DETAILED NON-FINAL ACTION
Introduction
1. For reissue applications filed before September 16, 2012, all references to 35 U.S.C. 251 and 37 CFR 1.172, 1.175, and 3.73 are to the law and rules in effect on September 15, 2012. Where specifically designated, these are “pre-AIA ” provisions.
For reissue applications filed on or after September 16, 2012, all references to 35 U.S.C. 251 and 37 CFR 1.172, 1.175, and 3.73 are to the current provisions.
2. This Office Action addresses U.S. Application No. 19/408,099 (hereinafter also referred to as ‘099 or the instant application), filed December 3, 2025, which is a continuation reissue application of U.S. Application No. 17/733,713 (hereinafter also referred to as ‘713 or the instant application), filed April 29, 2022 and issued February 17, 2026 as US RE50,802, both ‘099 and ‘713 are a reissue application of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Patent No. 10,644,457 issued May 5, 20201 (hereinafter also referred to as ‘457) filed as U.S. Application No. 16/283,941 on February 25, 2019 (hereinafter also referred to as ‘941). The ‘941 application claims priority from of U.S. Taiwanese Patent Application 107202586 filed 02/26/2018.
3. Based upon Applicant’s lack of any statement in accordance with MPEP 1418, the Examiner finds no current ongoing litigation involving ‘457. Also based upon the Examiner’s independent review of ‘457 itself and the prosecution history, the Examiner cannot locate any other previous Reexaminations or supplemental examinations.
4. The ‘457 patent issued with claims 1-19 (hereinafter also referred to as the patent claims). A preliminary amendment filed concurrently with the application on December 3, 2025 was entered. The amendment amended claims 1, 6, 10-11, 13 and 16-18, cancelled claims 2-5, 7-9, 12, 14-15 and 19 and added claims 20-32. The specification was also amended.
5. As of the date of this Office Action, the status of the claims is:
Claims 1, 6, 10, 11, 13, 16-18 and 20-32 are pending.
Claims 1, 6, 10, 11, 13, 16-18 and 20-32 are examined.
Claims 1, 6, 10, 11, 13, 16-18 and 20-32 are objected to and/or rejected as set forth infra.
6. The earliest effective filing date claimed is after March 16, 2013.2 Therefore the AIA provisions apply. See 35 U.S.C. 100. See also paragraph 1, supra, again.
Reissue
Amendment
7. The amendment filed December 3, 2025 does not comply with 37 CFR 1.173 (b)(2), Claims, and (d), Changes shown by markings.
Specifically, the added claims, including the numerals and parentheticals, have not been entirely underlined.
Consent
8. The Consent filed December 3, 2025 is accepted.
Declaration
9. The reissue oath/declaration filed with this application is defective (see 37 CFR 1.175 and MPEP § 1414) because of the following:
As set forth in MPEP 1451, whenever a continuation reissue application is filed with a copy of the oath/declaration from the parent reissue application, as is the case in this application, the copy of the reissue oath/declaration in the continuation reissue application should be accepted by OPAP because it is an oath/declaration, even though it may be improper under 35 U.S.C. 251 or 37 CFR 1.175. However, for continuation reissue applications filed on or after September 16, 2012, in the remarks accompanying the continuation reissue application, the applicant should explain why the filing of the copy of the oath/declaration from the parent reissue application is sufficient. The remarks filed December 3, 2026 did not include any such explanation.
10. Claims 1, 6, 10, 11, 13, 16-18 and 20-32 are rejected as being based upon a defective reissue declaration under 35 U.S.C. 251 as set forth above. See 37 CFR 1.175.
The nature of the defect(s) in the declaration is set forth in the discussion above in this Office action.
ADS
11. The Application Data Sheet (ADS) filed December 3, 2026 is objected to because: in the Domestic Benefit/National Stage Information section on page 3, "reissued" (both) should be -- reissue-- See the Reissue Application Filing Guide at:
https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/forms/uspto_reissue_ads_guide_Sept2014.pdf
for more information. Note any corrected ADS must identify the information being changed with underlining for insertions and strike-though or brackets for text removed as required by 37 CFR 1.76(c)(2). See MPEP 2920.02 and Quick Start Guide for Corrected Web-based ADS at:
https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/Cortected-WebADS-QSG.pdf.
Additionally, the corrected ADS should be filed with a request for a corrected filing receipt. See MPEP 601.05(a) (II).
35 USC 251
12. Claims 1, 6, 10, 11, 13, 16-18 and 20-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 251 as being based upon new matter added to the patent for which reissue is sought. The added material which is not supported by the prior patent is as follows:
See paragraph 14, infra.
Specification
13. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
As set forth in MPEP 1451, II., the first sentence of each reissue specification must provide notice stating that more than one reissue application has been filed, and it must identify each of the reissue applications and their relationship within the family of reissue applications, and to the original patent. An example of the suggested language to be inserted is as follows:
Notice: More than one reissue application has been filed for the reissue of Patent No. 99,999,999. The reissue applications are application number 99/999,994 (the present application); and application numbers 99/999,995 and 99/999,998, both of which are reissues of Patent No. 99,999,999.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2111. It is further noted it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification, i.e., a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment. See MPEP §2111.01(11). Therefore, unless Applicant for patent has provided a lexicographic definition for the term, see MPEP §211l.0l(IV), or 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked, Examiners will interpret the limitations of the pending and examined claims using the broadest reasonable interpretation.
When the claimed feature is written as a means-plus-function or a step-plus-function. See 35 U.S.C. §112(6th ¶) and MPEP §2181-2183. As noted in MPEP §2181, a three prong test is used to determine the scope of a means-plus-function or step-plus-function limitation in a claim:
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
14. Claims 1, 6, 10, 11, 13, 16-18 and 20-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 17 and 24 recite “wherein the enclosed openings formed by the main adapting structures and the another enclosed opening formed by the supporting adapting structure are not in communication with each other.” The STATUS OF CLAIMS AND SUPPORT FOR CLAIM CHANGES UNDER 37 C.F.R. § 1.173(c) filed December 3, 2025, pages 3, 5 and 10 set forth “(Fig. 5a/Fig. 6a and Fig. 7a/Fig. 8a, and Fig. 9a).” for support. However, such Figures do not appear to show such enclosed openings of the adapting structures formed on the first surface of the first insulation body as not being in communication with one another. As shown, see, e.g., Fig. 9a, an insulation body 4 and the shield 3 collectively define a plurality of main adapting structures 472 and a support adapting structure 471 which each form an enclosed opening on a first surface of the first insulation body, see, e.g. ‘457 at 5:37-40 and 6:2-4, which receives a respective adapting element, and thus is capable of “communication” at such surface with the other openings.
Claims 30-32 further claim “wherein the enclosed openings formed by the main adapting structures and the another enclosed opening formed by the supporting adapting structure are at different sides of the first insulation body”. The STATUS OF CLAIMS AND SUPPORT FOR CLAIM CHANGES UNDER 37 C.F.R. § 1.173(c) filed December 3, 2025, page 8, set forth “Fig. 5a/Fig. 6a” for support. As best understood, see the following paragraph, such Figures do not show these openings on “different sides” of the first insulation body 4. As claimed in claims 1, 17 and 24, the openings of the adapting structures are all formed on “a first surface” and as shown in “Fig. 5a/Fig. 6a” on a “first board” 41 of the insulation body.
15. Claims 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
At the very least, the location of the openings with regard to the first insulation body is unclear, i.e. are the openings each at a respective different side or are the openings each at more than side?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16. Claims 1, 10-11, 13, 21-26, 28-30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application 2020/0259294 to Lu (hereinafter also referred to as ‘294) in view of Tseng (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0199874, herein after also referred to as ‘874) .
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claim 1
See the entirety of ‘294.
A connector assembly, comprising:
See Fig. 2 below and title.
a [receptacle] first connector, comprising:
a shield having a receiving slot [, wherein the shield is formed by metal plates]; and a first insulation body disposed in the receiving slot, wherein [the first insulation body is made of insulation plastic material, and] the first insulation body comprises:
at least one mating cavity, wherein the first insulation body and the shield collectively define a plurality of main adapting structures, each of the main adapting structures forms [forming] an enclosed opening on a first surface of the first insulation body; and
at least one first terminal group having a plurality of terminals arranged as at least one row along a first direction, wherein each of the at least one first terminal group is disposed in a corresponding one of the at least one mating cavity of the first insulation body; and
See Figs. esp. Fig 2 above, element 100, and Figs. 3-4 below, paragraphs [0104], [0106], and [0112]-[0114] and claim 32, e.g. a shield element 150 has a receiving slot in which a first insulation body 112 is disposed, a first insulation body 112 has a mating cavity 118, a plurality of main adapting structures 150b defined collectively by the first insulation body and the shield and forming respective enclosed openings 152 on a first surface3 of the first insulation body, at least one first terminal group 122 having a plurality of terminals 122a, 122b arranged as at least one row along a first direction4, wherein each of the at least one first terminal group is disposed in a corresponding one of the at least one mating cavity of the first insulation body.
a [plug] second connector mated with the [receptacle] first connector, the [plug] second connector comprising:
[a paddle board] at least one second terminal group [electrically connected to a cable]; and a second insulation body secured with [the paddle board and the cable] the at least one second terminal group, wherein the second insulation body [is made of an insulation plastic material and] comprises a plurality of main adapting elements extending from a first surface of the second insulation body and are adjacently disposed to [the paddle board] the at least one second terminal group,
See Figs., esp. Fig 2 above, element 200, and Fig 11 below, paragraphs [0120], [0114] and [0120] and claim 43, e.g. a second connector 200 mates with the first connector 100 and comprises at least one second terminal group (undenoted) and a second body 230 secured with the at least one second terminal group, wherein the second body comprises a plurality of main adapting elements 202 extending from a first surface5 of the second body and are adjacently disposed to the at least one second terminal group. However, ‘294 does not explicitly disclose the second body 230 as insulating. However, see ‘874 at paragraphs [0036] and [0038], i.e. the bodies housing the conductive terminals 12 and plates 5 are insulative bodies. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to house the conductors/terminals of ‘294 in bodies which are insulating as taught by ‘874 for the predictable result of electrically isolating the conductive terminals by means of nonconductors so as to prevent transfer of electricity.
the main adapting structures guide the main adapting elements, and the main adapting structures and the main adapting elements are mated collectively;
See ‘294 again at, e.g., paragraph [0114], i.e. “For example, as shown in FIGS. 10 and 11, the plug connector 200 may include legs 202 arranged to be inserted in the spaces 152 in a mating operation between a plug connector 200 and the receptacle connector 100. The spaced-apart portions 150b of the shell 150 may enable the plug connector 200 to achieve a general alignment with the housing assembly 110 during an initial part of the mating operation. For example, the legs 202 of the plug connector 200 may be configured to align with and be inserted in the spaces 152 defined by the shell 150 before or simultaneously with alignment of the guide posts 126 with corresponding guide holes of the plug connector 200.”
wherein the second connector further comprises a support adapting element extending from the first surface of the second insulation body, the support adapting element is disposed between the main adapting elements, the first connector comprises a support adapting structure collectively defined by the first insulation body and the shield, and the support adapting structure forms another enclosed opening corresponding to the support adapting element;
See ‘294 again at, e.g., [0114] above and [0113], i.e. “The figures show the shell 150 to include two spaced-apart portions 150b. It should be understood, however, that in various other embodiments of the present technology the shell 150 may have one spaced-apart portion 150b or more than two spaced-apart portions 150b.”. Therefore, ‘294 teaches that there can be three spaced apart portions 150b and corresponding legs 202. ‘294 also obviously teaches at least one such portion 150b and corresponding leg 202 is disposed between the other two portions 150b/corresponding legs 202. Accordingly, ‘294 teaches the second connector further comprises another adapting element extending from the first surface of the second insulation body, the adapting element is disposed between the other adapting elements and the first connector comprises another adapting structure collectively defined by the first insulation body and the shield which forms another enclosed opening corresponding to the support adapting element.
wherein the enclosed openings formed by the main adapting structures and the another enclosed opening formed by the supporting adapting structure are not in communication with each other.6
As best understood, ‘294, see discussion above, like the ‘457 patent, includes enclosed openings 152 which are also not in communication with each other, i.e. laterally separate from each other.
Claim 10
The connector assembly of claim 1, wherein when the [plug] second connector mates with the [receptacle] first connector, the main adapting elements are received between the shield and the first insulation body.
See ‘294 at Figures above, esp. opening 152 defined by 112 and 150, and paragraph [0114] again, i.e. “For example, as shown in FIGS. 10 and 11, the plug connector 200 may include legs 202 arranged to be inserted in the spaces 152 in a mating operation between a plug connector 200 and the receptacle connector 100.”
Claim 11
The connector assembly of claim 1, wherein the shield comprises at least one barb extending from an edge of the shield, and the at least one barb bends and extends into the receiving slot of the shield; the first insulation body comprises at least one positioning hole located on the first surface of the first insulation body adjacent to the shield, and each of the at least one barb of the shield is secured in a corresponding one of the at least one positioning hole of the first insulation body.
See ‘294 at, e.g., Fig. 8, elements 158 and 116c and paragraph [0121], i.e. the shield comprises at least one barb 158 extending from an edge of the shield (opposite the free end of the barb), and the at least one barb bends and extends into the receiving slot of the shield, and the first insulation body comprises at least one positioning hole 116c located on the first surface of the first insulation body adjacent to the shield, and each of the at least one barb of the shield is secured in a corresponding one of the at least one positioning hole of the first insulation body.
Claim 13
The connector assembly of claim [5] 1, wherein the shield covers the first insulation body such that the support adapting element is confined within the support adapting structure and the main adapting elements are confined within the main adapting structures.
See the discussion of adapting structures and elements with regard to claims 1 and 10 above.
Claim 21
The connector assembly of claim 1, wherein at least one portion of the main adapting structures overlaps with the terminals of the at least one first terminal group from a top view7 of the plurality of terminals.
See Figures 2-4 and the discussion of main adapting structures and terminals with regard to claim 1 above.
Claim 22
The connector assembly of claim 21, wherein the main adapting structures are spaced apart from the terminals of the at least one first terminal group along a direction perpendicular to a length direction8 of the at least one first terminal group.
See Figures 2-4, esp. Fig. 4, and the discussion of main adapting structures and terminals with regard to claim 1 above.
Claim 23
The connector assembly of claim 1, wherein the main adapting elements are spaced apart from terminals of the at least one second terminal group along a direction perpendicular to a length direction9 of the at least one second terminal group.
See Fig. 11 and the discussion of main adapting elements and terminals with regard to claim 1 above.
Claim 30
The connector assembly of claim 1, wherein the enclosed openings formed by the main adapting structures and the another enclosed opening formed by the supporting adapting structure are at different sides10 of the first insulation body.
As best understood, see the discussion of claim 1, e.g. Figs. 2-4 above, i.e. the enclosed openings 152 are formed at the first surface/side (facing element 200)and a second opposite surface/side (facing the side of 100 away from element 200).
Claim 24
A first connector, suitable for mating with a second connector, wherein the first connector comprises:
a shield having a receiving slot; and
a first insulation body disposed in the receiving slot, wherein the first insulation body comprises:
at least one mating cavity, wherein the first insulation body and the shield collectively define a plurality of main adapting structures, each of the main adapting structures forms an enclosed opening on a first surface of the first insulation body; and
at least one first terminal group having a plurality of terminals arranged as at least one row along a first direction, wherein each of the at least one first terminal group is disposed in a corresponding one of the at least one mating cavity of the first insulation body;
wherein the first connector further comprises a support adapting structure collectively defined by the first insulation body and the shield, and the support adapting structure forms another enclosed opening;
wherein the enclosed openings formed by the main adapting structures and the another enclosed opening formed by the supporting adapting structure are not in communication with each other.11
See the discussion of the first connector with regard to claim 1 above.
Claim 25
The first connector of claim 24, wherein the shield comprises at least one barb extending from an edge of the shield, and the at least one barb bends and extends into the receiving slot of the shield.
See the discussion of similar limitations in claim 11 above.
Claim 26
The first connector of claim 25, wherein the first insulation body comprises at least one positioning hole located on the first surface of the first insulation body adjacent to the shield, and the at least one barb of the shield is secured in the at least one positioning hole of the first insulation body.
See discussion of similar limitations in claim 11 above.
Claim 28
The first connector of claim 24, wherein at least one portion of the main adapting structures overlaps with the terminals of the at least one first terminal group from a top view of the plurality of terminals.
See discussion of similar limitations in claim 21 above.
Claim 29
The first connector of claim 28, wherein the main adapting structures are spaced apart from the terminals of the at least one first terminal group along a direction perpendicular to a length direction of the at least one first terminal group.
See discussion of similar limitations in claim 22 above.
Claim 32
The first connector of claim 24, wherein the enclosed openings formed by the main adapting structures and the another enclosed opening formed by the supporting adapting structure are at different sides12 of the first insulation body.
See discussion of similar limitations in claim 30 above.
17. Claims 16 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application 2020/0259294 to Lu (hereinafter also referred to as ‘294) in view of Tseng (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0199874, herein after also referred to as ‘874) as applied to claims 1 and 24 above, and further in view of Nakamura et al (US Pat. No. 4,822,303, herein after also referred to as ‘303).
Claim 16
The connector assembly of claim 1, wherein the shield covers the first insulation body so as to increase [the] an ability of electromagnetic shielding of the first insulation body.
Claim 27
The first connector of claim 24, wherein the shield covers the first insulation body so as to increase an ability of electromagnetic shielding of the first insulation body.
Lu ‘294 describes a metal housing shield 150, see [0116] and [0121] and Fig 2. above (see also Fig. 9), encircling the insulation body 112/terminals122/island 120. However, ‘294 does not explicitly discuss electromagnetic shielding. However, see ‘303 at, e.g., col. 1, lines 33-55, col. 3, lines 40-48, Fig. 2 and col. 5, lines 36-40 and 46-50 which describe a similar metal housing/shielding/shell encasing/encircling an insulation body for covering exposed portions of contacts preventing dust and dirt adhesion and accidental touching and/or providing EMI shielding. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the metal housing 150 of ‘294 which also encloses/encircles the insulation body/contacts would predictably provide similar results in view of the teachings of ‘303, i.e. prevent dust and dirt adhesion, accidental touching and/or EMI shielding. Therefore, the prior art obviously teaches or suggests a shield which covers the first insulation body so as to increase the ability of electromagnetic shielding of the first insulation body.
18. Claims 1, 10, 13, 20-24, 28-30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry et al (US Pat. Pub. 2019/0109393, herein after also referred to as ‘393) in view of Tseng (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0199874, hereinafter also referred to as ‘874).
Claim 1
See the entirety of ‘393.
A connector assembly, comprising:
See ‘393, title, “ELECTRICAL CONNECTOR SYSTEM WITH MATING GUIDANCE FEATURES” and Fig. 1 below.
228
a [receptacle] first connector, comprising:
a shield having a receiving slot [, wherein the shield is formed by metal plates]; and a first insulation body disposed in the receiving slot, wherein [the first insulation body is made of insulation plastic material, and] the first insulation body comprises:
at least one mating cavity, wherein the first insulation body and the shield collectively define a plurality of main adapting structures, each of the main adapting structures forms [forming] an enclosed opening on a first surface of the first insulation body; and
at least one first terminal group having a plurality of terminals arranged as at least one row along a first direction, wherein each of the at least one first terminal group is disposed in a corresponding one of the at least one mating cavity of the first insulation body; and
See ‘393 at, e.g., Figs. 1 and 2 above, Figs. 5-6 below and Fig. 4, and paragraphs [0021]-[0027] and [0033]-[0040], e.g. a first connector 104 with shield element 114 having a receiving slot 112 in which a first body 202 is disposed, the first body having a mating cavity 214, a plurality of main adapting structures 138 defined collectively by the first insulation body (202 below the portion of 138 shown on the right hand side of Fig. 2, see [0037]-[0038]) and the shield (138 above 202 shown on the right side of Fig. 2, see [0037]-[0038]) and forming respective enclosed openings (202 forms the floor and 138 forms the top and side walls, see [0037]-[0038] and Figs. 5-6 below) on a first surface13 of the first insulation body, at least one first terminal group 204 having a plurality of terminals 216 arranged as at least one row along a first direction14, wherein each of the at least one first terminal group is disposed in a corresponding one of the at least one mating cavity of the first insulation body. However, ‘393 does not explicitly disclose the first body 202 as insulating. However, see ‘874 at paragraphs [0036] and [0038], i.e. the bodies housing the conductive terminals 12 and plates 5 are insulative bodies. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to house the conductive terminals of ‘393 in bodies which are insulating as taught by ‘874 for the predictable result of electrically isolating the conductive terminals by means of nonconductors so as to prevent transfer of electricity.
a [plug] second connector mated with the [receptacle] first connector, the [plug] second connector comprising:
[a paddle board] at least one second terminal group [electrically connected to a cable]; and a second insulation body secured with [the paddle board and the cable] the at least one second terminal group, wherein the second insulation body [is made of an insulation plastic material and] comprises a plurality of main adapting elements extending from a first surface of the second insulation body and are adjacently disposed to [the paddle board] the at least one second terminal group,
See Figs., esp. Fig 1 above, element 102, and paragraphs [0015]-[0021] and [0028]-[0032], e.g. a second connector 102 mates with the first connector 104 and comprises at least one second terminal group, 120, and a second body 116 secured with the at least one second terminal group, wherein the second body comprises a plurality of main adapting elements 136 extending from a first surface15 of the second body and are adjacently disposed to the at least one second terminal group. However, ‘393 does not explicitly disclose the second body 230 as insulating. However, see ‘874 at paragraphs [0036] and [0038] again, i.e. the bodies housing the conductive terminals 12 and plates 5 are insulative bodies. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to house the electrical conductors of ‘393 in bodies which are insulating as taught by ‘874 for the predictable result of electrically isolating the conductive terminals by means of nonconductors so as to prevent transfer of electricity.
the main adapting structures guide the main adapting elements, and the main adapting structures and the main adapting elements are mated collectively;
See ‘393 again at, e.g., Figs. 1 and 5-6 and paragraphs [0021]-[0022] and [0036]-[0038]. See also [0043].
wherein the second connector further comprises a support adapting element extending from the first surface of the second insulation body, the support adapting element is disposed between the main adapting elements, the first connector comprises a support adapting structure collectively defined by the first insulation body and the shield, and the support adapting structure forms another enclosed opening corresponding to the support adapting element;
See ‘393 again at, e.g., [0021]-[0023], i.e. “…The plug housing 116 includes two rails 136 in the illustrated embodiment, but may have a different number of rails 136, such as only one or more than two, in other embodiments.…The number of guide channels 138 may correspond to the number of rails 136 on the plug connector 102. The shell 114 includes two guide channels 138 in the illustrated embodiment, but may have a different number of guide channels 138 in other embodiments.” Therefore, ‘393 teaches that there can be three channels 138 and three rails 136. ‘393 also obviously teaches at least one such channel 138 and corresponding rail 136 disposed between the other two channels 138/corresponding rails 136. Accordingly, ‘393 teaches the second connector further comprises another adapting element extending from the first surface of the second insulation body, the adapting element is disposed between the other adapting elements and the first connector comprises another adapting structure collectively defined by the first insulation body and the shield which forms another enclosed opening corresponding to the support adapting element.
wherein the enclosed openings formed by the main adapting structures and the another enclosed opening formed by the supporting adapting structure are not in communication with each other.16
As best understood, ‘393, see discussion above, like the ‘457 patent, includes enclosed openings, see enclosed openings, i.e. 202 forms the floor and 138 forms the top and side walls, which are also not in communication with each other, i.e. laterally separate from each other, see rightmost portion of 138 in Fig. 1.
Claim 10
The connector assembly of claim 1, wherein when the [plug] second connector mates with the [receptacle] first connector, the main adapting elements are received between the shield and the first insulation body.
See the discussion of claim 1 above, esp. ‘393 at Figures above, esp. Figs 2 and 5-6 and paragraphs [0037]-[0038] and [0026], i.e. the rails 136 are received between the shield/channels 138 and the body 102/surface 206.
Claim 13
The connector assembly of claim [5] 1, wherein the shield covers the first insulation body such that the support adapting element is confined within the support adapting structure and the main adapting elements are confined within the main adapting structures.
See the discussion of adapting structures and elements with regard to claims 1 and 10 above.
Claim 20
The connector assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one second terminal group comprises a paddle board and a plurality of contact points; and
the contact points are arranged along the first direction on the paddle board.
See Fig. 1 above and paragraphs [0017] –[0018], i.e. cards 120 and pads 119 and the discussion of claim 1 with regard to the second terminal group.
Claim 21
The connector assembly of claim 1, wherein at least one portion of the main adapting structures overlaps with the terminals of the at least one first terminal group from a top view17 of the plurality of terminals.
See Figures 2 and 6 and the discussion of main adapting structures and terminals with regard to claim 1 above.
Claim 22
The connector assembly of claim 21, wherein the main adapting structures are spaced apart from the terminals of the at least one first terminal group along a direction perpendicular to a length direction18 of the at least one first terminal group.
See Figure 2 and 6 and the discussion of main adapting structures and terminals with regard to claim 1 above.
Claim 23
The connector assembly of claim 1, wherein the main adapting elements are spaced apart from terminals of the at least one second terminal group along a direction perpendicular to a length direction19 of the at least one second terminal group.
See Figs 1 and 5-6 above and the discussion of main adapting elements and terminals with regard to claim 1 above. Note also paragraphs [0017] –[0018], i.e. cards 120 extend through tongue portion 134, and discussion of claim 1 above.
Claim 30
The connector assembly of claim 1, wherein the enclosed openings formed by the main adapting structures and the another enclosed opening formed by the supporting adapting structure are at different sides20 of the first insulation body.
See the discussion of claim 1, e.g. Figs. 2 and 6, i.e. the enclosed openings are formed at the first surface/side and a second opposite surface/side within cavity.
Claim 24
A first connector, suitable for mating with a second connector, wherein the first connector comprises:
a shield having a receiving slot; and
a first insulation body disposed in the receiving slot, wherein the first insulation body comprises:
at least one mating cavity, wherein the first insulation body and the shield collectively define a plurality of main adapting structures, each of the main adapting structures forms an enclosed opening on a first surface of the first insulation body; and
at least one first terminal group having a plurality of terminals arranged as at least one row along a first direction, wherein each of the at least one first terminal group is disposed in a corresponding one of the at least one mating cavity of the first insulation body:
wherein the first connector further comprises a support adapting structure collectively defined by the first insulation body and the shield, and the support adapting structure forms another enclosed opening;.
wherein the enclosed openings formed by the main adapting structures and the another enclosed opening formed by the supporting adapting structure are not in communication with each other
See the discussion of the first connector with regard to claim 1 above.
Claim 28
The first connector of claim 24, wherein at least one portion of the main adapting structures overlaps with the terminals of the at least one first terminal group from a top view of the plurality of terminals.
See the discussion of similar limitations in claim 21 above.
Claim 29
The first connector of claim 28, wherein the main adapting structures are spaced apart from the terminals of the at least one first terminal group along a direction perpendicular to a length direction of the at least one first terminal group.
See discussion of similar limitations in claim 22 above.
Claim 30
The connector assembly of claim 1, wherein the enclosed openings formed by the main adapting structures and the another enclosed opening formed by the supporting adapting structure are at different sides21 of the first insulation body.
See the discussion of claim 1, e.g. Figs. 2-4 above, i.e. the enclosed openings 152 are formed at the first surface/side and a second opposite surface/side.
Claim 32
The first connector of claim 24, wherein the enclosed openings formed by the main adapting structures and the another enclosed opening formed by the supporting adapting structure are at different sides22 of the first insulation body.
See discussion of similar limitations in claim 30 above.
19. Claims 16 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry et al (US Pat. Pub. 2019/0109393, herein after also referred to as ‘393) in view of Teng (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0199874, hereinafter also referred to as ‘874). as applied to claims 1 and 24 above, and further in view of Nakamura et al (US Pat. No. 4,822,303, herein after also referred to as ‘303).
Claim 16
The connector assembly of claim 1, wherein the shield covers the first insulation body so as to increase [the] an ability of electromagnetic shielding of the first insulation body.
Claim 27
The first connector of claim 24, wherein the shield covers the first insulation body so as to increase an ability of electromagnetic shielding of the first insulation body.
Henry ‘393 describes a metal housing shield 114, see [0034] and Fig 2. above (see also Fig. 9), encasing the insulation body 202/terminals 216. However, ‘393 does not explicitly discuss electromagnetic shielding. However, see ‘303 at, e.g., col. 1, lines 33-55, col. 3, lines 40-48, Fig. 2 and col. 5, lines 36-40 and 46-50 which describe a similar metal housing shield/shell for encasing an insulation body and covering exposed portions of contacts preventing dust and dirt adhesion and accidental touching and/or providing EMI shielding. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the metal housing 114 of ‘393 which also encloses the insulation body and covers exposed contacts would predictably provide similar results in view of the teachings of ‘303, i.e. prevent dust and dirt adhesion, accidental touching and/or EMI shielding. Therefore, the prior art obviously teaches or suggests a shield which covers the first insulation body so as to increase the ability of electromagnetic shielding of the first insulation body.
20. Claims 17-18 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry et al (US Pat. Pub. 2019/0109393, herein after also referred to as ‘393) in view of Teng (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0199874, hereinafter also referred to as ‘874) and Herring et al (US Pat. Appl. No. 2018/0254571, herein after also referred to as ‘571).
Claim 17
A connector assembly, comprising:
a [receptacle] first connector, comprising:
a shield having a receiving slot[, wherein the shield is formed by metal plates]; and
a first insulation body disposed in the receiving slot, wherein [the first insulation body is made of insulation plastic material, and] the first insulation body comprises:
at least one mating cavity,
wherein the first insulation body and the shield collectively define at least one adapting structure; and…
a [plug] second connector mated with the [receptacle] first connector, the [plug] second connector comprising:
at least one second terminal group [a paddle board electrically connected to a cable], ….
a second insulation body secured with the at least one second terminal group [paddle board and the cable], wherein the second insulation body [is made of an insulation plastic material and] comprises at least one adapting element, the at least one adapting element extends from the second insulation body and is adjacently disposed to the at least one second terminal group [paddle board], and the at least one adapting element and the at least one adapting structure are mated to each other;
wherein the at least one adapting structure comprises a support adapting structure and a plurality of main adapting structures, and the at least one adapting element comprises a support adapting element and a plurality of main adapting elements, each of the main adapting structures forms an enclosed opening on a first surface of the first insulation body, and the support adapting structure forms another enclosed opening corresponding to the support adapting element;
wherein the enclosed openings formed by the main adapting structures and the another enclosed opening formed by the supporting adapting structure are not in communication with each other.23
See the discussion of claim 1 above with regard to similar limitations.
Claim 17 further claims the first insulation body comprising:
at least one dividing element, wherein [the number of the mating cavities is plural] the at least one mating cavity comprises a plurality of mating cavities, and the at least one dividing element and the first insulation body form the mating cavities; and
a plurality of [at least one] first terminal groups having a plurality of terminals arranged as at least one row along a first direction, wherein each of the [at least one] first terminal groups is disposed in a corresponding one of the mating [cavity] cavities of the first insulation body; and…
and
wherein the [paddle board] second connector comprises at least one notch, each of the at least one notch separates a corresponding one of the at least one second terminal group [paddle board] into a plurality of parts, and each of the at least one dividing element and a corresponding one of the at least one notch [is] are mated collectively; and
See ‘393 at, e.g., Figs. 1-2, and 5-6 above, and paragraphs [0015]-[0021] and [0028]-[0032], and the discussion of the first terminal groups with regard to claim 1, i.e. a second connector 102, terminal group, elements 120, and at least one notch between elements 120 (see annotated Figs below and [0017] (“one or more circuit cards”)) and connector 104, adjacent solder tails 230, i.e. separated/spaced by structure similar to separation/spacing between 120 (see structures indicated by arrows in annotate Figs. 1 and 5 below).
However, ‘393 does not explicitly describe the card slot/mating cavity 214 having a number of cavities defined by a dividing element and the first body 202. See however Herring at, e.g., Figs. 1, 4, 9, 11, and 13-14 and paragraphs [0032] and [0053] which describe a similar connector having a plug connector e.g. element 106, with a card having separations/slots/notches 186 for alignment with a receptacle connector having dividing elements 136 across the card slot/mating cavity 402. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ at least one dividing element as taught by ‘571 in combination with the separation/slot/notch between the card portions 120 of ‘393 for the predictable result of providing guided mating as desired by “393. In so doing, the prior art obviously teaches or suggests at least one dividing element and such dividing element and the first insulation body forming mating cavities.
Claim 18
The connector assembly of claim 17, wherein when the [plug] second connector mates with the [receptacle] first connector, the at least one adapting element is received between the shield and the first insulation body.
See discussion of similar limitations of claim 10 above.
Claim 31
The connector assembly of claim 17, wherein the enclosed openings formed by the main adapting structures and the another enclosed opening formed by the supporting adapting structure are at different sides24 of the first insulation body.
See discussion of similar limitations in claim 30 above.
21. Claims 11 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry et al (US Pat. Pub. 2019/0109393, herein after also referred to as ‘393) in view of Teng (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0199874, hereinafter also referred to as ‘874). as applied to claims 1 and 24 above, and further in view of Wang et al (US Pat. Appl. No. 2018/0212376, hereinafter also referred to as ‘376).
Claim 11
The connector assembly of claim 1, wherein the shield comprises at least one barb extending from an edge of the shield, and the at least one barb bends and extends into the receiving slot of the shield; the first insulation body comprises at least one positioning hole located on the first surface of the first insulation body adjacent to the shield, and each of the at least one barb of the shield is secured in a corresponding one of the at least one positioning hole of the first insulation body.
Claim 25
The first connector of claim 24, wherein the shield comprises at least one barb extending from an edge of the shield, and the at least one barb bends and extends into the receiving slot of the shield.
Claim 26
The first connector of claim 25, wherein the first insulation body comprises at least one positioning hole located on the first surface of the first insulation body adjacent to the shield, and the at least one barb of the shield is secured in the at least one positioning hole of the first insulation body.
See ‘393 at Figure 4 and paragraphs [0025]-[0026] and [0034]-[0035], i.e. a shell 114 which surrounds and engages with the body 202. While ‘393 illustrates a piece/tab (undenoted) extending from the mounting end of the shell 114 in the center and abutting the body on surface 206, ‘393 does not explicitly describe a specific barb of the shield and a hole of the body for engaging the insulation body and shield. See, however, Wang ‘376 also describes an insulation body 1 and a shielding/guiding frame 2 which are engaged with each other via a “barb”’/abutting piece 2131 in middle portion 213 of the frame which extends/bends from an edge of the frame, i.e. adjacent the rear end of 2131 connected thereto, into the slot of the frame at the front edge into which the insulating body is received. See paragraph [0060] and Figs. 1-3, 5-7 and 10-11. The insulation body, i.e. the middle of base 12 appears to include a complementary abutting piece/hole for receiving piece 2131. Note also Figure 14 which appears to show holes and blocks as an alternative.
Therefore, if not already, a POSITA would be motivated to include a barb/hole connection as taught by ‘376 with the shield/body of the ‘973 connector in order to mount the shell on the body as described above by ‘393. The proffered modification is merely combining prior art elements (393’s connector shell/body/‘874’s interconnecting means) according to known methods (using barbs and holes) to yield predictable results (engaging a insulation body and guiding frame/shell with one another). In so doing, the prior art obviously teaches or suggests the shield/shell comprises at least one barb extending/bending from an edge of the shield, into the receiving slot of the shield, the first insulation body comprising at least one positioning hole located on a first surface of the first insulation body adjacent to the shield, and the barb of the shield being secured in the positioning hole of the first insulation body.
Double Patenting
22. Claims 1, 6, 10, 11, 13, 16, 20-30 and 32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6, 10-11, 13, 16 and 20-22 of U.S. RE50,802 in view of Henry et al (US Pat. Pub. 2019/0109393, herein after also referred to as ‘393) and US Patent Application 2020/0259294 to Lu (hereinafter also referred to as ‘294).
Claims 1, 10, 11, 13, 16, 21-30 and 32 of the instant application are broader with regard to the claims in the reference patent, i.e. don’t include the limitations of claim 6. See 214 U.S.P.Q. 761, In re Van Ornum and Stanz.
Claims 1, 6, 10, 11, 13, 16, 21-30 and 32 of the instant application are also narrower with regard to the claims in the reference patent, e.g. the last section of claims 1 and 24 and claims 30 and 32 However, as discussed above ‘294 and ‘393 describe such limitations as best understood. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of ‘294 and ‘393, i.e. separate/spaced enclosed openings on different sides, with the teachings of the reference patent in order to guide respective adapting elements as claimed in claim 6 of the reference patent.
Claim 20 of the instant application is also narrower with regard to the claims in the reference patent, e.g. paddle board/contact points. However, as discussed above ‘393 describes such limitation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of ‘393, i.e. paddle board/contact points, as the proffered modification is merely combining prior art elements ( reference patent terminal group/’393 terminal group implementation) according to known methods (using paddle/contact points) to yield predictable results (electrical/signal connection).
23. Claims 17-18, and 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6, 10-11, 13, 16 and 21-23 of U.S. Patent No. RE50,802 in view of Henry et al (US Pat. Pub. 2019/0109393, herein after also referred to as ‘393) and Herring et al (US Pat. Appl. No. 2018/0254571, herein after also referred to as ‘571).
Claims 17-18, 20 and 31 of the instant application are broader with regard to the claims in the reference patent, i.e. don’t include the limitations of instant claim 6. See 214 U.S.P.Q. 761, In re Van Ornum and Stanz.
Claims 17-18, and 31 of the instant application are also narrower with regard to the claims in the reference patent, e.g. the last section of claim 17 and claim 31. However, as discussed above ‘393 describe such limitations as best understood. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of ‘393, i.e. separate/spaced enclosed openings on different sides, with the teachings of the reference patent for the predictable result of providing guided mating as claimed in claim 6 of the reference patent.
Claim 17 of the instant application is also narrower with regard to the claims in the reference patent, e.g. at least one dividing element and notch. However, as discussed above ‘393 and ‘571 describe such limitation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of ‘393 and ‘571, i.e. at least one dividing element in combination with card portions with separation/slot/notch between with the teachings of the reference patent for the predictable result of providing guided mating as claimed in claim 6 of the reference patent.
Allowable Subject Matter
24. The subject matter of claim 6 is patentable over the prior art of earlier effective filing date.
Conclusion
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Amendments
Applicant is notified that any subsequent amendment to the specification and/or claims must comply with 37 CFR 1.173(b). In addition, for reissue applications filed before September 16, 2012, when any substantive amendment is filed in the reissue application, which amendment otherwise places the reissue application in condition for allowance, a supplemental oath/declaration will be required. See MPEP § 1414.01.
Prior or Concurrent Proceedings
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceed-ing in which Patent No. 10,644,457 is or was involved. These proceedings would include interferences, reissues, reexaminations, and litigation.
Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely appraise the Office of any information which is mate-rial to patentability of the claims under consideration in this reissue appli-cation.
These obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and 1442.04.
Inquiries:
All correspondence relating to this proceeding may be submitted via:
Electronically: Registered users may submit via Patent Center
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov/.
By Mail to: Commissioner for Patents
United States Patent & Trademark Office
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
By FAX to: (571) 273-8300
Central Reexamination Unit
By hand: United States Patent and Trademark Office
Customer Service Window
Knox Building
501 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
For Patent Center transmissions, 37 CFR 1.8(a)(1)(i)(C) and (ii) states that correspondence (except for a request for reexamination and a corrected or replacement request for reexamination) will be considered timely filed if (a) it is transmitted via the Office's electronic filing system in accordance with 37 CFR 1.6(a)(4) , and (b) includes a certificate of transmission for each piece of correspondence stating the date of transmission, which is prior to the expiration of the set period of time in the Office action.
/Karin Reichle/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992
Conferees:
/Cameron Saadat/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992
/ALEXANDER J KOSOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3992
1 The term of the ‘457 patent was extended or adjusted by 0 days.
2 It is noted that the entire invention must be supported (per 35 USC 112) in a single document relied upon for benefit of filing date.
3 It is noted that the first surface as defined could be any surface of the insulation body.
4 It is noted that the first direction as defined could be any direction of the insulation body.
5 It is also noted that the first surface as defined could be any surface of the second body.
6 See paragraphs 14-15 above.
7 The claim does not specifically define what “top” is with regard to the respective claimed structures.
8 The claim does not specifically define what “a length direction” is with regard to other claimed structures, e.g. the first surface of the first body and the first direction of the terminals.
9 The claim does not specifically define what “a length direction” is with regard to other claimed structures, e.g. the first surface of the second body.
10 See paragraphs 14-15 above.
11 See paragraphs 14 and 15 above.
12 See paragraphs 14-15 above.
13 It is noted that the first surface as defined could be any surface of the first body.
14 See footnote 4 above.
15 It is also noted that the first surface as defined could be any surface of the second body.
16 See paragraphs 14-15 above.
17 The claim does not specifically define what is “top” with regard to the respective claimed structures.
18 The claim does not specifically define what is “a length direction” with regard to other claimed structures, e.g. the first surface of the first body and the first direction of the terminals.
19 The claim does not specifically define what is “a length direction” with regard to other claimed structures, e.g. the first surface of the second body.
20 See paragraphs 14-15 above.
21 The claim does not specifically define what “sides” the insulation body includes and such sides with regard to other claimed structures, e.g., a “first surface”.
22 See paragraphs 14-15 above.
23 See paragraphs 14-15 above.
24 See paragraphs 14-15 above.