Response to Amendments
The amendment filed 23rd September 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-8 and 11-12 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 13th July 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4 line 2, “…and both end portions…” should read “…and the end portions…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-8 and 11-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 8 recite “a center axis of the seat is orthogonal to an axis of the aircraft in a front-rear direction when viewed along a direction orthogonal to a floor surface of the aircraft” and “the table unit is fixedly supported on a partition panel disposed in a direction orthogonal to an axis of the aircraft in a front-rear direction” respectively which do not have support in the disclosure and are subject to new matter.
Para 0020 recites “a center axis X of the respective seats 11 is approximately orthogonal to the front-rear direction axis L, and the partition panel 13 extends in parallel to the center axis X.” and “"approximately orthogonal" refers to a state in which it intersects the axis in the front-rear direction of the aircraft at an angle of 90 degrees ±5 degrees.”.
Claims not addressed above are rejected due to their dependency on rejected base claims.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “ wherein the bassinet is fixed on a second partition panel arranged adjacent to the seat, and wherein a second end portion of the table in the width direction is fixed on the bassinet” which renders the claim indefinite as claim 1, on which claim 11 depends on, recites “a bassinet is disposed on a member supporting other end portion of the table in the width direction”, thus it is unclear if “a member” and “a second partition panel” are same element or different elements, and it is also unclear if “other end portion” and “a second partition panel” are same element or different elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bentley et al. (US 2019/0077512) in view of Udriste et al. (US 2025/0214711) and Rubel et al. (US 2015/0345778).
Regarding claim 1, Bentley et al. ‘512 teaches (figures 1-5) a seat unit disposed between a window and an aisle of an aircraft (clearly seen in figure 1), comprising:
a seat/seat assembly (102) including a seat section/base (110) disposed on the window side (106), and a backrest (112) disposed on the aisle side (108) (Para 0031-0032; seat/seat assembly (102) is outboard-facing i.e., facing the corresponding adjacent wall 106A-B); and
a table/tray table disposed between the window and the seat section/base (110) (Para 0035; privacy console (122) for seat/seat assembly (102) comprises a table/ tray table, and since seat section/base (110) is disposed on the window side the table/ tray table is between the window and the seat section/base (110));
wherein a center axis/central seat plane (336) of the seat/seat assembly (102) is approximately orthogonal to an axis/ central aisle plane (334) of the aircraft in a front-rear/longitudinal direction (330) when viewed along a direction orthogonal to a floor surface of the aircraft (Para 0037-0038; angle (338) between the central axis/central seat plane (336) and axis of the aircraft/central aisle plane (334) is from greater than 0 degree to less than 90 degrees; 89.9 degrees is less than/approximately 90 degrees/orthogonal),
wherein a partition panel (clearly shown in the figure below) is arranged adjacent to the seat/seat assembly (102), and
a member (clearly shown in the figure)
but it is silent about the seat unit comprising:
a table supported in a fixed manner at least at two points,
wherein one end portion of the table in a width direction is supported on the partition panel, and
a member supporting other end of the table in the width direction.
Udriste et al. ‘711 teaches (figures 1-9) an aircraft seat arrangement comprising an aircraft seat module (24a), a pair of partition panels (clearly shown in the figure below), and a fixed table element (96a) supported by the pair of partition panels (clearly seen in the figure below) and an adjustable table element/movable portion (110a) arranged to be linearly displaceable relative to the enclosure unit (Para 0059-0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bentley et al. ‘512 to incorporate the teachings of Udriste et al. ‘711 to configure the seat unit comprising:
a table supported in a fixed manner at least at two points,
wherein one end portion of the table in a width direction is supported on the partition panel, and
a member supporting other end of the table in the width direction.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would rigidly place and stabilize the table.
Modified Bentley et al. ‘512 is silent about the seat unit wherein a bassinet is disposed on a member.
Rubel et al. ‘778 teaches (figure 1a) an aircraft (10) comprising a passenger cabin (12) which includes a bassinet system (18) coupled to the monument (16) or any other suitable portion of the passenger cabin (Para 0017)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Bentley et al. ‘512 to incorporate the teachings of Rubel et al. ‘778 to configure the seat unit wherein a bassinet is disposed on a member.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enable to provide sleep space for infants and enhance passenger experience.
Modified Bentley et al. ‘512 is silent about the seat unit wherein the center of the seat is orthogonal to an axis of the aircraft in a front-rear direction.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to configure the seat unit wherein the center of the seat is orthogonal to an axis of the aircraft in a front-rear direction, since applicant has not disclosed that the seat unit wherein the center of the seat is orthogonal to an axis of the aircraft in a front-rear direction solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the seat unit wherein the center of the seat is approximately orthogonal to an axis of the aircraft in a front-rear direction.
Regarding claim 4, modified Bentley et al. ‘512 teaches (figures 1-5) the seat unit wherein the partition panel and the member are arranged on either side of the seat (clearly seen in the annotated figure above), and the end portions of the table in the width direction are respectively supported on the partition panel and the member (as modified by Udriste et al. ‘711).
Regarding claim 7, modified Bentley et al. ‘512 teaches (figures 1-5) the seat unit wherein an ottoman fixed to the partition panel is arranged on a lower side of the table (clearly shown in the figure below) (ottoman is next to the floor whereas table is at a height from the floor).
Regarding claim 8, Bentley et al. ‘512 teaches (figures 1-5) a table unit/tray table disposed between a window and an aisle/central aisle plane (334) of an aircraft, wherein the table unit/tray table is disposed in a direction approximately orthogonal to an axis/ central aisle plane (334) of the aircraft in a front-rear direction/longitudinal direction (330), a partition panel arranged adjacent to a seat/seat assembly (102) (clearly shown in the figure below), and a member disposed on an opposite side of the seat (clearly shown in the figure below) (Para 0031-0032, 0035, 0037-0038; seat (102) is outboard-facing i.e., facing the corresponding adjacent wall 106A-B; privacy console (122) for seat/seat assembly (102) comprises a table unit/ tray table, and since seat (102) is outboard-facing the table/ tray table is between the window and the seat (102); angle (338) between the central axis/central seat plane (336) of the seat and axis of the aircraft/central aisle plane (334) is from greater than 0 degree to less than 90 degrees; 89.9 degrees is less than/approximately 90 degrees/orthogonal; table is between seat and window; since table and seat are aligned, at least when table is deployed, table is disposed in a direction approximately orthogonal to an axis/ central aisle plane (334) of the aircraft ),
but it is silent about the table unit wherein the table unit is fixedly supported on a partition panel disposed in a direction approximately orthogonal to an axis of the aircraft in a front-rear direction, wherein one end of the table unit is fixedly supported on the partition panel, and wherein other end of the table unit is fixedly supported on a member.
Udriste et al. ‘711 teaches (figures 1-9) an aircraft seat arrangement comprising an aircraft seat module (24a), a pair of partition panels (clearly shown in the figure below), and a fixed table element (96a) supported by the pair of partition panels (clearly seen in the figure below) and an adjustable table element/movable portion (110a) arranged to be linearly displaceable relative to the enclosure unit (Para 0059-0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bentley et al. ‘512 to incorporate the teachings of Udriste et al. ‘711 to configure the table unit wherein the table unit is fixedly supported on a partition panel disposed in a direction approximately orthogonal to an axis of the aircraft in a front-rear direction, wherein one end of the table unit is fixedly supported on the partition panel, and wherein other end of the table unit is fixedly supported on a member.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would rigidly place and stabilize the table.
Modified Bentley et al. ‘512 is silent about the table unit wherein a member is equipped with a bassinet.
Rubel et al. ‘778 teaches (figure 1a) an aircraft (10) comprising a passenger cabin (12) which includes a bassinet system (18) coupled to the monument (16) or any other suitable portion of the passenger cabin (Para 0017)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Bentley et al. ‘512 to incorporate the teachings of Rubel et al. ‘778 to configure the table unit wherein a member is equipped with a bassinet.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enable to provide sleep space for infants and enhance passenger experience.
Modified Bentley et al. ‘512 is silent about the table unit wherein a partition panel is disposed in a direction orthogonal to an axis of the aircraft in a front-rear direction.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to configure the table unit wherein a partition panel is disposed in a direction orthogonal to an axis of the aircraft in a front-rear direction, since applicant has not disclosed that the table unit wherein a partition panel is disposed in a direction orthogonal to an axis of the aircraft in a front-rear direction solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the table unit wherein a partition panel is disposed in a direction approximately orthogonal to an axis of the aircraft in a front-rear direction.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bentley et al. (US 2019/0077512), Udriste et al. (US 2025/0214711) and Rubel et al. (US 2015/0345778) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Lawson (US 11,465,749).
Regarding claim 5, modified Bentley et al. ‘512 teaches (figures 1-5) the seat unit wherein the table includes a fixed portion that is supported in a fixed manner on the partition panel and the member, and a movable portion that is movable with respect to the fixed portion (as modified by Udriste et al. ‘711),
but it is silent about the seat unit wherein a groove to which the movable portion is engaged is respectively formed on the partition panel and the member, and the movable portion is moved along the groove.
Lawson ‘749 teaches (figures 5A-5B) an aircraft passenger compartment (104) comprising actuation assembly (500) for actuating tray (116) including an extension rail assembly/groove (502) on monument (114) and a linear rail assembly/groove (504) on passenger compartment shell section (108) (clearly seen in figures 5A-5B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Bentley et al. ‘512 to incorporate the teachings of Lawson ‘749 to configure the seat unit wherein a groove to which the movable portion is engaged is respectively formed on the partition panel and the member, and the movable portion is moved along the groove (table is supported on partition panels).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would maximize the usable surface area of the movable portion of the table.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bentley et al. (US 2019/0077512), Udriste et al. (US 2025/0214711) and Rubel et al. (US 2015/0345778) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Johnson et al. (US 2021/0214084).
Regarding claim 6, modified Bentley et al. ‘512 teaches (figures 1-5) the seat unit comprising In-Flight Entertainment (IFE) monitors facing the seat (Para 0035; IFE monitor is for a passenger thus faces a passenger and a seat occupied by the passenger)
but it is silent about the seat unit wherein a screen for having a projector image projected thereon is disposed in a manner capable of being wound up on an upper portion of the table and facing the seat.
Johnson et al. ‘084 teaches (figures 1A-1B) one or more IFEs include one or more display devices (130) wherein the one or more display devices (130) include a collapsible screen (Para 0067-0069).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Bentley et al. ‘512 to incorporate the teachings of Johnson et al. ‘084 to configure the seat unit wherein a screen for having a projector image projected thereon is disposed in a manner capable of being wound up on an upper portion of the table and facing the seat.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enable to see through a window when the screen is not in use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 23rd September 2026, with respect to the amended claim(s) 1 and 8 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of as explained in the rejection above.
Applicant’s argument with respect to Bentley et al. ‘512 that Bentley et al. ‘512 does not disclose or suggest “a seat including a seat section disposed on the window side, and a backrest disposed on the aisle side; and a table disposed between the window and the seat section” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As explained in the rejection above, Bentley et al. ‘512 teaches seat/seat assembly (102) is outboard-facing (Para 0032) which would position seat section on the window side and a backrest on the aisle side and since seat section is disposed on the window side the table/ tray table is between the window and the seat section.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHESH DANGOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642