DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 2 of the claim, “the inventor-volume” before “mostly” should be changed to “interior-volume” to correct typographical error. For the purpose of examination, “the inventor-volume” has been interpreted as “interior-volume”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hoffman et al. (US 2024/0255128 A1), using priority date of provisional application No.63/441514 filed on Jan. 27,2023.
Regarding claim 1, Hoffman et al. teaches a downsizer ring comprising:
a main-disc (138) that is in a right-cylinder shape where an outside-diameter of the main-disc (138) is larger than a height of the main-disc (see 138 in at least figure 3);
wherein the main-disc (138) comprises an interior-volume that is hollow (see middle portion of 138; figure 2), wherein the interior-volume is configured to receive an annular-disc portion of a spackle-frame (140) within the interior-volume such that when the annular-disc portion is within the interior-volume a bottom-surface of the main-disc (138; see figure 2) and a bottom surface of the annular-disc portion are at least substantially flush with each other (see figure 2); and a raised-platform (130) that extends above a top-surface of the main-disc (138);
wherein the main-disc (138) and the raised-platform (130) are attached to each other (see figure 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 2, Hoffman et al. teaches the downsizer-ring according to claim 1, wherein the main-disc (138) comprises a plurality of holes-for-fasteners that are through holes (see figure 2 where 138 comprises a plurality of holes for receiving fasteners) in the main-disc (138) that are configured to receive mechanical-fasteners (144) therein for attaching the downsizer-ring to a ceiling (see paragraph [0166]).
Regarding claim 3, Hoffman et al. teaches the downsizer-ring according to claim 2, wherein a hole-for-fastener selected from the plurality of holes-for-fasteners (144, 242) is beveled around an opening to that hole-for-fastener on the bottom-surface of the main-disc (138) such that the bottom-surface of the main-disc (138) is at least substantially flush with a surface of a head of a mechanical-fastener (144, 242) selected from the mechanical-fasteners when that mechanical-fastener is inserted into that hole-for-fastener (see figure 2, fasteners 242, 144).
Regarding claim 4, Hoffman et al. teaches the downsizer-ring according to claim 1, wherein the main-disc (138) comprises a plurality of holes that are through-holes (see holes within 138 in at least figure 2) in the main-disc (138) that are configured to receive plaster (see paragraph [0184] where plaster is disclosed) therein.
Regarding claim 5, Hoffman et al. teaches the downsizer-ring according to claim 4, wherein the main-disc (138) comprises a plurality of holes-for-fasteners (see figure 2 where 138 comprises a plurality of holes for fasteners 242); wherein each hole selected from the plurality of holes is smaller than a hole-for-fastener (242) selected from the plurality of holes-for-fasteners (242, 144).
Regarding claim 6, Hoffman et al. teaches the downsizer-ring according to claim 1, wherein the interior-volume (see middle portion of disc 138) is inset into the main- disc (138) from the bottom-surface of the main-disc (138) by a uniform and fixed depth that is less than the height of the main-disc (138).
Regarding claim 7, Hoffman et al. teaches the downsizer-ring according to claim 1, wherein the interior-volume is: open at a bottom of the interior-volume (see middle portion of 138 in figure 2); mostly enclosed at a top of the interior-volume by a bottom-surface of the raised-platform (130; see figure 1 and 2), aside from holes or slots in the raised-platform (130); and entirely enclosed around a periphery of the interior-volume by an interior-edge of the main-disc (138; see figure 1 and 2); wherein the interior-edge (see 138 in at least figure 1 and 2) is disposed between the top of the interior-volume and the bottom of the interior-volume (see figure 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 8, Hoffman et al. teaches the downsizer-ring according to claim 1, wherein from a bottom view of the downsizer-ring (see figure 2), the interior-volume has a modified-square shape wherein the modified-square shape is square shaped but with two modifications (see paragraph [0168]), namely: that corners of the modified-square shape are rounded (see figure 2); and that each side of the modified-square shape has an outwards curving region that curves towards an outside-edge of the main-disc (138).
Regarding claim 9, Hoffman et al. teaches the downsizer-ring according to claim 8, wherein the outwards curving region (see figure 2) is located in a middle of each side of the modified-square shape (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Hoffman et al. teaches the downsizer-ring according to claim 1, wherein from a top view of the downsizer-ring (see figure 1 and 2), an outer periphery of the raised-platform (130) has a square shape with rounded corners (see shape of 130 in figure 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 11, Hoffman et al. teaches the downsizer-ring according to claim 10, wherein a width of the square shape of the raised- platform (130) is less than the outside-diameter of the main-disc (138; see figure 2).
Regarding claim 12, Hoffman et al. teaches the downsizer-ring according to claim 10, wherein a width of the square shape of the raised- platform (130) is less than a width of the interior-volume of the main-disc (138).
Regarding claim 13, Hoffman et al. teaches the downsizer-ring according to claim 1, wherein the raised-platform (130) extends above the top- surface of the main-disc (140) by a height of the raised-platform (130) that is uniform and fixed.
Regarding claim 14, Hoffman et al. teaches the downsizer-ring according to claim 1, wherein the raised-platform (130) comprises a plurality of slots that are configured for receiving mechanical-fasteners (threaded holes where mounting screws 144 are positioned; paragraph [0157] and figure 2) therein for securing the raised- platform to the spackle-frame (140; figure 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 15, Hoffman et al. teaches the downsizer-ring according to claim 1, wherein the raised-platform (130) comprises a plurality of holes-for-fasteners that are configured for receiving mechanical-fasteners(threaded holes where mounting screws 144 are positioned; paragraph [0157] and figure 2) therein for securing the raised-platform to the spackle-frame (140; figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Hoffman et al. teaches the downsizer-ring according to claim 1, wherein the raised-platform (130) comprises a plurality of holes (threaded holes where mounting screws 144 are positioned; paragraph [0157] and figure 1 and 2) that are through-holes in the raised-platform that are configured to receive plaster therein.
Regarding claim 17, Hoffman et al. teaches the downsizer-ring according to claim 1, wherein the raised-platform (130) comprises a largest-hole (see figure 2 where 130 comprises a large hole) that is a through-hole in the raised-platform (130) that is configured to receive an upward-extending-collar (collar ring 138) of the spackle-frame (140) therein.
Regarding claim 18, Hoffman et al. teaches the downsizer-ring according to claim 1, wherein the main-disc (140) and the raised-platform (130; figure 2; paragraph [0157]) are integrally attached to each other such that the main-disc (140) and the raised-platform (130) are a single article of manufacture.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cohen (US 2023/0100581 A1), Simmons, JR et al. (US 2020/0149717 A1), Nguyen et al. (US 10,900,654 B1) comprises reflector and trims for downlights.
/JESSICA M APENTENG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/EVAN P DZIERZYNSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875