DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Endo (US 7,483,180).
Regarding claim 1, Endo discloses an image forming apparatus, comprising: a curve-shaped transportation guide (see below) that is provided along a curved portion of a transportation path (P) for a sheet, the transportation guide including openings (see below); and a detector 7 that is provided on an opposite side of the transportation guide from the curved portion, the detector detecting an end of the sheet in a scanning direction (col. 2, line 63).
Regarding claim 5, Endo discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising first 6 and second 10 roller pairs each arranged in the transportation path (P), the sheet being sandwiched between rollers of the first roller pair and between rollers of the second roller pair to be fed, wherein the first roller pair is provided upstream of the detector 7 in the transportation path, and the second roller pair is provided downstream of the detector in the transportation path. See Fig. 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the nearest prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed subject matter. For example, Endo does not disclose everything claimed, including the detector detecting the end of the sheet by performing scanning in the scanning direction, in combination with the rest of the claimed elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Tamura (US 2022/0194725) discloses a sheet feeding device having a sheet width sensor.
/JEREMY R SEVERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759