DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed 12/5/2025 in which Claims 1-18 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 9-14, 17, 18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14, 17, 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,518,580. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are broader than the claims of the patent.
Claim 1 of instant application
Claim 1 of 9,761,105
1. A biometric door lock system for an enclosed space comprising: an enclosure (10) having a plurality of side walls (16), a floor (18) and a top panel (74). In the illustrated building (10), the side walls (16), floor (18) and top panel (74) are connected together to form a storage chamber,
1. A biometric door lock system for an enclosed space comprising: an enclosure (10) having a plurality of side walls (16), a floor (18) and a top panel (74), the side walls (16), floor (18) and top panel (74) are connected together to form a storage chamber,
an opening (20) is provided in one of the side walls (16), floor (18) or top panel (74), a door (22) is moveably connected to the enclosure (10) for selectively covering the opening and to provide ingress and egress to the interior space of the storage chamber when in an open position,
an opening (20) is provided in one of the side walls (16), floor (18) or top panel (74), a door (22) is moveably connected to the enclosure (10) for selectively covering the opening and to provide ingress and egress to the interior space of the storage chamber when in an open position,
a lock mechanism (26) constructed and arranged to selectively lock and prevent the door (22) from being opened and to selectively unlock to allow access to the interior space upon identification of the user,
a lock mechanism (26) constructed and arranged to selectively lock and prevent the door (22) from being opened and to selectively unlock to allow access to the interior space upon identification of the user,
the lock mechanism including a lock controller (100),
the lock mechanism including a lock controller (100), the lock controller including a proximity switch (134) positioned to sense the position of the user's hand for initiating the imaging module (128) wherein the user need not contact the imaging module (128) to operate the lock mechanism (26)
the lock controller including an imaging module (128) for identifying the user attempting to open the lock mechanism, the imaging module (128) including a light source for selectively directing light having an infrared or near infrared wavelength toward the user’s hand causing the vessels in the hand to contrast with adjacent tissue, a camera (137) positioned in the imaging module (128) taking an image of the contrasted vessels for comparison to a vein image (114) stored in the imaging module
the lock controller including an imaging module (128) for identifying the user attempting to open the lock mechanism, the imaging module (128) mounted remote from the lock mechanism (26), the imaging module (128) electrically communicating with the lock mechanism (26) to provide user identification to the lock mechanism (26) for remote operation of the lock mechanism (26), the imaging module (128) including a light source for selectively directing light having an infrared or near infrared wavelength toward the user's hand causing the vessels in the hand to contrast with adjacent tissue, a camera (137) positioned in the imaging module (128) for taking an identification photographic image of the contrasted vessels for comparison to a vessel control photographic image (116) stored in the internal memory of the imaging module
wherein a match of the two contrasted vessel images causes the imaging module to electrically communicate with the lock mechanism (26) to unlock and allow access to the interior space of the enclosure (10).
wherein the door lock controller (100) processes the identification image data, wherein a match of the two contrasted identification photographic image and the vessel control photographic images causes the imaging module to electrically communicate with the lock mechanism (26) to unlock and allow access to the interior space of the enclosure (10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 8, 9, 11, 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "identification image" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "identification image" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "identification module" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "palm positioner" in Line 2 and “lock actuator” in Line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "palm positioner" in Line 2 and “lock actuator” in Line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "palm positioner" in Line 2 and “position” in Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "identification image data" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
17. Claim(s) 1, 2, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0272059 to Cartwright in view of Korean Patent Publication 20070042362 to Park (relied upon English Translation).
As to Claim 1, Cartwright teaches a biometric door lock system for an enclosed space comprising: an enclosure (10) having a plurality of side walls (16), a floor (18) and a top panel (74) (a single locker bank 10. Each storage space 2 comprises at least one compartment 12…Typically, the storage spaces 2 are lockers, i.e. each having a respective lockable door 11, see ¶ 0024; a compartment 12 which may comprise a side wall 30, a lower wall 31 [floor], an upper wall 32 [top panel] and a rear wall 33, see ¶ 0032. Figure 3 illustrates two side walls). In the illustrated building (10), the side walls (16), floor (18) and top panel (74) are connected together to form a storage chamber (a single locker bank 10. Each storage space 2 comprises at least one compartment 12, see ¶ 0024; a compartment 12 [storage chamber] which may comprise a side wall 30, a lower wall 31 [floor], an upper wall 32 [top panel] and a rear wall 33, see ¶ 0032), an opening (20) is provided in one of the side walls (16), floor (18) or top panel (74), a door (22) is moveably connected to the enclosure (10) for selectively covering the opening and to provide ingress and egress to the interior space of the storage chamber when in an open position (the storage spaces 2 are lockers [enclosure], i.e. each having a respective lockable door 11, see ¶ 0024; The door 11 may comprise a window 15 such that light can be transmitted from the surroundings to within the at least one compartment 12 of the storage space 2 [enclosure], see ¶ 0034; The lockable door 11 of each storage space 2 is actuated by the access control system 100 to permit a user 50 to gain access to at least one of a subset of the plurality of lockable storage spaces 2, see ¶ 0038; Access by the access control system 100 to each lockable storage space 2, or a subset of lockable storage spaces 2 allocated to a user 50, is governed by electronically locking/closing and unlocking/opening the storage space 2, upon verification of user identity based on a credential of said user 50, see ¶ 0062),
a lock mechanism (26) constructed and arranged to selectively lock and prevent the door (22) from being opened and to selectively unlock to allow access to the interior space upon identification of the user (In some cases, where the access control system 100 is located in the storage installation 1, the access control system 100 may comprise at least one access control console 102 as illustrated in FIG. 1. The at least one console 102 [lock mechanism] may comprise a user interaction means and/or means to read/input the credential, e.g. a fingerprint reader, retina recognition or low power wireless communication protocols, e.g. Bluetooth®, Zigbee® etc, see ¶ 0042; Access by the access control system 100 to each lockable storage space 2, or a subset of lockable storage spaces 2 allocated to a user 50, is governed by electronically locking/closing and unlocking/opening the storage space 2, upon verification of user identity based on a credential of said user 50, see ¶ 0062),
Cartwright does not expressly disclose the lock mechanism including a lock controller (100), the lock controller including an imaging module (128) for identifying the user attempting to open the lock mechanism, the imaging module (128) including a light source for selectively directing light having an infrared or near infrared wavelength toward the user’s hand causing the vessels in the hand to contrast with adjacent tissue, a camera (137) positioned in the imaging module (128) taking an image of the contrasted vessels for comparison to a vein image (114) stored in the imaging module, wherein a match of the two contrasted vessel images causes the imaging module to electrically communicate with the lock mechanism (26) to unlock and allow access to the interior space of the enclosure (10).
Park teaches the lock mechanism including a lock controller (100), the lock controller including an imaging module (128) for identifying the user attempting to open the lock mechanism (the vein recognition door lock authentication device [lock controller] of the present invention includes a storage unit that pre-registers and stores palm vein information of a person who has the authority to access a door requiring security, a door lock that is responsible for opening and closing the door, a vein recognition unit that is provided inside the door lock handle and recognizes the palm vein of a person holding the door lock handle, and a control unit having an algorithm that opens the door lock when the palm vein information stored in the storage unit and the palm vein recognized by the vein recognition unit match each other, and does not open the door lock when they do not match each other, see pg. 3, lines 136-144; The vein information recognized through the above vein recognition unit (14) [imaging module] is transmitted to the control unit (15) through the internal cable (17) and used for door lock (16) [lock mechanism] opening authentication. That is, if the vein information transmitted to the control unit (15) matches the previously registered vein information, the door lock (16) is opened to allow the door (10) to be opened, and if the vein information transmitted is not registered, an action such as generating a warning sound or transmitting a theft warning signal is performed, see pg. 4, lines 178-179; pg. 5, lines 234-238), the imaging module (128) including a light source for selectively directing light having an infrared or near infrared wavelength toward the user’s hand causing the vessels in the hand to contrast with adjacent tissue (The vein recognition unit (13) [imaging module] is located inside the door lock handle and performs the function of recognizing the veins (blood vessels) in the user's palm…That is, the vein recognition technology described above is a technology that reads people's blood vessels in the form of a barcode, as is known, by recording subcutaneous infrared absorption patterns to create a unique and personal recognition template for each user, and is mainly performed using near infrared light close to the visible light band. For example, first, infrared rays [light source] are irradiated onto the back of the hand to take a fluoroscopic photograph of the blood vessels [selectively directing light having an near infrared wavelength toward the user’s hand causing vessels in the hand to contrast with adjacent tissue], and then the reflected image is converted into a digital image using a small CCD camera, see pg. 5, lines 245-254),
Park teaches a camera (137) positioned in the imaging module (128) taking an image of the contrasted vessels for comparison to a vein image (114) stored in the imaging module (The vein recognition unit (13) [imaging module] is located inside the door lock handle and performs the function of recognizing the veins (blood vessels) in the user's palm…That is, the vein recognition technology described above is a technology that reads people's blood vessels in the form of a barcode, as is known, by recording subcutaneous infrared absorption patterns to create a unique and personal recognition template for each user, and is mainly performed using near infrared light close to the visible light band. For example, first, infrared rays are irradiated onto the back of the hand to take a fluoroscopic photograph of the blood vessels, and then the reflected image is converted into a digital image using a small CCD camera. Here, the vein pattern is extracted, its characteristics are stored in a storage device such as memory, and then compared with the vein pattern of a registered user to verify identity [image of the contrasted vessels for comparison to a vein image stored in the imaging module], see pg. 5, lines 242-256), wherein a match of the two contrasted vessel images causes the imaging module to electrically communicate with the lock mechanism (26) to unlock and allow access to the interior space of the enclosure (10) (a vein recognition unit [imaging module] that is provided inside the door lock handle and recognizes the palm vein of a person holding the door lock handle, and a control unit having an algorithm that opens the door lock when the palm vein information stored in the storage unit and the palm vein recognized by the vein recognition unit match each other [match of the two contrasted vessel images], and does not open the door lock when they do not match each other, see pg. 3, lines 136-144; The vein information recognized through the above vein recognition unit (14) [imaging module] is transmitted to the control unit (15) through the internal cable (17) and used for door lock (16) opening authentication. That is, if the vein information transmitted to the control unit (15) matches the previously registered vein information, the door lock (16) is opened to allow the door (10) to be opened, and if the vein information transmitted is not registered, an action such as generating a warning sound or transmitting a theft warning signal is performed, see pg. 4, lines 178-179; pg. 5, lines 234-238).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cartwright with Park to teach the lock mechanism including a lock controller (100), the lock controller including an imaging module (128) for identifying the user attempting to open the lock mechanism, the imaging module (128) including a light source for selectively directing light having an infrared or near infrared wavelength toward the user’s hand causing the vessels in the hand to contrast with adjacent tissue, a camera (137) positioned in the imaging module (128) taking an image of the contrasted vessels for comparison to a vein image (114) stored in the imaging module, wherein a match of the two contrasted vessel images causes the imaging module to electrically communicate with the lock mechanism (26) to unlock and allow access to the interior space of the enclosure (10). The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to perform vein authentication when opening a safe door by placing a vein recognition unit inside a door lock handle (see pg. 2, lines 61-62).
As to Claim 2, Cartwright and Park depending on Claim 1, Park teaches wherein the identification image is of the user’s palm veins (The vein recognition unit (13) [imaging module] is located inside the door lock handle and performs the function of recognizing the veins (blood vessels) in the user's palm, see pg. 5, lines 242-243).
As to Claim 13, Cartwright and Park depending on Claim 7, Park teaches wherein the imaging module (128) stores a plurality of vessel control images (116) within an internal memory for comparison to an authorized vein image (114) to release the lock mechanism (26) (a control unit having an algorithm that opens the door lock when the palm vein information stored in the storage unit and the palm vein recognized by the vein recognition unit match each other, and does not open the door lock when they do not match each other, see pg. 3, lines 136-144; The vein information recognized through the above vein recognition unit (14) is transmitted to the control unit (15) through the internal cable (17) and used for door lock (16) opening authentication. That is, if the vein information transmitted to the control unit (15) matches the previously registered vein information, the door lock (16) is opened to allow the door (10) to be opened, see pg. 4, lines 178-179; pg. 5, lines 234-238).
Claim(s) 3, 7, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0272059 to Cartwright in view of Korean Patent Publication 20070042362 to Park (relied upon English Translation) in further view of U.S. Patent 11,080,978 to Goldstein.
As to Claim 3, Cartwright and Park depending on Claim 1, Cartwright and Park do not explicitly disclose wherein the identification image is of the user’s finger veins. Goldstein teaches wherein the identification image is of the user’s finger veins (The sensor can use large area Photo detection technology with near IR illumination. In another embodiment, the sensor uses a scanning laser and a micro mirror system to acquire the veins located under the surface of a finger, see Col. 18, lines 4-8).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cartwright and Park with Goldstein to teach wherein the identification image is of the user’s finger veins. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the use of point scanning of illumination potentially also allows three-dimensional tomography of vein structures (see Col. 19, lines 58-60).
As to Claim 7, Cartwright and Park depending on Claim 1, Cartwright and Park do not expressly disclose the imaging module (128) includes an image enhancement module that utilizes a catoptric system to obtain improved marginal information of the vessels through an elongated light path for improved image contrast. Goldstein teaches the imaging module (128) includes an image enhancement module that utilizes a catoptric system to obtain improved marginal information of the vessels through an elongated light path for improved image contrast (This new authentication engine employs a scanning laser operating at 880-930 nm to extract vein topology, improve image contrast of the palm vein and to extract blood flow pattern for liveness detection as well as acquiring hand geometry as an additional element of the authentication process. A micro mirror reflects a laser beam and performs a uniform raster scan [catoptric system]. Further, the laser system incorporates hand geometry to obtain a 3D digitized image without using any hand position restricting mechanism while adding a secondary level of security. Recently, palm vein imaging technology has been under development using the shadow effect of near-infrared light-emitting diodes (NIR LEDs), see Col. 19, lines 37-50).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cartwright and Park with Goldstein to teach the imaging module (128) includes an image enhancement module that utilizes a catoptric system to obtain improved marginal information of the vessels through an elongated light path for improved image contrast. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the use of point scanning of illumination potentially also allows three-dimensional tomography of vein structures (see Col. 19, lines 58-60).
As to Claim 12, Cartwright and Park depending on Claim 10, Cartwright and Park do not expressly disclose wherein vessels in the hand are imaged using infrared or near infrared light having a wavelength from 750 nanometers to 950 nanometers. Goldstein teaches wherein vessels in the hand are imaged using infrared or near infrared light having a wavelength from 750 nanometers to 950 nanometers (new authentication engine employs a scanning laser operating at 880-930 nm to extract vein topology, improve image contrast of the palm vein and to extract blood flow pattern for liveness detection as well as acquiring hand geometry as an additional element of the authentication process, see Col. 19, lines 37-43).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cartwright and Park with Goldstein to teach wherein vessels in the hand are imaged using infrared or near infrared light having a wavelength from 750 nanometers to 950 nanometers. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the use of point scanning of illumination potentially also allows three-dimensional tomography of vein structures (see Col. 19, lines 58-60).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0272059 to Cartwright in view of Korean Patent Publication 20070042362 to Park (relied upon English Translation) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0072967 to Lv et al (“Lv”).
As to Claim 4, Cartwright and Park depending on Claim 1, Cartwright, and Park do not expressly disclose wherein the door (22) further includes a latch mechanism (28) for retaining the door (22) in a closed and unlocked condition and releasable by rotation of a handle (30) to allow the unlocked door to be opened. Lv teaches wherein the door (22) further includes a latch mechanism (28) for retaining the door (22) in a closed and unlocked condition and releasable by rotation of a handle (30) to allow the unlocked door to be opened (Taking the smart door lock with a clutch device as an example, the processing module 130 may connect the clutch device to the lever handle and the bolts to control the smart door lock to be in an unlocked state. The user may cause a lever handle base to rotate by pressing down the door handle. The rotation of the lever handle base may further drive the square steel to rotate, and dead bolt and latch bolt to retract. The user may open the door when the dead bolt and the latch bolt are retracted, see ¶ 0069; when the processing module 130 determines that the door has a door closing action, the processing module 130 may control the smart door lock (if the smart door lock has a clutch device) to drive the clutch device to cause the dead bolt to project, thereby realizing a secure lock of the smart door lock, see ¶ 0084).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cartwright and Park with Lv to teach wherein the door (22) further includes a latch mechanism (28) for retaining the door (22) in a closed and unlocked condition and releasable by rotation of a handle (30) to allow the unlocked door to be opened. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the user may operate the door from outside to perform the door opening action and/or the door closing action (see ¶ 0072).
Claim(s) 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0272059 to Cartwright in view of Korean Patent Publication 20070042362 to Park (relied upon English Translation) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2010/0263031 to Tsuchiya.
As to Claim 5, Cartwright and Park depending on Claim 1, Cartwright, Park do not expressly disclose wherein the lock mechanism (26) includes a palm positioner (106) for controlling the angle of pitch and skew, as well as the rotational angle of the palm while being imaged. Tsuchiya teaches wherein the lock mechanism (26) includes a palm positioner (106) for controlling the angle of pitch and skew, as well as the rotational angle of the palm while being imaged (The sensor section 102 is provided horizontally with respect to the authentication portion 108, which is a palm in this example. Generally, the sensor section 102 is provided horizontally and upwardly with respect to ground. A user spreads his/her palm horizontally with respect to the sensor section 102 to enter the physical information. The sensor section 102 is a vein sensor that captures the veins of the palm, see ¶ 0144; The support section 104 is provided to support the arm or wrist when the user enters the physical information by horizontally spreading the palm with respect to the sensor section 102. The support section 104 [palm positioner] extends out perpendicularly with respect to the sensor section 102, see ¶ 0145).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cartwright and Park with Tsuchiya to teach wherein the lock mechanism (26) includes a palm positioner (106) for controlling the angle of pitch and skew, as well as the rotational angle of the palm while being imaged. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the user to spread his/her palm horizontally with respect to the sensor section to enter the physical information (see ¶ 0144).
As to Claim 6, Cartwright, Park and Tsuchiya depending on Claim 5, Tsuchiya teaches wherein the palm positioner (106) includes palm positioning posts (108) that cooperate with the user’s hand to position the palm (120) in a predetermined position (The sensor section 102 is provided horizontally with respect to the authentication portion 108, which is a palm in this example. Generally, the sensor section 102 is provided horizontally and upwardly with respect to ground. A user spreads his/her palm horizontally with respect to the sensor section 102 to enter the physical information. The sensor section 102 is a vein sensor that captures the veins of the palm, see ¶ 0144; The support section 104 is provided to support the arm or wrist when the user enters the physical information by horizontally spreading the palm with respect to the sensor section 102 [position palm in a predetermined position]. The support section 104 [palm positioner] extends out perpendicularly with respect to the sensor section 102, see ¶ 0145).
Claim(s) 8, 10, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0272059 to Cartwright in view of Korean Patent Publication 20070042362 to Park (relied upon English Translation) in further view of U.S. Patent 9,761,105 to Shen.
As to Claim 8, Cartwright and Park depending on Claim 1, Cartwright and Park fail to disclose wherein the imaging module (128) is mounted remote from the lock mechanism (26), the identification module electrically communicating with the lock mechanism to provide user identification to the lock mechanism for remote operation of the lock mechanism. Shen teaches wherein the imaging module (128) is mounted remote from the lock mechanism (26), the identification module electrically communicating with the lock mechanism to provide user identification to the lock mechanism for remote operation of the lock mechanism (When the control device is set to be in the open state, the image pick-up device is activated by the control module. When the control device is set to be in the locked state and when the vibration detecting unit detects vibrations of the door or the control device, the image pick-up device is activated by the control module to pick up an image of the outside of the door, the image of the outside of the door is sent to the manager mobile device…The manager mobile device further includes a manager image input device electrically connected to the manager processor and configured to receive an image of the manager, see Col. 2, lines 3-10, 27-30; In still another case that identification information input device 73 is a finger vein recognition device, the holder of manager mobile device 54 will be requested to use the finger vein recognition device to pick up the finger vein image of the holder of manager mobile device 54, and the characteristics of the finger vein image of the holder of manager mobile device 54 are encoded to be used as the manager comparison identification information, see Col. 5, lines 60-67; With cooperation of identification information input device 73 [identification module], the user is permitted to switch control device 20 from the locked state to the open state through remote operation even if the manager is far away from door 12, see Col. 9, lines 40-44).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cartwright and Park with Shen to teach wherein the imaging module (128) is mounted remote from the lock mechanism (26), the identification module electrically communicating with the lock mechanism to provide user identification to the lock mechanism for remote operation of the lock mechanism. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to switch control device from the locked state to the open state through remote operation (see Col. 9, lines 42-43).
As to Claim 10, Cartwright, Park and Shen depending on Claim 8, Cartwright teaches wherein the imaging module (128) communicates with the lock mechanism (26) via radio signals (the access control system 100 may comprise at least one access control console 102 as illustrated in FIG. 1. The at least one console 102 [lock mechanism] may comprise a user interaction means [imaging module] and/or means to read/input the credential, e.g. a fingerprint reader, retina recognition or low power wireless communication protocols, e.g. Bluetooth®, Zigbee® etc, see ¶ 0042).
As to Claim 17, Cartwright, Park and Shen depending on Claim 8, Cartwright teaches wherein the door lock controller (100) is constructed and arranged to electrically communicate with more than one locking mechanism (26) (a single locker bank 10. Each storage space 2 comprises at least one compartment 12…Typically, the storage spaces 2 are lockers, i.e. each having a respective lockable door 11, see ¶ 0024).
As to Claim 18, Cartwright, Park and Shen depending on Claim 8, Cartwright teaches wherein the door lock controller (100) is constructed and arranged to store biometric information from more than one user, and wherein the lock controller (100) is constructed and arranged to electrically communicate with more than one locking mechanism (26), wherein the lock controller may cause a different locking mechanism(s) to operate based upon the user (The biometric input may include, but is not limited to, at least one of a fingerprint, face recognition, hand geometry, iris recognition, retina, palm veins, DNA, palm print, and odor/scent. Geolocation can be used to determine that a credential is in a given place (e.g. in the vicinity of a bank of storage spaces) and can therefore be used to verify a credential, such that, upon user arrival at the collection site, the access control system 100 grants access to the subset of lockable storage spaces 2…the access control system 100 [identification module] may rely on the user's device to authenticate the biometric data during user registration. The user's device may be a personal computer or a personal communication device…The at least one console 102 [lock mechanism] may comprise a user interaction means and/or means [imaging module] to read/input the credential, e.g. a fingerprint reader, retina recognition or low power wireless communication protocols, e.g. Bluetooth®, Zigbee® etc, see ¶ 0042; The communication between the access control system 100 to the user's personal communications device 230 may be wireless means such as email, Bluetooth®, WiFi, Zigbee, induction wireless, ultra Wideband (UWB), infrared wireless, near-field communication (NFC) and/or radio-frequency identification (RFID) etc. The user 50 may present a credential via their personal communications device 230, and if it matches the identity of a user 50 stored in the database that was allocated a subset of a plurality of lockable storage spaces 2, may be granted access to their respective subset of lockable storage spaces 2. Therefore, a user 50 can be granted access to their respective subset of a plurality of lockable storage spaces 2, see ¶ 0047; The distribution network comprises a server 200. The server 200 may be located in or proximate to the storage installation 1, or may be remote from the storage installation 1. An application may be stored in the server 200, and this application may communicate with a mobile app on the user's personal communications device 230, see ¶ 0048; Access by the access control system 100 to each lockable storage space 2, or a subset of lockable storage spaces 2 allocated to a user 50, is governed by electronically locking/closing and unlocking/opening the storage space 2, upon verification of user identity based on a credential of said user 50, see ¶ 0062).
Claim(s) 9, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0272059 to Cartwright in view of Korean Patent Publication 20070042362 to Park (relied upon English Translation) in further view of U.S. Patent 9,761,105 to Shen and in further view of Korean Patent Publication 2021/0019215 to Wook (relied upon English Translation).
As to Claim 9, Cartwright, Park and Shen depending on Claim 8, Cartwright, Park and Shen do not expressly disclose wherein the palm positioner (106) is constructed to include a data port (118) that is suitably constructed to cooperate with a cord (122) for connection to the lock mechanism (26) to provide operational control of the lock actuator (14). Goldstein teaches wherein the palm positioner (106) is constructed to include a data port (118) that is suitably constructed to cooperate with a cord (122) for connection to the lock mechanism (26) to provide operational control of the lock actuator (14) (the above communication unit may include one or more modules (communication circuits) that enable communication between the smart door (200) and a wireless communication system, between the smart door (200) and a terminal, between the smart door (200) and a home server, and between the smart door (200) and an external server through a wired or wireless connection, see ¶ 0053; Meanwhile, when the smart door (200) is connected to an external device by wire, the communication unit may include an interface unit that acts as a passageway with the external device, see ¶ 0067; the interface portion may include at least one of a data port, see ¶ 0068; door lock (250) is a mechanical device mounted on a smart door (200) and is a device that can lock or unlock the smart door (200) with an operating mechanism driven by electrical energy…door lock (250) may include an actuator, which is a mechanical driving source, see ¶ 0110).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cartwright, Park and Shen with Wook to teach wherein the palm positioner (106) is constructed to include a data port (118) that is suitably constructed to cooperate with a cord (122) for connection to the lock mechanism (26) to provide operational control of the lock actuator (14). The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the communication unit may include an interface unit that acts as a passageway with the external device (see ¶ 0067).
As to Claim 11, Cartwright, Park and Shen depending on Claim 10, Cartwright, Park and Shen do not expressly disclose wherein the palm positioner (106) is constructed to include a data port (118) that is suitably constructed to cooperate with a dongle (34) for radio connection to the lock mechanism (26) to provide operational control of the lock actuator (14). Wook teaches wherein the palm positioner (106) is constructed to include a data port (118) that is suitably constructed to cooperate with a dongle (34) for radio connection to the lock mechanism (26) to provide operational control of the lock actuator (14) (the above communication unit may include one or more modules (communication circuits) that enable communication between the smart door (200) and a wireless communication system, between the smart door (200) and a terminal, between the smart door (200) and a home server, and between the smart door (200) and an external server through a wired or wireless connection, see ¶ 0053; Meanwhile, when the smart door (200) is connected to an external device by wire, the communication unit may include an interface unit that acts as a passageway with the external device, see ¶ 0067; the interface portion [dongle] may include at least one of a data port, see ¶ 0068; door lock (250) is a mechanical device mounted on a smart door (200) and is a device that can lock or unlock the smart door (200) with an operating mechanism driven by electrical energy…door lock (250) may include an actuator, which is a mechanical driving source, see ¶ 0110).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cartwright, Park and Shen with Wook to teach wherein the palm positioner (106) is constructed to include a data port (118) that is suitably constructed to cooperate with a dongle (34) for radio connection to the lock mechanism (26) to provide operational control of the lock actuator (14). The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the communication unit may include an interface unit that acts as a passageway with the external device (see ¶ 0067).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0272059 to Cartwright in view of Korean Patent Publication 20070042362 to Park (relied upon English Translation) in further view of U.S. Patent 11,080,978 to Goldstein and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0167159 to Dremin.
As to Claim 14, Cartwright, Park and Goldstein depending on Claim 12, Cartwright, Park and Goldstein do not expressly disclose wherein the infrared or near infrared light having a wavelength from 750 nanometers to 950 nanometers is provided by directing light having a visible spectrum through an optical filter (51) configured for near infrared light transmission, wherein the infrared or near infrared light passes through the optical filter (51). Dremin teaches wherein the infrared or near infrared light having a wavelength from 750 nanometers to 950 nanometers is provided by directing light having a visible spectrum through an optical filter (51) configured for near infrared light transmission, wherein the infrared or near infrared light passes through the optical filter (51) (A palm vein imaging device that includes a housing, a light sensitive element and an optical imaging system, light emitting elements and the control system, wherein the palm vein imaging device contains an infrared transmission filter and a scattering filter installed above the light emitting elements and the light emitting elements are infrared light-emitting diodes emitting light of wavelength of 850 nm and 940 nm, see Abstract; the infrared light-emitting diodes 3, 4, a ring-shaped scattering filter 5 is mounted to allow for even lighting of a palm by light-emitting diodes, see ¶ 0050).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cartwright, Park and Goldstein with Dremin to teach wherein the infrared or near infrared light having a wavelength from 750 nanometers to 950 nanometers is provided by directing light having a visible spectrum through an optical filter (51) configured for near infrared light transmission, wherein the infrared or near infrared light passes through the optical filter (51). The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to increase quality of the obtained image of palm vein vascular pattern (see Abstract).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0272059 to Cartwright in view of Korean Patent Publication 20070042362 to Park (relied upon English Translation) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2010/0263031 to Tsuchiya and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0126815 to Morel et al (“Morel”).
As to Claim 15, Cartwright, Park and Tsuchiya depending on Claim 5, Cartwright, Park and Tsuchiya do not expressly disclose wherein the palm positioner (106) includes a proximity switch (134) positioned to sense the position of the user’s hand for initiating the imaging module (128) wherein the user need not contact the imaging module (128) to operate the lock mechanism (26). Lv teaches wherein the palm positioner (106) includes a proximity switch (134) positioned to sense the position of the user’s hand for initiating the imaging module (128) wherein the user need not contact the imaging module (128) to operate the lock mechanism (26) (motor vehicle includes a sensor for sensing the presence of a hand of an occupant of the vehicle close to or in contact with an interior control element for opening the door, a fourth parameter representative of the imminent opening of a door of the vehicle being formed by the presence of a hand close to or in contact with the interior opening control element, an associated condition to be fulfilled in the first step being the presence of a hand close to the interior opening control element being detected; the presence sensor is formed by at least one camera; the presence sensor is formed by at least one infrared sensor arranged close to the interior opening control element [lock mechanism], see ¶ 0013-0015; a sensor for sensing the presence of a hand of an occupant of the vehicle close to or in contact with an interior control element for opening a door [user need not contact the imaging module to operate the lock mechanism], see ¶ 0023; a hand is detected close to or in contact with an interior control element for opening the door 50 of the vehicle 20. This parameter is detected by at least one presence sensor 48A arranged in the vehicle 20, see ¶ 0121; The proximity sensor 48A is for example formed by at least one camera arranged inside the vehicle 20, for example on the ceiling at the central rear-view mirror. This camera 48A makes it possible to detect the presence of a mobile element, in particular the hand of an occupant, close to the interior handle 51 of each of the two front doors 50A, 50B, for example using image analysis means, see ¶ 0125. Examiner construes the presence sensor having a proximity switch and a camera).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cartwright, Park and Tsuchiya with Morel to teach wherein the palm positioner (106) includes a proximity switch (134) positioned to sense the position of the user’s hand for initiating the imaging module (128) wherein the user need not contact the imaging module (128) to operate the lock mechanism (26). The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for a hand to be detected close to an interior control element (see ¶ 0121).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0272059 to Cartwright in view of Korean Patent Publication 20070042362 to Park (relied upon English Translation) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0303649 to Hama et al (“Hama”).
As to Claim 16, Cartwright and Park depending on Claim 13, Park teaches wherein the door lock controller (100) determines if pre-set threshold values are met to determine if there is a match to a stored identification image to operate the locking mechanism when a match is found (a vein recognition unit [imaging module] that is provided inside the door lock handle and recognizes the palm vein of a person holding the door lock handle, and a control unit having an algorithm that opens the door lock when the palm vein information stored in the storage unit and the palm vein recognized by the vein recognition unit match each other [determine if pre-set threshold values are met to determine if there is a match to a stored identification image to operate the locking mechanism], and does not open the door lock when they do not match each other, see pg. 3, lines 136-144; The vein information recognized through the above vein recognition unit (14) [imaging module] is transmitted to the control unit (15) through the internal cable (17) and used for door lock (16) opening authentication. That is, if the vein information transmitted to the control unit (15) matches the previously registered vein information, the door lock (16) is opened to allow the door (10) to be opened, and if the vein information transmitted is not registered, an action such as generating a warning sound or transmitting a theft warning signal is performed, see pg. 4, lines 178-179; pg. 5, lines 234-238).
Cartwright and Park do not expressly disclose wherein the door look controller (100) processes the identification image data to adjust for position, skew, pitch and rotational angles.
Hama teaches wherein the door look controller (100) processes the identification image data to adjust for position skew, pitch and rotational angles (The registration unit 181 extracts a feature from the biometric image. The registration unit 181 may correct the biometric image based on the rotation angle obtained from the rotation-angle estimation unit 161 and may extract the feature from the corrected biometric image. An example of the feature is vein data (vein pattern) indicating the shape (pattern) of the palm veins. The registration unit 181 registers the positions of the fingers on the touch panel 121, the feature, and the rotation angle obtained from the rotation- angle estimation unit 161 when the biometric image is captured in registration database (DB) in the storage 201 in association with one another, see ¶ 0046).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cartwright and Park with Hama to teach wherein door lock controller (100) processes the identification image data to adjust for position skew, pitch and rotational angles for feature extraction. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to correct for the different between the angle of the palm registered in the registration data and the angle of the palm at the authentication (see ¶ 0013).
Conclusion
/EBONI N GILES/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622