DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-21 received on 05 December 2025 are currently pending and being considered by Examiner in this Office Action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03 March 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the Examiner in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
The claims recite subject matter within a statutory category as a process (claims 11-20 & 21) and machine (claims 1-7) (Subject Matter Eligibility (SME) Test Step 1: Yes) which recite steps of:
a large language model (LLM) subsystem configured to
(a) adapt code or instructions to learn from a training dataset to generate a trained LLM,
(b) receive a medical claim comprising procedure data indicating medical procedures performed on an individual during a medical encounter,
(c) ingest the data indicating the medical procedures to generate a list of medical procedures identified in the medical claim and a self-assigned level of care, and
(d) alter feature vectors in response to new data or additional training;
a prediction subsystem configured to:
(a) determine a respective medical score for each procedure in the list of medical procedures generated by the trained LLM,
(b) apply a respective weight to each respective medical score,
(c) determine a final score for the medical encounter based on the respective weight applied to each respective medical score,
(d) compare the final score to one or more thresholds to determine a predicted level of care, and
(e) compare the predicted level of care to the self-assigned level of care; and
a level adjuster subsystem configured to amend the medical claim with the predicted level of care when the predicted level of care is different than the self-assigned level of car.
These steps of receiving a medical claim comprising procedure data indicating medical procedures performed on an individual during a medical encounter, ingesting the data indicating the medical procedures to generate a list of medical procedures identified in the medical claim and a self-assigned level of care, determining a respective medical score for each procedure in the list of medical procedures generated by the trained LLM, applying a respective weight to each respective medical score, determining a final score for the medical encounter based on the respective weight applied to each respective medical score, comparing the final score to one or more thresholds to determine a predicted level of care, and comparing the predicted level of care to the self-assigned level of care; and amending the medical claim with the predicted level of care when the predicted level of care is different than the self-assigned level of car, as drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, includes performance of the limitation in the mind but for recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting steps as performed by the generic computer components, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the language, receiving a medical claim comprising procedure data and ingesting the data indicating the medical procedures to generate a list of medical procedures in the context of this claim encompasses a mental process of the user performing medical coding for associated procedures that a patient or other person receives. Similarly, the limitation of determining a medical score for each procedure in the list of medical procedures generated, applying a respective weight toe ach medical score, determining a final score based on the weight applied for each respective medical score, comparing the final score to one or more thresholds to determine a predicted level of care, and comparing the predicted level of care to a self-assigned level of care, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, such as performing various analytics to generate a patient’s medical score, such as an associated acuity or risk score for predicting a patient’s level of care or expected level of care. For example, but for the amending the medical claim with the predicted level of care when the predicted level of care is different than the self-assigned level of care language, amending the medical claim in the context of this claim encompasses a mental process of a user performing claim adjustment and/or processing, such as by a medical insurance claims processor or other entity handling billing for medical coding/procedures. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
These steps of receiving a medical claim comprising procedure data indicating medical procedures performed on an individual during a medical encounter, ingesting the data indicating the medical procedures to generate a list of medical procedures identified in the medical claim and a self-assigned level of care, determining a respective medical score for each procedure in the list of medical procedures generated by the trained LLM, applying a respective weight to each respective medical score, determining a final score for the medical encounter based on the respective weight applied to each respective medical score, comparing the final score to one or more thresholds to determine a predicted level of care, and comparing the predicted level of care to the self-assigned level of care, and amending the medical claim with the predicted level of care when the predicted level of care is different than the self-assigned level of car, as drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, includes methods of organizing human activity. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) sets forth various methods of organizing human activity, including concepts relating to fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations); and managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). Therefore, the steps recited are substantially similar to fundamental economic principles or practices, commercial or legal interactions, and/or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people. For instance, the steps recited heavily relate to determining various medical procedures being performed for a user by generating a list of procedures associated with a patient’s care, determining associated medical scores/severity of the one or more procedures, and amending/adjusting medical claims with the predicted medical scores/severity and the predicted level of care, and therefore heavily relate to fundamental economic principles or practices by performing various aspects of insurance claim adjustment, and/or risk analysis. Furthermore, the steps recited at least relate to various obligations and/or business relations at least by generating a list of medical procedures to be adjudicated by the patient being treated or receiving the procedures. Additionally, the steps generally relate to personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, such as interactions between one or more insurance entities and the patient, such as for purposes of claim adjustment/amendment and insurance claims processing. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which further narrows or defines the abstract idea embodied in the claims (such as claims 2-10 & 12-19, reciting particular aspects of how determining and/or extracting procedural/diagnosis codes from one or more received data may be performed in the mind but for recitation of generic computer components) (SME Test Step 2A, Prong 1: Yes).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se, because the additional elements amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception (such as recitation of a large language model/LLM subsystem; a prediction subsystem; a level adjuster subsystem; amounts to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, see Applicant’s Specification [0086] for a large language model/LLM subsystem; Spec [0096] for a prediction subsystem; Spec [0101]-[0102] for a level adjuster subsystem, see MPEP 2106.05(f));
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea (such as recitation of receiving a medical claim comprising procedure data, ingesting the data indicating the medical procedures to generate a list of medical procedures identified in the medical claim and a self-assigned level of care amounts to mere data gathering; recitation of altering feature vectors in response to new data or additional training, applying a respective weight to each respective medical score, and comparing the predicted level of care to a self-assigned level of care amounts to selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated; recitation of determining a respective medical score for each procedure in the list of medical procedures, adapting code or instructions to learn from a training dataset to generate a trained LLM, determining a final score for the medical encounter based on the respective weight applied to each respective medical score, comparing the final score to one or more thresholds to determine a predicted level of care, amending the medical claim with the predicted level of care amounts to insignificant application, see MPEP 2106.05(g));
generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (such as recitation of a large language model, and/or medical claim adjudication/processing, see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims (such as claims 2-10 & 12-20, which recite limitations relating to an LLM subsystem/trained LLM, the prediction subsystem, the level adjuster subsystem, additional limitations which amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, see Applicant’s Specification [0086] for an LLM subsystem/trained LLM, Spec [0096] for the prediction subsystem, Spec [0101]-[0102] for the level adjuster subsystem, see MPEP 2106.05(f); claims 3-6 & 13-16, which recite limitations relating to ingesting, i.e. receiving, varying data, additional limitations which add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea which amounts to mere data gathering; claims 2-4, 7-10, 12-13, & 17-20, which recite limitations relating to specifying the type of data being collected/ingested, determining various aspects based on the ingested data, comparing varying data scores or inputs, additional limitations which add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea by selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated; claims 3-4, 8-10, 13-14, & 18-20, which recite limitations relating to determining various aspects based on data and/or comparing varying aspects based on said data, additional limitations which amount to insignificant application; claims 2-10 & 12-20, which recite limitations relating to one or more efforts regarding additional limitations which generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (SME Test Step 2A, Prong 2: No).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Additionally, the additional limitations, other than the abstract idea per se, amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields (such as receiving a medical claim comprising procedure data, ingesting the data indicating the medical procedures to generate a list of medical procedures identified in the medical claim and a self-assigned level of care, e.g., receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i); altering feature vectors in response to new data or additional training, applying a respective weight to each respective medical score, and comparing the predicted level of care to a self-assigned level of care, determining a respective medical score for each procedure in the list of medical procedures, determining a final score for the medical encounter based on the respective weight applied to each respective medical score, comparing the final score to one or more thresholds to determine a predicted level of care, e.g., performing repetitive calculations, Flook, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(ii); adapting code or instructions to learn from a training dataset, updating one or more scores based on weights applied to the e.g., electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp., MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iii); storing instructions for a large language model, storing one or more received data, scores, codes, etc., storing computerized instructions for performance of the steps recited, e.g., storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv); receiving medical claim data comprising procedure data indicating medical procedures performed on an individual during a medical encounter, which under BRI includes scanning or extraction from one or more documents physically or digitally, e.g., electronic scanning or extracting data from a physical document, Content Extraction, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(v); adapting code or instructions to learn from a training dataset to generate a trained LLM, e.g. maintaining one or more large language models, See Bergmann Par [0021] and See Peng Par [0026] & [0029] which generally render well-understood the use of large language models that have been trained to generate medical procedure codes and medical classification codes).
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims (such as claims 2-10 & 12-20, additional limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields, claims 3-6 & 13-16, which recite limitations relating to ingesting, i.e. receiving, varying data, e.g., receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i); claims 2-4, 7-10, 12-13, & 17-20, which recite limitations relating to determining various aspects based on the ingested data, comparing varying data scores or inputs, e.g., performing repetitive calculations, Flook, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(ii); claims 5-6, 9, 15-16, & 19, which recite limitations relating to maintaining one or more weights to be applied to the data and/or updating training and parameters of an LLM, e.g., electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp., MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iii); claims 2-10 & 12-20, which recite limitations relating to storing various ingested data in memory, storing computerized instructions in memory for performance of the steps recited, e.g., storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv); claims 3-6 & 13-16, which recite limitations relating to utilizing a natural language processing/LLM to determine a procedure code from natural language ingested written description, e.g., electronic scanning or extracting data from a physical document, Content Extraction, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(v)). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation (SME Test Step 2B: No).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergmann et al (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2026/0011433), hereinafter “Bergmann”, in view of Gaur et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0391547), hereinafter “Gaur”.
Claim 1 –
Regarding Claim 1, Bergmann discloses a system comprising:
a large language model (LLM) subsystem (See Bergmann Par [0022] which discloses various subsystems and is therefore understood to read on the subsystems recited hereinafter; See Bergmann Par [0021] which discloses the use of large language models that have been trained to generate medical procedure codes and medical classification codes) configured to:
(a) adapt code or instructions to learn from a training dataset to generate a trained LLM (See Bergmann Par [0021] which discloses the use of large language models that have been trained to generate medical procedure codes and medical classification codes),
(b) receive a medical claim comprising procedure data indicating medical procedures performed on an individual during a medical encounter (See Bergmann Par [0020] which discloses a physician’s note describes a medical procedure and diagnosis relating to a medical conditions),
(c) ingest the data indicating the medical procedures to generate a list of medical procedures identified in the medical claim and a self-assigned level of care (See Bergmann Par [0020] which discloses a physician’s note describes a medical procedure and diagnosis relating to medical conditions, such that a specially trained model can more accurately predicted medical procedure codes and medical classification codes when it is trained on terminology and codes relating to specific area), and
(d) alter feature vectors in response to new data or additional training (See Bergmann Par [0018] which discloses receiving one or more medical notes or medical documents, such that the generation of medical procedure codes is based on said received notes or medical documents; See Bergmann Par [0053] includes medical documents with generated codes and/or associated code categories for the medical description found therein; While not “feature vectors” per se, see Bergmann Par [0034] which discloses providing additional details concerning the procedure or service, i.e. new data or additional data for training or generating said codes, such that a specially trained model can more accurately predicted medical procedure codes and medical classification codes when it is trained on terminology and codes relating to specific area);
a prediction subsystem configured to
(a) determine a respective medical score for each procedure in the list of medical procedures generated by the trained LLM (See Bergmann Par [0031] which discloses determining and assigning confidence scores to determine medical procedure and medical classification codes),
(d) compare the final score to one or more thresholds to determine a predicted level of care (See Bergmann Par [0031] which discloses comparing the confidence level of the codes to one or more thresholds for determining whether the codes are valid and/or need further evaluation by a review system), and
(e) compare the predicted level of care to the self-assigned level of care (See Bergmann Par [0052] & [0055] which discloses the model outputting determined codes, i.e. predicted level of care, for comparison to expected values, i.e. self-assigned level of care and adjusting or modifying medical procedure level and the medical procedure codes of services); and
a level adjuster subsystem configured to amend the medical claim with the predicted level of care when the predicted level of care is different than the self-assigned level of car (See Bergmann Par [0055] which discloses the model outputting determined codes, i.e. predicted level of care, for comparison to expected values, i.e. self-assigned level of care; See Bergmann Par [0034] which discloses the optimization system may evaluated the generated medical codes to optimize or otherwise improve the output of the medical coding system, such that the optimization system can additionally add medical procedure modifiers (e.g., CPT modifiers) used to supplement the information of the medical procedure codes, adjust care descriptions to provide additional details concerning the procedure or service provided, and the like, i.e. amending medical claims determined codes with the determined, i.e. predicted, codes).
While Bergmann discloses determining one or more confidence scores of automatically generated codes, Bergmann does not necessarily disclose applying weights to the confidence scores as given by the following limitations:
(b) apply a respective weight to each respective medical score;
(c) determine a final score for the medical encounter based on the respective weight applied to each respective medical score;
However, Gaur discloses applying a respective weight to each respective medical score (See Gaur Par [0068] which discloses applying a weight to one or more probability values prior to selected the predicted medical billing classification code, such that the system applies a higher weight to a sequence associated with a physician's diagnosis than with an initial patient intake survey); and determining a final score for the medical encounter based on the respective weight applied to each respective medical score (See Gaur Par [0068] which discloses applying a weight to one or more probability values prior to selected the predicted medical billing classification code, such that apply a higher weight to a sequence associated with a physician's diagnosis than with an initial patient intake survey, and based on applying the mathematical and/or logical algorithm, i.e. weights, to the sets of probabilities, such that the medical billing classification code selection engine selects a particular medical billing classification code as the predicted medical billing classification code for the set of medical notation data). The disclosure of Gaur is directly applicable to the disclosure of Bergmann because the disclosures share limitations and capabilities, such as being directed towards automatically generating medical codes associated with one or more patient conditions, treatments, and/or treatment outlooks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Bergmann which already discloses determining one or more confidence scores of automatically generated codes to further include applying weights to codes and/or medical information, as disclosed by Gaur, because this allows for putting more emphasis on officially generated (such as by a medical professional) and/or more recent medical information for more accurate medical coding (See Gaur Par [0068]).
Claim 2 –
Regarding Claim 2, Bergmann and Gaur disclose the system of claim 1 in its entirety. Bergmann further discloses a system, wherein:
the procedure data indicating medical procedures comprises procedure codes (See Bergmann Par [0018] which discloses receiving one or more medical notes or medical documents, such that the generation of medical procedure codes is based on said received notes or medical documents; See Bergmann Par [0053] includes medical documents with generated codes and/or associated code categories fort the medical description found therein).
Claim 3 –
Regarding Claim 3, Bergmann and Gaur disclose the system of claim 1 in its entirety. Bergmann further discloses a system, wherein:
the procedure data indicating medical procedures comprises a natural language written description of the care provided (See Bergmann Par [0020] which discloses a physician’s note describes a medical procedure and diagnosis, i.e. natural language, relating to medical conditions, such that a specially trained model can more accurately predicted medical procedure codes and medical classification codes when it is trained on terminology and codes relating to specific area), and wherein
the LLM subsystem is further configured to determine a procedure code from the natural language ingested written description of the care provided (See Bergmann Par [0020] which discloses a physician’s note describes a medical procedure and diagnosis, i.e. natural language, relating to medical conditions, such that a specially trained model can more accurately predicted medical procedure codes and medical classification codes when it is trained on terminology and codes relating to specific area; See Bergmann Par [0021] which discloses the use of large language models that have been trained to generate medical procedure codes and medical classification codes).
Claim 4 –
Regarding Claim 4, Bergmann and Gaur disclose the system of claim 3 in its entirety. Bergmann further discloses a system, wherein:
the procedure data indicating medical procedures comprises procedure codes and a natural language written description of the care provided (See Bergmann Par [0020] which discloses a physician’s note describes a medical procedure and diagnosis, i.e. natural language, relating to medical conditions, such that a specially trained model can more accurately predicted medical procedure codes and medical classification codes when it is trained on terminology and codes relating to specific area), and wherein
the LLM subsystem is further configured to compare the natural language written description of the care provided to a description of the procedure code to ensure that the procedure code matches the natural language written description of the care provided (See Bergmann Par [0020] which discloses a physician’s note describes a medical procedure and diagnosis, i.e. natural language, relating to medical conditions, such that a specially trained model can more accurately predicted medical procedure codes and medical classification codes when it is trained on terminology and codes relating to specific area).
Claim 5 –
Regarding Claim 5, Bergmann and Gaur disclose the system of claim 1 in its entirety. Bergmann and Gaur further disclose a system, wherein:
the LLM subsystem is further configured to ingest data indicating at least one diagnosis (See Bergmann Par [0021] which discloses the use of large language models that have been trained to generate medical procedure codes and medical classification codes; See Bergmann Par [0040] which discloses ingesting data relevant to the procedure and diagnosis type), and wherein
the prediction subsystem apply the respective weight based on the data indicating at least one diagnosis (See Gaur Par [0068] which discloses applying a weight to one or more probability values prior to selected the predicted medical billing classification code, such that the system applies a higher weight to a sequence associated with a physician's diagnosis, i.e. the respective weight is based on the diagnosis, rather than with an initial patient intake survey, i.e. not related to a diagnosis per se).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Bergmann which already discloses determining one or more confidence scores of automatically generated codes to further include applying weights to codes and/or medical information, as disclosed by Gaur, because this allows for putting more emphasis on officially generated (such as by a medical professional) and/or more recent medical information for more accurate medical coding (See Gaur Par [0068]).
Claim 6 –
Regarding Claim 6, Bergmann and Gaur disclose the system of claim 1 in its entirety. Bergmann and Gaur further disclose a system, wherein:
the LLM subsystem is further configured to ingest data indicating a special condition of the individual (See Bergmann Par [0021] which discloses the use of large language models that have been trained to generate medical procedure codes and medical classification codes; See Bergmann Par [0040] which discloses ingesting data relevant to the procedure and diagnoses type, and further, a second-level medical classification model can be applied for specific conditions, areas of anatomy, etc. as seen in Bergmann Par [0044]), and wherein
the prediction subsystem is further configured to apply the respective weight based on the special condition (See Gaur Par [0068] which discloses applying a weight to one or more probability values prior to selected the predicted medical billing classification code, such that the system applies a higher weight to a sequence associated with a physician's diagnosis, i.e. the respective weight is based on the diagnosis, i.e. a special condition of the user, rather than with an initial patient intake survey).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Bergmann which already discloses determining one or more confidence scores of automatically generated codes to further include applying weights to codes and/or medical information, as disclosed by Gaur, because this allows for putting more emphasis on officially generated (such as by a medical professional) and/or more recent medical information for more accurate medical coding (See Gaur Par [0068]).
Claim 7 –
Regarding Claim 7, Bergmann and Gaur disclose the system of claim 6 in its entirety. Bergmann further discloses a system, wherein:
the special condition is an age, gender, or medical condition of the individual (See Bergmann Par [0040] which discloses ingesting data relevant to the procedure and diagnosis type, and further, a second-level medical classification model can be applied for specific conditions, i.e. medical condition of the individual, areas of anatomy, etc. as seen in Bergmann Par [0044]).
Claim 8 –
Regarding Claim 8, Bergmann and Gaur disclose the system of claim 5 in its entirety. Bergmann further discloses a system, wherein:
the level adjuster subsystem is further configured to determine whether the data indicating at least one diagnosis indicates a single diagnosis or multiple diagnoses (See Bergmann Par [0040] which discloses ingesting data relevant to the procedure and diagnosis type, and further, a second-level medical classification model can be applied for specific conditions, i.e. one or more medical conditions/diagnoses of the individual, areas of anatomy, etc. as seen in Bergmann Par [0044]).
Claim 9 –
Regarding Claim 9, Bergmann and Gaur disclose the system of claim 8 in its entirety. Bergmann and Gaur further disclose a system, wherein:
when the data indicating at least one diagnosis indicates multiple diagnoses, the level adjuster subsystem is further configured to determine the predicted level of care based on the list of medical procedures generated by the trained LLM and the respective weight (See Bergmann Par [0020] which discloses a physician’s note describes a medical procedure and diagnosis, i.e. natural language, relating to medical conditions, such that a specially trained model can more accurately predicted medical procedure codes and medical classification codes when it is trained on terminology and codes relating to specific area; See Bergmann Par [0021] which discloses the use of large language models that have been trained to generate medical procedure codes and medical classification codes; See Gaur Par [0068] which discloses applying a weight to one or more probability values prior to selected the predicted medical billing classification code, such that the system applies a higher weight to a sequence associated with a physician's diagnosis, i.e. the respective weight is based on the diagnosis, i.e. a special condition of the user, rather than with an initial patient intake survey).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Bergmann which already discloses determining one or more confidence scores of automatically generated codes to further include applying weights to codes and/or medical information, as disclosed by Gaur, because this allows for putting more emphasis on officially generated (such as by a medical professional) and/or more recent medical information for more accurate medical coding (See Gaur Par [0068]).
Claim 10 –
Regarding Claim 10, _ discloses the system of claim 8 in its entirety. _ further discloses a system, wherein:
when the data indicating at least one diagnosis indicates the single diagnosis, the level adjuster subsystem is further configured to determine the predicted level of care based on the single diagnosis (See Bergmann Par [0020] which discloses a physician’s note describes a medical procedure and diagnosis, i.e. natural language, relating to medical conditions, such that a specially trained model can more accurately predicted medical procedure codes and medical classification codes when it is trained on terminology and codes relating to specific area; See Bergmann Par [0021] which discloses the use of large language models that have been trained to generate medical procedure codes and medical classification codes; See Gaur Par [0068] which discloses applying a weight to one or more probability values prior to selected the predicted medical billing classification code, such that the system applies a higher weight to a sequence associated with a physician's diagnosis, i.e. the respective weight is based on the diagnosis, i.e. a special condition of the user, rather than with an initial patient intake survey).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Bergmann which already discloses determining one or more confidence scores of automatically generated codes to further include applying weights to codes and/or medical information, as disclosed by Gaur, because this allows for putting more emphasis on officially generated (such as by a medical professional) and/or more recent medical information for more accurate medical coding (See Gaur Par [0068]).
Claim 11 –
Regarding Claim 11, Bergmann and Gaur disclose a method of using a large language model (LLM) to process data comprising:
the LLM adapting code or instructions to learn from a training dataset to generate a trained LLM (See Bergmann Par [0021] which discloses the use of large language models that have been trained to generate medical procedure codes and medical classification codes);
the trained LLM receiving a medical claim comprising procedure data indicating medical procedures performed on an individual during a medical encounter and a self-assigned level of care (See Bergmann Par [0020] which discloses a physician’s note describes a medical procedure and diagnosis relating to a medical conditions);
the trained LLM ingesting the data indicating the medical procedures to generate a list of medical procedures identified in the medical claim (See Bergmann Par [0020] which discloses a physician’s note describes a medical procedure and diagnosis relating to medical conditions, such that a specially trained model can more accurately predicted medical procedure codes and medical classification codes when it is trained on terminology and codes relating to specific area);
the trained LLM altering feature vectors in response to new data or additional training (See Bergmann Par [0018] which discloses receiving one or more medical notes or medical documents, such that the generation of medical procedure codes is based on said received notes or medical documents; See Bergmann Par [0053] includes medical documents with generated codes and/or associated code categories for the medical description found therein; While not “feature vectors” per se, see Bergmann Par [0034] which discloses providing additional details concerning the procedure or service, i.e. new data or additional data for training or generating said codes, such that a specially trained model can more accurately predicted medical procedure codes and medical classification codes when it is trained on terminology and codes relating to specific area);
a prediction subsystem determining a respective medical score for each procedure in the list of medical procedures generated by the trained LLM (See Bergmann Par [0031] which discloses determining and assigning confidence scores to determine medical procedure and medical classification codes);
the prediction subsystem applying a respective weight to each respective medical score (See Gaur Par [0068] which discloses applying a weight to one or more probability values prior to selected the predicted medical billing classification code, such that the system applies a higher weight to a sequence associated with a physician's diagnosis than with an initial patient intake survey);
the prediction subsystem determining a final score for the medical encounter based on the respective weight applied to each respective medical score (See Gaur Par [0068] which discloses applying a weight to one or more probability values prior to selected the predicted medical billing classification code, such that apply a higher weight to a sequence associated with a physician's diagnosis than with an initial patient intake survey, and based on applying the mathematical and/or logical algorithm, i.e. weights, to the sets of probabilities, such that the medical billing classification code selection engine selects a particular medical billing classification code as the predicted medical billing classification code for the set of medical notation data);
the prediction subsystem comparing the final score to one or more thresholds to determine a predicted level of care (See Bergmann Par [0031] which discloses comparing the confidence level of the codes to one or more thresholds for determining whether the codes are valid and/or need further evaluation by a review system), and
the prediction subsystem comparing the predicted level of care to the self-assigned level of care (See Bergmann Par [0052] & [0055] which discloses the model outputting determined codes, i.e. predicted level of care, for comparison to expected values, i.e. self-assigned level of care and adjusting or modifying medical procedure level and the medical procedure codes of services); and
a level adjuster subsystem amending the medical claim with the predicted level of care when the predicted level of care is different than the self-assigned level of care (See Bergmann Par [0055] which discloses the model outputting determined codes, i.e. predicted level of care, for comparison to expected values, i.e. self-assigned level of care; See Bergmann Par [0034] which discloses the optimization system may evaluated the generated medical codes to optimize or otherwise improve the output of the medical coding system, such that the optimization system can additionally add medical procedure modifiers (e.g., CPT modifiers) used to supplement the information of the medical procedure codes, adjust care descriptions to provide additional details concerning the procedure or service provided, and the like, i.e. amending medical claims determined codes with the determined, i.e. predicted, codes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Bergmann which already discloses determining one or more confidence scores of automatically generated codes to further include applying weights to codes and/or medical information, as disclosed by Gaur, because this allows for putting more emphasis on officially generated (such as by a medical professional) and/or more recent medical information for more accurate medical coding (See Gaur Par [0068]).
Claims 12-20
Regarding Claims 12-20, claims 12-20 are substantially similar the same to claims 2-10, respectively, but recited for a method rather than a system. That is, Bergmann and Gaur effectively disclose the entirety of claims 2-10, respectively, and independent claim 11 from which claims 12-20 depend. Therefore, it is understood that Bergmann and Gaur effectively disclose the entirety of claims 12-20 for the same or substantially similar reasonings as those found in claims 2-10, respectively.
Claim 21 –
Regarding Claim 21, Bergmann and Gaur disclose a method of processing data comprising:
an artificial intelligence (AI) subsystem adapting code or instructions to learn from a training dataset to generate a trained LLM (See Bergmann Par [0022] which discloses various subsystems and is therefore understood to read on the subsystems recited hereinafter; See Bergmann Par [0021] which discloses the use of large language models that have been trained to generate medical procedure codes and medical classification codes);
the AI subsystem receiving a medical claim comprising procedure data indicating medical procedures performed on an individual during a medical encounter and a self-assigned level of care (While not a “medical claim” per se, see Bergmann Par [0020] which discloses a physician’s note describes a medical procedure and diagnosis relating to a medical conditions);
the AI subsystem ingesting the data indicating the medical procedures to generate a list of medical procedures identified in the medical claim (See Bergmann Par [0020] which discloses a physician’s note describes a medical procedure and diagnosis relating to medical conditions, such that a specially trained model can more accurately predicted medical procedure codes and medical classification codes when it is trained on terminology and codes relating to specific area);
the AI subsystem altering feature vectors in response to new data or additional training (See Bergmann Par [0018] which discloses receiving one or more medical notes or medical documents, such that the generation of medical procedure codes is based on said received notes or medical documents; See Bergmann Par [0053] includes medical documents with generated codes and/or associated code categories for the medical description found therein; See Bergmann Par [0034] which discloses providing additional details concerning the procedure or service, i.e. new data or additional data for training or generating said codes);
a prediction subsystem determining a respective medical score for each procedure in the list of medical procedures generated by the AI subsystem (Se See Bergmann Par [0031] which discloses determining and assigning confidence scores to determine medical procedure and medical classification codes e);
the prediction subsystem applying a respective weight to each respective medical score (See Gaur Par [0068] which discloses applying a weight to one or more probability values prior to selected the predicted medical billing classification code, such that the system applies a higher weight to a sequence associated with a physician's diagnosis than with an initial patient intake survey);
the prediction subsystem determining a final score for the medical encounter based on the respective weight applied to each respective medical score (See Gaur Par [0068] which discloses applying a weight to one or more probability values prior to selected the predicted medical billing classification code, such that apply a higher weight to a sequence associated with a physician's diagnosis than with an initial patient intake survey, and based on applying the mathematical and/or logical algorithm, i.e. weights, to the sets of probabilities, such that the medical billing classification code selection engine selects a particular medical billing classification code as the predicted medical billing classification code for the set of medical notation data);
the prediction subsystem comparing the final score to one or more thresholds to determine a predicted level of care (See Bergmann Par [0031] which discloses comparing the confidence level of the codes to one or more thresholds for determining whether the codes are valid and/or need further evaluation by a review system), and
the prediction subsystem comparing the predicted level of care to the self-assigned level of care (See Bergmann Par [0052] & [0055] which discloses the model outputting determined codes, i.e. predicted level of care, for comparison to expected values, i.e. self-assigned level of care and adjusting or modifying medical procedure level and the medical procedure codes of services); and
a level adjuster subsystem amending the medical claim with the predicted level of care when the predicted level of care is different than the self-assigned level of care (See Bergmann Par [0055] which discloses the model outputting determined codes, i.e. predicted level of care, for comparison to expected values, i.e. self-assigned level of care; See Bergmann Par [0034] which discloses the optimization system may evaluated the generated medical codes to optimize or otherwise improve the output of the medical coding system, such that the optimization system can additionally add medical procedure modifiers (e.g., CPT modifiers) used to supplement the information of the medical procedure codes, adjust care descriptions to provide additional details concerning the procedure or service provided, and the like, i.e. amending medical claims determined codes with the determined, i.e. predicted, codes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Bergmann which already discloses determining one or more confidence scores of automatically generated codes to further include applying weights to codes and/or medical information, as disclosed by Gaur, because this allows for putting more emphasis on officially generated (such as by a medical professional) and/or more recent medical information for more accurate medical coding (See Gaur Par [0068]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
Sasidharan et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2026/0106044) discloses using natural language processing (NLP) and applying a condition prompt for each clinical decision event as input to the LLM requesting the LLM to identify conditions applicable for the clinical decision event and o automatically evaluate adherence to clinical guidelines and to provide recommendations to clinicians for ensuring adherence, thereby enhancing the quality of care;
Kay et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0094817) discloses pretraining a deep learning model for evaluating objective structured clinical examination (OSCE) content in the medical domain for developing a language model and/or large language model for analyzing medical.
/H.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3684
/Shahid Merchant/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3684