DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 7/7/2026.
Claims 8-9 and 17-18 are canceled. Claims 1-7, 10-16 and 19 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments have fixed the deficiencies set forth in the previous Office Action hence the respective rejections/objections have been withdrawn, except for those rejections/objections if still maintained or newly added in this Office Action.
Specifically, the Terminal Disclaimer Applicant filed has overcome the double-patenting rejection set forth in previous Office action.
The newly added limitations in claims 1 and 11 are still taught by prior art CN352 (please see details in the 103 rejection section). Therefore, claims are unpatentable.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments about the rejections for claims under 35 U.S.C § 103, the arguments have been fully considered
Applicant has added new limitation “extracting a cell ID after the first to nth processes are completed, wherein the cell ID is provided when one of the first to nth processes is performed”, and argued in substance that reference CN352 only teaches to generate and attach the barcode after production ends instead of in the middle of the multiple production processes. However, the newly added limitation recites “the cell ID is provided when one of the first to nth processes is performed”, which does not preclude when the last process is performed. In its broadest reasonable interpretation, the newly added limitation includes a scenario that the ID/barcode is provided when the last/nth process has been performed. Therefore, the newly added limitation is still taught by reference CN352.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-13 and 15-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huemiller (US 20230198034 A1, prior art of record, hereinafter as “Huemiller”) in view of CN 113656352 A (prior art of record, hereinafter as “CN352”).
Regarding claim 1, Huemiller teaches a data processing method in a battery manufacturing process (data monitoring stages S1-S10 in FIG. 1 and [0037-0045]), but does not teach generating a virtual identifier (ID) corresponding to a battery cell; associating the virtual ID with process data generated for the battery cell in a progression of battery processing operations comprising first to nth processes; extracting a cell ID provided after the first to nth processes are completed, wherein the cell ID is provided when one of the first to nth processes is performed; generating process information by matching the process data associated with the virtual ID with the cell ID; and transmitting the process information including matched process data and the cell ID to an upper control system for analysis of the battery cell.
However, CN352 teaches in an analogous art:
generating a virtual identifier (ID) corresponding to a product ([0036]: “The first generating unit is configured to generate a virtual serial number corresponding to the production article when it is detected that the production article enters the automatic production line”);
associating the virtual ID with process data generated for the product ([0036]: “and the production article corresponds to the virtual serial number in a one-to-one manner”; and [0038]: “A storage unit, configured to store the production information in a data file corresponding to the virtual number”)) in a progression of product processing operations comprising first to nth processes (FIG.s 4a and 4b: shows an automatic production line comprises “station G1, station G2, station G3, and station G4”);
extracting a cell ID after the first to nth processes are completed, wherein the cell ID is provided when one of the first to nth processes is performed (in its broadest reasonable interpretation, the recited limitation “when one of the first to nth processes is performed” includes when the last/nth process is performed, i.e., when the production is finished. CN352 teaches in [0039]: “The second generating unit is configured to generate a production barcode corresponding to the virtual number when it is detected that the production of the production item in the automatic production line is finished, and to combine the production barcode, the virtual number…”);
generating process information by matching the process data associated with the virtual ID with the cell ID ([0039]: “The second generating unit is configured to generate a production barcode corresponding to the virtual number when it is detected that the production of the production item in the automatic production line is finished, and to combine the production barcode, the virtual number”); and
transmitting the process information including matched process data and the cell ID to an upper control system for analysis of the product ([0061]: “after the second generation unit stores the production barcode, the virtual number, and the data file corresponding to the virtual number to the service equipment corresponding to the automatic production line”. The “service equipment” is “an upper control system”. According to CN352’s teachings in [0003], the stored process information is for analysis of the product).
CN352 teaches a data processing method in a solar battery manufacturing ([0091]), which can also be used in a process of battery manufacturing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huemiller based on the teaching of CN352, to make the data processing method in a battery manufacturing process to further comprise: generating a virtual identifier (ID) corresponding to a battery cell; associating the virtual ID with process data generated for the battery cell in a progression of battery processing operations comprising first to nth processes; extracting a cell ID after the first to nth processes are completed, wherein the cell ID is provided when one of the first to nth processes is performed; generating process information by matching the process data associated with the virtual ID with the cell ID; and transmitting the process information including matched process data and the cell ID to an upper control system for analysis of the battery cell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to “trace and control defective products”, as CN352 suggests in [0003].
Regarding claim 2, Huemiller-CN352 teach(es) all the limitations of its base claim from which the claim depends on.
CN352 further teaches:
the process data comprise a work result and/or a test result of at least one processing operation included in the manufacturing process for the product ([0037]: “obtain the production information generated during the production of the production item by the production equipment”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Huemiller based on the teaching of CN352, to make the data processing method wherein the process data comprise a work result and/or a test result of at least one battery processing operation included in the battery manufacturing process for the battery cell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to “trace and control defective products”, as CN352 suggests in [0003].
Regarding claim 3, Huemiller-CN352 teach(es) all the limitations of its base claim from which the claim depends on.
CN352 further teaches:
the extracting of the cell ID for the battery cell comprises reading a cell ID that is in a form of barcode or QR code at the product ([0039]: “The second generating unit is configured to generate a production barcode corresponding to the virtual number when it is detected that the production of the production item in the automatic production line is finished, and to combine the production barcode, the virtual number…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Huemiller based on the teaching of CN352, to make the data processing method wherein the extracting of the cell ID for the battery cell comprises reading a cell ID that is in a form of barcode or QR code at the battery cell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to “trace and control defective products”, as CN352 suggests in [0003].
Regarding claim 5, Huemiller-CN352 teach(es) all the limitations of its base claim from which the claim depends on.
CN352 further teaches:
the virtual ID is generated based on a time point when the product is loaded into a process line ([0036]: “The first generating unit is configured to generate a virtual serial number corresponding to the production article when it is detected that the production article enters the automatic production line”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Huemiller based on the teaching of CN352, to make the data processing method wherein the virtual ID is generated based on a time point when the battery cell is loaded into a process line. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to “trace and control defective products”, as CN352 suggests in [0003].
Regarding claim 6, Huemiller-CN352 teach(es) all the limitations of its base claim from which the claim depends on.
CN352 further teaches:
the upper control system comprises at least one of an Edge Computer System (ECS) or an Equipment Data Collection (EDC) system ([0061]: “after the second generation unit stores the production barcode, the virtual number, and the data file corresponding to the virtual number to the service equipment corresponding to the automatic production line”. The “service equipment” is “an upper control system”. The “service equipment” collects equipment process data, so it is an “equipment data collection system”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Huemiller based on the teaching of CN352, to make the data processing method wherein the upper control system comprises at least one of an Edge Computer System (ECS) or an Equipment Data Collection (EDC) system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to “trace and control defective products”, as CN352 suggests in [0003].
Regarding claim 7, Huemiller-CN352 teach(es) all the limitations of its base claim from which the claim depends on.
Huemiller further teaches:
the data processing method is performed by a Programmable Logic Controller (PLC) ([0038]: “one or more processes 110-180 may additionally involve control implemented via the processing circuitry 190 based on the monitoring at one of the stages S1-S10. The processing circuitry 190 may include an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), an electronic circuit, a processor (shared, dedicated, or group) and memory that executes one or more software or firmware programs, a combinational logic circuit, and/or other suitable components that provide the described functionality”).
Regarding claim 10, Huemiller-CN352 teach(es) all the limitations of its base claim from which the claim depends on.
CN352 further teaches:
the cell ID is attached to a device carrying the product ([0034]: “Printing the production barcode, and pasting the printed production barcode to the production article”. The shell/(out surface) of the product is also a device carrying the product).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Huemiller based on the teaching of CN352, to make the data processing method wherein the cell ID is attached to a device carrying the battery cell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to “trace and control defective products”, as CN352 suggests in [0003].
Claim 11 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions to implement the data processing method of claim 1 with patentably the same limitations. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected for the same reason recited in the rejection of claim 1.
Claims 12, 13, 15, 16 and 19 recite a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions to implement the data processing method of claims 2, 3, 5, 6 and 10 respectively with patentably the same limitations. Therefore, claims 12, 13, 15, 16 and 19 are rejected for the same reason recited in the rejection of claims 2, 3, 5, 6 and 10, respectively.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huemiller in view of CN352, and in further view of Wegner (US 20170205815 A1, prior art of record, hereinafter as “Wegner”).
Regarding claim 4, Huemiller-CN352 teach(es) all the limitations of its base claim from which the claim depends on, but do not teach the process data matching the cell ID comprises process data collected in a time-series manner throughout a progression of process in the battery manufacturing process for the battery cell.
However, Wegner teaches in an analogous art:
process data collected in a time-series manner throughout the progression of processing operation in the manufacturing process ([Abstract]: “An automated method for discovering features in a repeatable process includes measuring raw time series data during the process using sensors. The time series data describes multiple parameters of the process”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huemiller-CN352 based on the teaching of Wegner, to make the data processing method wherein the process data matching the cell ID comprises process data collected in a time-series manner throughout the progression of battery processing operations in the battery manufacturing process for the battery cell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification since it can help predict “quality of the work piece”, as Wegner teaches in [Abstract].
Claim 14 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions to implement the data processing method of claim 4 with patentably the same limitations. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected for the same reason recited in the rejection of claim 4.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES CAI/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115