DETAILED ACTION
Notices to Applicant
This communication is a Final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1, 3-17, and 19-20 as filed 06/05/2026, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The present application is related to and claims priority as a continuation of U.S. Application No. 19/377,684, filed 11/03/2025, which is a continuation of U.S. Application No. 18/760,770, filed 11/03/2025 which claims priory benefit from U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/518,098, filed 08/07/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1 and 3-8 are drawn to a system for managing requests and workflows to serve patients in a medical facility, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e. machine).
Independent Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 1 recites (additional elements bolded):
1. A system for managing requests and workflows to serve patients in a medical facility, comprising:
at least one server in network communication with at least one support team device, at least one provider team device, at least one administrative team device, at least one family member device, and/or at least one patient device; and
at least one operator device;
wherein the at least one server is operable to receive one or more requests from the at least one patient device, the at least one administrative team device, the at least one provider team device, the at least one family member device, and/or the at least one support team device based on a selection of one or more elements on a graphical user interface (GUI) displayed on the at least one patient device, the at least one administrative team device, the at least one provider team device, the at least one family member device, and/or the at least one support team device;
wherein the one or more requests include a request location within the medical facility from which the one or more requests originated;
wherein the at least one server analyzes the one or more requests from the at least one patient device, the at least one administrative team device, the at least one provider team device, the at least one family member device, and/or the at least one support team device and determines one or more of the at least one support team device to send the one or more requests;
wherein the at least one server is operable to anticipate at least one request using artificial intelligence and determine an appropriate device to send the at least one anticipated request, wherein the appropriate device is the at least one patient device, the at least one administrative team device, the at least one provider team device, the at least one family member device, and/or the at least one support team device;
wherein the at least one server is operable to receive inputs from the at least one operator device to generate virtual boundaries around a physical space in which providers or concierges are designated to receive requests and work within;
wherein the at least one server is operable to determine a location within the medical facility of the at least one support team device, the at least one patient device, the at least one administrative team device, the at least one provider team device, and/or the at least one family member device via a geolocation sensor, defining 3D coordinates of the location of the at least one support team device, the at least one patient device, the at least one administrative team device, the at least one provider team device, and/or the at least one family member device;
wherein the at least one server is operable to automatically reroute the one or more requests using artificial intelligence based on the location of the at least one support team device not moving towards a location of the at least one patient device after a period of time
wherein the at least one server is operable to change a display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device based on the location of the at least one support team device;
wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device includes the at least one administrative team device displaying a different list of available personnel on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device; and wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device further includes dynamically presenting different analytics regarding a performance of the location of the at least one support team device;
wherein the different analytics include inventory management and are represented by at least one data visualization; and
wherein the at least one server is operable to change a display on a GUI of the at least one provider team device based on the location of the at least one provider team device.
The above claim limitations, as drafted, is a machine that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance managing personal behavior or relationships between people through following rules or instructions but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting the above bolded limitations, nothing in the claim precludes the steps from being directed to rules or instructions for managing personal behavior or relationships between people. For example, but for the above bolded language, receive one or more requests wherein the one or more requests include a request location within the medical facility from which the one or more requests originated; analyzes the one or more requests and determines where to send the one or more requests; anticipate at least one request and determine where to send the at least one anticipated request; determine a location within the medical facility and defining 3D coordinates of the location, automatically reroute the one or more requests based on the location of a requested resource not moving towards a location after a period of time in the context of this claim encompasses the management of personal behavior or interactions between people through rules or instructions for managing requests and workflows to serve patients in a medical facility. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers rules or instructions for managing personal behavior or interactions between people but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Further, the claim language is also directed to the abstract idea of a “Mental Process” (e.g. analyze the one or more requests and determine where to send the one or more requests), which covers steps that can practically be performed in the mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the above bolded additional elements, for example, “at least one server in network communication with at least one support team device, at least one provider team device, at least one administrative team device, at least one family member device, and/or at least one patient device; and at least one operator device,” “using artificial intelligence,” “a graphical user interface (GUI),” and “a geolocation sensor,” to perform the claim limitations and are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a server including a processing unit and memory in network communication with devices such as mobile phones, smartphones, desktop computers, tablet computers, laptops, and other similar computing devices, a graphical user interface on the devices for input/output display and selection, and geolocation sensor in a mobile device, and using artificial intelligence as learning techniques/algorithms as they relate to general purpose computer components (Application Specification at [00216], [00219]-[00222])). As such, the limitations amount to no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or other machinery, or merely uses a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2) (i.e. a server/network/devices to send/receive data; a server to analyze data; a graphical user interface to display data; a geolocation sensor within a mobile device to generate location data). Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitation of “wherein the at least one server is operable to change a display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device based on the location of the at least one support team device; wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device includes the at least one administrative team device displaying a different list of available personnel on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device, and wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device further includes dynamically presenting different analytics regarding a performance of the location of the at least one support team device; wherein the different analytics include inventory management and are represented by at least one data visualization; and wherein the at least one server is operable to change a display on a GUI of the at least one provider team device based on the location of the at least one provider team device.,” amounts the display of a list of available personnel and analytics regarding inventory management based on the location of the devices i.e. updating data on a display based on collection and analysis of the data. See Application Specification at [00155]. This does not provide an improvement to the functioning of the graphical user interface, but rather, merely uses the graphical user interface in its ordinary capacity for displaying data. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the above bolded additional elements, for example, “at least one server in network communication with at least one support team device, at least one provider team device, at least one administrative team device, at least one family member device, and/or at least one patient device; and at least one operator device,” “using artificial intelligence,” “a graphical user interface (GUI),” and “a geolocation sensor,” to perform the claim limitations, which amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component or machinery in its ordinary capacity. (i.e., a server including a processing unit and memory in network communication with devices such as mobile phones, smartphones, desktop computers, tablet computers, laptops, and other similar computing devices, a graphical user interface on the devices for input/output display and selection, and geolocation sensor in a mobile device, and using artificial intelligence as learning techniques/algorithms as they relate to general purpose computer components (Application Specification at [00216], [00219]-[00222])). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component or machinery used in its ordinary capacity cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitation of “wherein the at least one server is operable to change a display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device based on the location of the at least one support team device; wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device includes the at least one administrative team device displaying a different list of available personnel on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device, and wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device further includes dynamically presenting different analytics regarding a performance of the location of the at least one support team device; wherein the different analytics include inventory management and are represented by at least one data visualization; and wherein the at least one server is operable to change a display on a GUI of the at least one provider team device based on the location of the at least one provider team device.,” amounts the display of a list of available personnel and analytics regarding inventory management based on the location of the devices i.e. updating data on a display based on collection and analysis of the data. See Application Specification at [00155]; MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 3-8 include limitations of the independent claim and are directed to the same abstract idea as discussed above and incorporated herein. The dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because they are directed to non-statutory subject matter. These additional claims recite what the data is and how it is analyzed. These information characteristics do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and, when viewed individually or as a whole, they do not add anything substantial beyond the managing personal behavior or interactions between people and steps that could practically be performed in the mind for managing requests and workflows to serve patients within a medical facility. Dependent claim 6 recites “a crowdsourcing system for generating a library.” which amounts to collecting and storing data within a database; claim 7 recites “three-dimensional (3D) geofences, which is well understood routine and conventional activity (See Application Specification at [00154] “The system is able to utilize any method of geofencing known in the art, including but not limited to, those described in U.S. Patent No. 8,971,930 or U.S. Patent No. 10,142,774”); and claim 8 recites “at least one robot,” which is described at a high level of generality such that it applies to any robotics known in the art for performing a task under its ordinary capacity (See Application Specification at [00107], MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)). Furthermore, the combination of elements does not indicate a significant improvement to the functioning of a computer or any other technology. Therefore the dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claims 9-16 are drawn to a method for managing requests and workflows to serve patients in a medical facility, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e. method).
Independent Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 9 recites (additional elements bolded):
9. A method for managing requests and workflows to serve patients in a medical facility, comprising:
providing at least one server in network communication with at least one support team device and at least one provider device and/or at least one patient device;
providing at least one operator device;
receiving, via the at least one server, one or more requests from the at least one patient device and/or the at least one provider device based on a selection of one or more elements on a graphical user interface (GUI) displayed on the at least one patient device and/or the at least one provider team device, wherein the one or more requests include a request location within the medical facility from which the one or more requests originated;
automatically analyzing, via the at least one server, the one or more requests from the at least one patient device and/or the at least one provider device and determining one or more devices of the at least one support team device to send the one or more requests;
wherein the one or more devices of the at least one support team device to which the one or more requests are sent are determined based on a number of requests already accepted by the one or more devices of the at least one support team device;
generating at least one anticipated request, via the at least one server, using artificial intelligence and determining an appropriate device to send the at least one anticipated request, wherein the appropriate device is the at least one patient device, at least one administrative team device, the at least one provider device, at least one family member device, and/or the at least one support team device;
automatically rerouting using artificial intelligence, via the at least one server, the one or more requests based on a location of the at least one support team device not moving towards a location of the at least one patient device after a period of time;
changing, via the at least one server, a display on a GUI of the at least one administrative team device based on the location within the medical facility of the at least one support team device; and displaying, via the at least one server, an operator interface on the at least one operator device, the operator interface including a list of the one or more requests which are pending and the one or more requests which are complete and a click-selectable button for generating a new request;
wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device includes the at least one administrative team device displaying a different list of available personnel on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device, wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device further includes presenting different analytics regarding a performance of the location of the at least one support team device; and
wherein the different analytics include inventory management and are represented by at least one data visualization.
The above claim limitations, as drafted, is a method that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance managing personal behavior or relationships between people through following rules or instructions but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting the above bolded limitations, nothing in the claim precludes the steps from being directed to rules or instructions for managing personal behavior or relationships between people. For example, but for the above bolded language, receive one or more requests wherein the one or more requests include a request location within the medical facility from which the one or more requests originated; analyzes the one or more requests and determines where to send the one or more requests; anticipate at least one request and determine where to send the at least one anticipated request; determine a location within the medical facility, automatically reroute the one or more requests based on the location of a requested resource not moving towards a location after a period of time in the context of this claim encompasses the management of personal behavior or interactions between people through rules or instructions for managing requests and workflows to serve patients in a medical facility. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers rules or instructions for managing personal behavior or interactions between people but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Further, the claim language is also directed to the abstract idea of a “Mental Process” (e.g. analyze the one or more requests and determine where to send the one or more requests), which covers steps that can practically be performed in the mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the above bolded additional elements, for example, “providing at least one server in network communication with at least one support team device and at least one provider device and/or at least one patient device; providing at least one operator device,” “a graphical user interface (GUI),” “using artificial intelligence,” and “an operator interface,” to perform the claim limitations and are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a server including a processing unit and memory in network communication with devices such as mobile phones, smartphones, desktop computers, tablet computers, laptops, and other similar computing devices, a graphical user interface on the devices for input/output display and selection, and geolocation sensor in a mobile device, and using artificial intelligence as learning techniques/algorithms as they relate to general purpose computer components (Application Specification at [00216], [00219]-[00222])). As such, the limitations amount to no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or other machinery, or merely uses a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2) (i.e. a server/network/devices to send/receive data; a server to analyze data; a graphical user interface to display data; a geolocation sensor within a mobile device to generate location data). Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitation of “changing, via the at least one server, a display on a GUI of the at least one administrative team device based on the location within the medical facility of the at least one support team device; and displaying, via the at least one server, an operator interface on the at least one operator device, the operator interface including a list of the one or more requests which are pending and the one or more requests which are complete and a click-selectable button for generating a new request; wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device includes the at least one administrative team device displaying a different list of available personnel on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device, wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device further includes presenting different analytics regarding a performance of the location of the at least one support team device; and wherein the different analytics include inventory management and are represented by at least one data visualization,” amounts the display of a list of available personnel and analytics regarding inventory management based on the location of the devices i.e. updating data on a display based on collection and analysis of the data. See Application Specification at [00155]. This does not provide an improvement to the functioning of the graphical user interface, but rather, merely uses the graphical user interface in its ordinary capacity for displaying data. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the above bolded additional elements, for example, “providing at least one server in network communication with at least one support team device and at least one provider device and/or at least one patient device; providing at least one operator device,” “a graphical user interface (GUI),” “using artificial intelligence,” and “an operator interface,” to perform the claim limitations, which amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component or machinery in its ordinary capacity. (i.e., a server including a processing unit and memory in network communication with devices such as mobile phones, smartphones, desktop computers, tablet computers, laptops, and other similar computing devices, a graphical user interface on the devices for input/output display and selection, and geolocation sensor in a mobile device, and using artificial intelligence as learning techniques/algorithms as they relate to general purpose computer components (Application Specification at [00216], [00219]-[00222])). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component or machinery used in its ordinary capacity cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitation of “changing, via the at least one server, a display on a GUI of the at least one administrative team device based on the location within the medical facility of the at least one support team device; and displaying, via the at least one server, an operator interface on the at least one operator device, the operator interface including a list of the one or more requests which are pending and the one or more requests which are complete and a click-selectable button for generating a new request; wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device includes the at least one administrative team device displaying a different list of available personnel on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device, wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device further includes presenting different analytics regarding a performance of the location of the at least one support team device; and wherein the different analytics include inventory management and are represented by at least one data visualization,” amounts the display of a list of available personnel and analytics regarding inventory management based on the location of the devices i.e. updating data on a display based on collection and analysis of the data. See Application Specification at [00155]; MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 10-16 include limitations of the independent claim and are directed to the same abstract idea as discussed above and incorporated herein. The dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because they are directed to non-statutory subject matter. These additional claims recite what the data is and how it is analyzed. These information characteristics do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and, when viewed individually or as a whole, they do not add anything substantial beyond the managing personal behavior or interactions between people and steps that could practically be performed in the mind for managing requests and workflows to serve patients within a medical facility. Dependent claim 16 recites “a network-connected patient bed.” which is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to applying the abstract idea to machinery used in its ordinary capacity. See Application Specification at [00153], MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). Furthermore, the combination of elements does not indicate a significant improvement to the functioning of a computer or any other technology. Therefore the dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claims 17 and 19-20 are drawn to a system for managing requests and workflows to serve patients in a medical facility, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e. machine).
Independent Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 17 recites
17. A system for managing requests and workflows to serve patients in a medical facility, comprising:
at least one server in network communication with at least one support team device and at least one provider team device; and
at least one operator device;
wherein the at least one server is operable to receive one or more requests from the at least one provider team device based on a selection of one or more elements on a graphical user interface (GUI) displayed on the at least one provider team device, wherein the one or more requests include a location within the medical facility of a patient associated with the one or more requests;
wherein the at least one server automatically analyzes the one or more requests from the at least one provider team device and determines one or more devices of the at least one support team device to send the one or more requests;
wherein the at least one server is operable to anticipate at least one request using artificial intelligence and determine an appropriate device to send the at least one anticipated request;
wherein the at least one server is operable to receive inputs from the at least one operator device to generate virtual boundaries around a physical space in which providers or concierges are designated to receive requests and work within;
wherein the at least one server is operable to automatically reroute the one or more requests using artificial intelligence based on a location of the at least one support team device not moving towards the location of the at least one patient after a period of time
wherein the at least one server is operable to change a display on a GUI of at least one administrative team device based on the location of the at least one support team device; and
wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device further includes presenting different analytics regarding a performance of the location of the at least one support team device;
wherein the different analytics include inventory management and are represented by at least one data visualization;
wherein the at least one server is operable to display an operator interface on the at least one operator device, wherein the operator interface comprises a list of the one or more requests which are pending and the one or more requests which are complete and a click-selectable button for generating a new request.
The above claim limitations, as drafted, is a system that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance managing personal behavior or relationships between people through following rules or instructions but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting the above bolded limitations, nothing in the claim precludes the steps from being directed to rules or instructions for managing personal behavior or relationships between people. For example, but for the above bolded language, receive one or more requests wherein the one or more requests include a request location within the medical facility from which the one or more requests originated; analyzes the one or more requests and determines where to send the one or more requests; anticipate at least one request and determine where to send the at least one anticipated request; determine a location within the medical facility, automatically reroute the one or more requests based on the location of a requested resource not moving towards a location after a period of time in the context of this claim encompasses the management of personal behavior or interactions between people through rules or instructions for managing requests and workflows to serve patients in a medical facility. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers rules or instructions for managing personal behavior or interactions between people but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Further, the claim language is also directed to the abstract idea of a “Mental Process” (e.g. analyze the one or more requests and determine where to send the one or more requests), which covers steps that can practically be performed in the mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the above bolded additional elements, for example, “at least one server in network communication with at least one support team device and at least one provider team device; and at least one operator device,” “a graphical user interface (GUI),” “using artificial intelligence,” and “an operator interface,” to perform the claim limitations and are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a server including a processing unit and memory in network communication with devices such as mobile phones, smartphones, desktop computers, tablet computers, laptops, and other similar computing devices, a graphical user interface on the devices for input/output display and selection, and geolocation sensor in a mobile device, and using artificial intelligence as learning techniques/algorithms as they relate to general purpose computer components (Application Specification at [00216], [00219]-[00222])). As such, the limitations amount to no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or other machinery, or merely uses a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2) (i.e. a server/network/devices to send/receive data; a server to analyze data; a graphical user interface to display data; a geolocation sensor within a mobile device to generate location data). Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitation of “wherein the at least one server is operable to change a display on a GUI of at least one administrative team device based on the location of the at least one support team device; and wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device further includes presenting different analytics regarding a performance of the location of the at least one support team device ;wherein the different analytics include inventory management and are represented by at least one data visualization; wherein the at least one server is operable to display an operator interface on the at least one operator device, wherein the operator interface comprises a list of the one or more requests which are pending and the one or more requests which are complete and a click-selectable button for generating a new request,” amounts the display of a list of available personnel and analytics regarding inventory management based on the location of the devices i.e. updating data on a display based on collection and analysis of the data. See Application Specification at [00155]. This does not provide an improvement to the functioning of the graphical user interface, but rather, merely uses the graphical user interface in its ordinary capacity for displaying data. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the above bolded additional elements, for example, “at least one server in network communication with at least one support team device and at least one provider team device; and at least one operator device,” “a graphical user interface (GUI),” and “an operator interface,” to perform the claim limitations, which amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component or machinery in its ordinary capacity. (i.e., a server including a processing unit and memory in network communication with devices such as mobile phones, smartphones, desktop computers, tablet computers, laptops, and other similar computing devices, a graphical user interface on the devices for input/output display and selection, and geolocation sensor in a mobile device, and using artificial intelligence as learning techniques/algorithms as they relate to general purpose computer components (Application Specification at [00216], [00219]-[00222])). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component or machinery used in its ordinary capacity cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitation of “wherein the at least one server is operable to change a display on a GUI of at least one administrative team device based on the location of the at least one support team device; and wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device further includes presenting different analytics regarding a performance of the location of the at least one support team device ;wherein the different analytics include inventory management and are represented by at least one data visualization; wherein the at least one server is operable to display an operator interface on the at least one operator device, wherein the operator interface comprises a list of the one or more requests which are pending and the one or more requests which are complete and a click-selectable button for generating a new request,” amounts the display of a list of available personnel and analytics regarding inventory management based on the location of the devices i.e. updating data on a display based on collection and analysis of the data. See Application Specification at [00155]; MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 19-20 include limitations of the independent claim and are directed to the same abstract idea as discussed above and incorporated herein. The dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because they are directed to non-statutory subject matter. These additional claims recite what the data is and how it is analyzed. These information characteristics do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and, when viewed individually or as a whole, they do not add anything substantial beyond the managing personal behavior or interactions between people and steps that could practically be performed in the mind for managing requests and workflows to serve patients within a medical facility. Furthermore, the combination of elements does not indicate a significant improvement to the functioning of a computer or any other technology. Therefore the dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2022/0374815 A1 (hereinafter “Perry et al.”) in view of U.S. 2018/0268346 A1 (hereinafter “Cronin et al.”) and U.S. 2023/0317257 A1 (hereinafter “Kim et al.”).
RE: Claim 1 (Currently Amended) Perry et al. teaches the claimed:
1. A system for managing requests and workflows to serve patients in a medical facility, comprising: at least one server in network communication with at least one support team device, at least one provider team device, at least one administrative team device, at least one family member device, and/or at least one patient device; and at least one operator device ((Perry et al., [0028], [0029], [0032]) (user device may communicate with facility server and/or network server via direct wireless communication links (not shown), or via a combination of one or more of local network and/or network; Facility server may be operated by a facility such as a hospital, business, retail location, and the like. Facility server may enable communication within a computer-based system including computer system components such desktop computers, workstations, tablets, hand held computing devices, memory devices, and/or internal network(s) connecting the components. Network server, Third party server, and database may be one or more servers or storage services provided by an entity such as a provider of networking, cloud, or backup services));
wherein the at least one server is operable to receive one or more requests from the at least one patient device, the at least one administrative team device, the at least one provider team device, the at least one family member device, and/or the at least one support team device based on a selection of one or more elements on a graphical user interface (GUI) displayed on the at least one patient device, the at least one administrative team device, the at least one provider team device, the at least one family member device, and/or the at least one support team device ((Perry et al., [0024], [0025], [0026], [0092]) (System may include multiple types of users such as, for example, task requestors, dispatchers, and responders. Task requestors may include one or more individuals who initiate a request for a certain task to be completed, such as a nurse requesting a hospital bed. In some embodiments, dispatchers may include individuals who perform one or more tasks related to assigning requested tasks. In some embodiments, responders may include one or more individuals assigned to the requested tasks, who perform and complete the tasks. Computer terminal may be a standalone device disposed in an office, a room, an employee station, or an alternative central location in a workplace. Administrator terminal may include computer system or device associated with a user that manages or oversees a portion of facility system; User device may be a personal computing device; Process may begin in step when network server receives and processes task information for a new task request. In some embodiments, network server may receive a task request from a terminal such as computer terminal; task management interface may include a button for creating a new task, such as interface element. Upon receiving a selection of interface element , network server may generate information for displaying task creation interface));
wherein the one or more requests include a request location within the medical facility from which the one or more requests originated ((Perry et al., [0093]) (In some embodiments, interface may include options for specifying the full details of the task such as, for example, the type of task, origin location, destination location, and equipment and/or supplies associated with the task));
wherein the at least one server analyzes the one or more requests from the at least one patient device, the at least one administrative team device, the at least one provider team device, the at least one family member device, and/or the at least one support team device and determines one or more of the at least one support team device to send the one or more requests; […] determine an appropriate device to send the at least one anticipated request, wherein the appropriate device is the at least one patient device, the at least one administrative team device, the at least one provider team device, the at least one family member device, and/or the at least one support team device ((Perry et al., [0070], [0071]) (If network server identifies at least one suitable employee match for auto-assignment to the task, network server may assign the task to one or more employees; network server may generate an alert notifying a responder employee that a new task is assigned to them));
wherein the at least one server is operable to determine a location within the medical facility of the at least one support team device, the at least one patient device, the at least one administrative team device, the at least one provider team device, and/or the at least one family member device via a geolocation sensor, defining 3D coordinates of the location of the at least one support team device, the at least one patient device, the at least one administrative team device, the at least one provider team device, and/or the at least one family member device ((Perry et al., [0064], [0078]) (network server can maintain a database of each available employee's real-time location in the facility. In some embodiments, user device may include one or more location sensors, and user device may transmit a real-time location signal to server, to provide a current location of an employee associated with the user device. Network server may compare employee locations to one or more locations associated with a requested task, such as the task origin location, task destination location, and one or more locations of equipment and supplies associated with the requested task. As an example, network server may determine which employees are currently located, or are expected to be located, closest to a location where the requested task originates; network server may rank available employees based on proximity to the origin and/or destination locations for the task; employee location may include coordinates such as latitude and longitude, distance from particular landmark in the facility, or one or more designations of locations in the facility, such as buildings, floors, units, zones and/or room numbers. Employee location may include both a designation of a specific location and one or more designations of more general location (e.g., room and zone)));
wherein the at least one server is operable to automatically reroute the one or more requests using artificial intelligence based on the location of the at least one support team device not moving towards a location of the at least one patient device after a period of time ((Perry et al., [0061], [0090]) (network server 160 may even determine whether a task that is already assigned to another employee is in progress and, if not, network server may unassign the task dynamically and include the unassigned task in a batch of tasks for a single employee; details for completion or progress of each step of the task since the task began up to the current time (real-time). In some embodiments, interface 800 may provide or more configurable alerts to the task requester and/or dispatcher, if the employee does not complete the task within a predetermined period of time, or if the employee is determined to be in a location of the facility that is inconsistent with the pending assigned task));
wherein the at least one server is operable to change a display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device based on the location of the at least one support team device ((Perry et al., [0086], [0089], [0096]) (Task management interface may be displayed, for example, at computer terminal or administrator terminal based on communication over local network and/or network. An administrator or other employee responsible for overseeing task management may interact with administrator terminal in order to operate task management interface. Task management interface may include a list of tasks active in system, and employee list that includes a number of assigned and completed tasks associated with each employee. In some embodiments, employee list may indicate one or more statuses for each employee such as, for example, whether an employee is "available" (e.g., on duty and not working on any task), "dispatched" (e.g., on duty and currently working on a task), or "logged out" (e.g., off duty). task management interface may provide a real-time status for each task based on continuously collected data from one or more of user device, computer terminal, administrative terminal, one or more tracking devices such as real time locating system (RTLS) tags, one or more sensors located throughout the facility such as proximity sensors, temperature sensors, presence sensors, door and room access sensors, and manual inputs via IVR or other manual entry systems; the employees and/or ranking of employees in list may change dynamically in response to each field input));
wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device includes the at least one administrative team device displaying a different list of available personnel on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device, wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device further includes dynamically presenting different analytics regarding a performance of the location of the at least one support team device; wherein the different analytics include inventory management and are represented by at least one data visualization ((Perry et al., [0081], [0096], [0097]) (Upon creating the new task, network server may determine which employee(s) are available that are located closest to the infusion pump storage location, are qualified to handle infusion pumps, and have at least one task slot available to deliver the infusion pump by the requested time or within an average expected delivery time. In some embodiments, interface may include list displaying potential employees for assignment of the new task. List may include all employees, employees available for assignment of a new task, or only those employees which meet criteria identified in task attribute entry fields. In some embodiments, the employees and/or ranking of employees in list may change dynamically in response to each field input; assets may be tagged with one or more electronic devices for broadcasting a location, condition, and inventory level of certain assets, and network server may determine a real-time location, inventory level, and condition of each tagged asset; one or more fields included in new task interface may be generated sequentially or dynamically as information is entered, such that additional fields may be displayed based on entries in previously displayed fields. In some embodiments, network server may automatically populate one or more of fields based on a task category selected in field 902. For example, if a requestor selects "infusion pump delivery" for field, network server 160 may automatically determine where infusion pumps are stored, an inventory and maintenance condition of the stored infusion pumps, and automatically populate a field indicating the infusion pump location));
wherein the at least one server is operable to change a display on a GUI of the at least one provider team device based on the location of the at least one provider team device ((Perry et al., [0101]) (Display of user device may display interface in response to instructions received from network server. In some embodiments, app may generate and display interface based on the received instructions. User may enable mobile task management interface by interacting with notification box, or by navigating through one or more interfaces of app to display assigned tasks; Network server may process the received task information to extract one or more attributes about the task. In some embodiments, network server may determine whether multiple pending requests are associated with a similar location, task, and/or equipment or supplies; In such embodiments, network server may determine whether multiple similar tasks may be grouped together into a batch, to be performed by a single employee)).
Perry et al. fails to explicitly teach, but Cronin et al. teaches the claimed:
wherein the at least one server is operable to receive inputs from the at least one operator device to generate virtual boundaries around a physical space in which providers or concierges are designated to receive requests and work within ((Cronin et al., [0028], [0033]) (The management-side GUI includes an input device, such as a keyboard and a mouse, a display, such as an LCD monitor, and/or a sound system, such as a speaker and a microphone; Each worker is provided with a work area assigned to the given worker. The management server may automatically or with assistance of a manager define the work area for each of the plurality of workers)).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the management-side graphical user interface for defining the work areas for each of a plurality of workers as taught by Cronin et al. within the method and system for automated task scheduling and management as taught by Perry et al. with the motivation of systematically and flexibly manage and control workers/employees and their work areas (Cronin et al., [0002]).
Perry et al. and Cronin et al. fail to explicitly teach, but Kim et al. teaches the claimed:
wherein the at least one server is operable to anticipate at least one request using artificial intelligence ((Kim et al., [0010]) (a prediction module configured to predict a task corresponding to needs of the patient for hospital resources by applying the numerical data to an artificial neural network)).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the artificial neural network to predict a task corresponding to needs of the patient for hospital resources as taught by Kim et al. within the method and system for automated task scheduling and management as taught by Perry et al. and the management-side graphical user interface for defining the work areas for each of a plurality of workers as taught by Cronin et al. with the motivation of providing technology capable of predicting patient needs with performance comparable to that of a human manager for 24 hours a day and 365 days (Kim et al., [0003]-[0004]).
RE: Claim 3 Perry et al., Cronin et al., Kim et al. teach the claimed:
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one server is operable to update the virtual boundaries based on subsequent messages from the at least one operator device ((Cronin et al., [0069]) (the management server redefines new work areas for the workers #1 and #2 depending on the result of the worker #3's issue. For example, the new work areas may be redefined for the workers #1 and #2 to cover the work area 310-3 of the worker #3, if worker #3 cannot continue working)).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the management-side graphical user interface for defining and redefining the work areas for each of a plurality of workers as taught by Cronin et al. within the method and system for automated task scheduling and management as taught by Perry et al. and the artificial neural network to predict a task corresponding to needs of the patient for hospital resources as taught by Kim et al. with the motivation of systematically and flexibly manage and control workers/employees and their work areas (Cronin et al., [0002]).
RE: Claim 4 Perry et al., Cronin et al., Kim et al. teach the claimed:
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one support team device includes a first support team device and a second support team device, wherein the first support team device is part of a group of devices on a first support team, wherein the second support team device is part of a group of devices on a second support team, wherein requests operable to be received by the first support team device are different from requests operable to be received by the second support team device ((Perry et al., [0063], [0064],[0088]) (when the facility is a medical facility, task management interface may display all tasks for a particular department such as maintenance, housekeeping, food service, medical equipment delivery, medical transport, and any other support departments or teams within the medical facility; employee information may include one or more attributes associated with the employees of the facility. For example, employee information may include a job title, certifications, qualifications, skill sets, dates and times scheduled to work, expected location of work…; employee location may include a room, department, or area of a facility assigned to the employee in a work schedule, a manual entry from the employee, a detected location based on locating equipment, or any other means of designating an employee's location within a facility)).
RE: Claim 5 Perry et al., Cronin et al., Kim et al. teach the claimed:
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one server is operable to designate one or more different support teams, each including a subset of the at least one support team device, wherein the at least one server is operable to determine which of the one or more different support teams to send the one or more requests, and wherein a first of the one or more different support teams includes a concierge team and a second of the one or more different support teams includes a facility employee team ((Perry et al., [0063], [0064], [0088]) (when the facility is a medical facility, task management interface may display all tasks for a particular department such as maintenance, housekeeping, food service, medical equipment delivery, medical transport, and any other support departments or teams within the medical facility)).
RE: Claim 6 Perry et al., Cronin et al., Kim et al. teach the claimed:
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one server includes a crowdsourcing system for generating a library based on user input ((Perry et al., [0072]) (network server may store a database entry identifying the task … and any custom comments associated with the task received from one or more of the requestor, dispatcher, and respondent. In some embodiments, stored employee and task database entries may be accessible to users including requestors, dispatchers, and responders via one or more of mobile device, computer terminal, and/or administration terminal)).
RE: Claim 17 Perry et al teaches the claimed:
17. A system for managing requests and workflows to serve patients in a medical facility, comprising: at least one server in network communication with at least one support team device and at least one provider team device; and at least one operator device ((Perry et al., [0028], [0029], [0032]) (user device may communicate with facility server and/or network server via direct wireless communication links (not shown), or via a combination of one or more of local network and/or network; Facility server may be operated by a facility such as a hospital, business, retail location, and the like. Facility server may enable communication within a computer-based system including computer system components such desktop computers, workstations, tablets, hand held computing devices, memory devices, and/or internal network(s) connecting the components. Network server, Third party server, and database may be one or more servers or storage services provided by an entity such as a provider of networking, cloud, or backup services));
wherein the at least one server is operable to receive one or more requests from the at least one provider team device based on a selection of one or more elements on a graphical user interface (GUI) displayed on the at least one provider team device, wherein the one or more requests include a location within the medical facility of a patient associated with the one or more requests ((Perry et al., [0024], [0025], [0026], [0092]. [0093]) (System may include multiple types of users such as, for example, task requestors, dispatchers, and responders. computer terminal may be associated with a particular room in a facility, such as a particular patient room, hotel room, conference room, or any other type of room. Thus, a message or task request received from a computer terminal may automatically associate the task request or message with the room in which computer terminal is installed. Task requestors may include one or more individuals who initiate a request for a certain task to be completed, such as a nurse requesting a hospital bed. In some embodiments, dispatchers may include individuals who perform one or more tasks related to assigning requested tasks. In some embodiments, responders may include one or more individuals assigned to the requested tasks, who perform and complete the tasks. Computer terminal may be a standalone device disposed in an office, a room, an employee station, or an alternative central location in a workplace. Administrator terminal may include computer system or device associated with a user that manages or oversees a portion of facility system; User device may be a personal computing device; Process may begin in step when network server receives and processes task information for a new task request. In some embodiments, network server may receive a task request from a terminal such as computer terminal; task management interface may include a button for creating a new task, such as interface element. Upon receiving a selection of interface element , network server may generate information for displaying task creation interface; In some embodiments, interface may include options for specifying the full details of the task such as, for example, the type of task, origin location, destination location, and equipment and/or supplies associated with the task));
wherein the at least one server automatically analyzes the one or more requests from the at least one provider team device and determines one or more devices of the at least one support team device to send the one or more requests […] determine an appropriate device to send the at least one anticipated request ((Perry et al., [0070], [0071]) (If network server identifies at least one suitable employee match for auto-assignment to the task, network server may assign the task to one or more employees; network server may generate an alert notifying a responder employee that a new task is assigned to them));
wherein the at least one server is operable to automatically reroute the one or more requests using artificial intelligence based on the location of the at least one support team device not moving towards a location of the at least one patient device after a period of time ((Perry et al., [0061], [0090]) (network server 160 may even determine whether a task that is already assigned to another employee is in progress and, if not, network server may unassign the task dynamically and include the unassigned task in a batch of tasks for a single employee; details for completion or progress of each step of the task since the task began up to the current time (real-time). In some embodiments, interface 800 may provide or more configurable alerts to the task requester and/or dispatcher, if the employee does not complete the task within a predetermined period of time, or if the employee is determined to be in a location of the facility that is inconsistent with the pending assigned task));
wherein the at least one server is operable to change a display on a GUI of [[the]] at least one administrative team device based on [[a]] the location of the at least one support team device ((Perry et al., [0086], [0089], [0096]) (Task management interface may be displayed, for example, at computer terminal or administrator terminal based on communication over local network and/or network. An administrator or other employee responsible for overseeing task management may interact with administrator terminal in order to operate task management interface. Task management interface may include a list of tasks active in system, and employee list that includes a number of assigned and completed tasks associated with each employee. In some embodiments, employee list may indicate one or more statuses for each employee such as, for example, whether an employee is "available" (e.g., on duty and not working on any task), "dispatched" (e.g., on duty and currently working on a task), or "logged out" (e.g., off duty). task management interface may provide a real-time status for each task based on continuously collected data from one or more of user device, computer terminal, administrative terminal, one or more tracking devices such as real time locating system (RTLS) tags, one or more sensors located throughout the facility such as proximity sensors, temperature sensors, presence sensors, door and room access sensors, and manual inputs via IVR or other manual entry systems; the employees and/or ranking of employees in list may change dynamically in response to each field input)); [[and]]
wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device further includes dynamically presenting different analytics regarding a performance of the location of the at least one support team device; wherein the different analytics include inventory management and are represented by at least one data visualization ((Perry et al., [0081], [0096], [0097]) (Upon creating the new task, network server may determine which employee(s) are available that are located closest to the infusion pump storage location, are qualified to handle infusion pumps, and have at least one task slot available to deliver the infusion pump by the requested time or within an average expected delivery time. In some embodiments, interface may include list displaying potential employees for assignment of the new task. List may include all employees, employees available for assignment of a new task, or only those employees which meet criteria identified in task attribute entry fields. In some embodiments, the employees and/or ranking of employees in list may change dynamically in response to each field input; assets may be tagged with one or more electronic devices for broadcasting a location, condition, and inventory level of certain assets, and network server may determine a real-time location, inventory level, and condition of each tagged asset; one or more fields included in new task interface may be generated sequentially or dynamically as information is entered, such that additional fields may be displayed based on entries in previously displayed fields. In some embodiments, network server may automatically populate one or more of fields based on a task category selected in field 902. For example, if a requestor selects "infusion pump delivery" for field, network server 160 may automatically determine where infusion pumps are stored, an inventory and maintenance condition of the stored infusion pumps, and automatically populate a field indicating the infusion pump location));
wherein the at least one server is operable to display an operator interface on the at least one operator device, wherein the operator interface comprises a list of the one or more requests which are pending and the one or more requests which are complete and a click-selectable button for generating a new request ((Perry et al., [0088], [0090], [0092], Fig 8) (task creation and assignment interface for task management; task management interface may provide a real-time status of each pending task in the facility, or a particular department of the facility. For example, when the facility is a medical facility, task management interface may display all tasks for a particular department such as maintenance, housekeeping, food service, medical equipment delivery, medical transport, and any other support departments or teams within the medical facility. task management interface may include a button for creating a new task, such as interface element. Upon receiving a selection of interface element, network server may generate information for displaying task creation interface)).
Perry et al. fails to explicitly teach, but Cronin et al. teaches the claimed:
wherein the at least one server is operable to receive inputs from the at least one operator device to generate virtual boundaries around a physical space in which providers or concierges are designated to receive requests and work within ((Cronin et al., [0028], [0033]) (The management-side GUI includes an input device, such as a keyboard and a mouse, a display, such as an LCD monitor, and/or a sound system, such as a speaker and a microphone; Each worker is provided with a work area assigned to the given worker. The management server may automatically or with assistance of a manager define the work area for each of the plurality of workers)).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the management-side graphical user interface for defining the work areas for each of a plurality of workers as taught by Cronin et al. within the method and system for automated task scheduling and management as taught by Perry et al. with the motivation of systematically and flexibly manage and control workers/employees and their work areas (Cronin et al., [0002]).
Perry et al. and Cronin et al. fail to explicitly teach, but Kim et al. teaches the claimed:
wherein the at least one server is operable to anticipate at least one request using artificial intelligence ((Kim et al., [0010]) (a prediction module configured to predict a task corresponding to needs of the patient for hospital resources by applying the numerical data to an artificial neural network)).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the artificial neural network to predict a task corresponding to needs of the patient for hospital resources as taught by Kim et al. within the method and system for automated task scheduling and management as taught by Perry et al. and the management-side graphical user interface for defining the work areas for each of a plurality of workers as taught by Cronin et al. with the motivation of providing technology capable of predicting patient needs with performance comparable to that of a human manager for 24 hours a day and 365 days (Kim et al., [0003]-[0004]).
RE: Claim 19 Perry et al., Cronin et al., and Kim et al. teach the claimed:
19. The system of claim 17, wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device includes the at least one administrative team device displaying a different list of available personnel on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device ((Perry et al., [0096], [0097]) (Upon creating the new task, network server may determine which employee(s) are available that are located closest to the infusion pump storage location, are qualified to handle infusion pumps, and have at least one task slot available to deliver the infusion pump by the requested time or within an average expected delivery time. In some embodiments, interface may include list displaying potential employees for assignment of the new task. List may include all employees, employees available for assignment of a new task, or only those employees which meet criteria identified in task attribute entry fields. In some embodiments, the employees and/or ranking of employees in list may change dynamically in response to each field input)).
RE: Claim 20 Perry et al., Cronin et al., and Kim et al. teach the claimed:
20. The system of claim 17, wherein the at least one server is operable to designate one or more different support teams, each including a subset of the at least one support team device, wherein the at least one server is operable to determine which of the one or more different support teams to send the one or more requests ((Perry et al., [0063], [0064],[0088]) (when the facility is a medical facility, task management interface may display all tasks for a particular department such as maintenance, housekeeping, food service, medical equipment delivery, medical transport, and any other support departments or teams within the medical facility; employee information may include one or more attributes associated with the employees of the facility. For example, employee information may include a job title, certifications, qualifications, skill sets, dates and times scheduled to work, expected location of work…; employee location may include a room, department, or area of a facility assigned to the employee in a work schedule, a manual entry from the employee, a detected location based on locating equipment, or any other means of designating an employee's location within a facility)).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2022/0374815 A1 (hereinafter “Perry et al.”) in view of U.S. 2018/0268346 A1 (hereinafter “Cronin et al.”), and U.S. 2023/0317257 A1 (hereinafter “Kim et al.”), and further in view of U.S. 2022/0044772 A1 (hereinafter “Moghadam et al.”).
RE: Claim 7 Perry et al., Cronin et al., and Kim et al. teach the claimed:
7. The system of claim 1,
Perry et al., Cronin et al., and Kim et al. fail to explicitly teach, but Moghadam et al. teaches the claimed:
wherein the virtual boundaries comprise three-dimensional (3D) geofences ((Moghadam et al., [0074]) (the geofence may be a three-dimensional geofence to detect, for example, entry and exit from a floor of a building)).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the three-dimensional geofence for accurate tracking and recording of the location of caregivers and a patient as taught by Moghadam et al. within the method and system for automated task scheduling and management as taught by Perry et al., the management-side graphical user interface for defining the work areas for each of a plurality of workers as taught by Cronin et al., and the artificial neural network to predict a task corresponding to needs of the patient for hospital resources as taught by Kim et al. with the motivation of accurately recording and generating electronic patient care records for emergency patient encounters according to guidelines (Moghadam et al., [0002]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2022/0374815 A1 (hereinafter “Perry et al.”) in view of U.S. 2018/0268346 A1 (hereinafter “Cronin et al.”), and U.S. 2023/0317257 A1 (hereinafter “Kim et al.”), and further in view of U.S. 2014/0365258 A1 (hereinafter “Vestal et al.”).
RE: Claim 8 Perry et al., Cronin et al., and Kim et al. teach the claimed:
8. The system of claim 1.
Perry et al., Cronin et al., and Kim et al. fail to explicitly teach, but Vestal et al. teaches the claimed:
wherein the at least one support team device includes at least one robot ((Vestal et al., [0020]) (The job management system (JMS) of the present invention receives, coordinates and manages job requests in a physical environment, such as a factory, order processing facility, distribution center, hospital or office building. The job management system receives and prioritizes the job requests, and selects individual units from a fleet of one or more heterogeneous autonomously-navigating mobile robotic units to carry out the job requests)).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the job management system for receiving, coordinating, and managing job requests in a hospital for a fleet of one or more heterogeneous autonomously-navigating mobile robotic units to carry out job requests as taught by Vestal et al. within the method and system for automated task scheduling and management as taught by Perry et al., the management-side graphical user interface for defining the work areas for each of a plurality of workers as taught by Cronin et al., and the artificial neural network to predict a task corresponding to needs of the patient for hospital resources as taught by Kim et al. with the motivation of providing a job management system for processing job requests in an environment where mobile robots in an environment wherein the mobile robots in the fleet are heterogeneous and have a diverse collection of capabilities and functions (Vestal et al., [0019]).
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2022/0374815 A1 (hereinafter “Perry et al.”) in view of U.S. 2023/0317257 A1 (hereinafter “Kim et al.”),
RE: Claim 9 (Currently Amended) Perry et al teaches the claimed:
9. A method for managing requests and workflows to serve patients in a medical facility, comprising: providing at least one server in network communication with at least one support team device and at least one provider device and/or at least one patient device; providing at least one operator device ((Perry et al., [0028], [0029], [0032]) (user device may communicate with facility server and/or network server via direct wireless communication links (not shown), or via a combination of one or more of local network and/or network; Facility server may be operated by a facility such as a hospital, business, retail location, and the like. Facility server may enable communication within a computer-based system including computer system components such desktop computers, workstations, tablets, hand held computing devices, memory devices, and/or internal network(s) connecting the components. Network server, Third party server, and database may be one or more servers or storage services provided by an entity such as a provider of networking, cloud, or backup services));
receiving, via the at least one server, one or more requests from the at least one patient device and/or the at least one provider device based on a selection of one or more elements on a graphical user interface (GUI) displayed on the at least one patient device and/or the at least one provider team device, wherein the one or more requests include a request location within the medical facility from which the one or more requests originated ((Perry et al., [0024], [0025], [0026], [0092]. [0093]) (System may include multiple types of users such as, for example, task requestors, dispatchers, and responders. Task requestors may include one or more individuals who initiate a request for a certain task to be completed, such as a nurse requesting a hospital bed. In some embodiments, dispatchers may include individuals who perform one or more tasks related to assigning requested tasks. In some embodiments, responders may include one or more individuals assigned to the requested tasks, who perform and complete the tasks. Computer terminal may be a standalone device disposed in an office, a room, an employee station, or an alternative central location in a workplace. Administrator terminal may include computer system or device associated with a user that manages or oversees a portion of facility system; User device may be a personal computing device; Process may begin in step when network server receives and processes task information for a new task request. In some embodiments, network server may receive a task request from a terminal such as computer terminal; task management interface may include a button for creating a new task, such as interface element. Upon receiving a selection of interface element , network server may generate information for displaying task creation interface; In some embodiments, interface may include options for specifying the full details of the task such as, for example, the type of task, origin location, destination location, and equipment and/or supplies associated with the task));
automatically analyzing, via the at least one server, the one or more requests from the at least one patient device and/or the at least one provider device and determining one or more devices of the at least one support team device to send the one or more requests ((Perry et al., [0070], [0071]) (If network server identifies at least one suitable employee match for auto-assignment to the task, network server may assign the task to one or more employees; network server may generate an alert notifying a responder employee that a new task is assigned to them));
wherein the one or more devices of the at least one support team device to which the one or more requests are sent are determined based on a number of ((Perry et al., [0084], [0085]) (network server may continue assigning tasks to the next employee listed, until the employee's workload capacity is reached (e.g., the total number of task slots for a particular employee are filled).network server may identify a highest ranked or highest scored employee, based on the results of step 510, and attempt to assign the task to that employee. If the employee becomes unavailable or refuses to accept the task, then network server may assign the task to the next-highest ranked/scored employee, until the task is accepted and started. In other embodiments, network server may employ one or more other assignment algorithms for assigning tasks to employees that take into account an employee availability, employee workload and skill set, and attributes of the requested task));
[…] and determining an appropriate device to send the at least one anticipated request, wherein the appropriate device is the at least one patient device, at least one administrative team device, the at least one provider device, at least one family member device, and/or the at least one support team device ((Perry et al., [0070], [0071]) (If network server identifies at least one suitable employee match for auto-assignment to the task, network server may assign the task to one or more employees; network server may generate an alert notifying a responder employee that a new task is assigned to them));
automatically rerouting using artificial intelligence, via the at least one server, the one or more requests based on a location of the at least one support team device not moving towards a location of the at least one patient device after a period of time ((Perry et al., [0061], [0090]) (network server 160 may even determine whether a task that is already assigned to another employee is in progress and, if not, network server may unassign the task dynamically and include the unassigned task in a batch of tasks for a single employee; details for completion or progress of each step of the task since the task began up to the current time (real-time). In some embodiments, interface 800 may provide or more configurable alerts to the task requester and/or dispatcher, if the employee does not complete the task within a predetermined period of time, or if the employee is determined to be in a location of the facility that is inconsistent with the pending assigned task));
changing, via the at least one server, a display on a GUI of the at least one administrative team device based on [[a]] the location within the medical facility of the at least one support team device ((Perry et al., [0086], [0089], [0096]) (Task management interface may be displayed, for example, at computer terminal or administrator terminal based on communication over local network and/or network. An administrator or other employee responsible for overseeing task management may interact with administrator terminal in order to operate task management interface. Task management interface may include a list of tasks active in system, and employee list that includes a number of assigned and completed tasks associated with each employee. In some embodiments, employee list may indicate one or more statuses for each employee such as, for example, whether an employee is "available" (e.g., on duty and not working on any task), "dispatched" (e.g., on duty and currently working on a task), or "logged out" (e.g., off duty). task management interface may provide a real-time status for each task based on continuously collected data from one or more of user device, computer terminal, administrative terminal, one or more tracking devices such as real time locating system (RTLS) tags, one or more sensors located throughout the facility such as proximity sensors, temperature sensors, presence sensors, door and room access sensors, and manual inputs via IVR or other manual entry systems; the employees and/or ranking of employees in list may change dynamically in response to each field input)); and
displaying, via the at least one server, an operator interface on the at least one operator device, the operator interface including a list of the one or more requests which are pending and the one or more requests which are complete and a click-selectable button for generating a new request ((Perry et al., [0088], [0090], [0092], Fig 8) (task creation and assignment interface for task management; task management interface may provide a real-time status of each pending task in the facility, or a particular department of the facility. For example, when the facility is a medical facility, task management interface may display all tasks for a particular department such as maintenance, housekeeping, food service, medical equipment delivery, medical transport, and any other support departments or teams within the medical facility. task management interface may include a button for creating a new task, such as interface element. Upon receiving a selection of interface element, network server may generate information for displaying task creation interface));
wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device includes the at least one administrative team device displaying a different list of available personnel on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device, and wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one administrative team device further includes dynamically presenting different analytics regarding a performance of the location of the at least one support team device; wherein the different analytics include inventory management and are represented by at least one data visualization ((Perry et al., [0081], [0096], [0097]) (Upon creating the new task, network server may determine which employee(s) are available that are located closest to the infusion pump storage location, are qualified to handle infusion pumps, and have at least one task slot available to deliver the infusion pump by the requested time or within an average expected delivery time. In some embodiments, interface may include list displaying potential employees for assignment of the new task. List may include all employees, employees available for assignment of a new task, or only those employees which meet criteria identified in task attribute entry fields. In some embodiments, the employees and/or ranking of employees in list may change dynamically in response to each field input; assets may be tagged with one or more electronic devices for broadcasting a location, condition, and inventory level of certain assets, and network server may determine a real-time location, inventory level, and condition of each tagged asset; one or more fields included in new task interface may be generated sequentially or dynamically as information is entered, such that additional fields may be displayed based on entries in previously displayed fields. In some embodiments, network server may automatically populate one or more of fields based on a task category selected in field 902. For example, if a requestor selects "infusion pump delivery" for field, network server 160 may automatically determine where infusion pumps are stored, an inventory and maintenance condition of the stored infusion pumps, and automatically populate a field indicating the infusion pump location)).
Perry et al. fails to explicitly teach, but Kim et al. teaches the claimed:
generating at least one anticipated request, via the at least one server, using artificial intelligence ((Kim et al., [0010]) (a prediction module configured to predict a task corresponding to needs of the patient for hospital resources by applying the numerical data to an artificial neural network)).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the artificial neural network to predict a task corresponding to needs of the patient for hospital resources as taught by Kim et al. within the method and system for automated task scheduling and management as taught by Perry et al. with the motivation of providing technology capable of predicting patient needs with performance comparable to that of a human manager for 24 hours a day and 365 days (Kim et al., [0003]-[0004]).
RE: Claim 10 Perry et al. and Kim et al. teach the claimed:
10. The method of claim 9, further comprising providing the one or more requests via at least one text input, at least one voice input, and/or selection of one or more icons on the GUI of the at least one support team device, the at least one administrative device, the at least one provider team device, and/or the at least one visitor device ((Perry et al., [0088], [0090], [0092], Fig 8) (task creation and assignment interface for task management; task management interface may provide a real-time status of each pending task in the facility, or a particular department of the facility. For example, when the facility is a medical facility, task management interface may display all tasks for a particular department such as maintenance, housekeeping, food service, medical equipment delivery, medical transport, and any other support departments or teams within the medical facility. task management interface may include a button for creating a new task, such as interface element. Upon receiving a selection of interface element, network server may generate information for displaying task creation interface)).
RE: Claim 11 Perry et al. and Kim et al. teach the claimed:
11. The method of claim 9, further comprising designating, via the at least one server, one or more different support teams, each including a subset of the at least one support team device, and determining which of the one or more different support teams to send the one or more requests ((Perry et al., [0063], [0064],[0088]) (when the facility is a medical facility, task management interface may display all tasks for a particular department such as maintenance, housekeeping, food service, medical equipment delivery, medical transport, and any other support departments or teams within the medical facility; employee information may include one or more attributes associated with the employees of the facility. For example, employee information may include a job title, certifications, qualifications, skill sets, dates and times scheduled to work, expected location of work…; employee location may include a room, department, or area of a facility assigned to the employee in a work schedule, a manual entry from the employee, a detected location based on locating equipment, or any other means of designating an employee's location within a facility)).
RE: Claim 12 Perry et al. and Kim et al. teach the claimed:
12. The method of claim 9, further comprising changing, via the at least one server, a display on the GUI of the at least one provider team device based on a location of the at least one provider team device, wherein the change to the display on the GUI of the at least one provider team device includes a change in a list of materials, brands of materials, a list of rooms, and/or a list of support team members displayed on the GUI of the at least one provider team device ((Perry et al., [0101], [0102], Fig 11) (list of tasks includes a list of materials, rooms, etc. on a task manager interface for a user device, which may include some or all attributes associated with each task))
RE: Claim 13 Perry et al. and Kim et al. teach the claimed:
13. The method of claim 9, further comprising generating, via the at least one server, a plurality of support team profiles corresponding to the at least one support team device, the plurality of support team profiles each including information regarding individual expertise, special skills, working hours, and/or location information for a plurality of support team staff ((Perry et al., [0063], [0064],[0088]) (when the facility is a medical facility, task management interface may display all tasks for a particular department such as maintenance, housekeeping, food service, medical equipment delivery, medical transport, and any other support departments or teams within the medical facility; employee information may include one or more attributes associated with the employees of the facility. For example, employee information may include a job title, certifications, qualifications, skill sets, dates and times scheduled to work, expected location of work…; employee location may include a room, department, or area of a facility assigned to the employee in a work schedule, a manual entry from the employee, a detected location based on locating equipment, or any other means of designating an employee's location within a facility)).
RE: Claim 14 (Currently Amended) Perry et al. and Kim et al. teach the claimed:
14. The method of claim 9, wherein the at least one support team device to which each of the one or more requests are sent is also based on locations of origins of a plurality of other requests received by the at least one server ((Perry et al., [0078]) (network server can maintain a database of each available employee's real-time location in the facility. In some embodiments, user device may include one or more location sensors, and user device may transmit a real-time location signal to server, to provide a current location of an employee associated with the user device. Network server may compare employee locations to one or more locations associated with a requested task, such as the task origin location, task destination location, and one or more locations of equipment and supplies associated with the requested task. As an example, network server may determine which employees are currently located, or are expected to be located, closest to a location where the requested task originates; network server may rank available employees based on proximity to the origin and/or destination locations for the task)).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2022/0374815 A1 (hereinafter “Perry et al.”) in view of U.S. 2023/0317257 A1 (hereinafter “Kim et al.”), and further in view of U.S. 2024/0232942 A1 (hereinafter "Burris Jr.").
15. The method of claim 9,
Perry et al. and Kim et al. fail to explicitly teach, but Burris Jr. teaches the claimed:
further comprising receiving, via the at least one server, financial incentive quantities associated with each of the one or more requests and automatically adding funds to a financial account associated with one of the at least one support team device that accepts and completes the one or more requests((Burris Jr, [0022]) (the service provider provides the requested service at the appropriate time and then the service provider received payment from the system)).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the payment by a system to a service provider after the service is provided at the appropriate time as taught by Burris Jr. within the method and system for automated task scheduling and management as taught by Perry et al. and the artificial neural network to predict a task corresponding to needs of the patient for hospital resources as taught by Kim et al. with the motivation of integrating service providers such as physicians into the a digital solution for improving the experience for providers and better service for consumers (Burris Jr., [0002]-[0004]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2022/0374815 A1 (hereinafter “Perry et al.”) in view of U.S. 2023/0317257 A1 (hereinafter “Kim et al.”), and further in view of U.S. 2023/0031071 A1 (hereinafter “Carr”).
RE: Claim 16 Perry et al. teaches the claimed
16. The method of claim 9.
Perry et al. and Kim et al. fail to explicitly teach, but Carr teaches the claimed:
further comprising communicating, via the at least one server, the one or more requests to a network-connected patient bed and sending a command to the network-connected patient bed to automatically adjust one or more settings in line with the one or more requests ((Carr, [0093]) (Communication process may process at least a portion of the diction to identify at least one bed control-command to be performed on a hospital bed (e.g. hospital bed) within the hospital room (e.g. hospital room))).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine adjusting a hospital bed upon verbal request by a patient as taught by Carr within the method and system for automated task scheduling and management as taught by Perry et al. and the artificial neural network to predict a task corresponding to needs of the patient for hospital resources as taught by Kim et al. with the motivation of providing complex multi-step process of voice control request of virtual assistance in a hospital (Carr, [0005]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments will be addressed herein below in the order in which they appear in the response filed on 06/05/2026.
In the remarks, Applicant argues in substance that:
Regarding the 112(a) rejection of claim 18, Applicant argues the rejection is moot as claim 18 has been cancelled;
Regarding the 112(b) rejections of claims 9-16 and 18, Applicant argues that claim 9 has been amended and claim 18 has been cancelled such that the rejections are overcome;
Regarding the 101 rejection of claims 1-20, Applicant argues the claim does not recite an abstract idea, the invention is integrated into a practical application, and recites significantly more than abstract idea through an inventive concept;
Regarding the 102 rejection of claims 9-14, Applicant argues that Perry et al. does not teach each limitation of the currently amended claim; and
Regarding the 103 rejection of claims 1-6 and 17-20, Applicant argues that Perry et al. in view of Cronin does not teach each limitation of the currently amended claims.
In response to Applicant’s argument that (a) regarding the 112(a) rejection of claim 18, Examiner is persuaded and has withdrawn the prior rejection in light of the cancelled claimed.
In response to Applicant’s argument that (b) regarding the 112(b) rejections of claims 9-16 and 18, Examiner is persuaded and has withdrawn the prior rejections.
In response to Applicant’s argument that (c) regarding the 101 rejection of claims 1-20, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, under Step 2A, Prong One, Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that the independent claims recite limitations directed to an abstract idea but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, the claims recite steps to receive one or more requests wherein the one or more requests include a request location within the medical facility from which the one or more requests originated; analyze the one or more requests and determines where to send the one or more requests; and anticipate at least one request and determine where to send the at least one anticipated request, which in the context of the claim encompasses the management of personal behavior or interactions between people through rules or instructions for managing requests and workflows to serve patients in a medical facility but for the recitation of generic computer components. unlike DDR Holdings, wherein the claims addressed creating a composite webpages to display a third party vendor’s webpage embedded within the host’s website in a way that maintains the illusion that the user is viewing content native to the host’s website, the instant claims are directed to managing requests and workflows to serve patients in a medical facility such that it does not amount to a claim solution necessarily rooted in computer technology as compared to website embeddings (and as compared to Example 23 of the July 2015 SME Guidance). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Second, under Step 2A, Prong Two, Applicant argues that the claims recite an improvement to the functioning of a computer or other technology similar to Example 40. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Example 40 recites a technical improvement to a technical problem of network traffic data limited to an additional Netflow protocol data to avoid excess traffic volume on the network and hinderance of network performance. Applicant argue the instant claims are similar by “changing which icons are displayed based on a location of the second device,” and “rerouting” of a notification based on location data which reduces network latency and avoiding excess traffic volume. Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the instant claims do not recite changing which icons are displayed, but rather, recites changing the data that is displayed (i.e. lists of available personnel, inventory management data), such that the limitations regarding the GUI and changing the splay thereof do not recite an improvement to the functioning of the computer or graphical user interface, but are directed to using the computer and GUI as tools in their ordinary capacity through rules or instructions to determine which data to display See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). Second, the present Application Specification is silent as to any technical problem of latency and/or excess traffic volume such that any rerouting of requests based on location data provides a technical solution to a technical problem, and the claims merely recite using a computer and sensor in their ordinary capacity as tools for making the determination as to whether to reroute a request based on location sensor data to recite an alleged improvement to the abstract idea itself (i.e. routing patient request to the appropriate entity to fulfil the request. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
Lastly, under Step 2B, Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that the additional elements of the claim, when viewed individually and as a whole, do not recite significantly more than the abstract idea through an inventive concept that is not well-understood, routine, and conventional. Examiner respectfully submits that additional elements such as the use of artificial intelligence and the graphical user interface are considered under step 2A, prong 2 and Step 2B under the “apply” it standard as applying a computer or other machinery used in its ordinary capacity as a tool for performing the abstract idea such that they are not considered under the Berkheimer analysis. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
Accordingly, Examiner respectfully maintains the 101 rejection of claims 1, 3-7, and 19-20 as applied in the above Office Action.
In response to Applicant’s argument that (d) regarding the 102 rejection of claims 9-14, Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner respectfully submits that claims 9-14 are currently rejected under 103 as applied in the above Office Action and discussed further below.
In response to Applicant’s argument that (e) regarding the 103 rejections of claims 1-8 and 15-20 (and as applicable to claims 9-14 above). Examiner respectfully disagrees and further submits newly cited reference Kim et al. as teaching the gaps of Perry et al. and Cronin et al. in light of the currently amended limitations.
Perry et al. fails to teach anticipating requests, but Kim et al. teaches using an artificial neural network to predict tasks based on patient needs. See Kim et al. at [0010]. Examiner further submits that Perry et al. teaches the changing of a user interface with the data recited in the claims through real-time data on assets, personnel, and inventory including their location, levels, and condition and dynamically updating fields on a display as data is populated in response to each field of the interface. See Perry et al., [0081], [0096], [0097].
Accordingly, the 103 rejections of claims 1, 3-17, and 19-20 are maintained as a[[plied in the above Office Action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 2021/0241890 A1 teaches methods and system for managing service requests of patients and staff in a hospital and generating a matching dynamic interface (Abstract); and
U.S. 20190090085 A1 teaches a first user may associate a geofence with the 3D art such that only second users when they are at a location can access the art; and also, a business may want to protect sensitive content by only allowing employees to access the content while at work; or alternatively, a business may not allow content to be accessed while at a location ([0069])).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3682
/FONYA M LONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3682