DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
1. Claims 1-11 are pending and examined to the extent of the elected species of the AeCLH1 gene, SEQ ID NO:3, and SEQ ID NOs:42-43.
Restrictions/Elections
2. This application contains claims multiple patentably distinct species. Applicant is required to elect one species from each of (A)-(C) below for further examination:
one of the following genes: AeCLH1, AeCLH2, AeNOL, AeSGR, AeNYC1, AeHCAR, AeRCCR, AePAO2 and AePAO4;
one of SEQ ID NOs:3-11 corresponding to the gene elected in option A);
one of the following combinations of SEQ ID NOs corresponding to siRNA sequences: SEQ ID NOs:40-41, SEQ ID NOs:42-43, SEQ ID NOs:44-45, SEQ ID NOs:46-47, and SEQ ID NOs:48-49.
The species are independent or distinct and require unique searches to identify relevant prior art. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. Currently, claims 1 and 7 are generic.
There is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because the above species do not share a common structure or motif which distinguishes them from the prior art. Each species would require a separate and independent search not co-extensive with each other. Thus, rejoining them would cause undue burden on Office resources.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election.
The election may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
3. During a telephone conversation with Floyd Canfield on 08/26/2026 a provisional election was made, without traverse, to the species of AeCLH1 gene, SEQ ID NO:3, and SEQ ID NOs:42-43. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action.
Priority
4. The Office acknowledges receipt of Applicant’s foreign priority document Application No. CN202510284107.1 filed 03/11/2025.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 1-11 are objected to because of the following:
In claim 1, ln. 2, “AeABR1” should be italicized in all such cases where said term refers to a gene name as is demonstrated in claim 7. It is standard in the biological arts to italicize the names of genes to distinguish them from their protein products.
Claim 2 contains a grammatical and/or typographical error; it is recommended the phrase “the nucleotide sequence as SEQ ID NO.1” be amended to “the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO.1” for grammatical correctness.
Claim 3 contains a grammatical and/or typographical error; it is recommended the phrase “the amino acid residue sequence as SEQ ID NO.2” be amended to “the amino acid residue sequence of SEQ ID NO.2” for grammatical correctness.
Claim 4 contains a grammatical and/or typographical error; it is recommended the phrase “any one of as below” be amended to “any one of the below” or “any one of the following”, as appropriate.
Claim 5 contains a grammatical and/or typographical error. It appears a word is missing between “shown in” and “sequence” in each of lns. 2-10. If Applicant intends for the recited AeCLH1 gene to comprise the entirety of the sequence shown in the recited SEQ ID NO., it is suggested Applicant delete the phrase “the nucleotide sequence shown in sequence of” from each line of the claim.
Claim 6 contains a grammatical and/or typographical error. It appears a word is missing between “shown in” and “sequence” in ln. 2. If Applicant intends for the recited AeCLH1 gene to comprise the entirety of the sequence shown in SEQ ID NO.3, it is suggested Applicant amend ln. 2 to recite “wherein the AeCHL1 gene comprises SEQ ID NO.3”.
In claim 7, “AeABR1 protein” should be amended to “AeABR1 protein” without any italicization since the recitation refers to the protein product instead of the AeABR1 gene.
Dependent claims are included. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
7. Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The metes and bounds of claim 1 are indefinite because genes do not produce chlorophyll. Genes produce RNA transcripts and/or proteins that produce further products that may include chlorophyll. Accordingly, it is unclear how one could decrease the ability of a gene to produce chlorophyll because genes do not produce chlorophyll. For the purpose of compact prosecution, claim 1 is interpreted to encompass a method for reducing chlorophyll degradation in a plant, comprising decreasing the activity of the AeABR1 gene and the expression of the AeABR1 protein to decrease the expression of genes associated with the induction of chlorophyll degradation.
Claim 1 contains multiple grammatical, typographical, and/or syntactical errors that obscure the intended recitations within the claim. Regarding claim 2, it is unclear if Applicant intended to recite “reducing the expression level of the AeABR1 protein as to decreases the expression of genes” or “reducing the expression level of the AeABR1 protein as to decrease the expression of genes.” If Applicant intends to recite the former, such a recitation is unclear and confusing to the point of being indefinite. It is unclear how the reduction of AeABR1 expression relates to the expression of genes associated with chlorophyll degradation. If Applicant intends to recite the latter, it is recommended Applicant amend the term “decreases” to “decrease” in ln. 3.
The metes and bounds of claim 1 are indefinite because it is unclear what genes are encompassed by the recitation of “AeABR1.” The specification indicates that “AeABR1” refers to an okra (Abelmoschus esculentus) ERF transcription factor[0008]. However, claim 1 encompasses all plant species and claim 9 further indicates that the method of claim 1 is not limited to okra. It is unclear if “AeABR1” as recited in claim 1 is to be interpreted to be limited to the okra gene AeABR1 gene or is to be interpreted to encompass AeABR1 genes from other plant species.
The scope of claim 7 is indefinite because it is unclear what is intended by the term “coding capacity”. This is not an art-recognized term or class and Applicant has provided no definition for the term. Does “coding capacity” relate to gene expression in some way?
The metes and bounds of claim 8 are indefinite because it is unclear what recitation is intended by the “~” symbol. It is unclear how SEQ ID NOs.40 and 41 are related. It is unclear how SEQ ID NOs.42 and 43 are related.
The metes and bounds of claims 8-9 are unclear because the structure of the sequence(s) comprises within the recited siRNA is unclear. Does the siRNA comprise either of the two SEQ ID NOs. listed in each pair, some combination of either of both SEQ ID NOs., or only one of either SEQ ID NO? For example, with respect to the elected sequences of SEQ ID NOs.42-43, does the recited siRNA comprise SEQ ID NO.42, SEQ ID NO. 43, both SEQ ID NOs. 42 and 43, or some undisclosed sequence composed of portions of either of SEQ ID NO. 42 and SEQ ID NO. 43?
The metes and bounds of claim 10 are unclear because a fruit is not a plant, but part of a plant. Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “fruit of the okra plant” in claim 8 is used by the claim to mean “plant,” while the accepted definition of a “fruit” refers to a seed-bearing structure that develops from the ovary of a flowering plant. Therefore, by the definition most commonly accepted in the art, a fruit is only part of a plant, not a plant. The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Dependent claims are included. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Enablement
9. Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method for reducing chlorophyll degradation in an okra plant comprising reducing the expression of the okra AeABR1 gene comprising SEQ ID NO:1, does not reasonably provide enablement for a method for reducing chlorophyll degradation in an okra plant comprising reducing the expression of any gene annotated as AeABR1 in any plant besides okra. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to practice the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
When determining whether a claimed invention complies with the enablement requirement, factors to consider include: “(1) the quantity of experimentation necessary, (2) the amount of direction or guidance presented, (3) the presence or absence of working examples, (4) the nature of the invention, (5) the state of the prior art, (6) the relative skill of those in the art, (7) the predictability or unpredictability of the art, and (8) the breadth of the claims.” Id.
The claimed invention is not enabled for the following reasons.
Claim 1 is indefinite and, for the purpose of compact prosecution, is interpreted as described above in the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). The breadth of the claims is found in claim 1, herein interpreted to be directed to a method for reducing chlorophyll degradation in a plant comprising decreasing expression of the AeABR1 gene, thereby reducing expression of the AeABR1 protein to decrease the expression of genes associated with the induction of chlorophyll degradation.
The nature of the invention comprises reducing and/or delaying chlorophyll degradation in an okra plant.
The level of ordinary skill in the art is high.
The art is well-developed with regard to the understanding of chlorophyll degradation. The art (Xiao et al., Postharvest Biology and Technology. 2022; 190:111951 (U)) teaches that treatment with gibberellic acid postpones fruit senescence and chlorophyll degradation and also down-regulates the expression of genes such as AeNYC, AeNOL, AeSGR, AePAO, AeCLH, AeRCCR, AePPH and AeHCAR involved in chlorophyll degradation in okra (Abstract). However, while Xiao teaches a method for reducing chlorophyll degradation in an okra plant (Abstract; p. 02, “3.2. Effect of GA treatment on Chl content in okras during storage”; Figure 3), comprising: decreasing the expression of the AeABR1 gene (p. 03, “3.4. Effect of GA treatment on expression of ERF transcription factors”; Figure 5), thereby reducing the expression level of the AeABR1 protein, thereby decreasing the expression of genes associated with the induction of chlorophyll degradation (p. 02, “3.3. Effect of GA treatment on expression of genes involved in Chl Degradation”), the art does not disclose the presence of an AeABR1 gene or protein in any species besides A. esceluntus.
While the claims are drawn to a method for reducing chlorophyll degradation in any plant comprising any AeABR1 gene,
Applicant’s working examples describe only a single AeABR1 gene (Example 1). Said gene is obtained from okra and comprises SEQ ID NO:1. Example 2 describes the transient expression and subcellular localization of AeABR1-GFP in Nicotiana benthamiana leaves[0063], the overexpression of AeABR1-GFP in okra[0064-0066], and the siRNA-mediated downregulation of the expression of AeABR1 in okra[0067-0069]. Example 3 discloses the generation transgenic Arabidopsis plants overexpressing AeABR1. Examples 1-3 indicate that the overexpression of AeABR1 in either okra[0066] or Arabidopsis[0079] increases chlorophyll degradation and the expression of chlorophyll degradation genes. Example 4 discloses that AeABR1 functions as a transcription factor for the AeCLH1 gene, which functions in chlorophyll degradation[0085].
Applicant does not disclose working examples wherein the expression of AeABR1 has been reduced in any plant besides okra. Furthermore, Applicant’s disclosure indicates that Examples 1-3 only provide support for the role of AeABR1 in promoting chlorophyll degradation in okra leaves[0080] (see excerpt from p. 18 of the instant specification, below). It is unclear what effect, if any, reducing the expression of AeABR1 would have on chlorophyll in a plant that does not natively comprise SEQ ID NO:1.
Accordingly, neither Applicant, nor the state of the art provide sufficient guidance as to how one could predict the identity of any AeABR1 gene sequence besides the one sequence disclosed by Applicant in any plant species besides okra without engaging in extensive experimentation. Therefore, without further guidance from either Applicant or the art, one of ordinary skill in the art could not predict how to reduce chlorophyll degradation in a plant by decreasing AeABR1 gene activity without engaging in extensive and undue experimentation.
Weighing all of the Wands factors based on the totality of the record as discussed above, the Office determines that it would require undue experimentation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to make and use the invention as claimed. Accordingly, claim 1 is not enabled.
Claims 2-5 do not sufficiently limit the scope of the recitation encompassing all plant species. Accordingly, claims 2-5 are also not enabled.
Claims 6-9 do not sufficiently limit the scope of the recitation encompassing all plants or the sequence of the genes annotated as “AeABR1”. Accordingly, claims 6-9 are also not enabled.
Claims 10-11 do not sufficiently limited the scope of the sequence of the genes annotated as “AeABR1”. Accordingly, claims 10-11 are also not enabled.
Written Description
10. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims all require the reduced expression of a gene AeABR1 and the reduced expression of chlorophyll degradation genes. Claim 1 encompasses any chlorophyll biosynthetic gene named “AeABRI1” in any plant species. The recitation of AeABR1 is broad and lacks adequate written description. The recitations encompassing non-okra (A. esceluntus) plant species is broad and lacks adequate written description.
Applicant’s disclosure is as discussed above. Applicant does not disclose any “AeABR1” gene besides a single sequence obtained from okra and comprising SEQ ID NO:1. Applicant does not disclose working examples wherein the expression of AeABR1 has been reduced in any plant besides okra. Furthermore, Applicant’s disclosure indicates that Examples 1-3 only provide support for the role of AeABR1 in promoting chlorophyll degradation in okra leaves[0080] (see excerpt from p. 18 of the instant specification, above).
While the state of the art (Xiao et al., Postharvest Biology and Technology. 2022; 190:111951 (U)) discloses an okra AeABR1 gene and a method for reducing chlorophyll degradation in an okra plant (Abstract; p. 02, “3.2. Effect of GA treatment on Chl content in okras during storage”; Figure 3), comprising: decreasing the expression of said gene (p. 03, “3.4. Effect of GA treatment on expression of ERF transcription factors”; Figure 5), the art does not disclose the presence of an AeABR1 gene or protein in any species besides the okra A. esceluntus.
MPEP § 2163 states that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. See, e.g., AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 759 F.3d 1285, 111 USPQ2d 1780 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Applicant’s disclosure of a single “AeABR1” gene in okra is not sufficiently descriptive of a representative number of such a gene in other plant species. Applicant has not disclosed relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties by which such a gene could be identified in non-okra plants. Applicant has not disclosed functional characteristics of AeABR1 coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure. Accordingly, there is lack of adequate written description to inform a skilled artisan that Applicant was in possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Claims 2-9 do not sufficiently limit the scope of the encompassed plants to overcome the rejection to claim 1. Accordingly, claims 2-9 also lack adequate written description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
12. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon without significantly more.
In Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc., --U.S.--(June 13, 2013), the Supreme Court decided that a naturally-occurring nucleic acid or fragment thereof, whether isolated or not, is not patent-eligible. Therefore, naturally-occurring products, including proteins, are not patent-eligible. Similarly, naturally-occurring processes are not patent-eligible.
The claims recite a method for reducing chlorophyll degradation in a plant comprising decreasing the activity of the AeABR1 gene. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because this phenomenon occurs naturally in okra plants. Xiao et al. (Postharvest Biology and Technology. 2022; 190:111951 (U)) teaches that treatment of okra plants with gibberellic acid lowers the transcript level of the AeABR1 gene (p. 03, “3.4. Effect of GA treatment on expression of ERF transcription factors”; Figure 5) and reduced chlorophyll degradation (Abstract). Gibberellic acid is a major hormone in plants, and the levels of gibberellic acid fluctuate in response to developmental and environmental cues (see instant Example 1). Therefore, the levels of gibberellic acid naturally increase in a plant during certain conditions. Since increased gibberellic acid decreases AeABR1 gene activity and chlorophyll degradation and the levels of gibberellic acid naturally increase in a plant during certain conditions, a method for reducing chlorophyll degradation comprising decreasing AeABR1 gene activity encompasses a natural phenomenon. Claim 1 does not contain any further steps integrating this judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, claim 1 is not patentable.
Claims 2 and 3 only recite the nucleotide and amino acid sequence of the AeABR1 gene and protein and claims 4-6 recite genes whose expression is affected by AeABR1. These additional elements do not add significantly more to the claims. Because claims 2-6 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, claims 2-6 are also not patentable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
14. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiao et al. (Postharvest Biology and Technology. 2022; 190:111951 (U)).
Xiao discloses that treatment of postharvest okra plants with gibberellic acid postpones fruit senescence and chlorophyll degradation and decreases the expression of genes involved in chlorophyll degradation such as AeNYC, AeNOL, AeSGR, AePAO, AeCLH, AePPH, and AeHCAR (Abstract).
Regarding claim 1, Xiao teaches a method for reducing chlorophyll degradation in a plant (Abstract; p. 02, “3.2. Effect of GA treatment on Chl content in okras during storage”; Figure 3), comprising: decreasing the expression of the AeABRI1 gene (p. 03, “3.4. Effect of GA treatment on expression of ERF transcription factors”; Figure 5), thereby reducing the expression level of the AeABR1 protein, thereby decreasing the expression of genes associated with the induction of chlorophyll degradation (p. 02, “3.3. Effect of GA treatment on expression of genes involved in Chl Degradation”).
Regarding claim 2, the teachings of Xiao are as discussed above. Though Xiao teaches an Abelmoschus esculentus ethylene response factor ABR1 (annotated as “AeABR1”), Xiao does not explicitly describe the polynucleotide sequence of said AeABR1 gene. However, Applicant discloses that SEQ ID NO:1 comprises the polynucleotide sequence encoding the A. esculentus ethylene response factor AeABR1 which was identified from okra treated with gibberellic acid[0008],[0010],[0050],[0058]. Accordingly, the Office asserts that the SEQ ID NO:1 comprises the naturally-occurring A. esculentus AeABR1 gene, which was previously described by Xiao. Therefore, in disclosing an okra plant in which the expression of AeABR1 had been decreased, Xiao discloses and anticipates an okra plant in which the expression of SEQ ID NO:1 had been decreased.
Regarding claim 3, the teachings of Xiao are as discussed above. Though Xiao teaches an Abelmoschus esculentus ethylene response factor ABR1 (annotated as “AeABR1”), Xiao is silent regarding the amino acid sequence of the AeABR1 polypeptide encoded therein. However, as discussed above, the Office asserts that the SEQ ID NO:1 comprises the naturally-occurring A. esculentus AeABR1 gene, which was previously described by Xiao. Applicant discloses that SEQ ID NO:2 is the AeABR1 polypeptide sequence encoded by SEQ ID NO:1[0010]. Additionally, the sequence of a polypeptide is inherent to the sequence of the polynucleotide encoding the polypeptide. Therefore, in disclosing an okra plant in which the expression of SEQ ID NO:1 had been decreased, Xiao inherently discloses an okra plant in which the expression of SEQ ID NO:2 has been decreased.
Regarding claim 4, in addition to the teachings discussed above, Xiao also teaches wherein the chlorophyll degradation-related gene is AeCLH1 (p. 02, “3.3. Effect of GA treatment on expression of genes involved in Chl Degradation”).
Regarding claims 5-6, the teachings of Xiao are as discussed above. Xiao is silent regarding the sequence of the AeCLH1 gene. However, Applicant discloses that SEQ ID NO:3 comprises the polynucleotide sequence encoding the A. esculentus chlorophyll degradation-related gene AeCLH1 which was identified in okra treated with gibberellic acid[0020-0023],[0058]. Applicant does not disclose or indicate any modification of the AeCLH1 gene. Accordingly, the Office asserts that SEQ ID NO:3 comprises the coding sequence of the naturally-occurring A. esculentus AeCLH1 gene, which was previously described by Xiao. Because Xiao describes okra AeCLH1 transcripts, Applicant’s SEQ ID NO:3 was cloned from an okra AeCLH1 transcript[0058], and the cloning of coding sequences from RNA transcripts is routine in the art, an AeCLH1 gene comprising SEQ ID NO:3 is obvious in view of Xiao’s teachings regarding AeCLH1.
Accordingly, the claimed invention is anticipated by the prior art.
Conclusion
15. No claim is allowed.
Examiner’s Contact Information
/DEQUANTARIUS JAVON SPEED/Examiner, Art Unit 1663
/Amjad Abraham/SPE, Art Unit 1663