DETAILED ACTION
The receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s amendment filed 08/27/2026.
Claims 1-20 previously presented. Claim 13 has been canceled and claims 21-30 have been added. Claims are 1-12 and 14-30 are pending.
Claims 4-9 and 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/07/2026.
Claims 1-3, 10-12 and 21-30 are examined on the merits.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10-12, and 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Turkyilmaz et al. (WO 2020/055357, IDS filed 12/03/2025), Sreedharala (WO 2021/214789, previously cited on PTO 892, and copy was provided), and the article to Cutolo et al. (“Apremilast interferes with the TGFβ1-induced transition of human skin fibroblasts into profibrotic myofibroblasts: in vitro study”, previously cited on PTO 892, and copy was provided).
Applicant Claims
Claim 1 is directed to a pharmaceutical formulation comprising an active drug selected from the group consisting of apremilast, ibudilast, crisaborole, and difamilast, wherein the active drug has particle size D90 ranging from about 1 µm to about 10 µm, and wherein the pharmaceutical formulation is an inhalation formulation that has a greater bioactivity for the treatment of an idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis (IPF) in a subject in need thereof as compared to bioactivity of an oral formulation, as characterized by decreased level of malondialdehyde (MDA) or hydroxyproline (HYP) in lung of the subject.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Turkyilmaz teaches dry powder inhalation formulation administered by means of inhaler and free from lubricant and surfactants (abstract). The reference teaches dry powder inhaler (DPI) comprises PD-4 inhibitors particles and carrier particles that controls fluidity of the drug and ensures that the drug reaches to the lung is accurate and consistent. The dry powder particles are adhered to the carrier homogeneously and adhesion is quite strong so the drug cannot detach from the carrier particles (page 3, lines 30-37). PD-4 inhibitors treat lung fibrosis (page 5, lines 30-33). Example of PD-4 inhibitors is ibudilast (page 6, lines 27-29). The particle size of the powder of PD-4 inhibitor is between 0.1-50 µm (page 7, lines 1-4). Mean particle size of the powder ensures the drug reaches the alveoli (page 7, lines 14-15). The carrier preferably lactose monohydrate having particle size between 10-100 µm (page 7 line 28 till page 8, line 7). The drug present in the formulation in amount 1-40%, and the rest is lactose (page 9, lines 20-25; examples; claims), i.e. lactose is from 60-99% of the formulation. Lactose is a homogeneous mixture of fine particles and coarse particles. The fine lactose particles have mean particle size lower than 100 µm, preferably between 0.1 and 50 µm, and most preferably 0.5-25 µm. Fine carrier particles help the active agent to reach the lung easier and in higher doses (page 3, line 36 till page 4 line 5; page 7 lines 33-36; page 8, lines 1-7, 16-22). The reference teaches fine particle fraction (FPF) above 15%. The amount of fine lactose is in the range of 1-40%, and more preferably 3-15% (page 9, lines 15-25; examples).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.012)
While Turkyilmaz teaches treating lung fibrosis using dry powder inhaler comprising PD-4 inhibitors to treat lung fibrosis, the reference does not exemplify the claimed PD-4 inhibitors, and does not teach treating intrapulmonary fibrosis (IPF), in particular, as claimed by claim 1.
Sreedharala teaches apremilast administered intra-pulmonary by dry powder inhaler (page 15, last paragraph till last paragraph page 26). The size of the powder particles range from 100 nm to 5000 nm (page 17, 2nd full paragraph) i.e. 1-5 µm.
Cutolo teaches phosphodiesterase-4 inhibitors (PD-4), and apremilast in particular is of interest in treating fibrosis in IPF patients because apremilast is efficient because it interferes with fibrosis primely in early phases of the disease (see the entire document, and in particular abstract; and page 3836, right column).
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rational and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide inhalation formulation comprising dry powder of PD-4 inhibitors having the claimed mean particle sizes to treat lung fibrosis as taught by Turkyilmaz, and use apremilast in the composition to treat IPF as taught by Sreedharala and Cutolo. One would have been motivated to do so because Sreedharala teaches suitability of PD-4 to be administered as dry powder inhalation intra pulmonary, and because Cutolo teaches PD-4 inhibitors are of interest and efficient to treat IPF because PD-4 inhibitors interfere with fibrosis primely in early phases of the disease. One would reasonably expect formulating dry inhaler formulation comprising apremilast of the claimed particles size that effectively treats IPF in its early phase.
Regarding the particle size of the drug as claimed by claim 1 of 1-10 µm, and 4.6 µm as claimed by claim 29, Turkyilmaz teaches particle size of the powder of PD-4 is between 0.1-50 µm that overlaps with the claimed particle sizes of 1-10 µm of the drug. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5].
Regarding the limitation of claim 1 of “formulation that has a greater bioactivity for the treatment of an idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis (IPF) in a subject in need thereof as compared to bioactivity of an oral formulation, as characterized by decreased level of malondialdehyde (MDA) or hydroxyproline (HYP) in lung of the subject”, this is a function of used drug that is inseparable from the drug. Further comparing the bioactivity is an in vivo test and not part of the claimed pharmaceutical formulation.
Regarding apremilast claimed by claims 2, 24 and 29, apremilast is taught by both Sreedharala and Cutolo. In any event, applicants failed to show unexpected results obtained from using apremilast over any other PD-4 drugs.
Regarding the elected species of “dry powder inhaler” claimed by claims 3, 23 and 25, it is taught by Turkyilmaz and Sreedharala.
Regarding carrier claimed by claim 10 and lactose as claimed by claim 11, this is taught by Turkyilmaz.
Regarding the ratio of the drug to the carrier as claimed by claim 12, Turkyilmaz teaches the drug can be 1-40%, and hence the lactose carrier forms 60-99% of the powder formulation that falls within the claimed ratio of 5-99% to 99-1%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5].
Regarding claims 21, 22 and 25 that the inhalation formulation has a fine particle fraction (FPF) percentage of about 16% to about 50%, 16.9-46.8%, and 46.8%, respectively, Turkyilmaz teaches FPF above 15% that overlaps with the claimed ranges. Note the term “about” of the claims that permits 10% above or below of the claimed range, unless otherwise defined in the specification.
Regarding the particle size of the carrier of 3-200 µm as claimed by claim 26, Turkyilmaz teaches particle size of lactose is between 10-100 µm that overlaps with the claimed particle sizes of lactose. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5].
Regarding claim 27 that the formulation comprises about 20% apremilast in the dry powder formulation, Turkyilmaz teaches 1-40% PD-4 inhibitors in the inhalation formulation that embraces the claimed amount. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. In any event, one having ordinary skill in the art would have determined the desired amount of the drug based on individual patient’s condition.
Regarding lactose monohydrate claimed by claims 28 and 30, and its amount of about 80% as claimed by claim 28, and its particle size of 7.5 µm as claimed by claim 30, Turkyilmaz teaches lactose monohydrate and teaches amount of the carrier of 60-99% that embraces the claimed amount, and further teaches lactose particles size of less than 100 µm for the fine particles and preferably 0.5-25 µm that embraces the claimed size. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5].
Absent any evidence to the contrary, and based upon the teachings of the prior art, there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the instantly claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that Turkyilmaz in view of Cutolo does not teach or suggest all the claimed elements for a finding of obviousness. Turkyilmaz never discloses an inhalation formulation that has an active drug with a particle size D90 ranging from about 1 µm to about 10 µm for the treatment of IPF, particularly a formulation that results in a greater bioactivity than its oral formulation in IPF treatment. Although Cutolo discloses that PDE4 inhibitors may be of interest in fibroproliferative and fibrotic diseases, it does not provide any formulation that would result in a greater bioactivity in treating IPF disease than a corresponding oral formulation.
In response to this argument. Applicant’s attention is directed to the scope of the present invention that is directed to a composition, and all the elements of the claimed composition are taught by combination of the cited references. Turkyilmaz teaches the particle sizes of preferably 0.5-25 µm that overlap with the claimed particle size of 1-10 µm. Using PDE-4 inhibitors for treating IPF was known before the effective filing date of the present invention as taught by Cutolo. Administering PDE-4 inhibitors as dry powder inhalation formulation was also known and taught by both Turkyilmaz and Sreedharala. If Turkyilmaz or Cutolo was to teach all the elements of the claims, the reference would have been considered for anticipation. One cannot attack the references individually wherein obviousness is based on combination of references. Further, motivation to combine the cited references exists, and reasonable expectation to achieve the present invention was presented.
Applicants argue that the proposed combination of Turkyilmaz and Cutolo would change Turkyilmaz's principle of operation. Specifically, Turkyilmaz teaches pulmonary delivery of a dry powder inhalation formulation that contains a PDE-4 inhibitor and lactose carrier for the treatment of COPD, asthma, chronic bronchitis, and cystic fibrosis. Turkyilmaz further discloses use of the PDE-4 inhibitor for downregulating inflammatory response. Cutolo relates to teachings of apremilast for reducing TGFß1-induced fibroblast-to-myofibroblast transition in skin fibroblasts, a completely different mechanism of action from that disclosed in Turkyilmaz. A skilled artisan would not have combined Turkyilmaz and Cutolo because the proposed combination would change Turkyilmaz's disclosed mechanism of action.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument because present claims are directed to a product, and all the elements of the claimed product are taught by combination of the cited references. Both Turkyilmaz and Cutolo use PDE-4 inhibitors, and Turkyilmaz administered the drug by dry powder inhalation to treat lung conditions including fibrosis, and Cutolo used the same drugs to treat IPF. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art desired to treat IPF would be motivated from the teachings of both references to administer the drugs by inhalation to treat IPF. The mechanism of action of the drugs is inseparable from the drug, and same compound cannot have mutually exclusive characteristics. It has been decided by the Courts that even in a case where the reference does not teach the same use of the composition, the two different intended uses are not distinguishable in terms of the composition, see In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324; Ex parte Douros, 163 USPQ 667; and In re Craige, 89 USPQ 393. In any event, the intended use of the claimed composition does not impart patentability to the claims that are directed to composition.
Applicants argue that the combination of Turkyilmaz and Cutolo provides no teaching or guidance for a person of skill in the art to arrive at the claimed subject matter with a reasonable expectation of success. Treatment of an IPF mouse model with the formulation alleviated oxidative damage and reduced pulmonary fibrosis, and reduced expression levels of fibrosis biomarkers such as MDA and HYP to a greater extent than the oral formulation. FIG. 4 and FIG. 9 of the instant application. These results suggest a greater bioactivity of the formulation for IPF treatment as compared to the oral formulation. Such effects have not been shown in either Turkyilmaz or Cutolo. Turkyilmaz's inhalers are formulated based on active-drug and carrier particle-size parameters that are irrelevant to D90 particle size as disclosed in the current application for the treatment of IPF diseases. As such, a person would be left with limitless alternatives and no guidance to arrive at the claimed subject matter with a reasonable expectation of success.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, motivation to combine the references exists with reasonable expectation to achieve the present invention, as set forth in this office action. It should be noted that the motivation to combine references can be different from the ones set forth by Applicant. That is, as long as motivation exists to combine the elements, the problem to be solved does not have to involve the same reason. Any properties applicants achieved, e.g. alleviation of oxidative damage and reduction of pulmonary fibrosis, and reduction of expression levels of fibrosis biomarkers such as MDA and HYP to a greater extent than the oral formulation, are expected from the prior art combination especially treatment of IPF that is achieved by the prior art using PDE-4. Turkyilmaz teaches dry inhaler formulation comprising PDE-4 inhibitors drugs and lactose as claimed, and having the claimed particle size to deliver the drugs to the lung as claimed. The secondary reference, Sreedharala, teaches the claimed PDE-4 inhibitors administered by as dry inhaler, and Cutolo teaches PDE-4 inhibitors treats IPF. Therefore, it is obvious that administering PDE-4 inhibitors as powder by dry inhaler would treat IPF.
Finally, obviousness does not require absolute predictability of success all that is required is a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Kubin, 561 F.3d at 1360. The Court has held that "the test of obviousness is not express suggestion of the claimed invention in any or all of the references but rather what the references taken collectively would suggest to those of ordinary skill in the art presumed to be familiar with them." See In re Rosselet, 146 USPQ 183, 186 (CCPA 1965). "There is no requirement (under 35 USC 103(a)) that the prior art contain an express suggestion to combine known elements to achieve the claimed invention. Rather, the suggestion to combine may come from the prior art, as filtered through the knowledge of one skilled in the art." Motorola, Inc. V. Interdigital Tech. Corp., 43 USPQ2d 1481, 1489 (Fed. Cir. 1997). An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of a case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. See KSR Int'l Co. V. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007) ("The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.").
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISIS A GHALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611