of Karni/Muren so that each of the plurality of heliostats comprises a reflector formed by a concave mirror as taught by De Risi as well known in the art to effectively direct the solar radiation to the thermal receiver (De Risi, [0022]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karni et al., US 2020/0095984, in view of De Risi et al., US 2014/0130791, and further in view of Kobayashi et al., US 2014/0290248.
Regarding Claim 15
Karni and De Risi teach the solar power generation system according to claim 12. However, Karni and De Risi do not explicitly disclose that the at least one thermal receiver comprises a plurality of heat exchange tubes coupled between a top output header and a bottom inlet header, the first working fluid being flowable through the heat exchange tubes of the at least one thermal receiver.
Kobayashi teaches at least one thermal receiver (10) comprising a plurality of heat exchange tubes (16) coupled between a top outlet header (17) and a bottom inlet header (18), wherein a first working fluid flows through the heat exchange tubes (16) of the at least one thermal receiver (10) (Kobayashi, [0037], Figure 1).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the solar power generation system of Karni/De Risi such that the at least one thermal receiver comprises a plurality of heat exchange tubes coupled between a top output header and a bottom inlet header, the first working fluid being flowable through the heat exchange tubes of the at least one thermal receiver as is taught by Kobayashi as well known in the art to improve heat receiving performance and increase service life (Kobayashi, [0025]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karni et al., US 2020/0095984, in view of Muren et al., US 2014/0251310, in view of De Risi et al., US 2014/0130791, and further in view of Kobayashi et al., US 2014/0290248.
Regarding Claim 9
Karni, Muren, and De Risi teach the solar power generation system according to claim 8. However, Karni, Muren, and De Risi do not explicitly disclose that the at least one thermal receiver comprises a plurality of heat exchange tubes coupled between a top output header and a bottom inlet header, the first working fluid being flowable through the heat exchange tubes of the at least one thermal receiver.
Kobayashi teaches at least one thermal receiver (10) comprising a plurality of heat exchange tubes (16) coupled between a top outlet header (17) and a bottom inlet header (18), wherein a first working fluid flows through the plurality of heat exchange tubes (16) of the at least one thermal receiver (10) (Kobayashi, [0037], Figure 1).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the solar power generation system of Karni/Muren/De Risi such that the at least one thermal receiver comprises a plurality of heat exchange tubes coupled between a top output header and a bottom inlet header, the first working fluid being flowable through the heat exchange tubes of the at least one thermal receiver as is taught by Kobayashi as well known in the art to improve heat receiving performance and increase service life (Kobayashi, [0025]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karni et al., US 2020/0095984, in view of De Risi et al., US 2014/0130791, in view of Kobayashi et al., US 2014/0290248, and further in view of France et al., US 2020/0363132.
Regarding Claim 20
Karni, De Risi, and Kobayashi teach the solar power generation system according to claim 15. However, Karni, De Risi, and Kobayashi do not explicitly disclose that the first working fluid is molten salt or heat transfer oil, and the second working fluid is water which enters the thermal energy storage vessel in a liquid state and leaves the thermal energy storage vessel as steam.
France teaches a solar power generation system in which the first working fluid (12) is molten salt (France, [0044]), and the second working fluid (18) is water (France, [0045]) which enters the thermal energy storage vessel (16) in a liquid state and leaves the thermal energy storage vessel (16) as steam (France, [0004] and [0045]).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first and second working fluids of Karni/De Risi/Kobayashi such that the first working fluid is molten salt and the second working fluid is water as is taught by France as it would have been obvious to substitute a known (and equivalent) working fluid for another to obtain predictable results (generating power).
Conclusion
/K.L.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3741 /DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741