DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to the Application filed 12/05/2025.
The status of the Claims is as follows:
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futase (US 20240300202) in view of Cottrell (US 1186970)
Regarding Claim 1 Futase discloses a system for forming envelopes, comprising:
a web (F) having a guide line (P) extending along the web in a longitudinal direction of the web (F); and
a bagging machine (Fig. 16), comprising:
a folder including a former (105) configured to fold the web as the web is drawn over the folder;
a web guide (4a, 4b) located downstream of the former (105) and having opposing guide surfaces configured to urge longitudinal edges of the envelope toward each other to further fold the web as the web passes through the web guide so that a first portion of the web overlaps a second portion of the web to form an envelope pocket of an envelope, (par 57-58) and
a sealing device having two opposing sealing surfaces configured to apply a sealing pressure to a sealing area on the web to form a seal between the first and second portions of the web. (par 89-96)
While Futase discloses a guide line (fig. 1b), Futase does not expressly teach a web having a score line extending along the web in a longitudinal direction of the web and configured to reduce a resistance of the web to bending about an axis coinciding with the score line.
Cottrell teaches a folder including a web with a score line extending along the web in a longitudinal direction of the web and configured to reduce a resistance of the web to bending about an axis coinciding with the score line facilitating the ease of folding the web about the longitudinal axis for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (Col 1 lines 9-15; Col 2 lines 71-79)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the guide line of Futase to include a score line as taught by Cottrell since Col 1 lines 9-15 of Cottrell suggests that such a modification facilitates ease of folding the web about the longitudinal axis for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 2 the modified invention of Futase in view of Cottrell teaches the invention as described above. Futase further discloses the guide line is configured to cause the web to fold about the score line as the web is drawn over the former (105) and through the web guide (4a, 4b). (Figs. 1B, 16)
While Futase discloses a guide line (fig. 1b), Futase does not expressly teach a web having a score line extending along the web in a longitudinal direction of the web.
Cottrell teaches a folder including a web with a score line extending along the web in a longitudinal direction of the web and configured to reduce a resistance of the web to bending about an axis coinciding with the score line facilitating the ease of folding the web about the longitudinal axis for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (Col 1 lines 9-15; Col 2 lines 71-79)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the guide line of Futase to include a score line as taught by Cottrell since Col 1 lines 9-15 of Cottrell suggests that such a modification facilitates ease of folding the web about the longitudinal axis for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 6 the modified invention of Futase in view of Cottrell teaches the invention as described above. Cottrell further discloses the score line is a crease.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the guide line of Futase to include a score line as taught by Cottrell since Col 1 lines 9-15 of Cottrell suggests that such a modification facilitates ease of folding the web about the longitudinal axis for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 7 the modified invention of Futase in view of Cottrell teaches the invention as described above. Futase further discloses the first and second portions of the web each have a width in a direction transverse to the longitudinal direction of the web; and the width of the first portion of the web is about equal to the width of the second portion of the web. (par 29-30; 59, 66)
Regarding Claim 8 the modified invention of Futase in view of Cottrell teaches the invention as described above. Futase further discloses the guide line is configured to cause the longitudinal edges of the web to align when the web is folded about the guide line as the web is drawn over the former and through the web guide. par 29-30; 59, 66)
While Futase discloses a guide line (fig. 1b), Futase does not expressly teach a web having a score line extending along the web in a longitudinal direction of the web.
Cottrell teaches a folder including a web with a score line extending along the web in a longitudinal direction of the web and configured to reduce a resistance of the web to bending about an axis coinciding with the score line facilitating the ease of folding the web about the longitudinal axis for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (Col 1 lines 9-15; Col 2 lines 71-79)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the guide line of Futase to include a score line as taught by Cottrell since Col 1 lines 9-15 of Cottrell suggests that such a modification facilitates ease of folding the web about the longitudinal axis for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 9 the modified invention of Futase in view of Cottrell teaches the invention as described above. Futase further discloses the guide line is located along a longitudinal centerline of the web. (par 63)
While Futase discloses a guide line (fig. 1b), Futase does not expressly teach a web having a score line extending along the web in a longitudinal direction of the web.
Cottrell teaches a folder including a web with a score line extending along the web in a longitudinal direction of the web and configured to reduce a resistance of the web to bending about an axis coinciding with the score line facilitating the ease of folding the web about the longitudinal axis for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (Col 1 lines 9-15; Col 2 lines 71-79)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the guide line of Futase to include a score line as taught by Cottrell since Col 1 lines 9-15 of Cottrell suggests that such a modification facilitates ease of folding the web about the longitudinal axis for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 10 the modified invention of Futase in view of Cottrell teaches the invention as described above. Futase further discloses the guide line causes the longitudinal edges of the web to align when the web is folded about the score line as the web is drawn over the former and through the web guide while web and the former are misaligned. (par 66, 99)
While Futase discloses a guide line (fig. 1b), Futase does not expressly teach a web having a score line extending along the web in a longitudinal direction of the web.
Cottrell teaches a folder including a web with a score line extending along the web in a longitudinal direction of the web and configured to reduce a resistance of the web to bending about an axis coinciding with the score line facilitating the ease of folding the web about the longitudinal axis for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (Col 1 lines 9-15; Col 2 lines 71-79)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the guide line of Futase to include a score line as taught by Cottrell since Col 1 lines 9-15 of Cottrell suggests that such a modification facilitates ease of folding the web about the longitudinal axis for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 11 the modified invention of Futase in view of Cottrell teaches the invention as described above. Futase further discloses the score line causes the longitudinal edges of the web to align when the web is folded about the score line as the web is drawn over the former and through the web guide while a longitudinal centerline of the web and a centerline of the former are misaligned. (par 66, 99)
While Futase discloses a guide line (fig. 1b), Futase does not expressly teach a web having a score line extending along the web in a longitudinal direction of the web.
Cottrell teaches a folder including a web with a score line extending along the web in a longitudinal direction of the web and configured to reduce a resistance of the web to bending about an axis coinciding with the score line facilitating the ease of folding the web about the longitudinal axis for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (Col 1 lines 9-15; Col 2 lines 71-79)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the guide line of Futase to include a score line as taught by Cottrell since Col 1 lines 9-15 of Cottrell suggests that such a modification facilitates ease of folding the web about the longitudinal axis for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 12 the modified invention of Futase in view of Cottrell teaches the invention as described above. Futase further discloses the sealing area includes longitudinal edge regions of the web, the longitudinal edge regions being adjacent to respective longitudinal edges of the web. (par 88-100)
Regarding Claim 19 the modified invention of Futase in view of Cottrell teaches the invention as described above. Futase further discloses a web configured for use with a bagging machine, the web including a guide line extending along the web in a longitudinal direction of the web and configured to reduce a resistance of the web to bending about an axis coinciding with the guide line. (par 55-60)
Claims 3-5, 13, 14, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futase (US 20240300202) in view of Cottrell (US 1186970) and further in view of Wetsch (US 11801981)
Regarding Claim 3 the modified invention of Futase in view of Cottrell does not expressly teach the score line defines a living hinge on the web.
Wetsch teaches a bagging machine (par 87) and further teaches a score line defines a living hinge on the web providing a portion of web that facilitates ease of folding the web for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 16, 21, 79, 95-98)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the web of Futase in view of Cottrell with the hinged web of Wetsch since par 16, 21, 79, 95-98 of Wetsch suggests that such a modification facilitates ease of folding the web for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 4 the modified invention of Futase in view of Cottrell does not expressly teach a thickness of the web is locally reduced along the score line.
Wetsch teaches a bagging machine (par 87) and further teaches a thickness of the web is locally reduced along the score line (free of expandable material par 22) providing a portion of web that facilitates ease of folding the web for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 21-23, 79, 95-98)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the web of Futase in view of Cottrell with the reduced thickness of web at score line (hinge) of Wetsch since par 21-23, 79, 95-98 of Wetsch suggests that such a modification facilitates ease of folding the web for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 5 the modified invention of Futase in view of Cottrell does not expressly teach the portion of the web of having the reduced thickness defines a valley.
Wetsch teaches a bagging machine (par 87) and further teaches the portion of the web of having the reduced thickness defines a valley (free of expandable material par 22) providing a portion of web that facilitates ease of folding the web for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 21-23, 79, 95-98)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the web of Futase in view of Cottrell with the reduced thickness of web at score line (hinge) of Wetsch since par 21-23, 79, 95-98 of Wetsch suggests that such a modification facilitates ease of folding the web for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 13 the modified invention of Futase in view of Cottrell teaches the invention as described above. Futase further discloses the web includes paper (par 88); material; and the bagging machine further includes a heating element configured to apply sufficient heat to the sealing area (par 89-96)
However the modified invention of Futase in view of Cottrell does not expressly teach the web includes a bonding element located in the sealing area and configured to form the seal between the first and second portions of the web; the bonding element is a heat-activatable.
Wetsch teaches a bagging machine (par 87) and further teaches the web includes a bonding element located in the sealing area and configured to form the seal between the first and second portions of the web; the bonding element is a heat-activatable providing sufficient bonding material for a secure seal for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 61)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the web of Futase in view of Cottrell a bonding element located in the sealing area and configured to form the seal between the first and second portions of the web; the bonding element is a heat-activatable of Wetsch since par 61 of Wetsch suggests that such a modification provides sufficient bonding material for a secure seal for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 14 the modified invention of Futase in view of Cottrell teaches the invention as described above. Futase further discloses the web.
However the modified invention of Futase in view of Cottrell does not teach the web includes a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer; the second layer is positioned between the first and third layers; and the first, second, and third layers are compressed along the score line.
Wetsch teaches a bagging machine (par 87) and further teaches the web includes a first layer (12), a second layer (20), and a third layer (14); the second layer (20) is positioned between the first (12) and third layers (14); (Fig. 8) and the first (12), second (20), and third (14) layers are compressed along the score line (hinge area, par 96) providing a portion of web that facilitates ease of folding the web for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 21-23, 79, 95-98)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the web of Futase in view of Cottrell with a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer; the second layer is positioned between the first and third layers; and the first, second, and third layers are compressed along the score line of Wetsch since par 21-23, 79, 95-98 of Wetsch suggests that such a modification facilitates ease of folding the web for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 16 the modified invention of Futase in view of Cottrell teaches the invention as described above. Futase further discloses the web.
However the modified invention of Futase in view of Cottrell does not teach the second layer is positioned between the first and third layers and includes padding or a thermally insulating material; and the padding or thermally insulating material is crushed along the score line.
Wetsch teaches a bagging machine (par 87) and further teaches the web includes the second layer is positioned between the first and third layers and includes padding or a thermally insulating material (par 14-16; 78-79; 95-96); and the padding or thermally insulating material is crushed along the score line (hinge area; par 96) providing a portion of web that facilitates ease of folding the web for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 21-23, 79, 95-98)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the web of Futase in view of Cottrell with a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer; the second layer is positioned between the first and third layers; and the first, second, and third layers are compressed along the score line of Wetsch since par 21-23, 79, 95-98 of Wetsch suggests that such a modification facilitates ease of folding the web for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 20 the modified invention of Futase in view of Cottrell teaches the invention as described above. Futase further discloses the web material;
However the modified invention of Futase in view of Cottrell does not expressly teach a bonding element configured to form a longitudinal seal between overlapping longitudinal edge regions of the web when the web is folded about the score line.
Wetsch teaches a bagging machine (par 87) and further teaches the web includes a bonding element configured to form a longitudinal seal between overlapping longitudinal edge regions of the web when the web is folded about the score line providing sufficient bonding material for a secure seal for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 61)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the web of Futase in view of Cottrell to include a bonding element configured to form a longitudinal seal between overlapping longitudinal edge regions of the web when the web is folded about the score line of Wetsch since par 61 of Wetsch suggests that such a modification provides sufficient bonding material for a secure seal for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 15 the Prior Art does not teach the first, second, and third layers include plastic film; and the first, second, and third layers are sealed to each other along the score line.
Regarding Claim 17 the Prior Art does not teach the folder further includes a forming guide located on the former and configured to engage the web; and the score line and forming guide cooperate to center the web on the folder.
Claim 18 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 18 the Prior Art does not teach a bagging machine for forming envelopes from a web having a guide line extending along the web in a longitudinal direction of the web, the bagging machine comprising:
a folder including a former, and a forming guide located on the former and configured to engage the web, the former and the forming guide configured to fold the web as the web is drawn over the former;
a web guide located downstream of the former and having opposing guide surfaces configured to urge longitudinal edges of the envelope toward each other to further fold the web as the web passes through the web guide so that a first portion of the web overlaps a second portion of the web to form an envelope pocket of an envelope; and
a sealing device having two opposing sealing surfaces configured to apply a sealing pressure to a sealing area on the web to form a longitudinal seal and a transverse seal between the first and second portions of the web.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Draghetti US 20040194430 score line par 25
/CHINYERE J RUSHING-TUCKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3731