DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5, 10-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haruta (US 2020/0405983).
In regards to claim 5, Haruta teaches a method of delivering a therapeutic formulation via an olfactory cleft of a subject (paragraph [0211]: 25 mg of a tartrazine-containing test preparation was filled into the preparation filling part of the device, the nozzle part thereof was inserted into one nostril of the human nasal cavity model, the nasal cavity of which was moistened with artificial saliva, and the air generating part was operated to deliver the test preparation into the nasal cavity. After delivery, the human nasal cavity model was disassembled, and the preparation adhered to the olfactory region)(paragraph [0146]: Examples of the modality of the active ingredient of the olfactory region powder preparation include, but are not particularly limited to… middle molecule drugs including peptide drugs, protein medicaments including antibody medicaments, nucleic acid medicaments, cellular medicaments, regenerative medicine, and vaccine antigens including peptide antigens), the method comprising:
delivering the therapeutic formulation to the olfactory cleft (paragraph [0211]: 25 mg of a tartrazine-containing test preparation was filled into the preparation filling part of the device, the nozzle part thereof was inserted into one nostril of the human nasal cavity model, the nasal cavity of which was moistened with artificial saliva, and the air generating part was operated to deliver the test preparation into the nasal cavity. After delivery, the human nasal cavity model was disassembled, and the preparation adhered to the olfactory region)(paragraph [0146]: Examples of the modality of the active ingredient of the olfactory region powder preparation include, but are not particularly limited to… middle molecule drugs including peptide drugs, protein medicaments including antibody medicaments, nucleic acid medicaments, cellular medicaments, regenerative medicine, and vaccine antigens including peptide antigens)
waiting for a duration of time (paragraph [0211] states “After delivery, the human nasal cavity model was disassembled” which is understood to occur over a duration of time)
delivering a purging formulation to target the olfactory cleft, thereby physically displacing the therapeutic formulation from the olfactory cleft (paragraph [0211]: the preparation adhered to the olfactory region… of the human nasal cavity model shown in FIG. 2 were washed off with purified water and recovered)
In regards to claim 10, Haruta teaches wherein the purging formulation forms a bolus within the olfactory cleft (paragraph [0211]: the preparation adhered to the olfactory region… of the human nasal cavity model shown in FIG. 2 were washed off with purified water).
In regards to claim 11, Haruta teaches wherein the purging formulation is configured to exert a pressure on a substance within the olfactory cleft to physically displace the substance from the olfactory cleft (paragraph [0211]: the preparation adhered to the olfactory region… of the human nasal cavity model shown in FIG. 2 were washed off with purified water and recovered).
In regards to claim 12, Haruta teaches wherein the purging formulation is configured to draw a substance from within the olfactory cleft into the purging formulation (paragraph [0211]: the preparation adhered to the olfactory region… of the human nasal cavity model shown in FIG. 2 were washed off with purified water and recovered).
In regards to claim 14, Haruta teaches wherein the olfactory cleft is a left olfactory cleft and/or a right olfactory cleft, and wherein the purging formulation is delivered selectively to the left olfactory cleft or the right olfactory cleft (paragraph [0211]: the right and left nasal cavities can be separated from the nasal septum, making it possible to easily observe the distribution of a preparation delivered into the nasal cavity model and wash off and recover the preparation… the preparation adhered to the olfactory region… of the human nasal cavity model shown in FIG. 2 were washed off with purified water).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 16-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haruta, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Alvey et al (US 8,652,096).
In regards to claim 1, Haruta teaches a device (paragraph [0211]: device) for controlled delivery of a therapeutic formulation via an olfactory cleft of a subject according to the method of claim 5, the device comprising:
a first chamber (paragraph [0211]: preparation filling part) configured to hold the therapeutic formulation
a purging formulation for physically displacing the therapeutic formulation from the olfactory cleft (paragraph [0211]: the preparation adhered to the olfactory region… of the human nasal cavity model shown in FIG. 2 were washed off with purified water and recovered)
a delivery mechanism (paragraph [0211]: air generating part) configured to deliver the therapeutic formulation, and to sequentially deliver the therapeutic formulation and the purging formulation to the olfactory cleft (paragraph [0211]: the preparation adhered to the olfactory region… of the human nasal cavity model shown in FIG. 2 were washed off with purified water)
Haruta is silent about the device comprising a second chamber configured to hold the purging formulation. And Haruta is silent about the delivery mechanism configured to deliver the purging formulation. Alvey et al teaches a device (Figures 1-3C), comprising a first chamber (12) configured to hold a therapeutic formulation, a second chamber (14) configured to hold a purging formulation for physically displacing the therapeutic formulation, and a delivery mechanism (machine or other structure) configured to sequentially deliver the therapeutic formulation and the purging formulation (column 6, lines 43-45)(column 7, lines 3-4). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device, of Haruta, to comprise a second chamber configured to hold the purging formulation and the delivery mechanism configured to sequentially deliver the therapeutic formulation and the purging formulation, as taught by Alvey et al, as such will provide a compressible multi-chamber delivery device superior to existing conventional delivery devices for sequentially administering two materials (column 2, lines 15-19).
In regards to claim 2, in the modified device of Haruta and Alvey et al, Haruta teaches a dispensing tip (paragraph [0211]: nozzle part) configured to allow for precision delivery of the therapeutic formulation, and precision delivery of the therapeutic formulation and the purging formulation to the olfactory cleft (paragraph [0211]); however, Haruta is silent about the dispensing tip configured to allow for precision delivery of the purging formulation. Alvey et al teaches a dispensing tip (24) configured to allow for precision delivery of the therapeutic formulation and the purging formulation. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dispensing tip, of the modified device of Haruta and Alvey et al, to be configured to allow for precision delivery of the therapeutic formulation and the purging formulation, as taught by Alvey et al, as such will form a channel for passage of the two materials from the compressible multi-chamber delivery device superior to existing conventional delivery devices for sequentially administering two materials (column 5, lines 46-48)(column 2, lines 15-19).
In regards to claim 3, in the modified device of Haruta and Alvey et al, Haruta is silent about wherein the device is configured to eject each of the therapeutic formulation and the purging formulation as sequential laminar jets. Alvey et al teaches wherein the device is configured to eject each of the therapeutic formulation and the purging formulation as sequential laminar jets (Figures 3A-3B). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device, of Haruta and Alvey et al, to be configured to eject each of the therapeutic formulation and the purging formulation as sequential laminar jets, as taught by Alvey et al, as such will provide a compressible multi-chamber delivery device superior to existing conventional delivery devices for sequentially administering two materials (column 2, lines 15-19).
In regards to claim 6, Haruta is silent about wherein the delivering the purging formulation comprises dispensing the purging formulation from a delivery device as a laminar flow. Alvey et al teaches a method, wherein delivering a purging formulation comprises dispensing the purging formulation from a delivery device (Figures 1-3C) as a laminar flow (Figure 3B). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the delivering the purging formulation, of the method of Haruta, to comprise dispensing the purging formulation from a delivery device as a laminar flow, as taught by Alvey et al, as such will provide a compressible multi-chamber delivery device superior to existing conventional delivery devices for sequentially administering two materials (column 2, lines 15-19).
In regards to claim 16, Haruta is silent about wherein the therapeutic formulation and the purging formulation are delivered via a single dual-chamber device. Alvey et al teaches a method, wherein a therapeutic formulation and a purging formulation are delivered via a single dual-chamber device (Figures 1-3C). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the therapeutic formulation and the purging formulation, of the method of Haruta, to be delivered via a single dual-chamber device, as taught by Alvey et al, as such will provide a compressible multi-chamber delivery device superior to existing conventional delivery devices for sequentially administering two materials (column 2, lines 15-19).
In regards to claim 17, Haruta is silent about wherein the therapeutic formulation and the purging formulation are delivered via a device configured to sequentially deliver the therapeutic formulation from a first primary drug container and the purging formulation from a secondary drug container. Alvey et al teaches a method, wherein a therapeutic formulation and a purging formulation are delivered via a device (Figures 1-3C) configured to sequentially deliver the therapeutic formulation from a first primary drug container (12) and the purging formulation from a secondary drug container (14). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the therapeutic formulation and the purging formulation, of the method of Haruta, to be delivered via a device configured to sequentially deliver the therapeutic formulation from a first primary drug container and the purging formulation from a secondary drug container, as taught by Alvey et al, as such will provide a compressible multi-chamber delivery device superior to existing conventional delivery devices for sequentially administering two materials (column 2, lines 15-19).
In regards to claim 20, Haruta teaches delivery of the purging formulation to an olfactory region of the subject (paragraph [0211]: the preparation adhered to the olfactory region… of the human nasal cavity model shown in FIG. 2 were washed off with purified water); however, Haruta is silent about wherein the purging formulation is delivered via a device comprising: a housing defining a first insertable portion and a second insertable portion, each of the first insertable portion and the second insertable portion for insertion into a nasal channel of the subject, wherein, upon the insertion of the first insertable portion into the nasal channel of the subject, at least one of the first insertable portion and the second insertable portion engages tissue within the nasal channel to open or expand an internal nasal valve of the subject thereby positioning at least one of the first insertable portion and the second insertable portion for delivery of the purging formulation; and an actuator which delivers the purging formulation from either or both of the first insertable portion and the second insertable portion when the device is actuated. Alvey et al teaches a method, wherein a purging formulation is delivered via a device (Figures 1-3C) comprising: a housing defining a first insertable portion (proximal portion of 50) and a second insertable portion (distal portion of 50), each of the first insertable portion and the second insertable portion for insertion into a nasal channel of the subject, wherein, upon the insertion of the first insertable portion into the nasal channel of the subject, at least one of the first insertable portion and the second insertable portion engages tissue within the nasal channel to open or expand an internal nasal valve of the subject thereby positioning at least one of the first insertable portion and the second insertable portion for delivery of the purging formulation (Figure 1); and an actuator (machine or other structure) which delivers the purging formulation from either or both of the first insertable portion and the second insertable portion when the device is actuated (Figure 3B)(column 6, lines 43-45)(column 7, lines 3-4). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the purging formulation, of the method of Haruta, to be delivered via a device comprising a housing defining a first insertable portion and a second insertable portion, and an actuator, as taught by Alvey et al, as such will provide a compressible multi-chamber delivery device superior to existing conventional delivery devices for sequentially administering two materials (column 2, lines 15-19).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haruta and Alvey et al, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Seguin et al (US 10,406,300).
In regards to claim 4, in the modified device of Haruta and Alvey et al, Haruta and Alvey et al are silent about a timer for measurement of a predetermined residence time between delivery of the therapeutic formulation and delivery of the purging formulation. Seguin et al teaches a device (Figures 1-2) comprising a timer (6a) for measurement of a predetermined residence time between delivery of a therapeutic formulation and delivery of a purging formulation. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device, of Haruta and Alvey et al, to comprise a timer, as taught by Seguin et al, as such will measure a time interval elapsed since a previous administration of a formulation (column 10, lines 51-53) which can be sent to a signal processing unit to perform a comparison between the time elapsed since the previous administration and a threshold value stored in memory to send a signal to enable a patient to activate an actuator to self-administer the appropriate formulation based on the results of the comparisons (column 11, lines 61-67, to column 1, lines 1-10).
Claims 7-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haruta, as applied to claim 5 above.
In regards to claim 7, Haruta teaches wherein the delivering the purging formulation comprises dispensing the purging formulation from an ejection zone in a nasal cavity of the subject (paragraph [0211]: In this human nasal cavity model, the right and left nasal cavities can be separated from the nasal septum, making it possible to easily observe the distribution of a preparation delivered into the nasal cavity model and wash off and recover the preparation… the preparation adhered to the olfactory region… of the human nasal cavity model shown in FIG. 2 were washed off with purified water); however, Haruta is silent about wherein the ejection zone is: a) 0mm to 30mm superior to a horizontal line that intersects an anterior aspect of an internal nasal valve, and b) 0mm to 20mm anterior to an inclined line that intersects an anterior aspect of a middle turbinate and a posterior aspect of a vestibule. But before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the ejection zone, of the method of Haruta, to be: a) 0mm to 30mm superior to a horizontal line that intersects an anterior aspect of an internal nasal valve, and b) 0mm to 20mm anterior to an inclined line that intersects an anterior aspect of a middle turbinate and a posterior aspect of a vestibule, as Applicant has not disclosed that such a location of the ejection zone provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the ejection zone simply being in the human nasal cavity, as taught by Haruta, as a person having ordinary skill in the art would have known where to position the location of the ejection zone in order for the purging formulation to have the effect of washing off the therapeutic formulation.
In regards to claim 8, Haruta teaches wherein the purging formulation and the therapeutic formulation are delivered via ejection from a delivery device (paragraph [0211]); however, Haruta is silent about wherein a volume of the purging formulation ejected is not more than 2-fold a volume of the therapeutic formulation. But before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify a volume of the purging formulation ejected, of the method of Haruta, to be not more than 2-fold a volume of the therapeutic formulation, as Applicant has not disclosed that such a volume of the purging formulation ejected provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with a volume of the purging formulation ejected to simply be enough to have the effect of washing off the therapeutic formulation, as taught by Haruta, as a person having ordinary skill in the art would have known how to select a volume of the purging formulation ejected in order for the purging formulation to have the effect of washing off the therapeutic formulation.
In regards to claim 9, Haruta is silent about wherein the purging formulation is delivered at a velocity of between about 3 m/s and about 15 m/s. But before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the purging formulation, of the method of Haruta, to be delivered at a velocity of between about 3 m/s and about 15 m/s, as Applicant has not disclosed that such a velocity of the purging formulation provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the purging formulation being delivered at a velocity simply enough to have the effect of washing off the therapeutic formulation, as taught by Haruta, as a person having ordinary skill in the art would have known how to select the velocity of the purging formulation in order for the purging formulation to have the effect of washing off the therapeutic formulation.
In regards to claim 15, Haruta teaches wherein the olfactory cleft is a left olfactory cleft and/or a right olfactory cleft, and wherein: (i) the purging formulation is delivered selectively to the left olfactory cleft (paragraph [0211]: the… left nasal cavities… making it possible to easily observe the distribution of a preparation delivered into the nasal cavity model and wash off and recover the preparation… the preparation adhered to the olfactory region… of the human nasal cavity model shown in FIG. 2 were washed off with purified water) and a second purging formulation (Table 3 shows multiple delivery examples from which it is understood that there would be multiple purging formulations); however, while Haruta teaches a right nasal cavity (paragraph [0211]: the right… nasal cavities), Haruta is silent about the second purging formulation being delivered selectively to the right olfactory cleft. But it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second purging formulation, of the method of Haruta, to be delivered selectively to the right olfactory cleft, as such will allow for determining how much of the therapeutic formulation can be distributed to the right olfactory cleft.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haruta, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Goldfarb et al (US 2020/0276434).
In regards to claim 13, Haruta is silent about wherein the purging formulation is configured to cause an osmotic pressure sufficient to reverse a direction of a drug flow through a tissue of the olfactory cleft. Goldfarb et al teaches a method, wherein a purging formulation (hydrogel) is configured to cause an osmotic pressure sufficient to reverse a direction of a drug flow (delivery of therapeutic substance TS) through a tissue of an olfactory cleft (paragraph [0081]: injecting from a suitable deployment device (not shown) a hydrogel mixed with therapeutic substance TS through nasal cavity NC into the region adjacent to target area TA. The hydrogel-based reservoir 810 enables delivery of therapeutic substance TS to target area TA by osmotic transport). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the purging formulation, of the method of Haruta, to be configured to cause an osmotic pressure sufficient to reverse a direction of a drug flow through a tissue of the olfactory cleft, as taught by Goldfarb et al, as such will enable delivery of a drug to a target area (paragraph [0081]) for treatment of a patient.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haruta, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Seguin et al.
In regards to claim 18, Haruta is silent about wherein the duration of time between the delivery of the therapeutic formulation and the delivery of the purging formulation is selected based on a monitored biomarker. Seguin et al teaches a method, wherein a duration of time between a delivery of a therapeutic formulation and a delivery of a purging formulation is selected based on a monitored biomarker (biological parameter) (column 11, lines 58-67, to column 12, lines 1-10: Signal processing unit 4, upon receiving the data from the one or more devices for measuring at least one biological parameter, e.g., respiratory rate sensor 6b and/or oximeter 6c, and/or the flow sensor, may interrogate timer 6a to calculate a current time value. Timer 6a may then send the time value to signal processing unit 4 for storage in memory 14. Signal processing unit 4 may perform a comparison between the physiological value obtained from the one or more devices for measuring at least one biological parameter, and a threshold value stored in memory 14, and/or signal processing unit 4 may perform a comparison between the time elapsed since the previous administration, e.g., difference between time value stored in memory 14 and an updated time value received from timer 6a at the time of the comparison, and a threshold value stored in memory 14. Signal processing unit 4 may send a signal to valve chamber 5 and sensory alarm 9 to enable the patient to activate actuator 8 to self-administer the appropriate active formulation based on the results of the comparisons). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the duration of time between the delivery of the therapeutic formulation and the delivery of the purging formulation, of the method of Haruta, to be selected based on a monitored biomarker, as taught by Seguin et al, as such will interrogate a timer to calculate a current time value which can be sent to a signal processing unit to perform a comparison between the time elapsed since the previous administration and a threshold value stored in memory to send a signal to enable a patient to activate an actuator to self-administer the appropriate formulation based on the results of the comparisons (column 11, lines 58-67, to column 1, lines 1-10).
In regards to claim 19, Haruta is silent about wherein the duration of time between the delivery of the therapeutic formulation and the delivery of the purging formulation is selected based on a monitored biomarker selected from a group consisting of: a body temperature, a blood pressure measurement, a heart rate measurement, a respiration rate measurement, a blood oxygenation level, electroencephalography (EEG), and observation of pupil dilation. Seguin et al teaches a method, wherein a duration of time between a delivery of a therapeutic formulation and a delivery of a purging formulation is selected based on a monitored biomarker such as a respiration rate measurement (column 11, lines 58-67, to column 12, lines 1-10: Signal processing unit 4, upon receiving the data from the one or more devices for measuring at least one biological parameter, e.g., respiratory rate sensor 6b and/or oximeter 6c, and/or the flow sensor, may interrogate timer 6a to calculate a current time value. Timer 6a may then send the time value to signal processing unit 4 for storage in memory 14. Signal processing unit 4 may perform a comparison between the physiological value obtained from the one or more devices for measuring at least one biological parameter, and a threshold value stored in memory 14, and/or signal processing unit 4 may perform a comparison between the time elapsed since the previous administration, e.g., difference between time value stored in memory 14 and an updated time value received from timer 6a at the time of the comparison, and a threshold value stored in memory 14. Signal processing unit 4 may send a signal to valve chamber 5 and sensory alarm 9 to enable the patient to activate actuator 8 to self-administer the appropriate active formulation based on the results of the comparisons). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the duration of time between the delivery of the therapeutic formulation and the delivery of the purging formulation, of the method of Haruta, to be selected based on a monitored biomarker such as a respiration rate measurement, as taught by Seguin et al, as such will interrogate a timer to calculate a current time value which can be sent to a signal processing unit to perform a comparison between the time elapsed since the previous administration and a threshold value stored in memory to send a signal to enable a patient to activate an actuator to self-administer the appropriate formulation based on the results of the comparisons (column 11, lines 58-67, to column 1, lines 1-10).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 28, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
In regards to claim 5, Applicant argued: Applicant submits that Haruta at least does not teach "waiting for a duration of time"; and "delivering a purging formulation to target the olfactory cleft, thereby physically displacing the therapeutic formulation from the olfactory cleft."… Applicant submits that when the claim terms are interpreted with their broadest reasonable interpretation, instead of their broadest possible interpretation, it can be concluded that claim 5 is novel over Haruta: Nowhere does Haruta teach "waiting for a duration of time", and "delivering a purging formulation to target the olfactory cleft, thereby physically displacing the therapeutic formulation from the olfactory cleft." (Remarks, pages 2-5). Examiner disagrees. Haruta teaches waiting for a duration of time (paragraph [0211] states “After delivery, the human nasal cavity model was disassembled” which is understood to occur over a duration of time), and delivering a purging formulation to target the olfactory cleft, thereby physically displacing the therapeutic formulation from the olfactory cleft (paragraph [0211]: the preparation adhered to the olfactory region… of the human nasal cavity model shown in FIG. 2 were washed off with purified water and recovered).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHEFALI D PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783