Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the stepped shoulder" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 9, and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Knoebel et al. (US 2013/0232841), hereinafter (“Knoebel”).
Re claim 1 and 12-17, Knoebel (Fig 2) discloses an interchangeable stock panel insert system for attaching accessories to a firearm, the system comprising: a longitudinal axis; a longitudinally elongated stock formed of a synthetic material (p. [0023]), the stock comprising a forestock; the forestock comprising: a top; an axially elongated internal longitudinal cavity; a downwardly open elongated longitudinal aperture formed in a bottom of the forestock beneath the longitudinal cavity (Fig 5), the longitudinal aperture in communication with the longitudinal cavity; and a singular mounting interface (21) defined at the longitudinal aperture; a first stock panel insert (Fig 2, 10) configured for detachable coupling to the forestock to enclose the longitudinal aperture, the first stock panel insert having a first configuration; a second stock panel insert (Fig 2, 2) configured for detachably coupling to the forestock to enclose the longitudinal aperture, the second stock panel insert having a second configuration different than the first configuration; wherein the first stock panel insert and the second stock panel insert each have a common mounting (Fig 2) configuration compatible with the singular mounting interface of the forestock so as to be interchangeably mountable to the forestock.
Re claim 6, Knoebel discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the forestock further comprises a longitudinally extending top wall which defines an axially elongated longitudinal concavity above the longitudinal cavity of the forestock, the longitudinal concavity having a semi-circular cross-sectional shape configured to receive a firearm barrel at least partially therein and physically isolated from the longitudinal cavity below the top wall (see Fig 3).
Re claims 8 and 9, Knoebel discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the first and second stock panel inserts comprises an accessory rail configured for mounting a firearm accessory thereto (p. [0018] discussing receiving elements for a tripod accessory, for example).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 11, and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knoebel.
Re claim 10, Knoebel discloses the claimed invention with the exception of the accessory rail being as claimed, but all of these rail configurations are commonly known and used in the art to attach accessories to a firearm. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the receiving element in Knoebel to be one of the types claimed. The motivation would be to select a commonly known accessory rail used to attach accessories to a firearm.
Re claim 11, Knoebel discloses the claimed invention except for the materials of the inserts. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the material, since it has been held to be within general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Re claims 18-21, Knoebel discloses the claimed invention except for the limitations in these claims. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Knoebel to have these limitations, since applicant has not disclosed that these limitations solve any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with without these limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7, 22, and 23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/REGINALD S TILLMAN, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641