DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 12/8/2025. Claims 21-40 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 12/8/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 21, 26, 31, and 36 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 21 as currently presented states “…a dig operation…a dig operation…” which the Examiner recommends updating to instead state “…a dig operation…[ [ a ] ] the dig operation…” so as to avoid potential misinterpretation.
Claim 31 is objected to for similar reasons.
Claim 26 as currently presented states “…the vehicle direction of is forward…” which the Examiner recommends updating so as to overcome improper grammar.
Claim 36 is objected to for similar reasons.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “…the vehicle direction of is forward…” in claim 26 and claim 36 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “forward” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23, 25-28, 31-33, and 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US-10,860,016; hereinafter Wang; already of record from IDS) in view of Dix et al. (US-2015/0176705; hereinafter Dix; already of record from IDS), and further in view of GE (US-2016/0003171).
Regarding claim 21, Wang discloses a control system for a work vehicle having … at least one implement configured to engage with a material during a dig operation (see Wang at least Abs, col 2 lines 42-55 "This disclosure includes techniques and implementations for defining a mission and associated tasks to be performed by one or more work vehicles on a job site. The mission and associated tasks may be utilized by autonomous vehicles to coordinate operations on the site in order to achieve an objective (such as leveling, grading, removing mineral bearing material, constructing ramps, etc.). In some implementations, an initial mission may be generated using survey data collected by survey stations, survey poles, aerial survey units, or one or more of the work vehicles. The mission may be updated based on information and data collected by the work vehicles as tasks are completed and operations associated with each task are performed in real-time or near real-time.", and col 4 lines 6-12 “FIG. 1 illustrates an example system 100 for generating and providing a mission 102 to one or more autonomous vehicles 104 operating on a site according to some implementations. For example, the vehicle 104 may be equipped with a control unit to monitor and control the vehicle's 104 power delivery system, brake system, steering system, and implement controls, etc.”), the control system comprising:
…
…
sensors configured to detect [information] prior to the work vehicle performing a dig operation (see Wang at least col 8 lines 60-63 “...Thus, the vehicle 714 may include sensors, image components, or other devices capable of detecting the presence of objects within a predefined distance of the vehicle 714, such as the detection zones 702-708…”, col 14 lines 32-65 “At 1602, the vehicle may receive a task form the administrator system. As discussed above, the task may include operations to be performed within a sub-region, layer, path, and/or segment of a site. At 1604, the vehicle may determine a vehicle status. For example, the vehicle may perform a health or status check on the vehicle systems to determine each is operating within the expected or desired ranges. In one specific example, the administrator system may provide instructions related to a diagnostic test that the vehicle may perform to check the health of the vehicle and the status and accuracy of the navigation controls. For example, the health of the vehicle may include the power range (e.g., the minimum and maximum rotation per minute associated with an engine drive shaft), the coolant temperature, oil pressure, battery voltage, wheel or rack slip rate, etc. In some cases, the vehicle may be determined to be healthy when the various parameters are within one or more thresholds or ranges (e.g., the coolant temperature is between a maximum and minimum acceptable temperature). In some cases, the vehicle may perform one or more operations or maneuvers while a control unit or other sensors track and report the operational functionality of the vehicle. For instance, the vehicle may determine from the test operations that the vehicle's minimum turn radius is larger than expected given the make and model of the vehicle. In some cases, the vehicle may determine attributes of the terrain while performing the maneuvers which may be reported back to the administrator system for use in adjusting the mission. For example, the control unit may determine a hardness of the terrain by monitoring slip rate of the wheel and/or track, engine output power, and the implement load.”, and col 15 lines 4-8 “At 1608, the vehicle may initiate operations associated with the task. For example, the vehicle may navigate to an appropriate starting position according to the segment or path and begin performing a task, such as leveling, grading, scrapping, lawn mowing, tree removal, etc.”); and
a controller … having a processor and memory architecture (see Wang at least col 23 line 61 – col 24 line 8; control unit 2500; processors 2510; computer-readable storage media 2512) configured to, prior to the dig operation:
receive information … from the sensors (see Wang at least col 8 lines 60-63, col 14 lines 32-65, and col 15 lines 4-8);
determine that a dig preparation condition exists based on the received information (see Wang at least col 8 lines 60-63, col 14 lines 32-65, and col 15 lines 4-8) …
generate, in response to determining the dig preparation condition exists, at least one dig preparation command for at least one of the transmission or the engine to prepare the powertrain for the work vehicle to perform the dig operation (see Wang at least col 15 lines 4-8 “At 1608, the vehicle may initiate operations associated with the task. For example, the vehicle may navigate to an appropriate starting position according to the segment or path and begin performing a task, such as leveling, grading, scrapping, lawn mowing, tree removal, etc.”).
However, Wang does not explicitly disclose the following:
…a powertrain…
…a power source including an engine configured to generate power…
…a transmission including at least one directional clutch and a plurality of control assembly clutches coupled together and configured for selective engagement to transfer the power from the engine to drive an output shaft of the powertrain of the work vehicle according to a plurality of modes…
…sensors configured to detect a vehicle direction, a vehicle ground speed, a vehicle draft load, and an implement position…
…a controller coupled to the power source and the transmission…
…the vehicle direction, the vehicle ground speed, the vehicle draft load, and the implement position…
…the dig preparation condition indicating that an operator of the work vehicle is preparing to engage in a dig operation…
Dix, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…a powertrain (see Dix at least [0028] "…The engine 23, transmission 24, and axle/differential 26 may collectively define a drivetrain 28 of the work vehicle 10.")…
…a power source including an engine configured to generate power (see Dix at least [0028] "Moreover, the work vehicle 10 may include an engine 23 and a transmission 24 mounted on the chassis 16...")…
…a transmission including at least one directional clutch and a plurality of control assembly clutches coupled together and configured for selective engagement to transfer the power from the engine to drive an output shaft of the powertrain of the work vehicle according to a plurality of modes (see Dix at least [0034] "Referring still to FIG. 2, the planetary power unit 32 of the transmission 24 may generally include a primary sun gear NS1 mounted on a planetary input shaft 50. As shown, the planetary input shaft 50 may be coupled to the engine 23 via a forward directional clutch 52 or a reverse directional clutch 54. In addition, the planetary power unit 32 may be configured to be selectively coupled to the load L, coupled to the hydrostatic power unit 30 and selectively coupled to the engine 23, all under automatic control of the controller 44. For example, for coupling the planetary power unit 32 to the load L, the transmission 24 may include an output shaft 56 coupled to the load L which carries an input gear N18 engaged with an output gear N17 on a range 1/2 shaft 58 of the range gear set 34 and a gear N22 engaged with a gear N19 on a range 3/4 shaft 60 of the range gear set 34. The range 1/2 shaft 58 may, in turn, be coupled to the planetary power unit 32 via automatic operation of range selectors or clutches R1 and R2 for power flow through gears N13 and N14, or N15 and N16, respectively. Similarly, the range 3/4 shaft 60 may be coupled to the planetary power unit 32 via range selectors or clutches R3 and R4 for power flow via gears N13 and N20, or N15 and N21, respectively. The range 1/2 and 3/4 shafts 58, 60 may also be simultaneously coupled to the planetary power unit 32 to provide dual power flow. It should be appreciated that operation of the various clutches (e.g., the forward directional clutch 52, the reverse directional clutch 54, and range clutches R1, R2, R3 and R4) may be automatically controlled by the controller 44 using suitable actuators 62 (e.g., hydraulic pistons) communicatively coupled to the controller 44 via suitable communicative links 46." and [0039] "During operation, the transmission 24 may be operated in the hydro-mechanical mode by engaging either the reverse directional clutch 54 to the planetary power unit 32 via gears N1, N3, N5 and N7 or the forward directional clutch 52 to the power planetary power unit 32 via gears N1, N8, and N2 while also engaging one of the range clutches R1, R2, R3, R4. Alternatively, the transmission 24 may be operated in the hydrostatic mode by disengaging both of the directional clutches 52, 54 and by engaging a combination of two of the range clutches R1, R2, R3, R4 (e.g., the first and second range clutches R1, R2 or the first and fourth range clutches R1, R4).")…
…
…a controller coupled to the power source and the transmission (see Dix at least Fig 2 and [0032]-[0033] "In general, the pump 36 may comprise any suitable electronically controlled pump known in the art, such as an electronically controlled variable displacement hydraulic pump. As such, operation of the pump 36 may be automatically controlled using an electronic controller 44 of the work machine 10. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, the controller 44 may be communicatively coupled to the pump 36 via a suitable communicative link 46 so that the angle of a swash plate of the pump 36 (the swash plate being denoted by a diagonal arrow 48 through pump 36) may be adjusted through a range of positions, thereby adjusting the transmission ratio of the transmission 24. It should be appreciated the controller 44 may generally comprise any suitable processor-based device known in the art. Thus, in several embodiments, the controller 44 may include one or more processor(s) 45 and associated memory device(s) 47 configured to perform a variety of computer-implemented functions. As used herein, the term "processor" refers not only to integrated circuits referred to in the art as being included in a computer, but also refers to a controller, a microcontroller, a microcomputer, a programmable logic controller (PLC), an application specific integrated circuit, and other programmable circuits. Additionally, the memory device(s) 47 of the controller 44 may generally comprise memory element(s) including, but not limited to, computer readable medium (e.g., random access memory (RAM), including dynamic RAM (DRAM) and static RAM (SRAM)), computer readable non-volatile medium (e.g., a flash memory) and/or other suitable memory elements. Such memory device(s) 47 may generally be configured to store suitable computer-readable instructions that, when implemented by the processor(s) 45, configure the controller 44 to perform various computer-implemented functions, such as the method 200 described below with reference to FIG. 9. In addition, the controller 44 may also include various other suitable components, such as a communications circuit or module, one or more input/output channels, a data/control bus and/or the like.")…
…
…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the work vehicle as disclosed by Wang with the specific vehicular components as taught by Dix with a reasonable expectation of success so as to allow for refined controls of the machine (see Dix at least [0002]-[0004]).
However, neither Wang nor Dix explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…sensors configured to detect a vehicle direction, a vehicle ground speed, a vehicle draft load, and an implement position…
…the vehicle direction, the vehicle ground speed, the vehicle draft load, and the implement position…
…the dig preparation condition indicating that an operator of the work vehicle is preparing to engage in a dig operation…
GE, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…sensors configured to detect a vehicle direction (see GE at least [0044] "...In particular, based on any number of operational parameters (e.g., based on work tool movement, speed, force, load, position, operator input, travel speed, travel direction, transmission gear, etc.) recorded at any number of instants in time before time T.sub.0 (e.g., T.sub.−k to T.sub.0), controller 52 may conclude with a certain probability that the current operation at time T.sub.0 is associated with a known segment of the excavation cycle..."), a vehicle ground speed (see GE at least [0044] "...In particular, based on any number of operational parameters (e.g., based on work tool movement, speed, force, load, position, operator input, travel speed, travel direction, transmission gear, etc.) recorded at any number of instants in time before time T.sub.0 (e.g., T.sub.−k to T.sub.0), controller 52 may conclude with a certain probability that the current operation at time T.sub.0 is associated with a known segment of the excavation cycle..."), a vehicle draft load (see GE at least [0020] "...The sensors communicating with controller 52 may include a load sensor 54, a front grade sensor 56, a rear grade sensor 58, one or more actuator sensors 60, an engine speed sensor 62, a transmission sensor 64, combinations thereof, or any another sensor known in the art."), and an implement position (see GE at least [0023] "...For example, sensors 60 may each be a rotational position and/or speed sensor associated with the pivoting and/or swinging motion of implement system 14; a local or global coordinate position and/or speed sensor; an extension sensor located internally or externally of cylinders 32, 36, and 38; a fluid pressure sensor; or any other type of sensor known in the art that may generate a signal indicative of a pivot position, acceleration, speed, and/or force of implement system 14...")…
…the vehicle direction (see GE at least [0044] "...In particular, based on any number of operational parameters (e.g., based on work tool movement, speed, force, load, position, operator input, travel speed, travel direction, transmission gear, etc.) recorded at any number of instants in time before time T.sub.0 (e.g., T.sub.−k to T.sub.0), controller 52 may conclude with a certain probability that the current operation at time T.sub.0 is associated with a known segment of the excavation cycle..."), the vehicle ground speed (see GE at least [0044] "...In particular, based on any number of operational parameters (e.g., based on work tool movement, speed, force, load, position, operator input, travel speed, travel direction, transmission gear, etc.) recorded at any number of instants in time before time T.sub.0 (e.g., T.sub.−k to T.sub.0), controller 52 may conclude with a certain probability that the current operation at time T.sub.0 is associated with a known segment of the excavation cycle..."), the vehicle draft load (see GE at least [0020] "...The sensors communicating with controller 52 may include a load sensor 54, a front grade sensor 56, a rear grade sensor 58, one or more actuator sensors 60, an engine speed sensor 62, a transmission sensor 64, combinations thereof, or any another sensor known in the art."), and the implement position (see GE at least [0023] "...For example, sensors 60 may each be a rotational position and/or speed sensor associated with the pivoting and/or swinging motion of implement system 14; a local or global coordinate position and/or speed sensor; an extension sensor located internally or externally of cylinders 32, 36, and 38; a fluid pressure sensor; or any other type of sensor known in the art that may generate a signal indicative of a pivot position, acceleration, speed, and/or force of implement system 14...")…
…the dig preparation condition indicating that an operator of the work vehicle is preparing to engage in a dig operation (see GE at least [0017] "Operator station 18 may be configured to receive input from a machine operator indicative of desired machine operations. Specifically, operator station 18 may include one or more operator interface devices 46, 48 (shown only in FIG. 2) located proximate an operator seat (not shown). Interface devices 46, 48 may be embodied as joysticks, pedals, switches, wheels, knobs, and/or any other device known in the art. Interface devices 46, 48 may be configured to generate signals that are used to control machine 10." and [0031] "...For example, controller 52 may classify the current excavation operation as the dig operation or the move-to-truck operation when a current swing speed of machine 10 falls below or exceeds a percent of a maximum swing speed, when the pivot speed falls below or exceeds a threshold speed value, when the pivot force is less or greater than a threshold value, and/or when the pattern of input from the operator matches or nearly matches a stored input pattern...")…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the work vehicle as disclosed by Wang with specific sensor data such as taught by GE with a reasonable expectation of success so that vehicle controls, such as operating an implement, can be closely monitored and adjusted (see GE at least [0020]).
Regarding claim 22, Wang in view of Dix and GE teach the control system of claim 21, wherein the controller is configured to generate the at least one dig preparation command to modulate the at least one directional clutch to enable slippage of the at least one directional clutch (see Dix at least [0045] "In addition, as shown in FIG. 3, to transition from zero speed in the forward speed range FR1 to zero speed in the lowest speed range in the reverse direction (i.e., reverse speed range RR1), the swash plate 48 must travel substantially along its entire range of movement, as depicted by distance ROM. Thus, to perform a forward-to-reverse shuttle shift when operating in the hydro-mechanical mode, the swash plate 48 must be moved across the distance ROM in order to transition from the forward range FR1 to the reverse range RR1. As a result, the work vehicle 10 must be stopped temporarily and the parking brake 70 engaged as the swash plate 48 is repositioned, thereby preventing a seamless transition between the forward and reverse travel directions. Alternatively, shuttle shifting may be accomplished within the hydro-mechanical mode by slipping the on-coming directional clutch while the swash plate 48 is being repositioned, which may allow for shuttle shifts to be performed without stopping the vehicle 10. However, such clutch slipping is inefficient due to the amount of energy dissipated via heat generation and also results in a reduction in the component life of the directional clutch(es) 52, 54 due to increased clutch wear." [0051] "Specifically, as shown in FIG. 5, with the first and second range clutches R1, R2 engaged, the transmission 24 may be operated within the hydrostatic mode along curve 104 such that the vehicle ground speed is increased from a zero ground speed to the maximum speed for the low speed range FR1 as the position of the swash plate 48 is moved from the zero angle position 114 to the first end position 110. During such time, the forward directional clutch 52 may be pre-filled in anticipation of the clutch swap (i.e., by filling the clutch 52 to just below its "kiss point" so that it may be rapidly engaged). Thus, when the maximum speed is reached at point 120, the first range clutch R1 may be disengaged and the forward directional clutch 52 may be engaged in order to transition into the hydro-mechanical mode. Thereafter, the swash plate angle may be further adjusted (e.g., along curve 122) to increase the vehicle's ground speed within the forward speed range FR2." and [0056] "Upon receipt of the mode switch signal at point 132, the second range clutch R2 may be disengaged and the forward directional clutch 52 may begin to be engaged. For instance, as indicated above, the forward directional clutch 52 may be pre-filled as the swash plate 48 is being moved during operation within the hydrostatic mode. Thus, when the mode switch signal is received, the hydraulic pressure within the forward directional clutch 52 may only need to be slightly increased to allow the clutch 52 to begin to slip as the second range clutch R2 is being disengaged. Thereafter, the hydraulic pressure within the forward directional clutch 52 may be increased until the clutch 52 is fully engaged (i.e., at point 134).").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the work vehicle as disclosed by Wang with the capability of clutch slippage such as further taught by Dix with a reasonable expectation of success since doing so would allow for smoother transitions between forward and reverse control, such as during a grading process (see Dix at least [0003]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 23, Wang in view of Dix and GE teach the control system of claim 21, wherein the controller is configured to generate the at least one dig preparation command to prefill at least one of the plurality of control assembly clutches (see Dix at least [0045] "In addition, as shown in FIG. 3, to transition from zero speed in the forward speed range FR1 to zero speed in the lowest speed range in the reverse direction (i.e., reverse speed range RR1), the swash plate 48 must travel substantially along its entire range of movement, as depicted by distance ROM. Thus, to perform a forward-to-reverse shuttle shift when operating in the hydro-mechanical mode, the swash plate 48 must be moved across the distance ROM in order to transition from the forward range FR1 to the reverse range RR1. As a result, the work vehicle 10 must be stopped temporarily and the parking brake 70 engaged as the swash plate 48 is repositioned, thereby preventing a seamless transition between the forward and reverse travel directions. Alternatively, shuttle shifting may be accomplished within the hydro-mechanical mode by slipping the on-coming directional clutch while the swash plate 48 is being repositioned, which may allow for shuttle shifts to be performed without stopping the vehicle 10. However, such clutch slipping is inefficient due to the amount of energy dissipated via heat generation and also results in a reduction in the component life of the directional clutch(es) 52, 54 due to increased clutch wear." [0051] "Specifically, as shown in FIG. 5, with the first and second range clutches R1, R2 engaged, the transmission 24 may be operated within the hydrostatic mode along curve 104 such that the vehicle ground speed is increased from a zero ground speed to the maximum speed for the low speed range FR1 as the position of the swash plate 48 is moved from the zero angle position 114 to the first end position 110. During such time, the forward directional clutch 52 may be pre-filled in anticipation of the clutch swap (i.e., by filling the clutch 52 to just below its "kiss point" so that it may be rapidly engaged). Thus, when the maximum speed is reached at point 120, the first range clutch R1 may be disengaged and the forward directional clutch 52 may be engaged in order to transition into the hydro-mechanical mode. Thereafter, the swash plate angle may be further adjusted (e.g., along curve 122) to increase the vehicle's ground speed within the forward speed range FR2." and [0056] "Upon receipt of the mode switch signal at point 132, the second range clutch R2 may be disengaged and the forward directional clutch 52 may begin to be engaged. For instance, as indicated above, the forward directional clutch 52 may be pre-filled as the swash plate 48 is being moved during operation within the hydrostatic mode. Thus, when the mode switch signal is received, the hydraulic pressure within the forward directional clutch 52 may only need to be slightly increased to allow the clutch 52 to begin to slip as the second range clutch R2 is being disengaged. Thereafter, the hydraulic pressure within the forward directional clutch 52 may be increased until the clutch 52 is fully engaged (i.e., at point 134).").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the work vehicle as disclosed by Wang with the capability of clutch slippage such as further taught by Dix with a reasonable expectation of success since doing so would allow for smoother transitions between forward and reverse control, such as during a grading process (see Dix at least [0003]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 25, Wang in view of Dix and GE teach the work vehicle of claim 21, wherein the controller is configured to generate the at least one dig preparation command to increase a minimum speed of the engine (see GE at least [0064] "Several benefits may be associated with the disclosed control system. First, because controller 52 may classify the current excavation operation according to speeds, forces, ranges of motion, and/or operator input, variability in the excavation process may be accounted for. And, because controller 52 may adapt its regulation of engine speed based on the classification, performance (e.g., fuel efficiency and/or speed control) of machine 10 during each operation may be enhanced. This may be particularly beneficial during heavily loaded operations, for example during digging and/or move-to-truck operations where boom 28 is raising under heavy load and could benefit from increased velocity, and during empty raising or lowering of boom 28 where an improvement in controllability is desired.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the work vehicle as disclosed by Wang with the capability of engine speed adjustment such as taught by GE with a reasonable expectation of success for the sake of accommodating to increased load conditions during a dig operation (see GE at least [0064]).
Regarding claim 26, Wang in view of Dix and GE teach the control system of claim 21, wherein the controller is configured to determine the dig preparation condition exists (see Wang at least col 14 lines 37-65 “At 1604, the vehicle may determine a vehicle status. For example, the vehicle may perform a health or status check on the vehicle systems to determine each is operating within the expected or desired ranges... In some cases, the vehicle may perform one or more operations or maneuvers while a control unit or other sensors track and report the operational functionality of the vehicle. For instance, the vehicle may determine from the test operations that the vehicle's minimum turn radius is larger than expected given the make and model of the vehicle. In some cases, the vehicle may determine attributes of the terrain while performing the maneuvers which may be reported back to the administrator system for use in adjusting the mission. For example, the control unit may determine a hardness of the terrain by monitoring slip rate of the wheel and/or track, engine output power, and the implement load.”) only when the received information indicates the vehicle direction of is forward (see GE at least [0044] “Before, during, and/or after completion of step 310 (e.g., in parallel with completion of step 310), controller 52 may determine a probability that the current operation of machine 10 matches a previously stored operation associated with a known excavation cycle (Step 315). In particular, based on any number of operational parameters (e.g., based on work tool movement, speed, force, load, position, operator input, travel speed, travel direction, transmission gear, etc.) recorded at any number of instants in time before time T.sub.0 (e.g., T.sub.−k to T.sub.0), controller 52 may conclude with a certain probability that the current operation at time T.sub.0 is associated with a known segment of the excavation cycle...”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determination of a dig preparation condition as disclosed by Wang with sensor data such as a vehicle’s direction such as taught by GE with a reasonable expectation of success so that vehicle controls can be closely monitored and adjusted (see GE at least [0020]).
Regarding claim 27, Wang in view of Dix and GE teach the control system of claim 21, wherein the controller is configured to determine the dig preparation condition exists only when the received information indicates the vehicle draft load is less than a draft load threshold (see Wang at least col 13 lines 5-18 "At 1414, the administrator system may define one or more tasks for each path and each layer. For example, the width of a path may be based on the implement of the vehicle assigned and the depth of a layer maybe based on a load capability of the vehicle. Thus, a vehicle may be configured to perform tasks associated with a path and a layer on each pass over the sub-region."; if it is determined that a load may exceed a vehicle’s load threshold, multiple passes may be required to complete a task; therefore a dig preparation condition exists when a task is adjusted to conform with a vehicle’s load capabilities).
Regarding claim 28, Wang in view of Dix and GE teach the control system of claim 21, wherein the controller is configured to determine the dig preparation condition exists (see Wang at least col 14 lines 37-40 “At 1604, the vehicle may determine a vehicle status. For example, the vehicle may perform a health or status check on the vehicle systems to determine each is operating within the expected or desired ranges.”) only when the received information indicates the vehicle ground speed is less than a speed threshold (see GE at least [0030] "One or more maps relating signals from sensors 54-64 and/or interface devices 46, 48 to the different segments of the excavation cycle may be stored within the memory of controller 52 (e.g., with the memory of module 68). Each of these maps may include a collection of data in the form of tables, graphs, and/or equations. In one example, threshold speeds associated with the start and/or end of one or more of the operations may be stored within the maps...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determination of a dig preparation condition as disclosed by Wang with sensor data such as vehicle speed such as taught by GE with a reasonable expectation of success so that vehicle controls can be closely monitored and adjusted (see GE at least [0020]).
Regarding claim 31, Wang in view of Dix and GE teach the analogous material of that in claim 21 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons. Additionally, Dix teaches …a chassis (see Dix at least [0027]; chassis 16)…
Regarding claim 32, Wang in view of Dix and GE teach the analogous material of that in claim 22 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 33, Wang in view of Dix and GE teach the analogous material of that in claim 23 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 35, Wang in view of Dix and GE teach the analogous material of that in claim 25 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 36, Wang in view of Dix and GE teach the analogous material of that in claim 26 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 37, Wang in view of Dix and GE teach the analogous material of that in claim 27 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 38, Wang in view of Dix and GE teach the analogous material of that in claim 28 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 24 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Dix and GE, and further in view of Sharp et al. (US-2019/0360418; hereinafter Sharp; already of record).
Regarding claim 24, Wang in view of Dix and GE teach the work vehicle of claim 21. However, neither Wang nor Dix nor GE explicitly disclose or teach the controller is configured to generate the at least one dig preparation command to increase at least one of air and fuel to the engine.
Sharp, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the following:
the controller is configured to generate the at least one dig preparation command to increase at least one of air and fuel to the engine (see Sharp at least [0022]-[0025] "In examples according to this disclosure, the ISC of machine 100 is configured to automatically switch between a first high idle speed and a second high idle speed for the engine based upon the load on the engine and the acceleration of the machine. For example, the ISC can: determine an actual load on the engine of machine 100; determine an actual acceleration of the machine; and automatically set the high idle speed of the engine based upon the engine load and the acceleration. In one example, the ISC determines that the engine load is equal to or greater than a load threshold and that the acceleration is equal to or less than a threshold and, based thereon, automatically sets the high idle speed of the engine to the second high idle speed. In this example, the second high idle speed is greater than the first high idle speed... Although not shown in FIG. 2, machine 200 can include one or more implements operatively coupled to the machine and configured to execute various functions, including excavation, grading, and compacting, as examples. Additionally, such implements may be driven by/draw power from (directly or indirectly) engine 202 and the actual load on the engine may therefore reflect loads produced by the implement(s). ISC 210 can be implemented in a variety of different configurations, as will be explained in more detail with reference to FIG. 3. However, in general, ISC 210 is communicatively and, as necessary, otherwise connected to components of work machine 100 and is disposed somewhere on or in the machine. ISC 210 may be, for example, connected to an operator input control, which can be used by an operator to manually set engine speed, for example, between a low idle and a high idle speed."; more fuel is utilized at an engine high idle speed than when an engine is at a low idle speed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the work vehicle as disclosed by Wang with an increased amount of fuel such as taught by Sharp with a reasonable expectation of success to accommodate the necessity of a higher workload (see Sharp at least [0002]).
Regarding claim 34, Wang in view of Dix and GE, and further in view of Sharp teach the analogous material of that in claim 24 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 29-30 and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Dix and GE, and further in view of Buettner (US-2014/0371994).
Regarding claim 29, Wang in view of Dix and GE teach the control system of claim 21, wherein the controller is configured to determine the dig preparation condition exists (see Wang at least col 14 lines 37-40 “At 1604, the vehicle may determine a vehicle status. For example, the vehicle may perform a health or status check on the vehicle systems to determine each is operating within the expected or desired ranges...”) …
However, while Wang discloses the determination of a vehicle status and lists several ranges and thresholds for monitoring vehicle health, and GE teaches the determination of a boom position and implement position, neither Wang nor Dix nor GE explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…only when the received information indicates the implement position of a boom of the at least one implement is lower than a boom position threshold…
Buettner, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…only when the received information indicates the implement position of a boom of the at least one implement is lower than a boom position threshold (see Buettner at least [0014] "...In the given embodiment, the wheel loader 102 may include a lift arm 116 and a bucket 118, hereinafter collectively referred to as the implement 114 of the machine 100..." [0024] "The dig status determined by the controller 134 may include any one of four possible states. FIG. 3 is a state transition diagram 300 depicting the states and conditions on which transitioning from one state to another state may take place. A first state S1 corresponds to an unknown operation associated with the implement 114. A second state S2 corresponds to a dig operation not being performed by the implement 114. A third state S3 corresponds to a tentative dig operation being performed by the implement 114 and a fourth state S4 corresponds to the dig operation being performed by the implement 114." and [0029] "Also, the controller 134 may be configured to determine a direction of movement of the implement 114. In one exemplary situation, a velocity of movement of the implement 114 may be determined. More specifically, if the implement 114 is determined to be stationary or moving in an upward direction relative to the frame 122 of the machine 100 and the position of the implement 114 is below the predetermined threshold, then the controller 134 may be configured to transition the dig status of the machine 100 from the second state S2 to the third state S3.")…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determination of a dig preparation condition as disclosed by Wang with sensor data such as boom height such as taught Buettner with a reasonable expectation of success so as to monitor a status of a dig operation (see Buettner at least [0001]).
Regarding claim 30, Wang in view of Dix and GE teach the control system of claim 21, wherein the controller is configured to determine the dig preparation condition exists (see Wang at least col 14 lines 37-40 “At 1604, the vehicle may determine a vehicle status. For example, the vehicle may perform a health or status check on the vehicle systems to determine each is operating within the expected or desired ranges...”) …
However, while Wang discloses the determination of a vehicle status and lists several ranges and thresholds for monitoring vehicle health, and GE teaches the determination of a bucket position, neither Wang nor Dix nor GE explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…only when the received information indicates the implement position of a bucket of the at least one implement is lower than a bucket position threshold…
Buettner, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…only when the received information indicates the implement position of a bucket of the at least one implement is lower than a bucket position threshold (see Buettner at least [0014] "...In the given embodiment, the wheel loader 102 may include a lift arm 116 and a bucket 118, hereinafter collectively referred to as the implement 114 of the machine 100..." [0024] "The dig status determined by the controller 134 may include any one of four possible states. FIG. 3 is a state transition diagram 300 depicting the states and conditions on which transitioning from one state to another state may take place. A first state S1 corresponds to an unknown operation associated with the implement 114. A second state S2 corresponds to a dig operation not being performed by the implement 114. A third state S3 corresponds to a tentative dig operation being performed by the implement 114 and a fourth state S4 corresponds to the dig operation being performed by the implement 114." and [0029] "Also, the controller 134 may be configured to determine a direction of movement of the implement 114. In one exemplary situation, a velocity of movement of the implement 114 may be determined. More specifically, if the implement 114 is determined to be stationary or moving in an upward direction relative to the frame 122 of the machine 100 and the position of the implement 114 is below the predetermined threshold, then the controller 134 may be configured to transition the dig status of the machine 100 from the second state S2 to the third state S3.")…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determination of a dig preparation condition as disclosed by Wang with sensor data such as bucket height such as taught Buettner with a reasonable expectation of success so as to monitor a status of a dig operation (see Buettner at least [0001]).
Regarding claim 39, Wang in view of Dix and GE, and further in view of Buettner teach the analogous material of that in claim 29 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 40, Wang in view of Dix and GE, and further in view of Buettner teach the analogous material of that in claim 30 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rosa Neto (US-2017/0114525) teaches the determination of a dig status of a machine according to boom and bucket angles.
/S.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663