DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 and 10-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shellhammer et al (US Pat. Pub. 2023/0035113) in view of Yang et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2024/0365320).
Regarding claim 1, Shellhammer et al discloses a method comprising:
generating, by a first station (STA), a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) (see at least paragraph 65 disclose that trigger-based (TB) physical layer convergence protocol (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU); see also paragraph 77); and
transmitting, by the first STA, the PPDU to at least one second STA (see at least paragraph 77 disclose that wireless stations (STAs) to transmit PPDU to the
access point (AP)),
wherein a transmission of the PPDU is based on at least one distributed-tone resource unit (DRU) tone plan (see at least paragraphs 65 and 77 disclose that TB PPDU carries tone plan),
Shellhammer et al specifically does not disclose wherein the PPDU is based on a 160MHz bandwidth including a first 80MHz bandwidth and a second 80MHz bandwidth, wherein a 40MHz bandwidth within the first 80MHz bandwidth is punctured,
wherein a non-punctured portion of the 160MHz bandwidth includes the second 80MHz bandwidth and a remaining 40MHz bandwidth of the first 80MHz bandwidth, and wherein a first DRU tone plan for an 80MHz bandwidth is applied to the second 80MHz bandwidth, and a second DRU tone plan for a 40MHz bandwidth is applied to the remaining 40MHz bandwidth.
However, Yang et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches wherein the PPDU is based on a 160MHz bandwidth including a first 80MHz bandwidth and a second 80MHz bandwidth, wherein a 40MHz bandwidth within the first 80MHz bandwidth is punctured, wherein a non-punctured portion of the 160MHz bandwidth includes the second 80MHz bandwidth and a remaining 40MHz bandwidth of the first 80MHz bandwidth, and wherein a first DRU tone plan for an 80MHz bandwidth is applied to the second 80MHz bandwidth, and a second DRU tone plan for a 40MHz bandwidth is applied to the remaining 40MHz bandwidth (see at least paragraphs 164 and fig. 10 discloses punctured include 80 MHz within the 160 MHz bandwidth; remaining 120 bandwidth correspond to usable bandwidth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Yang et al into the system of Shellhammer et al for purpose of the PPDU may be punctured and have a portion of its bandwidth reserved.
Regarding claim 3, Yang et al discloses only the second DRU tone plan is applied within the first 80MHz bandwidth in which the 40MHz bandwidth is punctured (see at least paragraph 164). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Yang et al discloses a combination of a first DRU for the remaining 40MHz bandwidth and a second DRU for the second 80MHz bandwidth is applied (see at least paragraph 164). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Shellhammer et al discloses the first DRU is a 26-tone DRU and the second DRU is a 26-tone DRU or a 52-tone DRU, the first DRU is a 52-tone DRU and the second DRU is a 106-tone DRU, the first DRU is a 106-tone DRU and the second DRU is a 242-tone DRU, or the first DRU is a 242-tone DRU and the second DRU is a 484-tone DRU (see at least paragraph 77).
Regarding claim 10, Shellhammer et al discloses based on N (N>1) DRU being allocated for the first STA, the N DRUs are indicated based on resource unit (RU) allocation information included in a plurality of user fields included in the PPDU or indicated based on RU allocation information included in a plurality of user information fields included in a trigger frame that triggers transmission of the PPDU (see at least paragraph 77).
Regarding claim 11, Shellhammer et al discloses an apparatus for a first station (STA) (see at least paragraph 64, STA), the apparatus comprising:
at least one transceiver (see at least paragraph 64, transceiver in communication device); and
at least one processor (see at least paragraph 64, processor) connected to the at least one transceiver,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
generate a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) (see at least paragraph 65 disclose that trigger-based (TB) physical layer convergence protocol (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU); see also paragraph 77); and
transmit the PPDU to at least one second STA (see at least paragraph 77 disclose that wireless stations (STAs) to transmit PPDU to the access point (AP)),
wherein a transmission of the PPDU is based on at least one distributed-tone resource unit (DRU) tone plan (see at least paragraphs 65 and 77 disclose that TB PPDU carries tone plan).
Shellhammer et al specifically does not disclose wherein the PPDU is based on a 160MHz bandwidth including a first 80MHz bandwidth and a second 80MHz bandwidth, wherein a 40MHz bandwidth within the first 80MHz bandwidth is punctured,
wherein a non-punctured portion of the 160MHz bandwidth includes the second 80MHz bandwidth and a remaining 40MHz bandwidth of the first 80MHz bandwidth, and wherein a first DRU tone plan for an 80MHz bandwidth is applied to the second 80MHz bandwidth, and a second DRU tone plan for a 40MHz bandwidth is applied to the remaining 40MHz bandwidth.
However, Yang et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches wherein the PPDU is based on a 160MHz bandwidth including a first 80MHz bandwidth and a second 80MHz bandwidth, wherein a 40MHz bandwidth within the first 80MHz bandwidth is punctured, wherein a non-punctured portion of the 160MHz bandwidth includes the second 80MHz bandwidth and a remaining 40MHz bandwidth of the first 80MHz bandwidth, and wherein a first DRU tone plan for an 80MHz bandwidth is applied to the second 80MHz bandwidth, and a second DRU tone plan for a 40MHz bandwidth is applied to the remaining 40MHz bandwidth (see at least paragraphs 164 and fig. 10 discloses punctured include 80 MHz within the 160 MHz bandwidth; remaining 120 bandwidth correspond to usable bandwidth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Yang et al into the system of Shellhammer et al for purpose of the PPDU may be punctured and have a portion of its bandwidth reserved.
Regarding claim 12, Shellhammer et al discloses an apparatus for a second station (STA) (see at least paragraph 63, AP), the apparatus comprising:
at least one transceiver (see at least paragraph 63, transceiver in wireless communication device); and
at least one processor (see at least paragraph 63, processor) connected to the at least one transceiver,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, from a first STA, a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) (see at least paragraph 77 disclose that wireless stations (STAs) to transmit PPDU to the access point (AP)); and
decode one or more fields included in the PPDU (see at least paragraphs 51 and 53),
wherein a transmission of the PPDU is based on at least one distributed-tone resource unit (DRU) tone plan (see at least paragraphs 65 and 77 disclose that TB
PPDU carries tone plan).
Shellhammer et al specifically does not disclose wherein the PPDU is based on a 160MHz bandwidth including a first 80MHz bandwidth and a second 80MHz bandwidth, wherein a 40MHz bandwidth within the first 80MHz bandwidth is punctured,
wherein a non-punctured portion of the 160MHz bandwidth includes the second 80MHz bandwidth and a remaining 40MHz bandwidth of the first 80MHz bandwidth, and wherein a first DRU tone plan for an 80MHz bandwidth is applied to the second 80MHz bandwidth, and a second DRU tone plan for a 40MHz bandwidth is applied to the remaining 40MHz bandwidth.
However, Yang et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches wherein the PPDU is based on a 160MHz bandwidth including a first 80MHz bandwidth and a second 80MHz bandwidth, wherein a 40MHz bandwidth within the first 80MHz bandwidth is punctured, wherein a non-punctured portion of the 160MHz bandwidth includes the second 80MHz bandwidth and a remaining 40MHz bandwidth of the first 80MHz bandwidth, and wherein a first DRU tone plan for an 80MHz bandwidth is applied to the second 80MHz bandwidth, and a second DRU tone plan for a 40MHz bandwidth is applied to the remaining 40MHz bandwidth (see at least paragraphs 164 and fig. 10 discloses punctured include 80 MHz within the 160 MHz bandwidth; remaining 120 bandwidth correspond to usable bandwidth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Yang et al into the system of Shellhammer et al for purpose of the PPDU may be punctured and have a portion of its bandwidth reserved.
Regarding claim 13, Yang et al discloses the non-punctured portion of the 160MHz bandwidth corresponds to a 120MHz bandwidth (see at least paragraph 164). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Yang et al discloses the second 80MHz bandwidth is not punctured; and the first DRU tone plan is applied over an entirety of the second 80MHz bandwidth (see at least paragraph 164). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Yang et al discloses the punctured 40MHz bandwidth and the remaining 40MHz bandwidth are included in the first 80MHz bandwidth (see at least paragraph 164). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Shellhammer et al discloses punctured corresponds to unallocated and non-punctured corresponds to allocated (see at least paragraphs 82).
Regarding claim 17, Yang et al discloses the non-punctured portion of the 160MHz bandwidth corresponds to a 120MHz bandwidth (see at least paragraph 164). Same motivation as claim 11.
Regarding claim 18, Yang et al discloses the second 80MHz bandwidth is not punctured; and the first DRU tone plan is applied over an entirety of the second 80MHz bandwidth (see at least paragraph 164). Same motivation as claim 11.
Regarding claim 19, Yang et al discloses the punctured 40MHz bandwidth and the remaining 40MHz bandwidth are included in the first 80MHz bandwidth (see at least paragraph 164). Same motivation as claim 11.
Regarding claim 20, Yang et al discloses the non-punctured portion of the 160MHz bandwidth corresponds to a120MHz bandwidth (see at least paragraph 164). Same motivation as claim 12.
Regarding claim 21, Yang et al discloses the second 80MHz bandwidth is not punctured; and the first DRU tone plan is applied over an entirety of the second 80MHz bandwidth (see at least paragraph 164). Same motivation as claim 12.
Regarding claim 22, Yang et al discloses the punctured 40MHz bandwidth and the remaining 40MHz bandwidth are included in the first 80MHz bandwidth (see at least paragraph 164). Same motivation as claim 12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed on August 14, 2026, with respect to claims 1, 11 and 12 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by applicant’s amendment. See the above rejection of claims 1, 3-5 and 10-22 for the relevant citations found in Shellhammer et al and Yang et al disclosing the limitations.
Conclusion
/LITON MIAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642