DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
2. This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 05/26/2026.
a) Claims 1-20 are pending in the application, claims 1- 20 were previously presented.
b) The objection to the Specification is maintaining.
c) Correction regarding the Statement of Substance of Interview: It was conducted through video conference.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed on 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that:
Lee is not prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(2) against the present application (Page 8, Remarks).
In response to A), the examiner respectfully disagrees. A U.S. patent document may be applied as prior art as of its effectively filed date. The effectively filed date for 102(a)(2) references according to 102(d) is the earlier of:
• the actual filing date of the U.S. patent or the published application (U.S. or WIPO), or
• the filing date of the earliest application to which the U.S. patent or the published application (U.S. or WIPO) is entitled to claim a right of foreign priority or domestic benefit which describes the subject matter. Thus, Lee is a prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(2) against the present application.
Lee-KR does not describe the subject matter of Lee relied upon in the Office Action. For example, regarding the claimed feature "an initial state, of the OD-SSB configuration, indicating that the OD-SSB configuration of the SCell is enabled upon the OD-SSB configuration," the Office Action relies on Lee's paragraphs [0201], [0202] and [0250]. (See Office Action, pp. 4-5.) These paragraphs, however, do not appear and have no equivalent disclosure in Lee-KR. (Page 9, Remarks).
In response to B), the examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee-KR, please refer to citation of “V” in the PTO-892 of the clarified STIC and Google translation of KR 2023-0092723, explicitly describes the concept of related to Network Energy Saving (NES) in [0066], by using OD SSB, which states“ These NES-related functions are expected to be continuously improved in the future Rel-19, and on-demand SSB and system information transmission are among the candidate technologies in the time axis. Therefore, the present invention proposes a method for on-demand SSB and system information transmission.” see also [0068] as states “The transmission procedure for a non-periodic on-demand SSB of a small cell, or a small cell at the request of a terminal, is proposed as follows.“, which is the subject matter of the examined application. [0067] states “the transmission of SSB to a small cell may be requested by the macro gNB. Additionally, if a small cell connection is required due to the terminal's needs, the transmission of SSB to the small cell may be requested through the macro gNB. In this case, the terminal must be located within the area of a small cell that can be connected. Furthermore, it is assumed that coordination between the macro gNB and the small cell is possible through a connection such as an X2 interface” where the small cell acts as secondary cell as described in [0111]-[0112]. [0070] states “the macro gNB may request the terminal to report the following information regarding the terminal's capability required for the transmission of the small cell's SSB.” and [0071]-[0074] describes these required information. The terminal responses to the request and may send the report as stated in [0074] “the terminal may report an appropriate period depending on its processing power, or it may select and report one of several selectable period options. This information reporting may be transmitted from the terminal to the macro gNB via uplink channels such as PUCCH or PUSCH; this report may be transmitted during the initial stage when the terminal connects to the macro gNB, or it may be transmitted upon the macro gNB's request to the terminal when the terminal's small cell connection is required. In this case, the gNB uses DCI, MAC CE, or UE-specific RRC. You can make a request to the terminal through signaling”, see also [0075]-[0076]. Moreover, [0076] states “In addition, based on other information related to terminal capabilities, the environment configuration for SSB transmission is completed, and the following information is transmitted to the terminal.
“ That implies the completing of the setting using information set2 [0077]-[0085]. Fig. 16, describes the flowchart of the transmission method of the on demand SSB, specifically, it summaries the process of the method. Referring to FIG. 18, the macro base station (NR gNB/primary Cell/PCell/first Cell) and the NR small cell (secondary Cell/ SCell/second Cell). The macro base station may transmit a signal requesting provision of information set 1 to the terminal . The terminal, determine that information set 1 is requested based on a signal received, may report the SSB based on a request of the macro BS, where the terminal is located within the area of the SCell. The macro base station may, determine upon the received report, generate the information set 2 based on information set 1 received from the terminal and transmit the report to the SCell/terminal, that implies the BS can also trigger the SCell directly to perform the SSB transmission. According to the received report, the SCell can transfer the OD SSB, which implies the SCell perform the SSB transmission, see [0037] that states “Fig. 5 is an example in which a broadband component carrier (CC) is divided into multiple bandwidth parts (BWP) and an SSB is transmitted to each BWP. At this time, the terminal can perform an initial connection using one of the SSBs transmitted through each BWP. After detecting the SSB, the terminal performs a cell connection operation by obtaining system information (RMSI, Remaining Minimum System Information), and the RMSI is transmitted to the PDSCH through the scheduling of the PDCCH. At this time, the configuration information of the CORESET (Control Resource SET) in which the PDCCH containing the scheduling information of the RMSI PDSCH is transmitted is conveyed through the PBCH within the SSB.” and “the terminal's cell search and initial connection process can be performed only through the 'cell defining SSB.” That also confirm the using the RMSI as a control information to help the terminal to select/activate the SCell, which is directly related to the process of the SCell activation, see also Fig. 7 and [0040]-[0042]. [0089] states “After synchronization is completed, the terminal reports whether synchronization is complete to the macro gNB and/or small cell.” [0090]-[0096] which is also illustrated in Fig. 16, “After completing the synchronization process, the terminal reports whether synchronization is complete via 3-A. This information can serve as an indicator of the success of the synchronization”, see also [0102]. This explanation can be considered as an equivalent for what described in the office action. Therefore, the office action still teach the limitations as currently claimed.
None of Lee-KR's paragraphs [0037], [0074], or [0115] support the disclosure of Lee's paragraphs [0201]-[0202] regarding the base station notifying the terminal of on-demand SSB transmission. Lee's paragraphs [0201]-[0202] therefore are not entitled to the benefit of Lee-KR's filing date and cannot be used in 35 USC 102(a)(2) rejection against the present application (Page 9, Remarks).
In response to C), the examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee-KR, refer to citation of “V” in the PTO-892 of the clarified STIC and Google translation of KR 2023-0092723, teaches in [0037] that the terminal can perform an initial connection using one of the SSBs transmitted through each BWP. After detecting the SSB, the terminal performs a cell connection operation by obtaining system information (RMSI, Remaining Minimum System Information), and the RMSI is transmitted to the PDSCH through the scheduling of the PDCCH and the configuration information of the CORESET (Control Resource SET) containing the scheduling information of the RMSI PDSCH within the SSB that can be used for performing synchronization operations. This process is to allowed the selection of the SCell after receiving the SSB by the terminal. [0074] is described how the report configuration information can be transmitted via the terminal or the BS, as stated “. This information reporting may be transmitted from the terminal to the macro gNB via uplink channels such as PUCCH or PUSCH; this report may be transmitted during the initial stage when the terminal connects to the macro gNB, or it may be transmitted upon the macro gNB's request to the terminal when the terminal's small cell connection is required. In this case, the gNB uses DCI, MAC CE, or UE-specific RRC. It can make a request to the terminal through signaling” that implies the RRC signaling/messaging/ configuring can be used, by the BS, to communicate with the wireless device/terminal regarding the triggering/ activating the SCell for SSB transmission, see also [0052]. [0115] states “When a base station receives a C-WUS transmitted from a terminal as described above, the base station may transmit an N-SSB as before, and the terminal may perform an initial connection procedure based on the N-SSB. At this time, if the base station receives a PRACH from a terminal performing an initial connection procedure based on the N-SSB, the base station may stop transmitting the N-SSB again” that illustrates the process of repeating of transmission SSBs and initializing connection procedure as before can be terminated by the BS, which may stop transmitting the N-SSB again. As a result, these paragraphs are related to the process of the base station that notifying the terminal of on-demand SSB transmission and related to [0201]-[0202] as well.
Lee does not disclose each and every feature of claims 1, 9 and 17 (Pages 10 and 12, Remarks).
In response to D), the examiner respectfully disagrees. Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches a wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to (Fig. 1 illustrates a wireless communication system included a plurality of base stations and a plurality of terminals as stated in [0067]. Fig. 2 describe the main components that comprise at least one processor , a memory , and a transceiver connected to the network for performing communications [0064]-[0066], the processor may execute a program stored to perform the functions of method): receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages for configuration of a secondary cell (SCell) ([0057] lines 1-12, states “an operation (e.g., transmission operation) is configured” may mean that “configuration information (e.g., information element(s) or parameter(s)) for the operation and/or information indicating to perform the operation is signaled”. “Information element(s) (e.g., parameter(s)) are configured” may mean that “corresponding information element(s) are signaled”. The signaling may be at least one of system information (SI) signaling (e.g., transmission of system information block (SIB) and/or master information block (MIB)), RRC signaling (e.g., transmission of RRC parameters and/or higher layer parameters),” that implies the for operation such as SSB transmission can be signaled to the terminal through different ways including RRC signaling. Abstract and [0026] states “a macro base station can generate on-demand SSB transmission configuration information and transmit the on-demand SSB transmission configuration information to a small cell and/or a terminal. The small cell/secondary cell can transmit an on-demand SSB to the terminal based on the on-demand SSB transmission configuration information.” [0128] also confirm the transmission schemes configure to the terminal using UE-specific RRC signaling, see also [0177]. That implies the RRC message can be send via the macro base station as the PCell, as stated in [0164] “macro base station (e.g., macro cell, primary cell (PCell))”, includes information configuration of a secondary Cell, small cell, as stated in [0164], [0199] and [0245]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the RRC signaling based on the invention described), wherein the one or more RRC messages comprise: an SCell state indication indicating that the SCell is in activated state upon the configuration of the SCell ([0169], lines 3-5, states “The SCell activation/deactivation indicator is an indicator used to inform the terminal of activation or deactivation of an SCell, ” and [0180] states “The information set 2 may be SSB transmission configuration information (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission configuration information). The information set 2 may be SSB transmission configuration information (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission configuration information) for SCell activation. The information set 2 may be information on small cell(s)” see also [0181]-[0192], which illustrate the kinds of configuration information may be included in the information set 2. That confirms the SCell activation/ deactivation is used to signal the active state of the SCell) and the SSB transmission indication (e.g., SCell activation/deactivation, as stated in [0188]; an on-demand synchronization signal block (OD-SSB) configuration of one or more OD-SSBs of the SCell ([0180] lines 26-30 states “The information set 2 may include information other than the information 2-A to information 2-I. The information set 2 may be SSB transmission configuration information (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission configuration information). The information set 2 may be SSB transmission configuration information (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission configuration information) for SCell activation. The information set 2 may be information on small cell(s).” that means the configuration information of OD-SSB for SCell activation can be included in the signaling information which received from the micro BS); and an initial state, of the OD-SSB configuration, indicating that the OD-SSB configuration of the SCell is enabled upon the OD-SSB configuration ([0201], lines 10-16, states “The SSB transmission configuration information (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission configuration information) may implicitly indicate that the small cell is to actually perform SSB transmission. The terminal may implicitly confirm that the small cell is to actually perform SSB transmission (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission) based on the SSB transmission configuration information received from the base station.” That describe implicitly of enabling of the OD SSB configuration of the SCell, which can be achieved by using RRC signaling, as stated in [0195]. [0202] and [0250], lines 1-2 states “The terminal may trigger on-demand SSB transmission to activate the SCell.” That implies the initial state indicating the OD-SSB configuration of the SCell is enabled upon the OD-SSB configuration that provided by the base station); activate the SCell based on the SCell state indication indicating that the SCell is in activated state upon the configuration of the SCell ([0169] states, lines 3-8, states “The SCell activation/deactivation indicator is an indicator used to inform the terminal of activation or deactivation of an SCell, but in a similar manner, the terminal may request SSB transmission by reporting (e.g., transmitting) the SCell activation/deactivation indicator to the base station.” which implies the SCell activation/ deactivation upon the configuration of the configuration of the SCell, as specified in [0180], lines 26-30 and [0188] that describe Information 2-H: SSB transmission indication (e.g., SCell activation/deactivation), and [0250] states “lines 1-2 states “The terminal may trigger on-demand SSB transmission to activate the SCell.” That implies the active SCell is stablished based on the activation of the SCell state , which is triggered by the OD-SSB configuration state, [0249], lines 13-15); and transmit a cell measurement report, of the SCell, measured over the one or more OD-SSBs of the SCell ([0213]-[0227] describe the process after a Synchronization Procedure (e.g., Synchronization Procedure for the Small Cell) is Completed, the terminal may report, information report set 3, on whether the synchronization procedure has been completed to the Macro Base Station and/or Small Cell. “ It also provides that the reporting procedure for the information set 3 may be the same or similar to a CSI reporting procedure. A method of transmitting the information set 3 (e.g., information belonging to the information set 3) may vary depending on a reported target and/or reporting scheme, see [0222]. [0224] states “The terminal may transmit the information set 3 to the small cell through a RACH and/or SRS. “ and [0204] describes how the wireless device may report the information (e.g., CSI report information) to the small cell (SCell) using the uplink resource configured by the small cell, OD-SSBs of the SCell, see also [0237]), wherein the one or more OD-SSBs are received via the SCell based on the OD-SSB configuration being enabled for the SCell based on the initial state ([0006] and Claim 1 states “receiving on-demand synchronization signal block (SSB) transmission configuration information from a first base station to which the terminal is connected; and receiving an on-demand SSB from a second base station based on the on-demand SSB transmission configuration information” that confirm the terminal receives OD-SSB configuration which is used to receive OD-SSB from the SCell). Fig. 18 sequence chart illustrating exemplary embodiments of a method for transmitting on-demand SSB, and [0241] provides that after the SCell receives the configuration and is enable, then it transmits OD SSB that can then be received by the wireless device/UE. The independent claims 1 and 17 recite similar/same distinguishing features as independent claim 9, therefore, the office action still teach the limitations as currently claimed.
Lee does not disclose that the terminal receives, via RRC signaling and together with an on-demand SSB configuration and an SCell state indication, an explicit indication of "an initial state, of the OD-SSB configuration, indicating that the OD-SSB configuration of the SCell is enabled upon the OD-SSB configuration." (Pages 10-12, Remarks).
In response to E), the examiner respectfully disagrees. Please, see response D) that includes the explanation of E. Therefore, the office action still teach the limitations as currently claimed.
Independent claim 1 and independent claims 9 and 17, which recite similar distinguishing features as independent claim 1, are patentable over Lee.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, for at least the same reasons given in the response above, and as detailed in the Claim Rejections section.
Applicant argues that the remaining claims, dependent claims are allowable for similar reasons (Page 12, Remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees, for at least the same reasons given in the response above, and as detailed in the Claim Rejections section.
Specification
4. The use of the term Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Zigbee or Z-Wave which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-13 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US-20250031163-A1), as a Korean foreign priority application field on 17 Jul 2023, refer to the new attached English translation version of KR 10-2023-0092723 on 06/08/2026.
As to claims 1-5 see similar rejections to claims 9-13, respectively. The apparatus teaches the method.
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Lee teaches a wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to ((Fig. 1 illustrates a wireless communication system included a plurality of base stations and a plurality of terminals as stated in [0067]. Fig. 2 describe the main components that comprise at least one processor , a memory , and a transceiver connected to the network for performing communications [0064]-[0066], the processor may execute a program stored to perform the functions of method): receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages for configuration of a secondary cell (SCell) ([0057] lines 1-12, states “an operation (e.g., transmission operation) is configured” may mean that “configuration information (e.g., information element(s) or parameter(s)) for the operation and/or information indicating to perform the operation is signaled”. “Information element(s) (e.g., parameter(s)) are configured” may mean that “corresponding information element(s) are signaled”. The signaling may be at least one of system information (SI) signaling (e.g., transmission of system information block (SIB) and/or master information block (MIB)), RRC signaling (e.g., transmission of RRC parameters and/or higher layer parameters),” that implies the for operation such as SSB transmission can be signaled to the terminal through different ways including RRC signaling. Abstract and [0026] states “a macro base station can generate on-demand SSB transmission configuration information and transmit the on-demand SSB transmission configuration information to a small cell and/or a terminal. The small cell/secondary cell can transmit an on-demand SSB to the terminal based on the on-demand SSB transmission configuration information.” [0128] also confirm the transmission schemes configure to the terminal using UE-specific RRC signaling, see also [0177]. That implies the RRC message can be send via the macro base station as the PCell, as stated in [0164] “macro base station (e.g., macro cell, primary cell (PCell))”, includes information configuration of a secondary Cell, small cell, as stated in [0164], [0199] and [0245]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the RRC signaling based on the invention described), wherein the one or more RRC messages comprise: an SCell state indication indicating that the SCell is in activated state upon the configuration of the SCell ([0169], lines 3-5, states “The SCell activation/deactivation indicator is an indicator used to inform the terminal of activation or deactivation of an SCell, ” and [0180] states “The information set 2 may be SSB transmission configuration information (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission configuration information). The information set 2 may be SSB transmission configuration information (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission configuration information) for SCell activation. The information set 2 may be information on small cell(s)” see also [0181]-[0192], which illustrate the kinds of configuration information may be included in the information set 2. That confirms the SCell activation/ deactivation is used to signal the active state of the SCell) and the SSB transmission indication (e.g., SCell activation/deactivation, as stated in [0188]; an on-demand synchronization signal block (OD-SSB) configuration of one or more OD-SSBs of the SCell ([0180] lines 26-30 states “The information set 2 may include information other than the information 2-A to information 2-I. The information set 2 may be SSB transmission configuration information (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission configuration information). The information set 2 may be SSB transmission configuration information (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission configuration information) for SCell activation. The information set 2 may be information on small cell(s).” that means the configuration information of OD-SSB for SCell activation can be included in the signaling information which received from the micro BS); and an initial state, of the OD-SSB configuration, indicating that the OD-SSB configuration of the SCell is enabled upon the OD-SSB configuration ([0201], lines 10-16, states “The SSB transmission configuration information (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission configuration information) may implicitly indicate that the small cell is to actually perform SSB transmission. The terminal may implicitly confirm that the small cell is to actually perform SSB transmission (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission) based on the SSB transmission configuration information received from the base station.” That describe implicitly of enabling of the OD SSB configuration of the SCell, which can be achieved by using RRC signaling, as stated in [0195]. [0202] and [0250], lines 1-2 states “The terminal may trigger on-demand SSB transmission to activate the SCell.” That implies the initial state indicating the OD-SSB configuration of the SCell is enabled upon the OD-SSB configuration that provided by the base station); activate the SCell based on the SCell state indication indicating that the SCell is in activated state upon the configuration of the SCell ([0169] states, lines 3-8, states “The SCell activation/deactivation indicator is an indicator used to inform the terminal of activation or deactivation of an SCell, but in a similar manner, the terminal may request SSB transmission by reporting (e.g., transmitting) the SCell activation/deactivation indicator to the base station.” which implies the SCell activation/ deactivation upon the configuration of the configuration of the SCell, as specified in [0180], lines 26-30 and [0188] that describe Information 2-H: SSB transmission indication (e.g., SCell activation/deactivation), and [0250] states “lines 1-2 states “The terminal may trigger on-demand SSB transmission to activate the SCell.” That implies the active SCell is stablished based on the activation of the SCell state , which is triggered by the OD-SSB configuration state, [0249], lines 13-15); and transmit a cell measurement report, of the SCell, measured over the one or more OD-SSBs of the SCell ([0213]-[0227] describe the process after a Synchronization Procedure (e.g., Synchronization Procedure for the Small Cell) is Completed, the terminal may report, information report set 3, on whether the synchronization procedure has been completed to the Macro Base Station and/or Small Cell. “ It also provides that the reporting procedure for the information set 3 may be the same or similar to a CSI reporting procedure. A method of transmitting the information set 3 (e.g., information belonging to the information set 3) may vary depending on a reported target and/or reporting scheme, see [0222]. [0224] states “The terminal may transmit the information set 3 to the small cell through a RACH and/or SRS. “ and [0204] describes how the wireless device may report the information (e.g., CSI report information) to the small cell (SCell) using the uplink resource configured by the small cell, OD-SSBs of the SCell, see also [0237]), wherein the one or more OD-SSBs are received via the SCell based on the OD-SSB configuration being enabled for the SCell based on the initial state ([0006] and Claim 1 states “receiving on-demand synchronization signal block (SSB) transmission configuration information from a first base station to which the terminal is connected; and receiving an on-demand SSB from a second base station based on the on-demand SSB transmission configuration information” that confirm the terminal receives OD-SSB configuration which is used to receive OD-SSB from the SCell). Fig. 18 sequence chart illustrating exemplary embodiments of a method for transmitting on-demand SSB, and [0241] provides that after the SCell receives the configuration and is enable, then it transmits OD SSB that can then be received by the wireless device/UE).
Regarding claim 10 (Original), Lee teaches the wireless device of claim 9, wherein the one or more RRC messages comprise one or more parameters of the OD-SSB configuration , and wherein the one or more parameters comprise at least one of: one or more SSB periodicity values for the one or more OD-SSBs ([0195], lines 21-26 states “Information on the SSB transmission periodicity may be transmitted to the terminal through signaling (e.g., SI signaling, UE-specific RRC signaling). The information on the SSB transmission periodicity may be signaled to the terminal from the macro base station and/or small cell.” That implies the RRC messages can included parameters of the OD-SSB configuration information such as SSB periodicity, where the macro base station (PCell) and/or small cell (SCell) may complete configuration of the environment for SSB transmission based on the terminal-related information (e.g., UE capability information) as stated in [0180] lines 10-13); a subcarrier spacing of the one or more OD-SSBs (Table 1 and [0090]-[0093] describe SCS is configured based on the operating frequency band of the SCell. [0007] describes that the capability information that included in RRC message comprises numerology, number of beams, or antenna configuration of the second base station, which defined the SCS used by BS. [0160] lines 12-15 gives an example to show the SCS is configured based on the frequency band in which the SCell operates); a frequency location indication of the one or more OD-SSBs ([0196], lines 3-10 states “ The frequency resource information may be information on one or more frequency resources (e.g., one or more frequency positions) among the frequency resources (e.g., frequency positions) through which SSB(s) are actually transmitted.” Where on-demand SSBs may be transmitted at frequency positions other than the SSB synchronization raster, as stated in [0196] which confirm the frequency location indication of the one or more OD-SSBs is provided); and a transmission power of the one or more OD-SSBs.
Regarding claim 11 (Original), Lee teaches the wireless device of claim 10, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the wireless device to measure the one or more OD-SSBs of the SCell based on one or more parameters of the OD-SSB configuration when the SCell is in the activated state ([0195], lines 8-12 states “ If the information 1-B reported by the terminal is valid, the macro base station may determine an SSB transmission periodicity (e.g., time resources (e.g., time period(s), transmission periodicity) in which SSB(s) are transmitted) based on the information 1-B.” that implies the terminal measure the OD-SSB at the correction time using the SSB periodicity and frequency resource information (parameters). [0090], lines 1-3 and 11-13 describes the SCS is configured based on the operating band of the SCell. [0196] lines 3-10 implies the terminal measure the OD-SSB at the suitable frequency).
Regarding claim 12 (Original), Lee teaches the wireless device of claim 9, wherein the initial state is applied upon the configuration of the SCell and before the SCell is activated ([0202], lines 7-18, states “The base station may indicate to the terminal that the small cell is to perform on-demand SSB transmission through an SCell activation/deactivation indicator using a MAC CE. If the SCell activation/deactivation indicator delivered to the terminal indicates activation of an SCell corresponding to the small cell (e.g., base station other than the macro base station) transmitting on-demand SSB, the terminal may determine that SSB transmission is to start by the small cell. The terminal may determine that the small cell is to start SSB transmission at the earliest SSB transmission occasion after a time of receiving the indicator (e.g., separate indicator, SCell activation/deactivation indicator).” That implies the SCell can be configured but still in an initial state (not active) until the terminal or the BS trigger its activation. [0249] lines 13-16 also states “Activation of the SCell may be required to offload UL traffic. In other words, the terminal may request activation of the SCell to offload UL traffic.” and [0250] describes the terminal may trigger on-demand SSB transmission to activate the SCell. For fast activation of the SCell), or before receiving a command indicating a state change of the OD-SSB configuration.
Regarding claim 13 (Original), Lee teaches the wireless device of claim 9, wherein the initial state indicating that the OD-SSB configuration of the SCell is enabled ([0201], lines 10-16, states “The SSB transmission configuration information (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission configuration information) may implicitly indicate that the small cell is to actually perform SSB transmission. The terminal may implicitly confirm that the small cell is to actually perform SSB transmission (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission) based on the SSB transmission configuration information received from the base station.” and [0250], lines 1-2 states “The terminal may trigger on-demand SSB transmission to activate the SCell.” That implies the initial state indicating the OD-SSB configuration of the SCell is enabled upon the OD-SSB configuration that provided by the base station) comprises at least one of: the OD-SSB configuration being activated upon receiving the one or more RRC messages comprising the OD-SSB configuration ([0201] states “The SSB transmission configuration information (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission configuration information) may implicitly indicate that the small cell is to actually perform SSB transmission. The terminal may implicitly confirm that the small cell is to actually perform SSB transmission (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission) based on the SSB transmission configuration information received from the base station.” and [0241] states “The small cell may confirm that SSB transmission is required based on the information set 2. In other words, the small cell may confirm that on-demand SSB transmission is triggered based on the information set 2. “ that implies the OD-SSB configuration is activated upon receiving the required configuration information, which can be sent via RRC, [0180] ); and
the one or more OD-SSBs being transmitted upon receiving the one or more RRC messages comprising the OD-SSB configuration.
Regarding claim 17 (Original), Lee teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless device, cause the wireless device to ([0264] describes the operation of the method can be implemented as a computer readable program or code in a computer readable recording medium. The computer readable recording medium may include all kinds of recording apparatus for storing data which can be read by a computer system. The computer readable recording medium may include a hardware apparatus which is specifically configured to store and execute a program command, such as a ROM, RAM or flash memory, [0265]):
receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages for configuration of a secondary cell (SCell), wherein the one or more RRC messages comprise ([0057] lines 1-12, states “an operation (e.g., transmission operation) is configured” may mean that “configuration information (e.g., information element(s) or parameter(s)) for the operation and/or information indicating to perform the operation is signaled”. “Information element(s) (e.g., parameter(s)) are configured” may mean that “corresponding information element(s) are signaled”. The signaling may be at least one of system information (SI) signaling (e.g., transmission of system information block (SIB) and/or master information block (MIB)), RRC signaling (e.g., transmission of RRC parameters and/or higher layer parameters),” that implies the for operation such as SSB transmission can be signaled to the terminal through different ways including RRC signaling. Abstract and [0026] states “a macro base station can generate on-demand SSB transmission configuration information and transmit the on-demand SSB transmission configuration information to a small cell and/or a terminal. The small cell/secondary cell can transmit an on-demand SSB to the terminal based on the on-demand SSB transmission configuration information.” [0128] also confirm the transmission schemes configure to the terminal using UE-specific RRC signaling, see also [0177]. That implies the RRC message can be send via the macro base station as the PCell, as stated in [0164] “macro base station (e.g., macro cell, primary cell (PCell))”, includes information configuration of a secondary Cell, small cell, as stated in [0164], [0199] and [0245]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the RRC signaling based on the invention described), an SCell state indication indicating that the SCell is in activated state upon the configuration of the SCell ([0169], lines 3-5, states “The SCell activation/deactivation indicator is an indicator used to inform the terminal of activation or deactivation of an SCell, ” and [0180] states “The information set 2 may be SSB transmission configuration information (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission configuration information). The information set 2 may be SSB transmission configuration information (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission configuration information) for SCell activation. The information set 2 may be information on small cell(s)” see also [0181]-[0192], which illustrate the kinds of configuration information may be included in the information set 2. That confirms the SCell activation/ deactivation is used to signal the active state of the SCell) and the SSB transmission indication (e.g., SCell activation/deactivation, as stated in [0188]); an on-demand synchronization signal block (OD-SSB) configuration of one or more OD-SSBs of the SCell ([0180] lines 26-30 states “The information set 2 may include information other than the information 2-A to information 2-I. The information set 2 may be SSB transmission configuration information (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission configuration information). The information set 2 may be SSB transmission configuration information (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission configuration information) for SCell activation. The information set 2 may be information on small cell(s).” that means the configuration information of OD-SSB for SCell activation can be included in the signaling information which received from the micro BS); and an initial state, of the OD-SSB configuration, indicating that the OD-SSB configuration of the SCell is enabled upon the OD-SSB configuration ([0201], lines 10-16, states “The SSB transmission configuration information (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission configuration information) may implicitly indicate that the small cell is to actually perform SSB transmission. The terminal may implicitly confirm that the small cell is to actually perform SSB transmission (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission) based on the SSB transmission configuration information received from the base station.” That describe implicitly of enabling of the OD SSB configuration of the SCell, which can be achieved by using RRC signaling, as stated in [0195]. [0202] and [0250], lines 1-2 states “The terminal may trigger on-demand SSB transmission to activate the SCell.” That implies the initial state indicating the OD-SSB configuration of the SCell is enabled upon the OD-SSB configuration that provided by the base station); activate the SCell based on the SCell state indication indicating that the SCell is in activated state upon the configuration of the SCell; ([0169] states, lines 3-8, states “The SCell activation/deactivation indicator is an indicator used to inform the terminal of activation or deactivation of an SCell, but in a similar manner, the terminal may request SSB transmission by reporting (e.g., transmitting) the SCell activation/deactivation indicator to the base station.” which implies the SCell activation/ deactivation upon the configuration of the configuration of the SCell, as specified in [0180], lines 26-30 and [0188] that describe Information 2-H: SSB transmission indication (e.g., SCell activation/deactivation), and [0250] states “lines 1-2 states “The terminal may trigger on-demand SSB transmission to activate the SCell.” That implies the active SCell is stablished based on the activation of the SCell state , which is triggered by the OD-SSB configuration state, [0249], lines 13-15); and transmit a cell measurement report, of the SCell measured over the one or more OD-SSBs of the SCell 0213]-[0227] describe the process after a Synchronization Procedure (e.g., Synchronization Procedure for the Small Cell) is Completed, the terminal may report, information report set 3, on whether the synchronization procedure has been completed to the Macro Base Station and/or Small Cell. “ It also provides that the reporting procedure for the information set 3 may be the same or similar to a CSI reporting procedure. A method of transmitting the information set 3 (e.g., information belonging to the information set 3) may vary depending on a reported target and/or reporting scheme, see [0222]. [0224] states “The terminal may transmit the information set 3 to the small cell through a RACH and/or SRS. “ and [0204] describes how the wireless device may report the information (e.g., CSI report information) to the small cell (SCell) using the uplink resource configured by the small cell, OD-SSBs of the SCell, see also [0237]), wherein the one or more OD-SSBs are received via the SCell based on the OD-SSB configuration being enabled for the SCell based on the initial state ([0006] and Claim 1 states “receiving on-demand synchronization signal block (SSB) transmission configuration information from a first base station to which the terminal is connected; and receiving an on-demand SSB from a second base station based on the on-demand SSB transmission configuration information” that confirm the terminal receives OD-SSB configuration which is used to receive OD-SSB from the SCell). Fig. 18 sequence chart illustrating exemplary embodiments of a method for transmitting on-demand SSB, and [0241] provides that after the SCell receives the configuration and is enable, then it transmits OD SSB that can then be received by the wireless device/UE.).
Regarding claim 18 (Original), Lee teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the one or more RRC messages comprise one or more parameters of the OD-SSB configuration, and wherein the one or more parameters comprise at least one of:
one or more SSB periodicity values for the one or more OD-SSBs ([0195], lines 21-26 states “Information on the SSB transmission periodicity may be transmitted to the terminal through signaling (e.g., SI signaling, UE-specific RRC signaling). The information on the SSB transmission periodicity may be signaled to the terminal from the macro base station and/or small cell.” That implies the RRC messages can included parameters of the OD-SSB configuration information such as SSB periodicity, where the macro base station (PCell) and/or small cell (SCell) may complete configuration of the environment for SSB transmission based on the terminal-related information (e.g., UE capability information) as stated in [0180] lines 10-13); a subcarrier spacing of the one or more OD-SSBs (Table 1 and [0090]-[0093] describe SCS is configured based on the operating frequency band of the SCell. [0007] describes that the capability information that included in RRC message comprises numerology, number of beams, or antenna configuration of the second base station, which defined the SCS used by BS. [0160] lines 12-15 gives an example to show the SCS is configured based on the frequency band in which the SCell operates); a frequency location indication of the one or more OD-SSBs ([0196], lines 3-10 states “ The frequency resource information may be information on one or more frequency resources (e.g., one or more frequency positions) among the frequency resources (e.g., frequency positions) through which SSB(s) are actually transmitted.” Where on-demand SSBs may be transmitted at frequency positions other than the SSB synchronization raster, as stated in [0196] which confirm the frequency location indication of the one or more OD-SSBs is provided); and a transmission power of the one or more OD-SSBs.
Regarding claim 19 (Original), Lee teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the wireless device to measure the one or more OD-SSBs of the SCell based on one or more parameters of the OD-SSB configuration when the SCell is in the activated state ([0195], lines 8-12 states “ If the information 1-B reported by the terminal is valid, the macro base station may determine an SSB transmission periodicity (e.g., time resources (e.g., time period(s), transmission periodicity) in which SSB(s) are transmitted) based on the information 1-B.” that implies the terminal measure the OD-SSB at the correction time using the SSB periodicity and frequency resource information (parameters). [0090], lines 1-3 and 11-13 describes the SCS is configured based on the operating band of the SCell. [0196] lines 3-10 implies the terminal measure the OD-SSB at the suitable frequency).
Regarding claim 20 (Original), Lee teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the initial state indicating that the OD-SSB configuration of the SCell is enabled ([0201], lines 10-16, states “The SSB transmission configuration information (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission configuration information) may implicitly indicate that the small cell is to actually perform SSB transmission. The terminal may implicitly confirm that the small cell is to actually perform SSB transmission (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission) based on the SSB transmission configuration information received from the base station.” and [0250], lines 1-2 states “The terminal may trigger on-demand SSB transmission to activate the SCell.” That implies the initial state indicating the OD-SSB configuration of the SCell is enabled upon the OD-SSB configuration that provided by the base station) comprises at least one of: the OD-SSB configuration being activated upon receiving the one or more RRC messages comprising the OD-SSB configuration ([0201] states “The SSB transmission configuration information (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission configuration information) may implicitly indicate that the small cell is to actually perform SSB transmission. The terminal may implicitly confirm that the small cell is to actually perform SSB transmission (e.g., on-demand SSB transmission) based on the SSB transmission configuration information received from the base station.” and [0241] states “The small cell may confirm that SSB transmission is required based on the information set 2. In other words, the small cell may confirm that on-demand SSB transmission is triggered based on the information set 2. “ that implies the OD-SSB configuration is activated upon receiving the required configuration information, which can be sent via RRC, [0180] ); and the one or more OD-SSBs being transmitted upon receiving the one or more RRC messages comprising the OD-SSB configuration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US-20250031163-A1) as a Korean foreign priority application field on 17 Jul 2023, refer to the attached English translation version of KR 10-2023-0092723, in view of Hu et al. (US-20230337033-A1).
As to claims 6-7 see similar rejections to claims 14-15, respectively. The apparatus teaches the method.
Regarding claim 14 (Original), Lee teaches the wireless device of claim 9, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors.
Lee fails to teach further cause the wireless device to determine that the one or more OD-SSBs are stopped on the SCell based on receiving a first command indicating deactivation of the OD-SSB configuration of the SCell, wherein the first command comprises at least one of: a first RRC message; a first MAC CE; and a downlink control information (DCI).
However, Hu teaches further cause the wireless device to determine that the one or more OD-SSBs are stopped on the SCell based on receiving a first command indicating deactivation of the OD-SSB configuration of the SCell (Fig. 5 and [0077] states “In step 507, the UE determines whether an indication that the SCell is turned off is received. If the indication that the SCell is turned off is received (Yes in step 507), then the UE switches to light RS monitoring in step 508.”which implies when the SCell is deactivated , the terminal stops monitoring the OD-SSB, when receiving the command of turning off the SCell) and switch to monitor only light reference signals for energy purpose. [0075], lines 16-17 confirms that), wherein the first command comprises at least one of: a first MAC CE; and a downlink control information (DCI) ([0072] states “The activation of legacy SSB transmission can be done by legacy SCell activation using a MAC-CE.“ and [0073] states “The SCell can be activated or deactivated with new DCI.” Which implies the terminal can receive the command of activation/ deactivation the OD-SSB of the SCell via DCI or MAC EC ); a first RRC message.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Hu (in analogous art) by adding the wireless device to determine that the one or more OD-SSBs are stopped on the SCell based on receiving a first command indicating deactivation of the OD-SSB configuration of the SCell for the reason of improvement the network side energy saving for the wireless communication network (Hu, [0002]).
Regarding claim 15 (Original), Lee and Hu teach the wireless device of claim 14, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the wireless device to,
Lee further teaches based on the deactivation of the OD-SSB configuration of the SCell, at least one of: stop one or more of: CSI measurement and CSI reporting for the SCell ([0012] states “The CSI configuration information may include information on a resource for reporting CSI generated based on a measurement result of the on-demand SSB.” this indicates the CSI measurements and reporting are tie to the present/activated the OD-SSB. Claim 17 lines 8-14 and [0180] lines 26-30 describes the information set 2 [0181]-[0190], which included CSI configuration information (e.g., resource(s) for CSI reporting) and the information 2-A may be information on SCell to which the terminal can access. [0229], lines 5-7 states “ Until SSB transmission is stopped (e.g., terminated) due to occurrence of a specific situation, the small cell may continue to perform SSB transmission.” This implies when OD-SSB deactivated, the SSB transmission is stopped, including CSI measurements and reporting);
stop downlink position measurement over downlink positioning reference signals (PRSs) of the SCell; and stop a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure for the SCell.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US-20250031163-A1) as a Korean foreign priority application field on 17 Jul 2023, refer to the attached English translation version of KR 10-2023-0092723, in view of Hu et al. (US-20230337033-A1) and further in view of Jeon et al. (US 20210410181 A1).
As to claim 8 see similar rejections to claim 16. The apparatus teaches the method.
Regarding claim 16 (Original), Lee and Hu teach the wireless device of claim 14, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the wireless device to,
Lee teaches in response to receiving a second MAC CE indicating activation of the OD-SSB configuration ([0202], lines 7-9 states “The base station may indicate to the terminal that the small cell is to perform on-demand SSB transmission through an SCell activation/ deactivation indicator using a MAC CE.”):
Lee fail to teach, but Hu teaches and perform, by the physical layer of the wireless device, one or more of: downlink synchronization and a cell measurement for the SCell based on the one or more OD-SSBs of the SCell (Figs 4, 7, 9, and 11, [0061] states “L1 measurement reporting may include enhanced channel state information (CSI)-RS report for multi transmission and reception point (MTRP) transmission point selection and/or a new light RS report, based on the measurement report configuration received from the PCell before the measurements.” Which implies L1 (as refers to physical layer) can perform the measurements, using SSB [0121] and RSRP [0066], for the SCell, as shown in Step 1107, as an example).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Hu (in analogous art) by adding the wireless device to determine that the one or more OD-SSBs are stopped on the SCell based on receiving a first command indicating deactivation of the OD-SSB configuration of the SCell for the reason of improvement the network side energy saving for the wireless communication network (Hu, [0002]).
Lee and Hu do not explicitly teach notify from a MAC entity of the wireless device to a physical layer of the wireless device the activation of the OD-SSB configuration;
However, Jeon teaches notify from a MAC entity of the wireless device to a physical layer of the wireless device the activation of the OD-SSB configuration (Figs. 3-4A show that MAC layer and PHY layer an interacting via direct transport channel which allow to exchange the data between them, examples of these data are described in [0081] lines 9-17, which included activation/deactivation configurations. [0075]-[0076] describes the interaction between the MAC and PHY layers, as stated “The MAC layers (e.g., MACs 212 and 222) may perform multiplexing/demultiplexing of logical channels and/or mapping between logical channels and transport channels. The multiplexing/demultiplexing may comprise multiplexing/demultiplexing of data units/data portions, belonging to the one or more logical channels, into/from Transport Blocks (TBs) delivered to/from the PHY layers (e.g., PHYs 211 and 221, respectively).” and “The PHY layers (e.g., PHYs 211 and 221) may perform mapping of transport channels to physical channels and/or digital and analog signal processing functions…. the PHYs 211 and 221) may provide/configure one or more transport channels (e.g., transport channels 350) as a service to the MAC layers (e.g., the MACs 212 and 222, respectively).” That implies the notify from a MAC entity of the wireless device to a physical layer of the wireless device the activation of the OD-SSB configuration, as indicated in [0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee in view of Hu to incorporate the teachings of Jeon (in analogous art) by adding notify from a MAC entity of the wireless device to a physical layer of the wireless device the activation of the OD-SSB configuration for maintaining seamless and successful communication between the BS and the wireless device in the wireless communication network (Jeon, [0226]).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Jeon et al. (US-20250097841-A1), Esswie et al. (US-20240267847-A1), Zhou et al. (WO-2025064792-A1), Babaei et al. (US-20210259040-A1) and Si et al. (WO-2025033967-A1) teach method involved improving network performance by reducing the network side power consumption in the network systems.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463