DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the driving mechanism as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (a)(2) as being anticipated by Tang (US 12324407).
Regarding claim 1, Tang discloses a quick-assembly structure, comprising: a base (base 2, col. 4, ll. 47-48, fig. 4); and a cat litter bin (drum 1, col. 4, ll. 40-42, fig. 4); wherein central shafts are disposed on two sides of the cat litter bin (support shafts 13, col. 8, ll. 3-5, fig. 4), and the base comprises upper hole portions (upper groove portion of support grooves 24, col. 8, ll. 1-5) and lower hole portions (lower groove portion of support grooves 24, fig. 4); wherein the lower hole portions are disposed on the base (fig. 4), each of the upper hole portions is detachably assembled with a corresponding one of the lower hole portions (fig. 4), and when each of the upper hole portions is assembled with the corresponding one of the lower hole portions, the upper hole portions are respectively connected to the lower hole portions to form central holes (fig. 7); wherein the central holes are respectively configured to accommodate the central shafts (col. 8, ll. 3-5), and when each of the upper hole portions is separated from the corresponding one of the lower hole portions, the central shafts are respectively detached from the lower hole portions on the base (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Tang discloses wherein a driving mechanism is disposed inside the base (drive component 51, col. 5, ll. 53-54, fig. 4), an output end of the driving mechanism is a first gear (driving gear 512, col. 7, ll. 57-,58, fig. 4), a second gear is disposed on one of the central shafts (drive gear 513, col. 7, ll. 57-58, fig. 4), and the second gear is engaged with the first gear (col. 7, ll. 61-67).
Regarding claim 9, Tang discloses wherein support feet are extended from two sides of the base (support legs 6, fig. 1 and 2), the support feet are respectively configured to support the central shafts, each of the lower hole portions is disposed on a top portion of a corresponding one of the support feet (fig. 22).
Regarding claim 10, Tang discloses a cat litter box, comprising: the quick-assembly structure according to claim (collection box 3, col. 4, ll. 49-50, fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang.
Regarding claim 7, Tang discloses wherein spacing portions are defined on an inner wall of each of the lower hole portions (first rollers 241, col. 8, ll. 5-7, fig. 4), and the spacing portions are configured to reduce a friction between each of the central shafts, a corresponding one of the upper hole portions and a corresponding one of the lower hole portions (col. 8, ll. 5-7) but fails to teach spacing portions being defined on an inner wall of each of the upper hole portions. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have first rollers on the inner wall of each of the upper hole portions, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Having rollers in the upper hole portions would further improve the transmission efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The limitation of first fastening portions are disposed on an upper portion of each of the upper covers, second fastening portions are disposed on an upper side of each of the lower seats, and a lower portion of each of the upper covers is rotatably connected to a lower portion of a corresponding one of the lower seats; wherein when the upper covers are rotated to enable the first fastening portions being fastened to the second fastening portions, the upper hole portions and the lower hole portions are assembled together as claimed in claim 1 is not anticipated or made obvious by the prior art of record, in the examiner’s opinion.
/EBONY E EVANS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647