DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 4
Line 2 recites the limitation "the upper end". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claim 5
Lines 1-2 recite the limitation “ the radial shaft seal comprises an elastic material including PTFE” (emphasis added). The phrase "including" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding Claim 7
Lines 1-2 recite the limitation “the O-ring comprises an elastic material including fluoropolymer rubber” (emphasis added). The phrase "including" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Maki, JP H0828222 A.
Regarding Claim 1
Maki discloses a system, comprising:
a valve guide (10a, valve guide) configured to guide a valve stem (21) of an internal combustion engine ([0012], Figure ), wherein the valve guide (10a) comprises a first cylindrical guiding surface (G1, annotated Figure 1 of Maki below) configured to guide the valve stem (21) of an intake valve or an exhaust valve (20, valve) along a guiding axis and a second cylindrical guiding surface (G2, annotated Figure 1 of Maki below) configured to guide the valve stem (21) of the intake valve or the exhaust valve (20, valve) along the guiding axis (Maki, [0010]-[0011], annotated Figure 1 below), wherein:
the first cylindrical guiding surface (G1, annotated Figure 1 of Maki below) and the second cylindrical guiding surface (G2, annotated Figure 1 of Maki below) are distanced axially along the guiding axis (Maki, annotated Figure 1 below),
an annular groove (17) is provided axially between the first cylindrical guiding surface (G1, annotated Figure 1 of Maki below) and the second cylindrical guiding surface (G2, annotated Figure 1 of Maki below), wherein the annular groove (17) is configured to receive an O-ring (16) to seal the valve stem (21) (Maki, [0010]-[0011], annotated Figure 1 below),
a radial shaft seal (S, annotated Figure 1 of Maki below) is provided axially distanced from the annular groove (17) such that the second cylindrical guiding surface (G2, annotated Figure 1 of Maki below) is arranged axially between the annular groove (17) and the radial shaft seal (S) (Maki, annotated Figure 1 below).
Figure 1: Annotated Figure 1 of Maki
Regarding Claim 2
Maki discloses the system of claim 1. Maki further discloses that the valve guide (10a) comprises a base body (11, 12, 13) having a mounting surface configured to mount the valve guide (10a) at a cylinder head (18) of the internal combustion engine (Maki, [0010]-[0011], Figures 1-2).
Regarding Claim 3
Maki discloses the system of claim 2. Maki further discloses that the base body (11, 12, 13) of the valve guide (10a) is cylindrical (Maki, [0010]-[0011], Figures 1-2).
Regarding Claim 7
Maki discloses the system of claim 1, comprising the O-ring (16) disposed in the annular groove (17), wherein the O-ring (16) comprises an elastic material including fluoropolymer rubber (Maki, [0010], Figures 1-2).
Regarding Claim 8
Maki discloses the system of claim 1. Maki further discloses a cylinder head (18) for the internal combustion engine (Maki, [0012]); and the intake valve or the exhaust valve (20, valve), wherein the valve guide (10) is press-fit at least partially inside a corresponding opening (19, guide hole) of the cylinder head (18) (Maki, [0010]), wherein the intake valve or exhaust valve (20, valve) is guided along the guiding axis at the first and second cylindrical guiding surfaces (G1, G2, annotated Figure 1 of Maki above) of the valve guide (10a) (Maki, [0010]-[0011], annotated Figure 1 above and Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 9
Maki discloses the system of claim 8. Maki further discloses that the radial shaft seal (S, annotated Figure 1 of Maki above) is placed in the valve guide (10a) in such a way to prevent a passing of lubricant disposed in the valve guide (10a) to an outside of the valve guide (10a) (Maki, [0004], annotated Figure 1 above).
Regarding Claim 10
Maki discloses the system of claim 7. Maki further discloses that the intake valve or the exhaust valve (20, valve) is pre-loaded with respect to a valve seat via at least one spring (Maki, [0002], Figures 1-2).
Regarding Claim 11
Maki discloses the system of claim 1. Maki further discloses the internal combustion engine having the valve guide (10a) (Maki, [0010], Figures 1-2).
Regarding Claim 12
Maki discloses a system, comprising: a valve guide (10a) configured to guide a valve stem (21) of a poppet valve (20, valve) (Maki, [0012]), wherein the valve guide (10a) comprises:
a first guiding surface (G1, annotated Figure 1 of Maki above) configured to guide the valve stem (21) of the poppet valve (20) along a guiding axis (Maki, annotated Figure 1 above);
a second guiding surface (G2, annotated Figure 1 of Maki above) configured to guide the valve stem (21) of the poppet valve (20) along the guiding axis (Maki, annotated Figure 1 above), wherein the first and second guiding surfaces (G1, G2, annotated Figure 1 of Maki above) are axially offset from one another along the guiding axis (Maki, annotated Figure 1 above);
a first seal mount (17) disposed at a first axial position along the valve guide (10a) axially between the first and second guiding surfaces (G1, G2, annotated Figure 1 of Maki above), wherein the first seal mount (17) is configured to receive a first annular seal (16) (Maki, annotated Figure 1 above); and
a second seal mount [end of valve guide (10a)] disposed at a second axial position axially offset from the first axial position along the valve guide (10a), wherein the second guiding surface (G2, annotated Figure 1 of Maki above) is axially between the first and second seal mounts (Maki, annotated Figure 1 above), and the second seal mount (S, annotated Figure 1 of Maki above) is configured to receive a second annular seal (S, annotated Figure 1 of Maki above) (Maki, annotated Figure 1 above).
Regarding Claim 13
Maki discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the first seal mount (17) comprises an annular groove along an interior of the valve guide (10a) between the first and second guiding surfaces (G1, G2, annotated Figure 1 of Maki above) (Maki, [0010]-[0011], annotated Figure 1 above).
Regarding Claim 14
Maki discloses the system of claim 13. Maki further discloses a first annular seal (16) disposed in the annular groove (17) (Maki, [0010]-[0011], annotated Figure 1 above).
Regarding Claim 15
Maki discloses the system of claim 13. Maki further discloses that the second seal mount [end of valve guide (10a)] is disposed at an axial end portion of the valve guide (10a) (Maki, annotated Figure 1 above).
Regarding Claim 16
Maki discloses the system of claim 15. Maki further discloses that the second seal mount [end of valve guide (10a)] comprises a radial step in a radially outer surface of the valve guide (10a) at the axial end portion, and the radial step is disposed directly adjacent a distal axial end of the of the valve guide (10a) (Maki, annotated Figure 1 above).
Regarding Claim 18
Maki discloses a method, comprising:
guiding a valve stem (21) of a poppet valve (20, valve) along a guiding axis of a valve guide (10a) via a first guiding surface (G1, annotated Figure 1 of Maki above) of the valve guide (10a) (Maki, [0010]-[0011], annotated Figure 1 above);
guiding the valve stem (21) of the poppet valve (20, valve) along the guiding axis of the valve guide (10a) via a second guiding surface (G2, annotated Figure 1 of Maki above) of the valve guide (10a), wherein the first and second guiding surfaces (G1, G2, annotated Figure 1 of Maki above) are axially offset from one another along the guiding axis (Maki, annotated Figure 1 above);
sealing a poppet valve (20, valve) with a first annular seal (16) coupled to a first seal mount (17) at a first axial position along the valve guide (10a) axially between the first and second guiding surfaces (G1, G2, annotated Figure 1 of Maki above) (Maki, [0010]-[0011], annotated Figure 1 above); and
sealing the poppet valve (20, valve) with a second annular seal (S, annotated Figure 1 of Maki above) coupled to a second seal mount [end of valve guide (10a)] at a second axial position [at end of valve guide (10a)] axially offset from the first axial position along the valve guide (10a), wherein the second guiding surface (G2, annotated Figure 1 of Maki above) is axially between the first and second seal mounts (Maki, annotated Figure 1 and Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 19
Maki discloses the method of claim 18, wherein sealing the poppet valve (20, valve) with the first annular seal (17) occurs along an interior of the valve guide (10a) between first and second distal axial ends of the valve guide (10a), and sealing the poppet valve (20, valve) with the second annular seal (S, annotated Figure 1 of Maki above) occurs at the first distal axial end of the valve guide (20, valve) (Maki, annotated Figure 1 and Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maki, JP H0828222 A, in view of Iwai, EP 2112337 A1.
Regarding Claim 4
Maki discloses the system of claim 2. Maki further discloses that the upper end of the base body (11, 12, 13) is at least partially covered by the radial shaft seal (S, annotated Figure 1 of Maki above) (Maki, annotated Figure 1 above).
However, Maki does not explicitly disclose that the radial shaft seal is provided at a radial step of the base body, at the upper end. Iwai teaches a radial shaft seal (1, valve stem seal) that seals an annular gap (S) between a base body (300, valve guide) and a valve stem (200) (Iwai, Abstract). Iwai further teaches that the radial shaft seal (1) is provided at a radial step of the base body (300, valve guide), at the upper end (Iwai, [0036], Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the radial shaft seal taught by Iwai for the radial shaft seal as taught by Maki, since an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious (MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding Claim 5
Maki discloses the system of claim 1. However, Maki does not explicitly disclose that at least one lip of the radial shaft seal comprises an elastic material including PTFE.
Iwai teaches a radial shaft seal (1, valve stem seal) that seals an annular gap (S) between a valve guide (300) and a valve stem (200) (Iwai, Abstract). The valve stem seal (1) includes a seal body portion (2) and a lip portion (3) having a seal lip (30, 31) slidably contacting the outer peripheral surface of the valve stem (200) (Iwai, [0034]). Iwai further teaches that the lip portion (3) is formed of a resin material such as PTFE (Iwai, Abstract, [0037], Figures 1 and 2a).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the radial shaft seal of Maki to include at least one lip comprising an elastic material as is taught by Iwai as well known in the art to improve sealing ability while also improving abrasion resistance, heat resistance, and a providing a decrease in friction (Iwai, [0011], Figures 1 and 2a-2b).
Regarding Claim 6
Maki discloses the system of claim 1. However, Maki does not explicitly disclose that the radial shaft seal comprises a first lip being a dust lip and a second lip being a sealing lip, wherein the first lip and the second lip of the radial shaft seal are distanced along the guiding axis.
Iwai teaches a radial shaft seal (1, valve stem seal) that seals an annular gap (S) between a valve guide (300) and a valve stem (200) (Iwai, Abstract). The radial shaft seal (1) includes a seal body portion (2) and a lip portion (3) having a plurality of lips (30, 31) slidably contacting the outer peripheral surface of the valve stem (200) (Iwai, [0034], Figures 1 and 2a-2b), wherein the plurality of lips (30, 31) includes a first lip (31) being a dust lip and a second lip (30) being a sealing lip, wherein the first and second lips (31, 30) of the radial shaft seal (1) are distanced along the guiding axis (Iwai, [0038], Figure 1).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the radial shaft seal of Maki to include a first lip being a dust lip and a second lip being a sealing lip, wherein the first lip and the second lip of the radial shaft seal are distanced along the guiding axis as is taught by Iwai as well known in the art to improve sealing ability while also improving abrasion resistance, heat resistance, and a providing a decrease in friction (Iwai, [0011], Figures 1 and 2a-2b).
Regarding Claim 17
Maki discloses the system of claim 15. Maki further discloses that the second annular seal (S, annotated Figure 1 of Maki above) is disposed at the axial end portion (Maki, annotated Figure 1 above).
However, Maki does not explicitly disclose that the second annular seal comprises a plurality of lips extending radially inwardly toward the guiding axis. Iwai teaches a second annular seal (1, valve stem seal) that seals an annular gap (S) between a valve guide (300) and a valve stem (200) (Iwai, Abstract). The second annular seal (1) includes a seal body portion (2) and a lip portion (3) having a plurality of lips (30, 31) slidably contacting the outer peripheral surface of the valve stem (200) (Iwai, [0034], Figures 1 and 2a-2b).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second annular seal of Maki to include a plurality of lips extending radially inwardly toward the guiding axis as is taught by Iwai as well known in the art to improve sealing ability while also improving abrasion resistance, heat resistance, and a providing a decrease in friction (Iwai, [0011], Figures 1 and 2a-2b).
Regarding Claim 20
Maki discloses the method of claim 19. Maki further discloses sealing the poppet valve (20, valve) with the second annular seal (S, annotated Figure 1 of Maki above) (Maki, annotated Figure 1 above).
However, Maki does not explicitly disclose sealing with a plurality of lips of the second annular seal. Iwai teaches a second annular seal (1, valve stem seal) that seals an annular gap (S) between a valve guide (300) and a valve stem (200) (Iwai, Abstract). The second annular seal (1) includes a seal body portion (2) and a lip portion (3) having a plurality of lips (30, 31) slidably contacting the outer peripheral surface of the valve stem (200) (Iwai, [0034], Figures 1 and 2a-2b).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second annular seal of Maki to disclose sealing with a plurality of lips of the second annular seal as is taught by Iwai as well known in the art to improve sealing ability while also improving abrasion resistance, heat resistance, and a providing a decrease in friction (Iwai, [0011], Figures 1 and 2a-2b).
Conclusion
/K.L.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/PHUTTHIWAT WONGWIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741