Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katz (US 20220203996 A1) in view of Vilcovsky (US 20140226000 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 16:
Katz (US 20220203996 A1) discloses a display device (Fig. 4) and method comprising:
a mirror display (4, Fig. 4) [0123];
a depth camera (6, Fig. 4) configured to capture an image of an object () reflected on the mirror display ([0123-0129);
memory (16) storing instructions ([0127]); and
one or more processors (12), wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively [0269], cause the display device to:
obtain the image of the object through the depth camera and obtain depth information of the object [0127-0129], obtain, based on the depth information of the object [0127-0129],
skeleton information of the object [0038], obtain, based on the skeleton information ([0038, 0049]), shape information of the object (a physical dimention of user’s body) [0138, 0152-0153, 0158].
However, Katz does not specifically disclose shape information of the object match, based on the shape information of the object and virtual shape information of a virtual object, the virtual object to the object and display the virtual object, as matched to the object, through the mirror display.
Vilcovsky (US 20140226000 A1) discloses shape information of the object match (size of the body map) [0054,0107, 0157,0167- 0168], based on the shape information of the object and virtual shape information of a virtual object ([0040, 0070]), the virtual object to the object and display the virtual object, as matched to the object, through the mirror display ([0054,0107, 0157,0167- 0168, Fig, 13, 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Katz with the teaching of Vilcovsky, thereby providing better calibration of performing body measurements and body monitoring in the mirror display.
Regarding claim 16:
Note that the limitations of the claim 16 are already discussed in claim 1 except the limitations “a non-transitory computer readable … a mirror display”.
Katz (US 20220203996 A1) discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program configured to cause one or more processors to implement a control method of a display device including a mirror display ([0269]).
Regarding claim 2:
Katz (US 20220203996 A1) in view of Vilcovsky (US 20140226000 A1) discloses
wherein the skeleton information of the object represents a skeleton of each of a plurality of portions included in the object (Katz, [0159-0160, Fig. 3]), and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the display device to (Katz, [0269]): identify, based on a symmetrical structure (Vilcobsky, similar mapping, [0167]) with respect to the skeleton of each of the plurality of portions (also see , 0138, 0152-0153, 0158]), a shape of each of the plurality of portions, and obtain the shape information of the object based on obtaining a shape of each of the plurality of portions (see Vilcovsky ([0040-0045]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 3:
Katz (US 20220203996 A1) in view of Vilcovsky (US 20140226000 A1) discloses
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the display device to input the image to a neural network model (machine learning) and obtain , from the neural network model (Katz, [0071-0078]), the shape information of the object included in the image, and wherein the neural network model is a model trained to output (Katz, [0071-0079]), based on the image including the object being input, the shape information of the object as including the depth information and with the depth information corresponding to each of a plurality of viewpoints with respect to the object (see Katz, [0138, 0152-0153, 0158] and Vilcovsky ([0040-0045]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
.
Regarding claim 4:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the display device to place, in the display of the object and based on the shape information of the object and the virtual shape information of the virtual object, a part of the virtual object in front of the object and a remainder of the virtual object behind the object (see Katz, [0138, 0152-0153, 0158] and Vilcovsky ([0040-0045]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 5:
Katz (US 20220203996 A1) in view of Vilcovsky (US 20140226000 A1) discloses
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the display device to display, based on the shape information of the object and the virtual shape information of the virtual object, the virtual object in a way that a part of the virtual object contacts, in the display as output through the mirror display, the object (see Katz, [0138, 0152-0153, 0158] and Vilcovsky ([0040-0045]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6:
Katz (US 20220203996 A1) in view of Vilcovsky (US 20140226000 A1) discloses
a communication interface, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the display device to: control the communication interface to communicate with a wearable device worn by the object, and control, based on identifying that the part of the virtual object contacts an area of the object in the display output through the mirror display, the wearable device to provide a tactile feedback (see Katz, [0079]) to the area of the object (see Katz, [0138, 0152-0153, 0158] [0079], and Vilcovsky ([0040-0045]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 7:
Katz (US 20220203996 A1) in view of Vilcovsky (US 20140226000 A1) discloses
further comprising: a communication interface (Katz, [0111-0113]); wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the display device to: receive, from an external device and through the communication interface (Katz, [0110—0113]), the virtual shape information of the virtual object, and control the communication interface to transmit the shape information of the object to the external device (see Katz,[0110-0113] [0138, 0152-0153, 0158] [0079], and Vilcovsky ([0040-0045]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 8:
Katz (US 20220203996 A1) in view of Vilcovsky (US 20140226000 A1) discloses
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the display device to: perform, based on an input of a user with respect to the virtual object being identified, an interaction with the virtual object according to the input, transmit, to the external device and based on the input of the user, changed shape information of the object, and the input of the user comprises a touch input with respect to a part of the virtual object (see Katz,[0110-0113] [0138, 0152-0153, 0158] [0079], and Vilcovsky ([0040-0045]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9:
Katz (US 20220203996 A1) in view of Vilcovsky (US 20140226000 A1) discloses
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the display device to re-match, based on further changed shape information (Vilcovsky ([0040-0045, 0054]) of the virtual object being received from the external device and according to a second input of a second user with respect to the object, the virtual object to the object, wherein the virtual object corresponds to the second user as reflected on a second mirror display of the external device, and wherein the object corresponds to the user (see Katz,[0110-0113] [0138, 0152-0153, 0158] [0079], and Vilcovsky ([0040-0045, 0054]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10:
Katz (US 20220203996 A1) in view of Vilcovsky (US 20140226000 A1) discloses
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the display device to adjust, based on an input of a user, at least one of a position, a viewpoint, a size, or a ratio of the virtual object on the mirror display (see Katz,[0110-0113] [0138, 0152-0153, 0158] [0079], and Vilcovsky ([0040-0045, 0054]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claims 12 and 17:
Katz (US 20220203996 A1) in view of Vilcovsky (US 20140226000 A1) discloses
wherein the skeleton information of the object represents a skeleton of each of a plurality of portions included in the object, and wherein the obtaining the shape information comprises: identifying, based on a symmetrical structure (Vilcobsky, similar mapping, [0167]) with respect to the skeleton of each of the plurality of portions, a shape of each of the plurality of portions; and obtaining the shape information of the object based on obtaining shapes of each of the plurality of portions (see Katz,[0110-0113] [0138, 0152-0153, 0158] [0079], and Vilcovsky ([0040-0045, 0054]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claims 13 and 18:
Katz (US 20220203996 A1) in view of Vilcovsky (US 20140226000 A1) discloses wherein the obtaining the shape information comprises inputting the image to a neural network model and obtaining, from the neural network model, the shape information of the object included in the image, wherein the neural network model is a model trained to output, based on the image including the object being input, the shape information of the object as including the depth information and with the depth information corresponding to each of a plurality of viewpoints with respect to the object (see Katz,[0110-0113] [0138, 0152-0153, 0158] [0079], and Vilcovsky ([0040-0045, 0054]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claims 14 and 19:
Katz (US 20220203996 A1) in view of Vilcovsky (US 20140226000 A1) discloses wherein the displaying of the virtual object, as matched to the object, through the mirror display comprises placing, in the display of the object and based on the shape information of the object and the virtual shape information of the virtual object, a part of the virtual object in front of the object and a remainder of the virtual object behind the object (see Katz,[0110-0113] [0138, 0152-0153, 0158] [0079], and Vilcovsky ([0040-0045, 0054]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claims 15 and 20:
Katz (US 20220203996 A1) in view of Vilcovsky (US 20140226000 A1) wherein the displaying of the virtual object, as matched to the object, through the mirror display comprises displaying, based on the shape information of the object and the virtual shape information of the virtual object, the virtual object in a way that a part of the virtual object contacts, in the display as output through the mirror display, the object Katz (US 20220203996 A1) in view of Vilcovsky (US 20140226000 A1).
Pertinent art of record
2. Pertinent art of record Pandey (US 20140132484 A1) discloses a display device.
Inquiry
/SHAHEDA A ABDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627