Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claim 1, in line 8 of claim 1, “the sockets” lack antecedent basis. Additionally, it is unclear what the structural relationship with the socket(s) are with respect to rest of the invention; the limitations following “the sockets” do not provide further context as to how the sockets are arranged or their structural relationship with respect to the first line, branch points, male/female connectors, and/or the subsequent/additional line(s) discussed in claim 1, thereby amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The claims have been interpreted as best understood by the examiner, meaning that the device includes sockets/some means of a connector. All claims depending from claim 1 are also rejected under 112(b).
Regarding claim 12, lines 8-9 and lines 12-13 of claim 12 recite (emphasis added):
“a plurality of LED bulbs, each having an unthreaded base configured to be inserted into any socket of any light string”
“wherein any socket on any light string interchangeably accepts and securely retains…”
As written, the limitations “of/on any light string” render the claim indefinite since this language would imply that the bulb would be configured to be inserted into any socket of any light string (meaning it would be universally compatible with any light string in existence, which is not accurate or possible given that there are multiple instances of light strings that this would not work with). The examiner suggests amending the claim language to directly refer back to how the plurality of light strings were claimed. As an example, amending as shown below would remedy this and overcome the 112 issues for claims 12-19.
For example, amending as shown below would overcome these issues for claim 12:
12. A decorative light string system comprising:
(a) a plurality of light strings, each light string having a wire and a plurality of sockets spaced along the wire, each socket comprising:
(i) a socket body with external threads surrounding an opening, (ii) electrical contacts within the opening, and (iii)
a threaded collar that is captive to and non-removable from the socket body while remaining freely rotatable thereon and having limited axial travel;
(b) a plurality of LED bulbs, each having an unthreaded base configured to be inserted into any socket of any one of said plurality of light strings;
and (c) a power adapter having a first end configured to connect to an external power source and a second end terminating in an unthreaded male connector identical to the bases of the LED bulbs and surrounded by a captive threaded collar;
wherein any socket on any one of said plurality of light strings interchangeably accepts and securely retains, via hand-rotation of its captive threaded collar, either one of the LED bulbs, the male connector of another identical light string, or the male connector of the power adapter, thereby enabling complete tool-free
interchangeability of all strings and bulbs without dedicated main or branch strings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang US 2008/0049424.
As for claim 1, Wang discloses a decorative light string comprising: (i) a first line C configured to connect with a power source (shows plug configured to connect to external power, Fig 5); (ii) one or more branch points (lamp holders 12) having a male or female connector (shows female connector in Fig 5) distributed along the first line (along C, Fig 5); (iii) one or more additional lines (lines D, Fig 5) having a male or female connector half (shows male connector 11), with a collar (outwardly extending portion below threads 11 shown in Fig 5; collar can also be the collar portion on each bulb, below threads, see 1, Fig 5) configured to reversibly secure a connection between a male connector and a female connector (by screwing/unscrewing 11 or threads of bulb with respect to 12) to connect with the first line (threaded portion 11 can be reversibly secured by screwing/unscrewing while holding onto collar portion, same for bulb) or a subsequent line by being electrically coupled to the first line or an additional line; the sockets are configured to receive either a bulb (there are sockets shown in Fig 5 that are configured at least to secure a bulb, see where 1 is attached to 12) or a line with a threaded collar that slides over an inserted bulb base or a connector and screws into a threaded attachment site on the socket for reversibly securing the bulb or branch line.
As for claim 2, Wang further teaches sockets 12 are configured to connect a line to another line using the collar mechanism for secure fixation (Fig 5 shows this, 12 connects C to D by screwing 11 via holding collar).
As for claim 3, Wang discloses the decorative light string of claim 1, wherein the decorative light string of claim 1, further comprising a power source (power source is inherent given that Wang shows conventional plug and teaches that device emits light, Fig 7, paragraph 0011).
As for claim 4, Wang discloses the decorative light string of claim 4, wherein the power source can power a plurality of LED lines simultaneously (conventional power outlets are known to be able to power a plurality of LED lines simultaneously).
As for claim 5, Wang discloses the decorative light string of claim 1, wherein the first or subsequent line has 1, 5, 10, 20, 30 or more sockets with collar mechanisms (main line C has at least 1 socket with a collar mechanism, see Fig 5).
As for claim 6, Wang discloses the decorative light string of claim 1, wherein the the additional line D has 1, 5, 10, 20, 30, or more sockets with collar mechanisms (D is shown with at lease 1 socket which has a collar corresponding to a bulb, see Fig 5).
As for claim 7, Wang discloses the decorative light string of claim 1, wherein the collar-based coupling mechanism includes ergonomic grips for manual screwing and unscrewing without tools (collar portion is capable of being gripped and manually screwed/unscrewed).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Li US 11503684.
As for claims 8 and 9, Wang discloses the decorative light string of claim 1, but is silent to the light string or system is configured to provide warm light, neutral light, or cool light (claim 8), and wherein the light string or system is configured to provide light at a light temperature of 2700K to 6500K (claim 9). Li teaches a light string or system configured to provide warm light, neutral light, or cool light (LEDs can be adjusted to emit “cool temperatures, col 7 ln 50+), and wherein the light string or system is configured to provide light at a light temperature of 2700K to 6500K (col 7 ln 50+). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to look to Li for the LED light sources and controller that can be adjusted to emit cool light and light with a color temperature of 2700-6500K (can emit 2700K to-300K, at least) for applications where emitting a cool light is desired. One would have been motivated to make this combination to allow the user more control of the color temperature of light emitted by the device of Wang.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Altamura US PAT 11244558.
As for claims 10 and 11, Wang discloses the decorative light string of claim 1, but fails to teach a control system, particularly a Zigbee control system. Altamura teaches a control system, in particular a Zigbee control system (column 21 lines 45-50). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the Zigbee control system with the lighting system of Wang to provide an improved wireless controlling means to control the light sources and provide more convenience to the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-19 include allowable subject matter but have formal matters outstanding (see 112(b) rejections with respect to claim language discussed above).
Barring the introduction of new, relevant art being introduced, claim 12 would be in condition for allowance if amended as discussed above.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cummings US PAT 6042418 discloses an accessory attachment (28) configured to attach to a main line or branch line (branch line 22) and a distal end (right end of 28) configured to connect to a branch line connector (connects to branch lines 32 via connector 36, see Figures 1 and 2).
CHEN US’343 discloses a modular light string with sockets to attach additional light strings.
KOVACS ‘103 teach other examples of sockets that receive lights having pin-based connectors.
/EVAN P DZIERZYNSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875