DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application claims foreign priority to CN202411978725.8 filed 30 December 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8 December 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Determining whether claims are statutory under 35 U.S.C. 101 involves a two-step analysis. Step 1 requires a determination of whether the claims are directed to the statutory categories of invention. Step 2 requires a determination of whether the claims are directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. Step 2 is divided into two prongs, with the first prong having a part 1 and part 2. See MPEP 2106.
Claim 1 recites a method for optimizing large language model conversation, the method comprising: in response to entering a current conversation turn, acquiring configuration information corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a type of the current conversation turn, wherein the configuration information comprises response strategy configuration information and conversation turn switching strategy configuration information; acquiring user input information corresponding to the current conversation turn; determining whether the current conversation turn needs to be switched based on a conversation turn switching determination strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information; in response to determining that the current conversation turn needs to be switched, determining a next conversation turn corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a conversation turn switching strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information, and entering the next conversation turn; in response to determining that the current conversation turn does not need to be switched, generating a response task based on a response prompt corresponding to the response strategy configuration information and the user input information, and performing the response task calling a large language model to generate a response message; and
outputting the response message in the current conversation turn.
Pursuant to Step 2A, part 1, claims are analyzed to determine whether they are directed to an abstract idea. Pursuant to MPEP 2106, claims are deemed to be directed to an abstract idea if, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, they fall within one of the enumerated categories of (a) mathematical concepts, (b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and (c) mental processes. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the terms of the claim are presumed to have their plain meaning consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2111.
The limitations of determining whether the current conversation turn needs to be switched based on a conversation turn switching determination strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information; in response to determining that the current conversation turn needs to be switched, determining a next conversation turn corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a conversation turn switching strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information, and entering the next conversation turn; in response to determining that the current conversation turn does not need to be switched, generating a response task based on a response prompt corresponding to the response strategy configuration information and the user input information, and performing the response task to generate a response message, as drafted, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) except for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, these limitations depict two people having a conversation and the thought process that goes into having a conversation. If limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of the limitation in the mind except for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Pursuant to Step 2A, part 2, claims are analyzed to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d). One way to determine integration into a practical application is when the claimed invention improves the functioning of a computer or improves another technology or technical field. To evaluate an improvement to a computer or technical field, the specification must set forth an improvement in technology and the claim itself must reflect the disclosed improvement. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(1).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites the additional elements of calling a large language model. The elements are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., a generic computer component performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim also recites the additional elements of in response to entering a current conversation turn, acquiring configuration information corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a type of the current conversation turn, wherein the configuration information comprises response strategy configuration information and conversation turn switching strategy configuration information; acquiring user input information corresponding to the current conversation turn; and outputting the response message in the current conversation turn. These elements are adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) since the elements are gathering and outputting data. The term "extra-solution activity" can be understood as activities incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim. Extra-solution activity includes both pre-solution and post-solution activity. An example of pre-solution activity is a step of gathering data for use in a claimed process, e.g., a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions, which is recited as part of a claimed process of analyzing and manipulating the gathered information by a series of steps in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent. An example of post-solution activity is an element that is not integrated into the claim as a whole, e.g., a printer that is used to output a report of fraudulent transactions, which is recited in a claim to a computer programmed to analyze and manipulate information about credit card transactions in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent. MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Pursuant to Step 2B, claims are analyzed to determine whether the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the recited exception i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim recites the additional elements of calling a large language model. The elements are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., a generic computer component performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim also recites the additional elements of in response to entering a current conversation turn, acquiring configuration information corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a type of the current conversation turn, wherein the configuration information comprises response strategy configuration information and conversation turn switching strategy configuration information; acquiring user input information corresponding to the current conversation turn; and outputting the response message in the current conversation turn. These elements are adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) since the elements are gathering and outputting data. The term "extra-solution activity" can be understood as activities incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim. Extra-solution activity includes both pre-solution and post-solution activity. An example of pre-solution activity is a step of gathering data for use in a claimed process, e.g., a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions, which is recited as part of a claimed process of analyzing and manipulating the gathered information by a series of steps in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent. An example of post-solution activity is an element that is not integrated into the claim as a whole, e.g., a printer that is used to output a report of fraudulent transactions, which is recited in a claim to a computer programmed to analyze and manipulate information about credit card transactions in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent. MPEP 2106.05(g). At Step 2B, the evaluation of the insignificant extra-solution activity consideration takes into account whether or not the extra-solution activity is well understood, routine, and conventional in the field. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The limitation is directed to IESA of gathering and outputting data, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, performing repetitive calculations, electronic recordkeeping, storing and retrieving information in memory, electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, a web browser’s back and forward button functionality, recording a customer’s order, shuffling and dealing a standard deck of cards, restricting public access to media by requiring a consumer to view an advertisement, presenting offers and gathering statistics, determining an estimated outcome and setting a price, arranging a hierarchy of groups, sorting information, eliminating less restrictive pricing information and determining the price, which is well understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II and the Berkheimer Memo. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, which do not provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 7 recites an apparatus for optimizing large language model conversation, the apparatus comprising: an acquirer, configured to, in response to entering a current conversation turn, acquire configuration information corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a type of the current conversation turn, wherein the configuration information comprises response strategy configuration information and conversation turn switching strategy configuration information; wherein the acquirer is further configured to acquire user input information corresponding to the current conversation turn; a determiner, configured to determine whether the current conversation turn needs to be switched based on a conversation turn switching determination strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information; a switcher, configured to, in response to determining that the current conversation turn needs to be switched, determine a next conversation turn corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a conversation turn switching strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information, and enter the next conversation turn; a caller, configured to, in response to determining that the current conversation turn does not need to be switched, generate a response task based on a response prompt corresponding to the response strategy configuration information and the user input information, and perform the response task calling a large language model to generate a response message; and an outputter, configured to output the response message in the current conversation turn.
Pursuant to Step 2A, part 1, claims are analyzed to determine whether they are directed to an abstract idea. Pursuant to MPEP 2106, claims are deemed to be directed to an abstract idea if, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, they fall within one of the enumerated categories of (a) mathematical concepts, (b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and (c) mental processes. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the terms of the claim are presumed to have their plain meaning consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2111.
The limitations of determining whether the current conversation turn needs to be switched based on a conversation turn switching determination strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information; in response to determining that the current conversation turn needs to be switched, determining a next conversation turn corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a conversation turn switching strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information, and entering the next conversation turn; in response to determining that the current conversation turn does not need to be switched, generating a response task based on a response prompt corresponding to the response strategy configuration information and the user input information, and performing the response task to generate a response message, as drafted, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) except for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, these limitations depict two people having a conversation and the thought process that goes into having a conversation. If limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of the limitation in the mind except for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Pursuant to Step 2A, part 2, claims are analyzed to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d). One way to determine integration into a practical application is when the claimed invention improves the functioning of a computer or improves another technology or technical field. To evaluate an improvement to a computer or technical field, the specification must set forth an improvement in technology and the claim itself must reflect the disclosed improvement. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(1).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites the additional elements of calling a large language model, an acquirer, a determiner, a switcher, a caller and an outputter. The elements are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., a generic computer component performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim also recites the additional elements of in response to entering a current conversation turn, acquiring configuration information corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a type of the current conversation turn, wherein the configuration information comprises response strategy configuration information and conversation turn switching strategy configuration information; acquiring user input information corresponding to the current conversation turn; and outputting the response message in the current conversation turn. These elements are adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) since the elements are gathering and outputting data. The term "extra-solution activity" can be understood as activities incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim. Extra-solution activity includes both pre-solution and post-solution activity. An example of pre-solution activity is a step of gathering data for use in a claimed process, e.g., a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions, which is recited as part of a claimed process of analyzing and manipulating the gathered information by a series of steps in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent. An example of post-solution activity is an element that is not integrated into the claim as a whole, e.g., a printer that is used to output a report of fraudulent transactions, which is recited in a claim to a computer programmed to analyze and manipulate information about credit card transactions in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent. MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Pursuant to Step 2B, claims are analyzed to determine whether the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the recited exception i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim recites the additional elements of calling a large language model, an acquirer, a determiner, a switcher, a caller and an outputter. The elements are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., a generic computer component performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim also recites the additional elements of in response to entering a current conversation turn, acquiring configuration information corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a type of the current conversation turn, wherein the configuration information comprises response strategy configuration information and conversation turn switching strategy configuration information; acquiring user input information corresponding to the current conversation turn; and outputting the response message in the current conversation turn. These elements are adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) since the elements are gathering and outputting data. The term "extra-solution activity" can be understood as activities incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim. Extra-solution activity includes both pre-solution and post-solution activity. An example of pre-solution activity is a step of gathering data for use in a claimed process, e.g., a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions, which is recited as part of a claimed process of analyzing and manipulating the gathered information by a series of steps in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent. An example of post-solution activity is an element that is not integrated into the claim as a whole, e.g., a printer that is used to output a report of fraudulent transactions, which is recited in a claim to a computer programmed to analyze and manipulate information about credit card transactions in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent. MPEP 2106.05(g). At Step 2B, the evaluation of the insignificant extra-solution activity consideration takes into account whether or not the extra-solution activity is well understood, routine, and conventional in the field. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The limitation is directed to IESA of gathering and outputting data, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, performing repetitive calculations, electronic recordkeeping, storing and retrieving information in memory, electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, a web browser’s back and forward button functionality, recording a customer’s order, shuffling and dealing a standard deck of cards, restricting public access to media by requiring a consumer to view an advertisement, presenting offers and gathering statistics, determining an estimated outcome and setting a price, arranging a hierarchy of groups, sorting information, eliminating less restrictive pricing information and determining the price, which is well understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II and the Berkheimer Memo. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, which do not provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 8 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, on which computer program instructions are stored, wherein the computer program instructions, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform acts comprising: in response to entering a current conversation turn, acquiring configuration information corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a type of the current conversation turn, wherein the configuration information comprises response strategy configuration information and conversation turn switching strategy configuration information; acquiring user input information corresponding to the current conversation turn; determining whether the current conversation turn needs to be switched based on a conversation turn switching determination strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information; in response to determining that the current conversation turn needs to be switched, determining a next conversation turn corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a conversation turn switching strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information, and entering the next conversation turn; in response to determining that the current conversation turn does not need to be switched, generating a response task based on a response prompt corresponding to the response strategy configuration information and the user input information, and performing the response task calling a large language model to generate a response message; and outputting the response message in the current conversation turn.
Pursuant to Step 2A, part 1, claims are analyzed to determine whether they are directed to an abstract idea. Pursuant to MPEP 2106, claims are deemed to be directed to an abstract idea if, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, they fall within one of the enumerated categories of (a) mathematical concepts, (b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and (c) mental processes. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the terms of the claim are presumed to have their plain meaning consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2111.
The limitations of determining whether the current conversation turn needs to be switched based on a conversation turn switching determination strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information; in response to determining that the current conversation turn needs to be switched, determining a next conversation turn corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a conversation turn switching strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information, and entering the next conversation turn; in response to determining that the current conversation turn does not need to be switched, generating a response task based on a response prompt corresponding to the response strategy configuration information and the user input information, and performing the response task to generate a response message, as drafted, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) except for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, these limitations depict two people having a conversation and the thought process that goes into having a conversation. If limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of the limitation in the mind except for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Pursuant to Step 2A, part 2, claims are analyzed to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d). One way to determine integration into a practical application is when the claimed invention improves the functioning of a computer or improves another technology or technical field. To evaluate an improvement to a computer or technical field, the specification must set forth an improvement in technology and the claim itself must reflect the disclosed improvement. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(1).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites the additional elements of calling a large language model, a storage medium, processor and instructions. The elements are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., a generic computer component performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim also recites the additional elements of in response to entering a current conversation turn, acquiring configuration information corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a type of the current conversation turn, wherein the configuration information comprises response strategy configuration information and conversation turn switching strategy configuration information; acquiring user input information corresponding to the current conversation turn; and outputting the response message in the current conversation turn. These elements are adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) since the elements are gathering and outputting data. The term "extra-solution activity" can be understood as activities incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim. Extra-solution activity includes both pre-solution and post-solution activity. An example of pre-solution activity is a step of gathering data for use in a claimed process, e.g., a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions, which is recited as part of a claimed process of analyzing and manipulating the gathered information by a series of steps in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent. An example of post-solution activity is an element that is not integrated into the claim as a whole, e.g., a printer that is used to output a report of fraudulent transactions, which is recited in a claim to a computer programmed to analyze and manipulate information about credit card transactions in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent. MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Pursuant to Step 2B, claims are analyzed to determine whether the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the recited exception i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim recites the additional elements of calling a large language model, a storage medium, processor and instructions. The elements are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., a generic computer component performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim also recites the additional elements of in response to entering a current conversation turn, acquiring configuration information corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a type of the current conversation turn, wherein the configuration information comprises response strategy configuration information and conversation turn switching strategy configuration information; acquiring user input information corresponding to the current conversation turn; and outputting the response message in the current conversation turn. These elements are adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) since the elements are gathering and outputting data. The term "extra-solution activity" can be understood as activities incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim. Extra-solution activity includes both pre-solution and post-solution activity. An example of pre-solution activity is a step of gathering data for use in a claimed process, e.g., a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions, which is recited as part of a claimed process of analyzing and manipulating the gathered information by a series of steps in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent. An example of post-solution activity is an element that is not integrated into the claim as a whole, e.g., a printer that is used to output a report of fraudulent transactions, which is recited in a claim to a computer programmed to analyze and manipulate information about credit card transactions in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent. MPEP 2106.05(g). At Step 2B, the evaluation of the insignificant extra-solution activity consideration takes into account whether or not the extra-solution activity is well understood, routine, and conventional in the field. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The limitation is directed to IESA of gathering and outputting data, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, performing repetitive calculations, electronic recordkeeping, storing and retrieving information in memory, electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, a web browser’s back and forward button functionality, recording a customer’s order, shuffling and dealing a standard deck of cards, restricting public access to media by requiring a consumer to view an advertisement, presenting offers and gathering statistics, determining an estimated outcome and setting a price, arranging a hierarchy of groups, sorting information, eliminating less restrictive pricing information and determining the price, which is well understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II and the Berkheimer Memo. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, which do not provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 2-6 are directed to the abstract idea of “Mental Processes.” Each claim fails to provide any additional elements. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no additional elements to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no additional elements. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PGPub 2024/0311575 to Baeuml et al (hereafter Baeuml).
Referring to claim 1, Baeuml discloses a method for optimizing large language model conversation, the method comprising:
in response to entering a current conversation turn, acquiring configuration information corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a type of the current conversation turn, wherein the configuration information comprises response strategy configuration information and conversation turn switching strategy configuration information (see Fig 3; [0028]; [0046]; [0051]; [0052]);
acquiring user input [NL based input] information corresponding to the current conversation turn (see Fig 3, step 358; [0054] – Receive subsequent NL based input associated with the client device, the subsequent NL based input being received during a given subsequent turn of the ongoing dialog.);
determining whether the current conversation turn needs to be switched based on a conversation turn switching determination strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information (see Fig 3, step 360; [0055] – At block 360, the system determines whether to modify a corresponding dialog context for the ongoing dialog. Further, the system can determine an assurance score for the given subsequent turn of the ongoing dialog and based on the content that is included in the corresponding dialog context. Moreover, the system can determine to modify the corresponding dialog context for the subsequent turn of the ongoing dialog in response to determining that the assurance score satisfies an assurance score threshold or fails to satisfy the assurance score threshold. Whether the system determines to modify the corresponding dialog context for the subsequent turn of the ongoing dialog in response to determining that the assurance score satisfies an assurance score threshold or fails to satisfy the assurance score threshold can be based on how the assurance score and the assurance score threshold is configured.);
in response to determining that the current conversation turn needs to be switched [If, at an iteration of block 360, the system determines to modify the corresponding dialog context for the ongoing dialog, the system proceeds to block 362], determining a next conversation turn corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a conversation turn switching strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information, and entering the next conversation turn (see Fig 3, step 362; [0045]; [0046]; [0064] – At block 362, the system modifies a corresponding dialog context for the given subsequent turn of the ongoing dialog to generate a corresponding modified dialog context for the given subsequent turn of the ongoing dialog);
in response to determining that the current conversation turn does not need to be switched [If, at an iteration of block 360, the system determines not to modify the corresponding dialog context for the ongoing dialog, then the system proceeds to block 368.], generating a response task based on a response prompt corresponding to the response strategy configuration information and the user input information, and performing the response task calling a large language model [LLM] to generate a response message [NL based output] (see Fig 3, step 368; [0051]; [0052]; [0060] – At block 368, the system generates, based on processing the subsequent NL based input and the corresponding dialog context for the given subsequent turn of the ongoing dialog using the LLM, subsequent NL based output that is responsive to the subsequent NL based input.); and
outputting the response message [subsequent NL based output] in the current conversation turn (see Fig 3, steps 366 and 370; [0058]; [0059]; [0061] – Cause the subsequent NL based output to be rendered at the client device.).
Referring to claim 2, Baeuml discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the generating a response task based on a response prompt corresponding to the response strategy configuration information and the user input information, and performing the response task calling a large language model to generate a response message, comprises: determining whether the user input information satisfies a summarization strategy trigger condition corresponding to the response strategy configuration information; in response to determining that the user input information satisfies the summarization strategy trigger condition corresponding to the response strategy configuration information, generating a summarization conversation task based on the user input information, a conversation context of the user input information in the current conversation turn, and a summarization conversation prompt corresponding to the response strategy configuration information, and performing the summarization conversation task through the large language model to generate a summarization response message (see [0051]-[0053]).
Referring to claim 6, Baeuml discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the in response to determining that the current conversation turn needs to be switched, determining a next conversation turn corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a conversation turn switching strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information, and entering the next conversation turn, comprises: determining a prompt corresponding to the next conversation turn according to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information (see Fig 4, item 458); and proceeding with the next conversation turn according to the prompt corresponding to the next conversation turn (see Fig 4, item 460).
Referring to claim 7, Baeuml discloses an apparatus for optimizing large language model conversation, the apparatus comprising:
an acquirer, configured to, in response to entering a current conversation turn, acquire configuration information corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a type of the current conversation turn, wherein the configuration information comprises response strategy configuration information and conversation turn switching strategy configuration information (see Fig 3; [0028]; [0046]; [0051]; [0052]);
wherein the acquirer is further configured to acquire user input [NL based input] information corresponding to the current conversation turn (see Fig 3, step 358; [0054] – Receive subsequent NL based input associated with the client device, the subsequent NL based input being received during a given subsequent turn of the ongoing dialog.) (see Fig 3; [0028]; [0046]; [0051]; [0052]);
a determiner, configured to determine whether the current conversation turn needs to be switched based on a conversation turn switching determination strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information (see Fig 3, step 360; [0055] – At block 360, the system determines whether to modify a corresponding dialog context for the ongoing dialog. Further, the system can determine an assurance score for the given subsequent turn of the ongoing dialog and based on the content that is included in the corresponding dialog context. Moreover, the system can determine to modify the corresponding dialog context for the subsequent turn of the ongoing dialog in response to determining that the assurance score satisfies an assurance score threshold or fails to satisfy the assurance score threshold. Whether the system determines to modify the corresponding dialog context for the subsequent turn of the ongoing dialog in response to determining that the assurance score satisfies an assurance score threshold or fails to satisfy the assurance score threshold can be based on how the assurance score and the assurance score threshold is configured.);
a switcher, configured to, in response to determining that the current conversation turn needs to be switched [If, at an iteration of block 360, the system determines to modify the corresponding dialog context for the ongoing dialog, the system proceeds to block 362], determine a next conversation turn corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a conversation turn switching strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information, and enter the next conversation turn (see Fig 3, step 362; [0045]; [0046]; [0064] – At block 362, the system modifies a corresponding dialog context for the given subsequent turn of the ongoing dialog to generate a corresponding modified dialog context for the given subsequent turn of the ongoing dialog);
a caller, configured to, in response to determining that the current conversation turn does not need to be switched [If, at an iteration of block 360, the system determines not to modify the corresponding dialog context for the ongoing dialog, then the system proceeds to block 368.], generating a response task based on a response prompt corresponding to the response strategy configuration information and the user input information, and performing the response task calling a large language model [LLM] to generate a response message [NL based output] (see Fig 3, step 368; [0051]; [0052]; [0060] – At block 368, the system generates, based on processing the subsequent NL based input and the corresponding dialog context for the given subsequent turn of the ongoing dialog using the LLM, subsequent NL based output that is responsive to the subsequent NL based input.); and
an outputter, configured to output the response message [subsequent NL based output] in the current conversation turn (see Fig 3, steps 366 and 370; [0058]; [0059]; [0061] – Cause the subsequent NL based output to be rendered at the client device.).
Referring to claim 8, Baeuml discloses the a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, on which computer program instructions are stored, wherein the computer program instructions (see [0085]), when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform acts comprising:
in response to entering a current conversation turn, acquiring configuration information corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a type of the current conversation turn, wherein the configuration information comprises response strategy configuration information and conversation turn switching strategy configuration information (see Fig 3; [0028]; [0046]; [0051]; [0052]);
acquiring user input [NL based input] information corresponding to the current conversation turn (see Fig 3, step 358; [0054] – Receive subsequent NL based input associated with the client device, the subsequent NL based input being received during a given subsequent turn of the ongoing dialog.);
determining whether the current conversation turn needs to be switched based on a conversation turn switching determination strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information (see Fig 3, step 360; [0055] – At block 360, the system determines whether to modify a corresponding dialog context for the ongoing dialog. Further, the system can determine an assurance score for the given subsequent turn of the ongoing dialog and based on the content that is included in the corresponding dialog context. Moreover, the system can determine to modify the corresponding dialog context for the subsequent turn of the ongoing dialog in response to determining that the assurance score satisfies an assurance score threshold or fails to satisfy the assurance score threshold. Whether the system determines to modify the corresponding dialog context for the subsequent turn of the ongoing dialog in response to determining that the assurance score satisfies an assurance score threshold or fails to satisfy the assurance score threshold can be based on how the assurance score and the assurance score threshold is configured.);
in response to determining that the current conversation turn needs to be switched [If, at an iteration of block 360, the system determines to modify the corresponding dialog context for the ongoing dialog, the system proceeds to block 362], determining a next conversation turn corresponding to the current conversation turn based on a conversation turn switching strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information, and entering the next conversation turn (see Fig 3, step 362; [0045]; [0046]; [0064] – At block 362, the system modifies a corresponding dialog context for the given subsequent turn of the ongoing dialog to generate a corresponding modified dialog context for the given subsequent turn of the ongoing dialog);
in response to determining that the current conversation turn does not need to be switched [If, at an iteration of block 360, the system determines not to modify the corresponding dialog context for the ongoing dialog, then the system proceeds to block 368.], generating a response task based on a response prompt corresponding to the response strategy configuration information and the user input information, and performing the response task calling a large language model [LLM] to generate a response message [NL based output] (see Fig 3, step 368; [0051]; [0052]; [0060] – At block 368, the system generates, based on processing the subsequent NL based input and the corresponding dialog context for the given subsequent turn of the ongoing dialog using the LLM, subsequent NL based output that is responsive to the subsequent NL based input.); and
outputting the response message [subsequent NL based output] in the current conversation turn (see Fig 3, steps 366 and 370; [0058]; [0059]; [0061] – Cause the subsequent NL based output to be rendered at the client device.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPub 2024/0311575 to Baeuml et al (hereafter Baeuml) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US PGPub 2019/0104092 to Koohmarey et al (hereafter Koohmarey).
Referring to claim 3, Baeuml fails to explicitly teach the further limitation wherein the generating a response task based on a response prompt corresponding to the response strategy configuration information and the user input information, and performing the response task calling a large language model to generate a response message, further comprises: determining whether the user input information satisfies a follow-up question strategy trigger condition corresponding to the response strategy configuration information; and in response to determining that the user input information satisfies the follow-up question strategy trigger condition corresponding to the response strategy configuration information, generating an intelligent follow-up question response task based on the user input information, a conversation context of the user input information in the current conversation turn, and an intelligent follow-up question prompt corresponding to the response strategy configuration information, and performing the intelligent follow-up question response task through the large language model to generate an intelligent follow-up question response message. Koohmarey teaches dialog flow including the further limitations of wherein the generating a response task based on a response prompt corresponding to the response strategy configuration information and the user input information, and performing the response task calling a large language model to generate a response message, further comprises: determining whether the user input information satisfies a follow-up question strategy trigger condition corresponding to the response strategy configuration information; and in response to determining that the user input information satisfies the follow-up question strategy trigger condition corresponding to the response strategy configuration information, generating an intelligent follow-up question response task based on the user input information, a conversation context of the user input information in the current conversation turn, and an intelligent follow-up question prompt corresponding to the response strategy configuration information, and performing the intelligent follow-up question response task through the large language model to generate an intelligent follow-up question response message (see [0032]; [0053]; Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the concept of follow-up questions taught by Koohmarey with the conversation turns of Baeuml. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase efficiency by triggering actions on a user’s behalf (see [0032]).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPub 2024/0311575 to Baeuml et al (hereafter Baeuml) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent No 12,530,648 to Querze, III et al (hereafter Querze).
Referring to claim 4, Baeuml fails to explicitly disclose the further limitation wherein the determining whether the current conversation turn needs to be switched based on a conversation turn switching determination strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information, comprises: determining a preset number of conversation turns corresponding to the type of the current conversation turn according to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information; in response to determining that the current conversation turn is greater than or equal to a preset number of conversation turns, determining that the current conversation turn needs to be switched; and in response to determining that the current conversation turn is less than the preset number of conversation turns, determining that the current conversation turn does not need to be switched. Querze teaches dialog flow for an agent bot including a turn-by-turn reflection (see column 7, line 53 – column 8, line 14), including the further limitations of wherein the determining whether the current conversation turn needs to be switched based on a conversation turn switching determination strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information, comprises:
determining a preset number of conversation turns corresponding to the type of the current conversation turn according to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information (see column 11, line 32 – column 12, line 8; Fig 3);
in response to determining that the current conversation turn is greater than or equal to a preset number of conversation turns, determining that the current conversation turn needs to be switched (see column 11, line 32 – column 12, line 8; Fig 3); and
in response to determining that the current conversation turn is less than the preset number of conversation turns, determining that the current conversation turn does not need to be switched (see column 11, line 32 – column 12, line 8; Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a preset number of turns as taught by Querze to determine when to switch the conversation of Baeuml. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide the user with a high performance chatbot (Baeuml: see column 1, lines 17-25).
Referring to claim 5, the combination of Baeuml and Querze teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the determining whether the current conversation turn needs to be switched based on a conversation turn switching determination strategy corresponding to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information, further comprises: determining an information collection task corresponding to the type of the current conversation turn according to the conversation turn switching strategy configuration information (Querze: see column 8, line 15 – column 9, line 19; column 9, line column 11, line 32 – column 12, line 8; Fig 3); extracting target information from the conversation context in the current conversation turn according to the information collection task, and calculating an information collection completion degree (Querze: see column 8, line 15 – column 9, line 19; column 9, line column 11, line 32 – column 12, line 8; Fig 3); in response to determining that the information collection completion degree is greater than or equal to a preset completion degree, determining that the current conversation turn needs to be switched (Querze: see column 8, line 15 – column 9, line 19; column 9, line column 11, line 32 – column 12, line 8; Fig 3); and in response to determining that the information collection completion degree is less than the preset completion degree, determining that the current conversation turn does not need to be switched (Querze: see column 8, line 15 – column 9, line 19; column 9, line column 11, line 32 – column 12, line 8; Fig 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PGPub 2009/0018829 to Kuperstein which teaches speech recognition dialog management
US PGPub 2021/0157989 to Orr et al which teaches dialog management
Contact Information
/KIMBERLY L WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2165