DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species d (Fig. 3c) in the reply filed on 6/1/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that each species is a structure and not a method and the claims are directed to a method therefore there would be no burden. This is not found persuasive because even though the claims are directed to a method is claimed using the different structure which would be a burden to the examiner since the species would require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Subspecies ii (Fig. 6b) in the reply filed on 6/1/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-7, 11, 12, 14-16, and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/1/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bright et al. (2021/0315587).
Bright discloses the following claimed limitations:
Claim 1: A method of facilitating nerve growth ([0035], [0080], and claim 1), the method comprising: positioning a scaffold (the bioresorbable/biodegradable form described in [0082] and [0326-327]) in at least a portion of a cavity (18, 68) defined by a form (10) (Fig. 1a-3b, [0082] and [0326-327]); positioning a first nerve end (24) of a first nerve at least partially onto the scaffold in the cavity (Fig. 1a-1f, abstract, and claim 1, [0082] and [0326-327] where the scaffold is the bioresorbable form described in [0082] which would already be there when the method in claim 1 is performed); introducing an in situ forming media in contact with the first nerve end and the scaffold (Fig. 1a-1f, abstract, and claim 1 where the scaffold is the bioresorbable form described in [0082] which would already be there when the method in claim 1 is performed); and permitting the in situ forming media to undergo a transformation from a first, relatively flowable state to a second, relatively non-flowable state to form a protective barrier surrounding the first nerve end (Fig. 1a-1f, abstract, and claim 1 where the scaffold is the bioresorbable form described in [0082] which would already be there when the method in claim 1 is performed).
Claim 8: wherein the scaffold has a plurality of pores ([0073]).
Claim 9: wherein the scaffold comprises a natural monofilament, polydioxanone, poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid), poliglecaprone, polyglactin, polyglycolic acid, polyglycolide fiber, polylactide fiber, collagen, alginate, chitosan, cellulose, or carboxymethylcellulose ([0082] and [0454]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bright et al. (2021/0315587) in view of Offermann et al. (2004/0266000).
Claim 10:
Bright discloses all the claimed limitations discussed above; however, Bright does not disclose that the scaffold comprises polyglycolide fiber.
Offermann discloses that resorbable material can be made from a fiber of chitosan or polyglycolide ([0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the scaffold of Bright to be made of a polyglycolide fiber in view of Offermann, since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another will yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82, USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a polyglycolide fiber, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 13:
Bright discloses all the claimed limitations discussed above; however, Bright does not disclose that the scaffold is formed of a woven material.
Offermann discloses that resorbable material can be nonwoven or woven ([0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the scaffold of Bright to be woven in view of Offermann, since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another will yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82, USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bright et al. (2021/0315587).
Bright discloses the claimed invention except for the plurality of pores of the scaffold are about 0.8 mm2 to about 1.2 mm2 in cross-sectional area.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have pores about 0.8 mm2 to about 1.2 mm2 in cross-sectional area, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/DIANNE DORNBUSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771